Write a review

RV Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

Floorplan

Truck Camper reviews

3.9
Write a review
Liveability
4.1
Overall quality
3.8
Floorplan
4.3
Driving/towing
4.4
Factory warranty
3.0

For sale near youMatching RVs for sale near you

Top 10 Truck Campers

Reviews

218 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

Ty sandlin

Wisconsin

Reviewed on 2017-04-26

RV reviewed2015 Palomino Backpack Edition SS-1225

View listings

3.0
Well, first the positive. I like the camper, as a whole. Layout works. Hauls well on truck. But, now the negative. Ive contracted the manufacturer 3 times over the past 2 months. Once leaving voice mail, 2 times leaving message over their web formats. Never received any responses. All i needed was to know the product used on the 4 corners where tent meets metal. Its pulled away and letting rain in. I get many complements on looks of camper. Ill now have to tell these potential customers about lack of support.
Livability
4.0
Overall quality
3.0
Floorplan
4.0
Driving/towing
3.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (113)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Joe Jansen

Indiana

Reviewed on 2022-06-07

RV reviewed2021 Palomino Backpack Edition SS-1200

View listings

4.6
An excerpt from my longer review here: https://www.truckcamperadventure.com/review-of-the-palomino-ss-1200-pop-up-truck-camper/ With the top up and the soft storage boxes removed the inside of the camper feels impressively roomy for the small footprint. The soft top is mostly transparent plastic (or a screen with the windows rolled down) so there’s an abundance of natural light, cross breeze, and views. If you’re in the bed area or standing down below you can see in every direction which is great when boondocking in wide open spaces. For such a small space we’ve found the kitchen to be very workable. We travel with three different pans and a lot of our storage is devoted to food and kitchen supplies. We often set up the table during meal prep for extra counter space and are able to assemble relatively complex meals for camping conditions. The Palomino SS-1200 is a very capable and fully featured pop up camper. We have lived out of it full time for seven months and it has performed admirably on most of the dimensions we care about. The biggest downside for this entry-level camper is the interior build quality and many of those issues can be addressed if you’re up for a little bit of light carpentry.
Livability
4.0
Overall quality
4.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Robin

Colorado

Reviewed on 2022-05-12

RV reviewed2022 Host Industries Mammoth Host

View listings

4.6
Traveled full-time in our Mammoth on an F450 with camper package, heavy duty suspension and upper stable loads. This camper was a great choice for mobility and for utilizing many camping options: RV parks, county/state parks, boondocking, etc... Off-grid package and a dc-to-dc charger make it easy to be off-grid without any generators. Quality is significantly better than other truck campers! Floor plan is very spacious for a truck camper - I still cannot believe it is in the back of a truck. Driving and towing will be significantly less if you don't have the right truck and suspension - ours was excellent. Host warrantied several items in the first few months and we have had no problems since (we have owned if for a year).
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
4.0
Driving/towing
4.0
Factory warranty/support
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Ralph Lowery

Oklahoma

Reviewed on 2022-04-15

RV reviewed2021 Northwood Arctic Fox 996

View listings

4.6
My wife and I enjoyed the Truck Camper AF 996. It is very versatile and has room for us to move around in it. We love it and wish it had a dry bath and a set of recliners. If so we would full time in it until we had seen all of the USA that we wanted to. The quality of it is outstanding we had a problem at the beginning with the sink drain but I was able to take care of it. I would recommend Arctic Fox brand to anyone who wants a good Truck Camper.
Livability
4.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
4.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Michael Edwards

Nebraska

Reviewed on 2022-04-14

RV reviewed2004 Hallmark Milner Mx

View listings

4.8
I couldn't get the full description to show in the main listing, so I'm including it here as well: What an incredible combo - these two are a match made in heaven, and just loaded with the works! Here's the details: The Truck: Dodge Dakota Lonestar Edition Club Cab 4x2, with the Magnum 4.7 PowerTech V8, 5spd Automatic. Can take E85 too! Low miles! Only 71K original miles all around, very clean truck, no rust New all-season Yokohama Geolanders with <5k miles, Timbren DDR052 Rear suspension package 2x 100PSI air bladders - even fully loaded she just floats and feels great Extendable electric towing mirrors Frame-mounted sway bar setup with locking Torklift turnbuckles, so tight, ready for all terrains Full tow package with a 7-wire harness The Camper: Hallmark 2004 Mx Milner Popup Truck Camper, 6.5 ft box length Fits the Dakota like a glove Queen size cab-over bed with easy access deep storage underneath Newer composite one-piece hardtop roof with Heco crank roof lift system and provision for solar panel mounting, 2 roof vents Dinette sleeps two, screen door Furnace, Gas, 6 gallon Water heater, 3 burner cooktop 3 cubic foot three-way refrigerator with freezer compartment Custom installed GE 5250 BTU Air conditioner (Yes! Rare for this kind of camper!) 2 picture windows (very nice, lots of light) 2 newer (6) volt deep cycle batteries 19 gallon fresh water tank 4 gallon grey water jug Demand pump with easy winterization Carefree 8ft boxed awning Led lights, 2 overhead cabinets 4 HappiJack corner jacks with HappiJack powered remote-controlled lift system Custom-built camper dolly (pictured, willing to include as desired, negotiable) New canvas, well insulated, very clean **A very high quality camper well maintained, serviced and ready for many more adventures Very short owner list, extremely well cared for, loads of service documentation for truck, camper and all accessories** She's been so good to us! But I've got to clear up some garage space so my son can start setting up his auto small business. I hope she finds a great home. Thanks for checking her out!
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
4.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

