Write a review

RV Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

Floorplan

Keystone Cougar reviews

3.6 (178 reviews)
Write a review
Liveability
4.0
Overall quality
3.1
Floorplan
4.4
Driving/towing
4.2
Factory warranty
2.5

For sale near youMatching RVs for sale near you

See all

Top 10 RVs

Reviews

Stars Refinement

178 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

craig strom

Reviewed on 2023-01-15

RV reviewed 2020 Keystone Cougar 315RLS view listing

3.4
I hate the quality of this unit!! What a spaghetti mess of wiring. expect fake wood trim molding to peel its vinyl covering exposing press board. expect water fittings to spring leaks non stop. VERY poor insulation , furnace runs non stop due to all the air drafts. ALL holding tanks gauges are never even close to accurate. interior panels and trim come loose in transit due to little pin nails not being fastened into structural unit. water pump is extremely loud and vibrates the whole rig, ( even after insulating) and making sure nothing is against any structural objects. cant replace mattress with another unless you sacrifice for a smaller size. factory mattress collapses after two weeks of use. NOT enough structural support for floor bracing as unit has been to dealer twice for serious floor issues. DID I MENTION THIS IS A 2020 MODEL? ran out of space to write all other failures. " DONT BUY" your welcome!! also GENERAL RV IS JUST AS BAD!!! they do awful work. make sure to inspect all work before leaving their facility as they are LIARS !!! I approve this review CRAIG STROM. I wish I had never purchased!!! what a 50k loss. NEVER AGAIN !!
Livability
2.0
Overall quality
2.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
3.0
...
Helpful (0)

Flag

Flag this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Kelly Pollack

Michigan

Reviewed on 2022-10-07

RV reviewed 2022 Keystone Cougar 24RDS view listing

2.2
Less than one star on quality....We just bought a 2022 Cougar 24rds 5th wheel from RVOne in Auburn Hills, Michigan in June. One issue after another including: a leak in the bedroom area and under bath sink, the shower stall walls are severely bowed and not attached to the wall, travel latches on fridge are broken and much of the facia on kitchen cabinets is peeling off . Really? This is a brand NEW unit! The dealer can't get us in until Thanksgiving with no guarantee it will be repaired by April. Run, not walk away from this brand and dealer.
Livability
1.0
Overall quality
1.0
Floorplan
4.0
Driving/towing
4.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (0)

Flag

Flag this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Peggy Loucks

New Mexico

Reviewed on 2022-06-08

RV reviewed 2018 Keystone Cougar 369BHS view listing

4.0
very nice travel trailer, rv king bed, couch that folds out to a bed double console recliner, 2 refrigerators, electric fireplace, 3 slides, we have a Gazebo and. a rubber made 4x8 shed that can go with travel trailer. Travel trailer is off white with brown trim, cabinets are dark brown,
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
4.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (0)

Flag

Flag this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Fawn Peace

Oregon

Reviewed on 2022-06-06

RV reviewed 2021 Keystone Cougar 25RES view listing

1.0
The manufacturer released this unit without having conducted any quality control measures. Windows and slide leaked for the first several months. Dealer had to seal entire unit and noted seal was nonexistent. The HVAC and A/C systems are integrated into the most ineffective control system (in Command) in what can only be concluded as to prevent consumers from being able to have a bypass system for operating these 2 very important appliances. Issues with Zone temperature readings prevent the operation of heat and air. Worst RV purchase in my life and I’ve had 4. Would never buy Keystone again.
Livability
1.0
Overall quality
1.0
Floorplan
1.0
Driving/towing
1.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (0)

