Write a review

RV Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

Floorplan

Travel Trailers - Hybrid reviews

4.0
Write a review
Liveability
4.2
Overall quality
3.8
Floorplan
4.5
Driving/towing
4.5
Factory warranty
3.2

For sale near youMatching RVs for sale near you

Top 10 Travel Trailers - Hybrid

Reviews

124 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

Nancy Samuels

Washington

Reviewed on 2019-03-14

RV reviewed2013 Jayco Jay Feather Ultra Lite X17Z

View listings

4.4
We found this trailer to be very comfortable for trips of up to 4 weeks. In the 4th week we began to wish we had recliners for the evenings. Among our trips were two 5-week trips that included having a second couple staying with us for 10 days. We were all comfortable, although our 6' 2" guest felt claustrophobic in the shower. We added a plastic medicine cabinet ("contractor's model") to the bathroom, and that satisfied our storage needs. Things we appreciated: - mattresses were comfortable - we slept on the table bed in bear country where we couldn't put out the canvass covered beds - lots of cupboard space and storage inside - microwave, stove, oven, water heater, TV, fridge worked well - bathroom was roomy for this size of trailer - back bed felt more private and like a separate room because it was half behind the bathroom. - DVD player and stereo/radio - dinette was comfortable - light enough to pull with a small SUV (e.g. Ford Escape) - pulled very smoothly with a weight distribution and anti-sway hitch - small enough to fit in nearly all camping sites - queen sheets fit the mattresses (our previous trailer had an odd-sized mattress) - nice large awning - we bought it used and didn't have a warranty, but I was impressed that Jayco emailed me schematics for the walls (we wanted to screw a medicine cabinet to a stud) - electric plugs above the beds for small light/fans that hook onto the bars supporting the canvass - outlet at each bed, kitchen, outside, and 2 at the table Things we wished were different: - replaced air conditioner at 5-years old - not one drawer, so kitchen tools and silverware had to be kept in caddies and moved between cupboards for travel and the counter tops for living - small counter area in kitchen and bath - no medicine cabinet, so inconvenient for storing toothbrushes, toothpaste, meds, lotions, etc - difficult to open door to under-sofa storage - small hatch door on outside - stove fan was so loud we hated to use it - smoke detector goes off whenever we cooked unless we had the fan on - dinette was narrower (benches were closer together) than our old tent trailer and we noticed the difference in leg room, especially with 4 adults sitting there. - we replaced all the lights with LEDs - camping on the Oregon coast in heavy winter rain/hail caused the humidity to condense on the canvass and rain on the beds. Normal NW humidity and winter weather was ok.
Livability
4.0
Overall quality
4.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
4.0
...
Helpful (50)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Roy Bateman

Washington

Reviewed on 2022-05-06

RV reviewed2016 Jayco Jay Feather X213

View listings

3.4
I am a long time user of truck Campers and have over time had a half a dozen models all of which have pluses and minuses. I recently purchased the above trailer used and am disappointed in its construction. Firstly it does not have back up lights in the tail lights. This means that I have to run wiring to operate back up lights and a camera from the tow vehicle. Secondly the floor sheeting was not sawn so that the joints were over a joist or crossmember leaving a soft spot in a high traffic area and causing the floor covering to stretch. Had to screw in a metal sill plate to reinforce the area and stop any further break down. Seam trim over bunk not aligned properly which caused inside skin to pull back and sag. This unit has a solar panel and has 2 golf cart batteries ($250 each) which always have to be connected so the solar panel does not burn out. I had to design a locking system to deter theft.
Livability
4.0
Overall quality
2.0
Floorplan
4.0
Driving/towing
4.0
Factory warranty/support
3.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Dennis Redding

Colorado

Reviewed on 2022-04-28

RV reviewed2020 Forest River Rockwood Roo 23FL

View listings

5.0
Great camper, with opposing slides tons of room inside for rainy days. Sleeping capacity for 8 or more, with children.. everything you’d want. The weight is incredibly low only 5,600 lbs. dry weight. The quality is great, the reliability is great.. you can’t beat Forest River I’ve owned three, but the ROO is incredible for roominess yet light weight.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

sherry matiak

Georgia

Reviewed on 2022-04-19

RV reviewed2021 Palomino Solaire 163X

View listings

3.4
Do Not buy one of these things. I have one that is less than two years and already leaking. Its leaking under the dinette and cost 200$ just for them to look at it. I cant imagine how much they are going to charge me in the end. No warranty on anything after a year. So that basically lets them build crap product that they don't have to stand behind. Very disappointing and i wouldn't have bought it if i would have paid more attention.
Livability
4.0
Overall quality
2.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (2)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Kurt VanMatre

Oklahoma

Reviewed on 2022-04-05

RV reviewed2018 Forest River Rockwood Roo 21SS

View listings

5.0
We bought this trailer in August of 2018, and have had 3 good seasons of camping in it. We love the floor plan. The slide out gives us so much livable space in the middle of the trailer. The overall length is only 22'10", but it feels much larger due to the beds folding out on each end. The quality of Rockwood is so good, the trailer is light and solid. We use an anti-sway hitch that tows extremely stable. We like to boondock, so even without electric hook-ups, we have full use of hot water, lights, fans, furnace, fridge, and power slides. We have a solar unit to recharge our 2 deep cycle batteries. We have slept 6 in our trailer with plenty of room and comfort, 5 adults and 1 child. The A/C unit and furnace kept us comfortable in all weather. The trailer is easy to maneuver, and back into smaller campsites. Set up and take down is quick and easy. We love our Roo! We are trading up to a unit with a separate bedroom.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
5.0
...
Helpful (2)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Gerald Krause