OMAR LOPEZ

Florida

Reviewed on 2022-03-30

RV reviewed2021 Palomino Backpack Edition SS-1251

View listings

4.2
This truck camper pop up is lightweight wait easy to travel and park anywhere very good on gas mileage due to the 1700 pound weight. This truck camper is bullet lined for a completely unique look one of a kind This truck camper is ready for overlanding/dry camping or rv campgrounds with full hookups the best of both worlds This truck camper has also 280 W of solar with an inverter has attached Max tracks for if you get stuck also has 2 extra water jugs with external lightweight stairs to come into your camper Also has a Max fan to pull out hot air from the camper windows all around pop up section for great ventilation I have used this camper in RV campsites and the campsites and for overlanding the bullet liner one of a kind paint job makes it scratch proof I give this pop up camper trailer 5 stars. This camper is one of a kind and a eye catcher
Livability
4.0
Overall quality
3.0
Floorplan
4.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Kevin Durston

California

Reviewed on 2022-02-08

RV reviewed2008 Lance Lance 992 basement model

View listings

5.0
Lance is a high end truck camper. With high end construction and materials. I’ve owned mine since new purchase in 2008. Initially a few minor things need fixing which seems to the standard of the TV business.. unfortunately..
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Wayne

Texas

Reviewed on 2022-02-04

RV reviewed2015 Lance Lance 1050S

View listings

5.0
Best camper ever! The lay out is perfect. It has everything you will ever need to camp or even live in. Everything about this camper is quality. It’s 4 season so it will handle anything and everything you throw at it, and that’s including hot weather. It’s super insulated. We traveled with 3 people and 2 dogs, and it was the best time ever. I’ve seen plenty of other truck campers, but not many are this level of quality and durability.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
5.0
...
Helpful (2)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Jeff borghese

Oregon

Reviewed on 2021-12-29

RV reviewed2020 Northern Lite Limited Edition 10-2EXLEWB

View listings

3.2
Pump broke within first week of ownership….not happy. Drawers open when traveling down the road, no black tank flush, nice design though, no 110v plug ins in bed area, only USB. Controls for awnings 3 inches from floor, kids love it! Can’t remove dining table post in order to make a bed out of it. Tried to the point of considering using a sledge hammer to do so. Heat does not flow into pump and hot water heater area, only to valve area in driver side storage compartment
Livability
3.0
Overall quality
3.0
Floorplan
4.0
Driving/towing
4.0
Factory warranty/support
2.0
...
Helpful (2)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Hope Barnes

Washington

Reviewed on 2021-12-15

RV reviewed2017 Host Industries Mammoth 11.5

View listings

3.4
I just bought a Host Camper for more than an nice car. It had issues when I picked up from the factory, that they fixed before we took it off the lot. We drove it home, a two day drive. We discovered more major problems, such as the water heater not working and the shower heavily leaking into the basement storage area. Other minor problems included exterior storage door not latching properly and windows blinds broke on installation. We picked up our camper in September of 2021. We have overnight camped in it twice and have found nothing but problems. I have owned a variety of campers over the last 20 years, this has been the worst experience of my life. This camper is 3 months old and has spent more time, and my time invested in transporting it, at the dealership fixing the extremely poor quality of this product. I called Host to discuss, but it resulted in insults to me as a consumer, implying that I was irrational with my concerns regarding the quality of the product. They say several of there customers experience a “punch list” of problems with their campers, that they are happy to fix if you drive them back to Bend, Or, where they are manufactured. I guess if you are happy buying a high end product that come with a time consuming punch list, instead of time spent doing recreation, in addition to being treated like the manufacturing problems are your fault and not the manufacturer’s…..then this is the perfect product for you!
Livability
4.0
Overall quality
3.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
4.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (2)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • ...
  • 22
  • 1 - 10 of 218 reviews

For sale near youRVs For Sale

Do you have an RV experience to share?

Help other RVers by leaving a review for an RV or dealership.

Write a review

Browse top RVs

Browse dealership reviews

Browse By State

Browse By Province