Write a review

RV Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

Floorplan

Grand Design Momentum reviews

3.6
Write a review
Liveability
3.9
Overall quality
3.0
Floorplan
4.3
Driving/towing
3.8
Factory warranty
3.0

For sale near youMatching RVs for sale near you

Top 10 RVs

Reviews

68 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

Richard J Ernst

Ohio

Reviewed on 2017-03-15

RV reviewed2017 Grand Design Momentum 399TH

View listings

4.6
Overall we like our 399TH and we accept some of the simple fixes that usually come with a new camper. However, it seems like we have a list that wouldn't exist with proper QC: 1. The trailer arrived with the wrong interior. 2. The media chairs were mounted crooked and would get stuck on the window valance when reclined. 3. No hot water on city connection. We have to pull water from the tanks to heat it. 4. Half of the carpet in the loft wasn't even there. It just raw particle board exposed. I was told this was normal from my dealer! 5. Sliding door to the side porch is not square and the door doesn't close flush. 6. Garage glass door has a gap on one side, clearly not plumb. 7. Garage loft bed is not level. I have to push up on one side of the bed to place the locking pins in. I was told by my dealer there is nothing that can be done about it. I need to stand on a stool or use a pole to push the bed up while putting the pin in. 8. The porch enclosure tears a hole in the mesh when stowed for transport. The dealer said it's a design flaw. 9.Trailer was delivered with missing rubber keyhole covers. I was told they will not be covered under warranty even though it was delivered without them! 10. Batteries wont hold a full charge. 12.5V is the highest they will charge. The dealer is currently looking at that. 11. The door would unlatch even when locked under transport. The closed grab handle is the only thing keeping the door closed. I'm told the door isn't aligned with the latch catch properly. 12.Power converter was advertised as a 75W but a 65W was put in. 13. Kitchen slide does not close flush to the unit. 14. Fuel tank gage is backwards and reads the level in the opposite tank. There are also three options we paid for but wish we didn't and we feel a little deceived: 1. The king bed upgrade is not a true king, it's 6 inches narrower than a actual king. We upgraded so I could use our Tempurpedic mattress for my back only to find out later that I paid for the king size option and it won't fit my actual sized king. I now have to buy a queen Tempurpedic to replace the stock mattress but the queen mattress is too small to fill the fake king size platform. Basically I paid for an option I can't use and on top of that I need to spend even more money because of it. Stick with the queen unless you plan on keeping the horrible stock mattress! 2. The so called removable carpet kit for the garage area is a joke! It is literally a roll of felt that isn't even cut to fit the garage(see pic)! We had the understanding it was carpet that matched the carpet in the rest of the trailer. We at least got a small piece of carpet for the door step.The option should be title "unmeasured/uncut removable felt" because it is definitely not carpet! Buy a remnant instead from Lowes or Home Depot, it will be actual carpet and it will be cheaper too! 3. The optional stairs for the ramps have been useless for us. We have yet to find an area that once you get leveled the stairs will reach the ground, even with the legs fully extended(see pic). I have to use wood blocks to place under the legs even on a hard level surface. The only time they work properly is on a flat level surface without the leveling jacks extended(like at an RV show)! The side porch stair mounts were not measured properly and the stairs will not mount evenly because of them. I'm waiting for my dealer to see what they can do with that. I would love to have my money back for these useless options. The camper is nice overall but there seems to be some deceiving with some options, intentional or not....research the options closely or you may not be getting what you think. This is our first camper and our lessons learned were expensive.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
3.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
5.0
...
Helpful (124)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

pam jurick

Michigan

Reviewed on 2022-05-05

RV reviewed2020 Grand Design Momentum 320g

View listings

5.0
We have taken some amazing trips. We love our fifth wheel. I can't say anything bad except we have to sell. It's a beautiful fifth wheel toy hauler. Grand Design Momentum pays attention to detail. We have made awesome memories and now we need to pass it on
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Esther Wolf

Texas

Reviewed on 2022-04-02

RV reviewed2020 Grand Design Momentum 397TH

View listings

5.0
We have so enjoyed our Momentum. The Artic package proved its worth during snow-maggeddon. My husband and I purchased our RV April of 2020 brand new from McClains RV in Denton, TX. It has been our main living space when we are not working. Our Children has visited and the quietness of the garage living space with the 2nd bathroom provided an enjoyable stay for all. With many amenities from the Artic package with the amazing Onan that kept us warm and with power when the power was out in Texas, to the auxiliary fuel tank and water tanks and the easily convertible garage space, we give this RV a 10 out 10 on ease to care, move and haul.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
5.0
...
Helpful (2)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Pat McDevitt