California

Reviewed on 2022-04-03

RV reviewed2012 Starcraft Travel Star Expandable 207RB

View listings

5.0
This RV is excellent for families. Easy to tow, easy to setup and good for dry camping as everything works off the solar/batteries, even the AC and microwave! Everything works and the camper was well cared for as the unit is always covered when not in use.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Rodney b Shields

Arizona

Reviewed on 2022-03-29

RV reviewed2021 Ventura RV Sonic Lite 169VRK

View listings

5.0
How come as a person looking for a camper trailer to buy has to look under the EXACT TRAILER to find my trailer that I have for sale and nothing comes under for sale by owner in Arizona. I fill out all the preferred line and then at the bottom is say's to press for sale by owner and it shows none. Please explain. Thank You
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Michael Hagan

Texas

Reviewed on 2022-03-14

RV reviewed2017 Airstream Flying Cloud 25FB

View listings

3.4
We like our Airstream but there have been problems and really, too many for what Thor charges. About $5000 - $10,000 less would be more reasonable considering the build quality. Fortunately, we're do-it-yourselfers and have remedied the problems we've encountered. But what about those that don't have or are unwilling to acquire the skills necessary to fix them? That's a topic we cover when on some of our journeys: can you imagine not knowing how to fix some of the things an RV-er will have and then having to take it in to the dealer? A lot of RV service epitomizes bottom-of-the-barrel customer relationships and quality of work is seriously lacking, generally. Believe us, the problems will be there whether you spend six figures or a low-5 number on another brand. Expect that assembly problems will be part of your complaints on any brand and again, Airstream is no better or worse. Airstream fanboys will say, 'oh, the quality is great and we love our Airstream' and for a few, that's an accurate assessment. Some Airstreams are 'tongue-heavy'. Airstreams' specs say the tongue on our Flying Cloud weighs over 800 lbs. That's a good deal over the general guideline of 10% of the total weight of the trailer. No comment from Airstream (ever) on this and we deal with it. I do not know how other brands fare in this area, BTW. Would we buy another Airstream? I think we'd try Lance, Grand Design or a couple of other brands next. They won't hold their value as well as the Airstream does but that's because of the 'cachet' Airstream has, certainly not the build quality but the fact that it's an iconic brand. Other than aerodynamics (which are great) it does not do anything better than the average other RV. Do a search under 'cabinets falling Airstream' or 'skin buckling Airstream' which is this brand's Achilles heel. Each brand has its own unique failings, not just Airstream. And this is not an indictment of Airstream but just one of those 'to be dealt with' things. We like our Airstream but we also realize that it will require constant maintenance like any other RV does, not more and not less. If you're not willing to learn some basic skills in repair, rent an RV for your trips. Yes, I know you may pay a lot for your RV but price in an RV does not equate with quality like it does (generally) for a car. Paying megabucks for a trailer does not entitle you to hands-off or trouble-free ownership.
Livability
3.0
Overall quality
3.0
Floorplan
3.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
3.0
...
Helpful (5)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Chad Linder

Washington

Reviewed on 2022-03-09

RV reviewed2012 Forest River Rockwood Roo 233S

View listings

4.0
The 2012 Rockwood Roo 233S RV Trailer is a champ. It's a small trailer to tow that folds out big. Easy to tow and fits into most camp sites. 25 feet from tongue to tail. Finished out nicely with plenty of room for a family of (6). The tent sides are great for opening up and inside while being in the great outdoors. Black water lasts about (4) days for me and (5) girls. The fridge has enough room for both food and beer. Great value.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
4.0
Floorplan
4.0
Driving/towing
4.0
Factory warranty/support
3.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Eva Larsen

Idaho

Reviewed on 2022-03-08

RV reviewed2019 Off Grid Expedition 2.0

View listings

4.8
I love this trailer! The quality in exceptional! The team at Off Grid really put a lot of thought into their builds. With it being completely made out of solid aluminum with no wood to fall apart or mold these trailers will last forever. You can see the quality when it is in motion with no wobble or sway to the frame. A truly wonderful off road machine. I never had to repair or replace anything on this camper. It tows like there is nothing behind you and its size makes it perfect for using with a Jeep or SUV. With the added awniing and sidewalls they offer it makes for a huge living space. And the roof top tent is great for adding sleeping space. The latches on all the boxes are really tough and secure which is great since all the utilities are outside. There is more than enough storage in the rear compartment and the storage inside is big enough that I used the bottom cupboard as a dog bed at night for three 40 lb dogs. The insta hot water is quick to heat up to waste less water and makes the outdoor shower quite enjoyable. The Furnace heats the inside quickly and keeps it toasty. I use this camper in the dead of winter in Idaho where you wake up with frost on the inside of the window frame but still warm inside. The Maxx fan is a superb air mover and keeps the condensation from forming on the interior walls and makes a great cooling breeze in the summer. The furnace and stove are so efficient that I only had to fill the 7 gallon propane tank once a year and it was never even close to empty. For the off road enthusiast these trailers are beyond compare. A rare gem for getting out there and exploring the beyond.
Livability
4.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • ...
  • 13
  • 1 - 10 of 124 reviews

For sale near youRVs For Sale

Do you have an RV experience to share?

Help other RVers by leaving a review for an RV or dealership.

Write a review

Browse top RVs

Browse dealership reviews

Browse By State

Browse By Province