Flag

Flag this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Dan Drinan

Maine

Reviewed on 2022-05-08

RV reviewed 2015 Keystone Cougar 29RKSWE view listing

5.0
We have owned several other RVs, from the first pop-up camper to travel trailers up to 32ft. This Cougar with the rear kitchen had great counter space, an extra flip-up counter extension and the dinette next to kitchen, so preparing meals was easy. The rocking/swivel chairs were comfy. The slide out wardrobe closet in the bedroom was a great idea, never lacked for space for clothes, no matter how long the vacation was. One nightstand had a lift up top that opened to the lower storage area. You could put a laundry basket there to catch the dirty clothes, pretty handy. The walk-thru bathroom with the skylight over the shower was a nice design, with floor to ceiling cabinet for all the shampoos, towels, hair dryer, etc. The power awning worked well. We always had a manual one, was nice to just push the button. The power hitch lift was also the first one we had. So much easier than all the hand cranking. We pulled it with a Toyota Sequoia, towed easy. We finally sold it due to empty nest, was time to downsize a bit. Looking at others now.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Flag

Flag this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Shawn

British Columbia

Reviewed on 2022-04-04

RV reviewed 2009 Keystone Cougar 320SRX view listing

5.0
I've got the Toy Hauler with the side garage door. Best layout you can possibly ask for if you want to bring your motorcycle or ATV. There's a big Keystone Cougar following for Facebook groups but even driving down the road seeing other Cougar owners you can expect a wave back.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Flag

Flag this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Robert R

Texas

Reviewed on 2022-03-16

RV reviewed 2022 Keystone Cougar 27SGS view listing

4.4
Experience- 27SGS floorplan has served my needs and met expectations thus far. *I looked at many other options and was surprised when I found the 27SGS. I did not want a bigger truck, my 3/4 ton handles it well. The quality overall is very good, normal minor things. Just like a new home or car, there has been a couple of cosmetic items, but actually LESS than my previous “name” rv or truck. Far less. I have never seen or bought anything new that did not have something a little bigger than cosmetic, that needed to be addressed/repaired. Unfortunately, I have one (ONLY ONE). The response has been professional thus far and I am appreciative. My overall experience has not been negative or what we see about the rv industry on TV thus far. My experience to date is very good. I would recommend the Cougar 27SGS to anyone looking for a quality half ton fifth wheel. At the moment- I cant expect a more professional response and pleasant experience. Alverado,Tx. floor plan and living space is very livable- *some of the non cosmetic features that Keystone has now made standard are impressive, ex- solar, Suspension upgrades, Insulation in front, auto leveling. *Really cold weather came after taking possession- front cap was at room temp during very high cold winds. Insulation was obviously there as sold to me…Overall value appears consistent. Surprised with amount storage, as I moved items in. *bedroom storage would serve better if small wardrobe cabinets-on each side of bed were a lil bit deeper, to fit a wardrobe bar and hangers. I do have a couple of normal punch list items- but they have been acknowledged as expected. I have only towed it twice to date and it was easier to hook up than a bumper pull. Spent aprx 16 nights in rv to date. I would definitely recommend the Cougar 27SGS I was cautiously optimistic at start, the Cougar 27SGS was one of the last rvs I looked at. The after the sale support has been as sold to me thus far. Ive seen ownership after the sale. I rarely see that. I am pleased with all to date. The 2022 Cougar 27SGS was a pleasant find.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
4.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
4.0
Factory warranty/support
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Flag