Wisconsin

Reviewed on 2022-03-29

RV reviewed2021 Grand Design Momentum 28G

View listings

1.4
At first glance Grand Design looks like a good reputable company, after having our G Class Momentum 5th Wheel for 1 year, it has spent 4 months in the repair shop. Our 1st issue was with the Patio Door, one side of the door track is wider than the other by 1/8" this allowed the window to fall out when you opened it. This was agreed to be fixed; however, it took months for the parts to fix and when they came in the window was not included. Hopefully this is now fixed. Our 2nd issue was with the cabinets, one of the cabinet’s shelves was installed wrong, the support was put on the top side instead of the bottom, and this allowed the shelf to detach once weight was introduced. It took some time but after several months we got parts to fix the problem. Communication was less than good from Grand Design; it took several calls and email to get a respond when i was checking on status of the parts. During this time, we noticed the floor in the bedroom was wet after it rained. We use our camper often, and fortunately we had not been in the camper when it was raining until this point. When it was hot in the summer, we could smell a little musty smell and the floor squeaking when you walked under the a/c. After complaining about this it was determined that when the A.C was installed they had a wire installed incorrect under the a/c gasket, this allowed water to enter the camper below the a/c sine it was not sealed correctly. Now this is fall October, the camper was Built a year prior to this, how much water has entered the camper and compromised the wood floor? The walls? The bed frame? Grand Design authorized the dealer to brace the floor. So, we have a water problem for a year and rather than replacing wood that likely was damaged from an issue caused by poor installation they are stepping up to brace the floor. If you have water damage in your home to wood subfloor, you replace it, why would my camper be treated any different? They stated the bracing is all they will do. In my opinion this is not taking care of the customer after the sale or customer focused as touted on the Web page, Now we have many other issues which are still pending after the last 6-week stint at the dealer, we still have not had the Slide repaired, one side does not open all the way, it leaves a gap of about 1/2 inch. They have ordered a part but still not in. The best is the refrigerator freezer, we noticed issues while using for an extended period of time. On one side of the freezer we noticed it took 2-3 days for ice to freeze. We informed the dealer, the made a warranty claim with Grand Design, they were told to adjust the doors, the dealer did this and advised the one door is installed at an angle, and adjusting will not fix, they recommended replacing the unit. Grand Design has now asked me to send them pictures showing the work is done, she also asked me to fold a dollar bill, and see if it will slide between the gasket and the refrigerator. And we need to take pictures of this. Now mind you, the customer service manager read the notes from the dealer, she was aware of the door mount being crooked, but still insisted we need to do these other steps before she can submit for replacement. Again, this is top notch customer service as describe on the Web page. If they do not trust the dealer to have done the repairs, maybe they should require pictures from the dealer showing warranty repairs are completed. Having the customer do this is a tad ridiculous. Other "quality" issue include not putting all of the screws into the floor trim, a new one is ordered, still not in. Televator falling, the Stop was installed with small staples, this allowed the stop to fall off and have the TV fall into the Televator area. Again, another Quality issue. Other issues include door adjustments, light issues and other small items, the gate for the deck frame is bent, this made it hard to close, dealer made adjustment, but still bent with opening and closing issues. These issues have partially been addressed. When you read Grand Designs web page and they state how great they are in Quality, Customer Service, and how they take care of customers after the sale. This is not our experience with Grand Design at all. Unfortunately our experience is very poor with Grand Design. I understand that the camper is a rolling hurricane and things can happen, what I cannot understand is the customer service and warranty issues with getting repairs authorized and completed. And the lack of care about the product they put out. I am sure with the market the way it has been in the last few years, they don't have to care about customers. I would shy away from Grand Design products. Future Ex Grand Design Owner
Livability
2.0
Overall quality
1.0
Floorplan
2.0
Driving/towing
1.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (4)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Craig Goldstein

Florida

Reviewed on 2022-02-01

RV reviewed2016 Grand Design Momentum Grand A Design

View listings

4.8
This model has upper living room with a big screen 60 inch tv entertainment center. Great to take your motorcycle out of garage and go for ride. Come home and barbecue and relax on the water. Store your boating supplies in many storage locations and additional ice machine and additional refrigerator outside for entertainment. The best rv on the market without any doubt
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
4.0
...
Helpful (2)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Cory A Swanson

Washington

Reviewed on 2021-11-04

RV reviewed2021 Grand Design Momentum 28G

View listings

2.0
Run as fast as you can from new RV models, we went thru 2020 Grand Design Momentum 28G and then a 2021 Grand Design Momentum 25G, both had to be sent back- fell completely apart, total waste of time and money, start looking for older models- after 2008 things started getting bad, I have too many details to even write down about the experience, trust me there is a Industry problem right now, maybe there are a few high end models but I do not see anything lately worth Investing in, totally just my opinion!!!
Livability
3.0
Overall quality
1.0
Floorplan
2.0
Driving/towing
2.0
Factory warranty/support
2.0
...
Helpful (6)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Cory Swanson

