Write a review

RV Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

Floorplan

Truck Camper reviews

3.9 (225 reviews)
Write a review
Liveability
4.1
Overall quality
3.8
Floorplan
4.3
Driving/towing
4.4
Factory warranty
2.9

For sale near youMatching RVs for sale near you

See all

Top 10 Truck Campers

Reviews

Stars Refinement

225 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

James Brian Elliott

Reviewed on 2022-12-27

RV reviewed 2019 Lance Longbed 850 view listing

1.8
LANCE Camper customer service and Warranty support is a joke. I will never recommend anyone buy a LANCE Camper. The Heki Midi hatch openings are GARBAGE. My Heki Midi hinge - which is made entirely of plastic - broke while parked in my driveway during a wintery windstorm. This is a defect in design by the factory for using a plastic hinge that could not stand up to a very normal winter storm. Also turns out the Keki Midi is completely unavailable and cannot be replaced. Lance will not talk to me about warranty repair of the unit. The customer service dept is completely ignoring my cries for help to fix their flawed design. Buyers Beware - Lance offers no support and in my opinion is not honoring the 10-year warranty they claim covers my camper. They offer no service, solutions or help. If you want customer service, look elsewhere - Lance Campers only wants to make a sale - not take care of the customer afterwards.
Livability
1.0
Overall quality
1.0
Floorplan
1.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (0)

Flag

Flag this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Daniel Geiger

Reviewed on 2022-12-17

RV reviewed 2022 Palomino Backpack Edition SS-1251 view listing

2.4
I love that camper but I’m disappointed with its reliability. One of roof jacks stopped working. I had to bring it back to the dealership. They replaced new jack last April. I was getting ready for my trip then that same jack won’t close it. There is no manual way to use that jack to close it. Bad design! I’m very disappointed with that brand. I won’t buy it ever again! I would prefer hard side camper instead of soft side.
Livability
1.0
Overall quality
1.0
Floorplan
3.0
Driving/towing
4.0
Factory warranty/support
3.0
...
Helpful (0)

Flag

Flag this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Bob

Reviewed on 2022-12-06

RV reviewed 2005 Palomino Palomini 180FB view listing

2.0
I recently purchased a palomino bronco 2005. Two design problems. 1. The door won't open with top down. I blocked the top to provide clearance. 2. The interior lights won't turn on with the top down, or with upper half of door down. I spent hrs trouble shooting battery, fuses, wiring, ckt breakers, converter, etc. A button switches the lights off with top down.
Livability
2.0
Overall quality
2.0
Floorplan
2.0
Driving/towing
2.0
Factory warranty/support
2.0
...
Helpful (0)

Flag

Flag this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Calvin Ruby

North Carolina

Reviewed on 2022-10-09

RV reviewed 2021 nuCamp Cirrus 620 view listing

3.6
Livability: 2 because it is hard to "live" in an RV that has a poorly made and installed heating system. I may be ok in other models but not the 620. Quality: 4 Well built but expensive to maintain. Floor Plan: 5 great floor plan Driving/Towing: 3 Not a good idea to put on a 1/2 ton truck as advertised. Support: Good and Bad. They specialize in teardrops and don't seem to know much about the 620 Truck Camper.
Livability
4.0
Overall quality
4.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
3.0
Factory warranty/support
2.0
...
Helpful (0)

Flag

Flag this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Calvin Ruby

North Carolina

Reviewed on 2022-10-01

RV reviewed 2021 nuCamp Cirrus 620 view listing

3.6
Well built but in an effort to be "different" and support their high price they have created a high maintenance product. If you don't mind the time and expense of taking it to a "qualified" RV dealer then I would recommend it. The heating system they use (Alde) in all their units works well "when it works" and in the 620 they installed it in such a way you have to remove the range top to do something as simple as change a fuse, etc. It was a great concept for a short-bed truck but the execution failed.
Livability
4.0
Overall quality
4.0
Floorplan
4.0
Driving/towing
4.0
Factory warranty/support
2.0
...
Helpful (0)

