Write a review

RV Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

Floorplan

Toy Haulers 5th Wheel reviews

3.5
Write a review
Liveability
3.9
Overall quality
3.1
Floorplan
4.2
Driving/towing
4.0
Factory warranty
2.5

For sale near youMatching RVs for sale near you

Top 10 Toy Haulers 5th Wheels

Reviews

484 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

Richard J Ernst

Ohio

Reviewed on 2017-03-15

RV reviewed2017 Grand Design Momentum 399TH

View listings

4.6
Overall we like our 399TH and we accept some of the simple fixes that usually come with a new camper. However, it seems like we have a list that wouldn't exist with proper QC: 1. The trailer arrived with the wrong interior. 2. The media chairs were mounted crooked and would get stuck on the window valance when reclined. 3. No hot water on city connection. We have to pull water from the tanks to heat it. 4. Half of the carpet in the loft wasn't even there. It just raw particle board exposed. I was told this was normal from my dealer! 5. Sliding door to the side porch is not square and the door doesn't close flush. 6. Garage glass door has a gap on one side, clearly not plumb. 7. Garage loft bed is not level. I have to push up on one side of the bed to place the locking pins in. I was told by my dealer there is nothing that can be done about it. I need to stand on a stool or use a pole to push the bed up while putting the pin in. 8. The porch enclosure tears a hole in the mesh when stowed for transport. The dealer said it's a design flaw. 9.Trailer was delivered with missing rubber keyhole covers. I was told they will not be covered under warranty even though it was delivered without them! 10. Batteries wont hold a full charge. 12.5V is the highest they will charge. The dealer is currently looking at that. 11. The door would unlatch even when locked under transport. The closed grab handle is the only thing keeping the door closed. I'm told the door isn't aligned with the latch catch properly. 12.Power converter was advertised as a 75W but a 65W was put in. 13. Kitchen slide does not close flush to the unit. 14. Fuel tank gage is backwards and reads the level in the opposite tank. There are also three options we paid for but wish we didn't and we feel a little deceived: 1. The king bed upgrade is not a true king, it's 6 inches narrower than a actual king. We upgraded so I could use our Tempurpedic mattress for my back only to find out later that I paid for the king size option and it won't fit my actual sized king. I now have to buy a queen Tempurpedic to replace the stock mattress but the queen mattress is too small to fill the fake king size platform. Basically I paid for an option I can't use and on top of that I need to spend even more money because of it. Stick with the queen unless you plan on keeping the horrible stock mattress! 2. The so called removable carpet kit for the garage area is a joke! It is literally a roll of felt that isn't even cut to fit the garage(see pic)! We had the understanding it was carpet that matched the carpet in the rest of the trailer. We at least got a small piece of carpet for the door step.The option should be title "unmeasured/uncut removable felt" because it is definitely not carpet! Buy a remnant instead from Lowes or Home Depot, it will be actual carpet and it will be cheaper too! 3. The optional stairs for the ramps have been useless for us. We have yet to find an area that once you get leveled the stairs will reach the ground, even with the legs fully extended(see pic). I have to use wood blocks to place under the legs even on a hard level surface. The only time they work properly is on a flat level surface without the leveling jacks extended(like at an RV show)! The side porch stair mounts were not measured properly and the stairs will not mount evenly because of them. I'm waiting for my dealer to see what they can do with that. I would love to have my money back for these useless options. The camper is nice overall but there seems to be some deceiving with some options, intentional or not....research the options closely or you may not be getting what you think. This is our first camper and our lessons learned were expensive.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
3.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
5.0
...
Helpful (127)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Andrew Seagoe

Oregon

Reviewed on 2022-06-24

RV reviewed2016 Dutchmen Voltage 3990

View listings

2.6
I cannot stand companies that don't build quality when you're talking about a six figure purchase. Wife and I graduated from a WELL WEATHERED 90s rv to this toyhauler 5th wheel. The engineering IMMEDIATELY stood out as nowhere near the quality of our 90s unit. Within months air vents disintegrated, no help. The entire Dometic thermostat system is so effing TERRIBLY designed, you have to be a rocket scientist to learn it. pluss, the on board generator won't even run all 3 ac units, or even heat the entire trailer. THE low quality and idiot engineering limits to 1 cabin ....what idiots do this? Do they not understand the WHOLE trailer is used, ALL the time and people dry camp ALL THE TIME, and a generator should heat or cool the ENTIRE TRAILER, ALL THE FRIGGIN TIME?!?!. My wife and I miss our simpler, more efficient unit and were so hoodwinked by the dealers....we won't make the same mistake again. We are going to sell our unit and go simpler. I forgot to mention that after the 1st week, one slide mechanism went out and still isn't working properly after repair. Just a garbage unit for the money...save yourselves the trouble. Don't buy one of these. Please
Livability
2.0
Overall quality
2.0
Floorplan
3.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Daniel Washington

Florida

Reviewed on 2022-05-19

RV reviewed2019 Forest River Vengeance 348A13

View listings

2.6
I contacted Forest River Customer Service for an issue we have with our camper (2019 Vengeance 348A13) and was advised to email pictures to them. We had a water leak develop in a closet in December of 2021. After checking and recaulking the roof area, outside lights and windows, the leak was still there. We called an RV technician to help identify the problem. After removing the front AC unit, the technician found a tear in roofing membrane and obvious signs of water damage. The area was cleaned, sealed with roofing tape and the AC was reinstalled. At this time, I have spent $258 out of pocket for a repair to something that should have never happened. It is obvious that this tear happened during the manufacturing process. We also have a soft spot on the roof area. I asked Forest River if they could help us with repairing the roof members that were starting to rot and install the roof membrane properly. I was told that our camper was no longer under warranty and that the leak was caused by not maintaining the roof properly. I have applied leveling sealant in all areas that I could reach with a caulking gun. I was also told by Forest River that because I didn’t caulk around the AC, that the leak was my fault. I researched caulking around the AC and couldn’t find very much info. Since the AC has a gasket that is compressed when tightened and access would be impossible without removing the AC, I feel like Forest River was telling me to caulk, just to pass blame on me and not accept the fact that their poor manufacturing process is the root cause for our leak. I will never buy a Forest River product again.
Livability
1.0
Overall quality
1.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Gary

