Write a review

RV Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

Floorplan

Shasta reviews

3.9
Write a review
Liveability
4.3
Overall quality
3.3
Floorplan
4.6
Driving/towing
4.2
Factory warranty
2.9

For sale near youMatching RVs for sale near you

Top 10 RVs

Reviews

25 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

Jamie Pfeilsticker

Nebraska

Reviewed on 2019-12-17

RV reviewed2016 Shasta Oasis 310K

View listings

1.8
Our family bought a 2016 Shasta Oasis brand new in spring of 2017 from a local dealer. We towed it 20 miles to our permanent camping spot where it sat and never moved. In the early summer of 2018 the slide began to leak. We were instructed by the dealer to contact Shasta in regards to the camper leaking. I did contact Shasta/ Forest River in June 2018.  At that time I spoke with Dave Troxel in charge of warranties.He explained it was just out side of the warranty. However seemed open to helping in the situation and refer us to a different local forest river dealer for repair.  The dealer was unable to look at the trailer until November. We placed tarps over the slide out and roof to prevent further damage from leaking.  Once camper was at the dealership they stated that they were told by Shasta there would be no coverage due the one year warranty being up. I did continue to seek assistant but without success. We did eventually accept this and paid for the repairs which totaled around $750 dollars. Towed it back to our camping spot again where it sat. Then in the Summer of 2019 the camper began to leak and again damaging the floor and lower portion of wall.  We contacted dealership who did the repairs. It was stated they were only taking appointments for customers who purchased their RV from them. They also stated that work completed only had a 90 day warranty and that was up. They recommended a body shop for repairs. Which we did and upon looking at the camper we received this email: I looked at your unit and a solid number estimate is difficult because I dont know how far the rott goes.  I do know the slide would need to be pulled to fix the water damage on the off doorside, but again i don't know how far under the slide the water damage is. Previous units with similar damage Was in the 5-10,000 range to repair. It's a can of worms once opened could be worse or better than expected. This body shop and the the prior dealership who preformed the first fix recommended we contact Forest river again which we did and once again offered no help. We then paid for a seal test which shows the same problem as before. During the inspection it was found that the slide leaks regardless of being pulled in or out. I forwarded the information to Dave at Forest River who responded that they would pay for materials only and not labor to help out. Labor runs about $158 an hour and the total cost of materials is only $450.00 out of a $7,500 repair bill. Please keep this in mind this camper has not been towed more than 100 miles. So this is by no means normal wear and tear.I feel that I did purchase a faulty product from Forest River and the slide-out room it's self is defective. The issue stems from one of the following: factory installation defects, incomplete work, and then no (or fraudulent) quality checks before the unit was released from the factory and manufacturing process. I have been as patient possible with Shasta considering the significant issue I have had with their defective product. I am not a "problem customer." I was sold a problem product. I am now stuck with the a camper which is faulty and pretty much worthless. My next step is providing online feedback on blogs, websites, and anywhere else I can WARN and PROTECT a potential buyer. 
Livability
3.0
Overall quality
1.0
Floorplan
3.0
Driving/towing
1.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (147)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Edward Sweeney

Texas

Reviewed on 2021-10-24

RV reviewed2020 Shasta Oasis 21RB

View listings

4.6
My wife and I purchased this Travel Trailer new in 2020 and have had very good success with it. There has been only one issue in the time that we have owned it. The awning would not deploy once, after working fine for quite a few trip. We contacted a dealer and they promptly repaired a wire that had come loose (from a poorly crimped connector) inside the channel. The warranty covered it and we incurred no cost or great inconvenience. The quality is adequate for the price range and it has good features and tows very easily with a 1/2 ton truck. We are happy that we purchased it as our first travel trailer.
Livability
4.0
Overall quality
4.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
5.0
...
Helpful (5)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

William H England

Washington

Reviewed on 2021-09-07

RV reviewed1968 Shasta Shasta 278287439273

View listings

4.6
We didn't buy this trailer to fix it up and "flip" it. We fixed it up and took it camping, both rustic and glamping. Then we became disabled, so are selling it. Totally customized for the growing trend to "glamping," fabulous inside and outside. We added the following: Red aluminum diamond-plate front and sides. Awnings on side and back. Wonderful picture window on back--for viewing the stars or waking up to the sunrise. Checkerboard tile floor. Professional cushions. Enlarged bed area to queen and added Casper mattress. Barnwood and stamped metal trim. Appliances custom painted in turquoise,--stove, oven, refrigerator. New tires and wheels with less than 1000 miles, new deep-cell battery. Re-insulated walls with double insulation. Reworked hitch deck. Added propane bottles. Furnace, water pump, and refrigerator all working, but may need regular maintenance such as pilot cleaning. Electrical DC battery or AC power cord, internal water tank or external hose connection.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
3.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Christopher J Fick Sr

Wisconsin

Reviewed on 2021-08-29

RV reviewed2016 Shasta Phoenix 34RD

View listings

2.6
It is nothing but a pile of junk so much stuff is coming apart it was built in 2016 we bought it in 2018 we are the only owners I will never buy a product from forest river again. They don't stand behind there product. We have so much saw dust from the shelves and the out side panels that are supposed to be gel coat are not they faded a year after we got it and they wouldn't do anything about it.
Livability
4.0
Overall quality
1.0
Floorplan
4.0
Driving/towing
3.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (8)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Jeni Reese