Washington

Reviewed on 2021-10-28

RV reviewed2021 Grand Design Momentum 28G

View listings

3.0
Listen up new RV buyers- we started in 2020 and went through 2 years of hell, it started with us in 2020, did our research and bought a new Grand Design 28G toy hauler, this thing did not even make 1 trip without buckling the floor between bedroom and bathroom? all the other stuff is kind of expected nowadays- lots of small issues- but structural issues? so we got this thing sent back to factory, they made us a new one- we changed to the new 2021 25-G since we did not need the longer 28G- I asked the factory to just make sure this one was built correct, no rush, we finally received the new 25G and again had the small stupid stuff to deal with, took a short trip with 1200 pound toy in back which should be fine since this unit is 3600 pound payload for toy section, well when we got back the same exact thing happened= floor came up again in same spot? I just about passed out when my wife showed me!!! here we go again, took to my local good guy RV repair man again, he told factory what the problem was= Factory did not want to hear it, they wanted to do some cheap idea of a fix= problem was in design that they still did not fix, I wonder how many others out there have tried hauling toys in the back and then look at the linoleum coming up between the front bedroom and bathroom? the problem is there is no support here underneath the underlayment because the water tanks are in the way, subfloor just lifts up and down with no support, nobody listens to me or my RV guy? then we checked roof and found out the top bulkhead was not even built with enough material to secure it? so we had to glob a bunch of sealer on it temporarily so rain did not get in the gaping hole, after 2 years of this I pulled out!!! the dealer took it back for NADA Value and we got hosed for 2 years of pain and 15 thousand dollars, I am sure both these Units just went to more unsuspecting victims like ourselves, with my research and talking with RV experts we think everything started going haywire with production from about 2008 on, so we got an old 2006 temp RV to get us by while we look for a manufacturer who builds a quality unit? for now all I see is garbage that is doubling in price? it will all come to a head eventually, unfortunately there will be a whole lot of people making payments on garbage, what happened to you get what you pay for? I also feel sorry for some of the dealers= they are just peddling what the manufacturers are producing then having to put them in a big line waiting for repairs, I still cant believe I did not pick up on all the RV Units with tags on them stacked a mile deep in the back when we bought our 2020 unit= we were just excited to get our new rig, then quickly realized it will live most its life in the repair graveyard that we just walked by? we had a 2007 Fleetwood Redline as our 1st real toy hauler- that thing was bullet proof with no issues at all!!! wish I could find another one of those machines, just please remember so you do not have to go through the pain we did= there is no such thing as well built RV anymore with the exception of maybe a few very high end builders, do not believe anything you read on reviews from manufacturers, maybe someday the manufacturers will be forced to quality control these units a little better- until then we are skeptics and OUT!!!
Livability
4.0
Overall quality
2.0
Floorplan
4.0
Driving/towing
3.0
Factory warranty/support
2.0
...
Helpful (9)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Michelle Chee

Florida

Reviewed on 2021-10-20

RV reviewed2018 Grand Design Momentum 351M

View listings

5.0
We have loved this fifth wheel toy hauler. AMAZING layout. Has tons and tons of storage and great versatile living spaces - indoor and out. The garage can be whatever type of living space that fits your needs and the main area has so much room to enjoy. It's super easy to make this 'your own'. This is our first Grand Design and we definitely love the quality.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
5.0
...
Helpful (4)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Christine Fulford

Pennsylvania

Reviewed on 2021-09-20

RV reviewed2021 Grand Design Momentum 381M

View listings

5.0
I love everything about this RV it was definitely home away from home for me, tons of space gourmet kitchen huge pantry a great place for friends to gather a great bedroom and bathroom and a huge garage for all of your toys but also another great gathering space to entertain an an extra room for guests.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Joshua Reiter

Nevada

Reviewed on 2021-09-04

RV reviewed2021 Grand Design Momentum 28G

View listings

2.2
2021 Momentum 28G is a complete piece of crap! I was warned that most rv's are crap, so I thought I'd go with the best built, best quality, best etc., Nope...100% crap! I've owned this rig for less than a year and it has been in the shop for 5mos. Flooring issues, bed motor issues, window issues, pieces falling off issues, graphic issues, and radio issues. Stay clear! Spend the money to go all aluminum like ATC. Outside of the issues, it towes like freaking crap. (Note-i have a 2021 F350 with a blue ox 2000/20000lb weight distribution hitch) and still pulls like a piece of crap. Layout is great, about the only positive! I can't believe these things are even aloud on the road how they're built!
Livability
3.0
Overall quality
1.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
1.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (7)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • ...
  • 7
  • 1 - 10 of 68 reviews

For sale near youRVs For Sale

Do you have an RV experience to share?

Help other RVers by leaving a review for an RV or dealership.

Write a review

Browse top RVs

Browse dealership reviews

Browse By State

Browse By Province