South Carolina

Reviewed on 2022-05-17

RV reviewed2021 Grand Design 320G Momentum G Class

View listings

4.4
Great design and layout. The main thing that sold us was the size of the master bedroom and bathroom. We've come to appreciate the garage area not just for taking the golf cart and bikes but also when our grown children go with us; with it's half bath, large HappiJac bed, back patio and separate entrance door it becomes it's own little apartment so everyone has some privacy. It pulls well with the upgraded suspension and while it's a bit of a handful to get into a camping space it makes up for it once it is in place and set-up. The auto-leveling system is definitely a blessing. Kitchen space is good and the large pantry is a high note. Ours has the third AC unit, but even in 90+ degree temperatures we've never needed to run more than two. The dual gas/electric water heater is a nice feature, as are the 3 awnings, multi-head shower, and the magnetic slam close doors on the outside compartments. The only area where it seemed like Grand Design cut corners a little is in the original mattress on the main bed. There's no such thing as the absolute perfect RV but this comes as close as anything we've owned.
Livability
4.0
Overall quality
4.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
4.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Tori DiVincenzo

Maryland

Reviewed on 2022-05-02

RV reviewed2019 Grand Design Momentum M-Class 349M

View listings

4.8
We have lived full time in this camper for over a year. The floor plan makes it doable. We did move our bed back to the toy hauler and make it a king. We love it. The kitchen has a lot of usable storage and the double fridge makes it so much easier to live full time.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Dave Warren

California

Reviewed on 2022-05-01

RV reviewed2021 Forest River Cherokee Wolf Pack Platinum 365PACK16

View listings

4.4
This was a great way to learn how to work with a toy hauler, all of our stuff fit into one unit instead of an rv and a trailer, it was great to break off with our truck and be able to explore without the towing of the big unit all the time, or leave it for a few days and come back. The unit worked really well for our family of 4, lots of room, beds had great sizes kids really liked that and having the two bathrooms was a huge perk, especially with teens.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
3.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
4.0
Factory warranty/support
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Chris Murray

Utah

Reviewed on 2022-04-26

RV reviewed2021 Forest River Cherokee Wolf Pack 325PACK13

View listings

2.0
Bought a brand new wolfpack 24pack14 gold series. Second time we took it out the siding legitimately started ripping off the sides while driving down the highway. We duct taped it back together so it wouldn't blow off and kill someone. With their warranty they said they would replace some of the siding but the parts that had duct tape residue they would not cover ..... Guess we should have let it blow off all the way and kill someone I guess that would have been a much more fun lawsuit for them. It's not been sitting at the dealer for almost 6 months with no signs of them sending the parts that have been ordered for them to fix it under warranty. I would NEVER recommend buying one of these wolfpack trailers..... Maybe not even any from them where they won't even send the parts while it's under warranty.
Livability
3.0
Overall quality
1.0
Floorplan
4.0
Driving/towing
1.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (2)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Dave

North Carolina

Reviewed on 2022-04-21

RV reviewed2015 Keystone Fuzion 371

View listings

2.2
There is no way in hell this camper is worth that much money. I've been around RVs my whole life. I've got a 2017 40' fifth wheel toy hauler. It has a generator 6 way stabilizing system 2 ACs 18 cu ft refrigerator freezer two bathrooms sleeps eight people three slides free TVs I only paid $62,000
Livability
1.0
Overall quality
1.0
Floorplan
4.0
Driving/towing
4.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Dan Mann

Michigan

Reviewed on 2022-04-18

RV reviewed2021 Jayco Seismic 4212

View listings

4.4
Purchased this RV so we could take a golf cart but found we didn’t need to so going back to traditional 5th wheel. I have been very please with the quality and easy of use and set up of this 5th wheel, The hydraulic leveling system is great . it’s just not the model for us. Towed easy. Wife was pleased with amount of hot water all the time, a fresh water dispenser at kitchen sink, ease of TV set up. Has RV fridge but has plenty of room also it ran on propane while traveling. Plenty of heat in cooler temperatures and fireplace helped. Does have a recliner that is being replaced under warranty (came with split from factory) Great panty space and full size oven. Almost every option available. Full body paint with an added clear coat protectant besides manufacturers.
Livability
4.0
Overall quality
4.0
Floorplan
4.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Martin Rogak

Nevada

Reviewed on 2022-04-16

RV reviewed2021 Alliance RV Valor 42V13

View listings

4.8
Great toy hauler with solid factory support for a full-timer. Like with any new RV I’ve had a few issues in the first year of ownership and in every case, all I’ve had to do is contact the manufacturer directly to either have parts shipped directly to me, or I’ve purchased them myself and Alliance will cut me a check to reimburse me once they received the receipts. I’m extremely happy with the overall experience I’ve had as an owner, and would highly recommend Alliance to family and friends. When I look for another RV down the road Alliance will be at the top of my list. For price point I believe the Alliance Valor 42v12 is a great value.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
4.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • ...
  • 49
  • 1 - 10 of 484 reviews

For sale near youRVs For Sale

Do you have an RV experience to share?

Help other RVers by leaving a review for an RV or dealership.

Write a review

Browse top RVs

Browse dealership reviews

Browse By State

Browse By Province