Write a review

RV Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

Floorplan

Toy Haulers 5th Wheel reviews

3.5
Write a review
Liveability
3.9
Overall quality
3.1
Floorplan
4.2
Driving/towing
4.0
Factory warranty
2.4

Matching RVs for sale near you

Top 10 Toy Haulers 5th Wheels

Reviews

461 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

Richard J Ernst

Ohio

Reviewed on 2017-03-15

RV reviewed2017 Grand Design Momentum 399TH

View listings

4.6
Overall we like our 399TH and we accept some of the simple fixes that usually come with a new camper. However, it seems like we have a list that wouldn't exist with proper QC: 1. The trailer arrived with the wrong interior. 2. The media chairs were mounted crooked and would get stuck on the window valance when reclined. 3. No hot water on city connection. We have to pull water from the tanks to heat it. 4. Half of the carpet in the loft wasn't even there. It just raw particle board exposed. I was told this was normal from my dealer! 5. Sliding door to the side porch is not square and the door doesn't close flush. 6. Garage glass door has a gap on one side, clearly not plumb. 7. Garage loft bed is not level. I have to push up on one side of the bed to place the locking pins in. I was told by my dealer there is nothing that can be done about it. I need to stand on a stool or use a pole to push the bed up while putting the pin in. 8. The porch enclosure tears a hole in the mesh when stowed for transport. The dealer said it's a design flaw. 9.Trailer was delivered with missing rubber keyhole covers. I was told they will not be covered under warranty even though it was delivered without them! 10. Batteries wont hold a full charge. 12.5V is the highest they will charge. The dealer is currently looking at that. 11. The door would unlatch even when locked under transport. The closed grab handle is the only thing keeping the door closed. I'm told the door isn't aligned with the latch catch properly. 12.Power converter was advertised as a 75W but a 65W was put in. 13. Kitchen slide does not close flush to the unit. 14. Fuel tank gage is backwards and reads the level in the opposite tank. There are also three options we paid for but wish we didn't and we feel a little deceived: 1. The king bed upgrade is not a true king, it's 6 inches narrower than a actual king. We upgraded so I could use our Tempurpedic mattress for my back only to find out later that I paid for the king size option and it won't fit my actual sized king. I now have to buy a queen Tempurpedic to replace the stock mattress but the queen mattress is too small to fill the fake king size platform. Basically I paid for an option I can't use and on top of that I need to spend even more money because of it. Stick with the queen unless you plan on keeping the horrible stock mattress! 2. The so called removable carpet kit for the garage area is a joke! It is literally a roll of felt that isn't even cut to fit the garage(see pic)! We had the understanding it was carpet that matched the carpet in the rest of the trailer. We at least got a small piece of carpet for the door step.The option should be title "unmeasured/uncut removable felt" because it is definitely not carpet! Buy a remnant instead from Lowes or Home Depot, it will be actual carpet and it will be cheaper too! 3. The optional stairs for the ramps have been useless for us. We have yet to find an area that once you get leveled the stairs will reach the ground, even with the legs fully extended(see pic). I have to use wood blocks to place under the legs even on a hard level surface. The only time they work properly is on a flat level surface without the leveling jacks extended(like at an RV show)! The side porch stair mounts were not measured properly and the stairs will not mount evenly because of them. I'm waiting for my dealer to see what they can do with that. I would love to have my money back for these useless options. The camper is nice overall but there seems to be some deceiving with some options, intentional or not....research the options closely or you may not be getting what you think. This is our first camper and our lessons learned were expensive.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
3.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
5.0
...
Helpful (119)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Crystal Risch-Ball

Oregon

Reviewed on 2022-01-22

RV reviewed2021 Forest River Riverstone 39FKTH

View listings

4.8
Our 5th wheel is incredibly comfortable to live in full time. Great floor plan with space in all the right places. Sufficient storage. Tons of Bells and whistles. Well built and very well insulated. Beautiful as well. Love the on demand hot water heater. For the price we got a lot of extras including full body paint.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
4.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Don Salak

California

Reviewed on 2022-01-21

RV reviewed2021 Jayco Seismic 4113

View listings

3.4
Just got this unit and here were or are the problems: 1. Front Window leaks 2. Both water pumps are wired incorrectly. 3. both doors do not close correctly. 4. patio back sliders are broken. 5. two of the outside under belly doors do not closed correctly. 6. front leg leaks hydraulic fluid. 7. tv input either wired incorrectly or labeled incorrectly. 8. need to seal the line that is from front of rv to the roof as there are gaps where water can get in. I know when you purchase a new RV you will have some issues, but I am sorry to say that this seems to be beyond what one should expect. We are full timers and do not have a truck to move this rv. So taking into the shop to sit for weeks is not a viable option for us. The quality control is where I would say is a big issue, how this unit got out of the factory in this shape is beyond me. I am asking Jayco if they could send a mobile tech to repair some of the issues, they say it has to go to shop. I get it but I also know some of these issue came be fixed on the spot too. I will fix as much as I can ( 1, 2, 3, 4 , 5, 7, 8) but the hydraulic front leg I am noit comfortable with doing nor do I have the tools for this. I will do #4 also if Jayco sends me a new set of sliders. I wish Jayco would help out with sending a mobile tech!
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
2.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
4.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

James Krill

Florida

Reviewed on 2022-01-12

RV reviewed2013 Forest River XLR Hyper Lite 30HFS5

View listings

4.8
Pulls great with the equalizer hitch i installed , family friendly lay out , great kitchen and the location of every thing is with in arms reach when cooking. sitting under the awning after a hard play day is real relaxing. first one that i had with gas and elc, hot water Great no wait for hot water. this is a very good camper lots of fun. My camper is a 3013 Forest River XLR Nitro 30FQS This camper is not on there list of choices so i chose the closest one
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Bob