Flag this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Bob Hunter

New York

Reviewed on 2022-02-17

RV reviewed 2022 Keystone Cougar 355FBS view listing

3.8
We purchased our 2022 355FBS in New York and had it shipped to a resort in California. We started using the 5th at the end of December 2021. The floor plan is great for us and aesthetically it is very nice. However, the construction, workmanship and quality control is poor. The first day we found the refrigerator and pop-up plug in the kitchen were not working. I got on the phone with Keystone Customer Service to trouble shoot the problem. They recommendation was it could be the fuse or breaker. I check both and they were fine. After no good recommendations from Keystone I decided to do additional research. Long story short, I replaced the GFI plug in the storage area and that fixed the issue. In the first few days we had one of the pop-up electrical outlets in the kitchen break, one of the kitchen cabinets doors was cracked down the middle. There is molding falling off everywhere. Then we noticed the flooring in the bedroom was bubbling up in numerous places, which is not an easy or cheep fix. The drawers in the master bathroom and the bedroom chest do not seat correctly. Now we have the bedroom slide-out failing. We had a mobile service come out to see what was wrong. They indicated the motor and wire harness needed to be replaced. Mind you, the slide-out has been operated maybe five times in total. As I continue to look around the unit I find screws in sideways, screws falling out because they were not anchored into anything and screws popping up through the flooring. This is all in just two months of use. We do not have a towing vehicle and the 5th wheel is parked at a resort space. There is not a good way to get it to dealer for repairs so I have to make repairs myself or call a mobile repair service, which is very costly. With more and more people using their RV’s longer term and stationery, Keystone needs to start contracting with mobile repair services. There needs to be better quality control and inspection during construction. The only reason for the floor in the bedroom to bubble up is lack of adhesive and poor installation.
Livability
4.0
Overall quality
2.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
3.0
...
Helpful (0)

Flag

Flag this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Marc Colitti

Michigan

Reviewed on 2022-02-12

RV reviewed 2022 Keystone Cougar 316RLS view listing

2.2
Beauty is only skin deep! We have owned 5 or 6 new and used 5th Wheel campers over the last 30 years. This 2022 Keystone Cougar 316RLS is by far the cheapest, junkiest POS we have ever bought and the manufacturer has been as dishonorable about warranty coverage as you can imagine! It looks great in the showroom but then you go camping and so much of the functional design does not work. For example, much of the ‘wood’ appearance is laminated MDF board- it’s used for structural components too. Our closet rod fell to the floor on our first night out, Keystone did nothing to fix it. I was left on my own to fix it, when I took the end supports out I found they were made of plastic and mounted with 2 screws to MDF backing about 1/4 inch deep - there was no wood stud to mount them to. The middle support was mounted to MDF that was stapled to the inside shelves.-pure junk. A window was improperly installed and leaked - Keystone’s solution: take it to your selling dealer in Michigan (while I’m in Kentucky heading for Florida). Get leads to other dealers where we are for warranty work, they fix nothing- one said it needs to go back to the factory, the other wouldn’t do warranty work on a Saturday ! The lock on the entry door didn’t work, it took 8 days and multiple emails to the higher-ups at Keystone to finally realize it needed to be fixed but I had to advance the money for a mobile service and can only hope I’ll get reimbursed. A number of things are weak in the design, lighting is the worst in terms of what is and isn’t controlled by the InCommand system. OTA TV signal booster is a waste, no lighting outside but for LED awning lights and a docking light on the front of the coach. The recliner chairs are cable controlled and too narrow to fit an average butt - same for the couch. The bedroom is cramped and the hanging part of the closet is not tall enough to hang a calf length woman’s dress. Doors are not square, if you look under the bed in the slide toward to front of the bed you can see daylight under the floor! The floor is made of USB, can’t tell what thickness it is but the floor is soft either from lack of adequate support or OSB that is too thin. Have a leak in a bathroom sink, bedroom floor is showing significant wear where the slide comes in after only about 8 openings and closings. Now the air conditioner doesn’t seem to work. Save yourself a lot of headache DON’T BUY FROM KEYSTONE- THEY MAKE JUNK AND DON’T HONOR THEIR WARRANTY!
Livability
2.0
Overall quality
1.0
Floorplan
3.0
Driving/towing
4.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (0)

Flag

Flag this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • ...
  • 18
  • 1 - 10 of 178 reviews

For sale near youRVs For Sale

See all

Do you have an RV experience to share?

Help other RVers by leaving a review for an RV or dealership.

Write a review

Browse top RVs

Browse dealership reviews

Browse By State

Browse By Province