Alberta

Reviewed on 2021-08-26

RV reviewed2018 Shasta Oasis 18BH

View listings

3.2
We purchased our Shasta Oasis 18BH new in 2018. We like the layout and size but have had many quality issues with it. The water tank fell off of the trailer as it was not secured correctly, we had to have a wall replaced due to a hole, we have had to fix almost ALL of the door fasteners on the cupboards as they were not installed correctly, a cabinet needed to be repaired as the separation wall had not been installed correctly and was not secure, both locks for the under storage area are not working correctly, the furnace stopped working and recently we have had bubbling showing up on the inside of the trailer wall. The only support that we have received to help with some of the above issues is from the dealership. The manufacture has not been any help at all and they only give you a one year warranty. Due to issues that we have had I would NOT recommend purchasing ANY Air Shasta trailer.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
1.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
4.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (10)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Robert Cavan

Arizona

Reviewed on 2021-08-08

RV reviewed2016 Shasta Phoenix Lite 296RS

View listings

4.8
Shasta Phoenix X-Lite model 296RS. This fifth wheel has all the amenities you need, and a few extras like an outdoor refrigerator, and a convenient kitchen island, not to mention triple slides for added foot traffic space inside! Step in and notice how open it feels with dual opposing slides in the main living and kitchen area. There is a slide out three burner range with overhead microwave oven to your immediate left, along with a refrigerator, and an entertainment center. The off set island features a double sink for cleaning up, and more food prep counter space as well. Along the rear wall a tri-fold sofa with end tables and overhead storage is perfect for relaxing, or even added sleeping space for overnight guests. Adjacent there is a theater seat with storage above, and a booth dinette for enjoying your meals at. Along the interior wall you will find a hutch for storing your dishes and things. Head up the steps on your right as you enter and notice the complete bath at the top on your left. Here you will enjoy a corner shower, toilet, and vanity with sink. The front master is accessible through the second bath entry door that slides open and also offers easy access into the slide out wardrobe and linen closet. You will rest easy at night on the queen bed provided, and find plenty of storage with bedside wardrobe/closets, and the slide out closet too. Outside you will have storage for your outdoor gear, plus a refrigerator to keep your drinks handy while you enjoy a bit of fun exploring your surroundings! Sleeps 5 Slides 3 Length 30 ft 11 in Ext Width 8 ft Ext Height 12 ft 3 in Hitch Weight 1470 lbs Gross Weight 10630 lbs Dry Weight 8437 lbs Cargo Weight 3193 lbs Fresh Water Capacity 50 gals Grey Water Capacity 45 gals Black Water Capacity 45 gals Furnace BTU 30000 btu New Goodyear Endurance (less than 1000 miles)
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
4.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Cindy Wortham

Arkansas

Reviewed on 2021-07-08

RV reviewed2017 Shasta Phoenix 336RL

View listings

2.0
The Phoenix is the worst trailer we have ever owned, its like they just throwit together. The floors are falling in. we can see the boards on the inside of the the walls, and the walls sweat a lot. There is to many things wrong with this trailer to till. Don’t buy a Phoenix you will be sorry you did.
Livability
1.0
Overall quality
1.0
Floorplan
4.0
Driving/towing
3.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (4)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

B w

California

Reviewed on 2021-07-07

RV reviewed2019 Shasta Shasta 26DB

View listings

2.2
I have owned several trailers and this one is crap. Poor quality, poor workmanship and a very bad design. I would rather have bought a tent. I would have expected better from forest river company but I guess you pay for what you get.
Livability
3.0
Overall quality
2.0
Floorplan
2.0
Driving/towing
3.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (9)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Al Gagne

North Carolina

Reviewed on 2021-05-31

RV reviewed2017 Shasta Phoenix 336RL

View listings

5.0
We love our RV never had any issues with it the only reason why we're selling it is because I'm looking for a toy hauler since I have a couple of toys to haul. We are the original owners since 2017 and we'll miss it.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
5.0
...
Helpful (2)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

KERI DOUGLAS

Oklahoma

Reviewed on 2021-03-26

RV reviewed2018 Shasta Revere 27RB

View listings

5.0
We really enjoyed this travel trailer. It has a spacious floorplan. Love the power jacks, slide-out, awning, and hitch. Those power items make set-up and tear down so easy. There are 2 gray water tanks, which is nice. Also, the black tank flush makes it easy to make sure tank is clean after use. The outdoor refrigerator and cabinets is very handy when cooking outdoors or to grab a quick drink when hanging outside. I do recommend a half ton truck or larger to pull unless you have the stabilizer bar for longer distances. The centralized heat and air is nice having ductwork throughout the camper. There is also plenty of storage areas inside and outside of the camper. The stereo system is very good with speakers inside and out that you can regulate. Cool lighting under the awning. Built in antenna gets great reception, also connection if want to mount a dish of some sort. The regular sized shower is also a plus. Also, there is an outside door that goes straight to the bathroom, which is nice for going in and out and not having to traipse through the rest of the camper (letting cool or warm air out).
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
5.0
...
Helpful (6)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 1 - 10 of 25 reviews

For sale near youRVs For Sale

Do you have an RV experience to share?

Help other RVers by leaving a review for an RV or dealership.

Write a review