California

Reviewed on 2022-01-10

RV reviewed2011 Keystone Raptor 400RBG

View listings

5.0
I've been living in this exact unit for 5 years ..no complaints great Floorplan converted my back room to a huge closet .some people put a combo washer drier in there ...I live in park with laundry..only thing I don't like is typical keystone crap carpeting with no padding underneath. Couch leatherette tops started peeling but that's normal for Cali heat ..over real comfy and modifiable ..bought identical 2010 unit from my neighbor and flipped it in q day fir a good profit ..if you don't need to put toys in rear with exception of a motorcycle layout is great ..side ramps can be opened and modified or used as a sitting patio or with a little ingenuity turned into a nice screen room !..main room is super room I pulled out one couch on right side and converted to a desk and work station....it's a great man cave or couple home or get away ..suggest only pull it with a dually tho even tho I've only moved it twice
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Christie martin

Minnesota

Reviewed on 2022-01-07

RV reviewed2021 Forest River Cherokee Wolf Pack 325PACK13

View listings

1.0
Overall the manufacturing and finishing inside is a poor design and the quality is so slap together poor that we have personally just fixed many things . The doors are not glued and fell apart, the velcro on the table came off first thing. The floors stay cold , I'm sure because if the stuff you see is horribly done, I imagine what you don't see is worse. I didn't expect to have to hire an inspector to walk through the whole thing before we bought it. silly me, I thought a cabinet door would just be able to be used like normal. The sink is in crooked and the drain inside isn't flush either, so.. I'll have a plumber come and fix it? .. irritating!
Livability
1.0
Overall quality
1.0
Floorplan
1.0
Driving/towing
1.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Dylan Hurlbert

Oklahoma

Reviewed on 2021-12-29

RV reviewed2014 Keystone Raptor 300MP

View listings

2.8
Every single time we have used this fifth wheel something has broken. Every possible corner was cut during construction all the way to leaving caulking tubes in the underbelly. Every single screw has come out at least once. Every knob and drawer pull has fallen off, and even the bottoms of the drawers have fallen out. The shower handle has disassembled itself while exploding plastic pieces in my eye. The propane regulator literally cracked in half, filling the cavity with propane. I imagine the build quality is on par with the other brands. $5 worth of thread lock would probably be enough to save a customer years of hassle.
Livability
4.0
Overall quality
1.0
Floorplan
4.0
Driving/towing
4.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Mike

Idaho

Reviewed on 2021-12-26

RV reviewed2018 Heartland Fuel 335

View listings

2.6
Bought this 5th wheel new very poor construction quality no attention to detail. The dealer didn’t fix the dented awning after heartland paid them to I had to threaten to call the Attorney General for Fraud. The main slide wasn’t aligned so it’s torn up my flooring and they refuse to fix it. The repairs they’ve done in the dozen and a half times I’ve made a 2 hour one way trip to the dealer have resulted in 1/2 assed repairs at best to literally include duct tape. Very disappointing for a camper with an MSRP of over $70k. Sales dept was awesome service would get a negative rating at best from me (Pasco Wa CW) don’t go there you’ll regret it.
Livability
3.0
Overall quality
2.0
Floorplan
3.0
Driving/towing
4.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (2)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Dennis Thomas

Oregon

Reviewed on 2021-12-20

RV reviewed2021 Dutchmen Keystone 4245

View listings

1.6
We had this RV delivered to us from Jeff Couch's RV nation. It was delivered damaged on 9/5/21 and we have been struggling to get this repaired since. The dealership is worthless in this process. The factory has been horrible to say the least. When you pay $100,000 for an RV you would expect it to be top notch and not have any or very few issues. That has not been our case at all!!! Not only is it built completely wrong in the garage/Happy Jack lift bed area there are other issues as well. The manufacture of the bed is not the problem...the problem is that there was no supports put into the wall when this RV was manufactured...so now they are trying to half ass fix it. We have ran into brick wall after brick wall just trying to get this to be a usable RV. We don't even want this RV anymore. We bought it to live in and build a house while doing this...that window has closed now and we are stuck with nothing more than a high payment and a useless RV. Sure, people act like they want to help us but it goes down the same road every time. This is built so poorly that they actually can't figure out how to repair it...the proper way. The RIGHT thing for the factory to do is to take this RV back and cut ties with us. We have never been treated so unfairly in all of our dealings with purchasing RV's. We have come to the point that we are seeking legal help to try and sue the factory for this poor poor workmanship on the RV.
Livability
1.0
Overall quality
1.0
Floorplan
4.0
Driving/towing
1.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

James Burress

Virginia

Reviewed on 2021-12-15

RV reviewed2021 Forest River XLR Nitro 405

View listings

1.8
Bought the unit new in August and already have a issue with the fiberglass side starting to bubble with air behind it. Found a large cut in the flooring and the tank valves are really hard to pull. Called the dealer and they say it needs to go back to factory so I call the support and they said no it needs fixed at a dealer that it has a water leak causing the issue. I say BS because its only been out from under the shelter once since we brought it home. If its has a leak then it leaked before we picked it up. The service stinks the rv is way over priced for what the quality is also. This is a XLR Hyper Lite 3212
Livability
2.0
Overall quality
1.0
Floorplan
3.0
Driving/towing
2.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • ...
  • 47
  • 1 - 10 of 461 reviews

Do you have an RV experience to share?

Help other RVers by leaving a review for an RV or dealership.

Write a review