Flag

Flag this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

ken m kaplan

California

Reviewed on 2022-08-20

RV reviewed 2021 Northern Lite 10-2 EXCD Special Edition view listing

4.6
Comparing my N-L camper to my previous arctic fox 1160 is like comparing a Yugo to a Tesla. The only things the A/F had that the N/L didn't is a black tank flush and larger tanks. The A/F literally spread apart underneath when the tiny badly welded cross braces broke and pulled out the tiny wood screws. I am in the process of rebuilding it so I can sell it with a clean conscience. My only other complaint is the wasted space around the batteries which I discovered during my Victron 2kw inverter install. I added an inspection door for easy access and ventilation for the inverter right next to the solar panel display. I have owned and lived in 5 different Rv's in my 63 years and the N/L is far and away the highest quality I have seen and that includes a 25' Airstream.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
3.0
...
Helpful (0)

Flag

Flag this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Guy Welch

Arizona

Reviewed on 2022-08-11

RV reviewed 2001 Fleetwood Caribou 11L view listing

3.6
We purchased this used camper from State 48 RV in Apache Juntion, Arizona. The camper had a nose issue due to damage looking like a bump on the driver side. When we noticed and talked to the RV owner about it, ha assured us it was fine but if we took it in to our repair shop and it needed fixing, they would figure out how to help. We love the camper but when we took it in to have it recalked, we were told that there was indeed damage. I called the State 48 RV owner and reported what was found. He was on vacation at the time, so he told me exactly what to do. Five weeks later I text him to ask if we could hear from him that day. He called was intensely irritated with me and yelled at me over the phone to a point I had to hang up on him. Do not do business with this company.
Livability
4.0
Overall quality
4.0
Floorplan
4.0
Driving/towing
4.0
Factory warranty/support
2.0
...
Helpful (0)

Flag

Flag this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Joe Jansen

Indiana

Reviewed on 2022-06-07

RV reviewed 2021 Palomino Backpack Edition SS-1200 view listing

4.6
An excerpt from my longer review here: https://www.truckcamperadventure.com/review-of-the-palomino-ss-1200-pop-up-truck-camper/ With the top up and the soft storage boxes removed the inside of the camper feels impressively roomy for the small footprint. The soft top is mostly transparent plastic (or a screen with the windows rolled down) so there’s an abundance of natural light, cross breeze, and views. If you’re in the bed area or standing down below you can see in every direction which is great when boondocking in wide open spaces. For such a small space we’ve found the kitchen to be very workable. We travel with three different pans and a lot of our storage is devoted to food and kitchen supplies. We often set up the table during meal prep for extra counter space and are able to assemble relatively complex meals for camping conditions. The Palomino SS-1200 is a very capable and fully featured pop up camper. We have lived out of it full time for seven months and it has performed admirably on most of the dimensions we care about. The biggest downside for this entry-level camper is the interior build quality and many of those issues can be addressed if you’re up for a little bit of light carpentry.
Livability
4.0
Overall quality
4.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Flag

Flag this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Robin

Colorado

Reviewed on 2022-05-12

RV reviewed 2022 Host Industries Mammoth Host view listing

4.6
Traveled full-time in our Mammoth on an F450 with camper package, heavy duty suspension and upper stable loads. This camper was a great choice for mobility and for utilizing many camping options: RV parks, county/state parks, boondocking, etc... Off-grid package and a dc-to-dc charger make it easy to be off-grid without any generators. Quality is significantly better than other truck campers! Floor plan is very spacious for a truck camper - I still cannot believe it is in the back of a truck. Driving and towing will be significantly less if you don't have the right truck and suspension - ours was excellent. Host warrantied several items in the first few months and we have had no problems since (we have owned if for a year).
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
4.0
Driving/towing
4.0
Factory warranty/support
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Flag

Flag this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • ...
  • 23
  • 1 - 10 of 225 reviews

For sale near youRVs For Sale

See all

Do you have an RV experience to share?

Help other RVers by leaving a review for an RV or dealership.

Write a review

Browse top RVs

Browse dealership reviews

Browse By State

Browse By Province