Write a review

RV Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

Floorplan

Northwood reviews

4.0
Write a review
Liveability
4.3
Overall quality
3.9
Floorplan
4.5
Driving/towing
4.4
Factory warranty
3.1

For sale near youMatching RVs for sale near you

Top 10 RVs

Reviews

156 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

Paige Whitworth

Arizona

Reviewed on 2017-10-19

RV reviewed2017 Northwood Arctic Fox 27-5L

View listings

4.0
4 months after having our unit we had issues with cooling off the inside. Outside temp 109, inside 101. assumed it was due to being to hot. Found out there was no insulation around refrigerator or in the cap so heated air was blowing in from the outside from out vanity bedroom drawers. The AC was also not installed completely causing the cold air to reverse and froze out AC unit. In trying to figure out what we thought we were doing wrong I called the dealership in Mesa, AZ who, after this ordeal that took over 8 months to figure out, has a better business rating of "F", they told me to, and this is literally, "Suck it up". I called Northwood and they would not help us where we were that had an onsite service center and stated that if we had any work done, they would not cover it. We ended up, at the start, sitting for 7 hours in our running truck with our dogs due to the high heat, had to buy an apartment window AC unit just to try and cool off the bed so we could drive the next morning, and buy a box fan to try and keep the flow of air circulating. At this time we didn't know the issues but frustrating none the less. We also had issues with drawer bottoms falling out with light load, screws constantly coming lose on drawer handles, the bedroom drawer constantly coming off the track, and the shower was leaking which was caused by poor installation and had to be reset and resealed. Northwood did cover the items when we got it back but as for helping on the road, they were of no help nor would they reimburse despite the fact that these issues were not our doing and the unit came from the factory that way.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
2.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
3.0
...
Helpful (233)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Kelly Robinson

Alberta

Reviewed on 2022-05-07

RV reviewed2022 Northwood Arctic Fox 28f

View listings

2.0
After first use of our new trailer we discovered a shower leak. Upon investigating where it came from it was found the floor in the shower was only 1/2' plywood and was flexing where ever you stepped, causing the tub to move behind the wall and leak. I wish i would have had the inspection door off and looked in there before spending this much cash.
Livability
2.0
Overall quality
1.0
Floorplan
3.0
Driving/towing
3.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Dave G

Ohio

Reviewed on 2022-05-02

RV reviewed2020 Northwood Nash 26N

View listings

5.0
We bought the trailer new in Spokane WA and took it home to Ohio. Since then we taken it to Fort Myers Florida and many points between Florida and Northern Ohio, not to mention a couple trips to Northern Michigan. With travel trailers expect to have a hick up here and there, it’s common with moving a box on wheels. Speed bumps, pot holes, quick stops for reckless or drifty drivers finding enough space to cut in front of you. As for this 26N - it is the best and can stand proud beside an airstream, without the price tag. Trailers well, rugged and very well designed. Floor plan is efficient, and the included equipment is durable. It’s a great 4 season rig - we tested it down in the teens through Montana to the full Florida sun. Go with the LP 3500 watt onan genset and solar - it really works! When storing use a cover and we even put 1/2” 4x8 sheets of pink foam insulation on the roof and under the cover for those oh by the hail storms that sometimes frequent Ohio - works well and provides great ventilation- preventing mildew and extends life of chalking. If your slide gets cocked (caused by not holding in/out button couple seconds after slide stops - stopping in between interfere with auto sync between motors) just extend til it stops and retract in 10” and stop - then extend again - do this at least 3 times and poof - the motors re-sync and done. So don’t get scared off by the negative ninnies - this is a quality rig and it’s on the best frame in the business! Built to go off grid. How important is a frame? Very, a substandard frame will cause corners to loosen and separate - I’ve seen it on a fifth wheel and I felt sorry for that owner. You won’t see that on Northwoods frame. There’s is more I could say good on the Nash, like grease fitting on easy lub hubs (money saver on bearings and spindles), springs and shocks (give great ride and stability), trailer brakes are durable (two years of use and still strong - I use them often to counter cushion effect from truckers passing - just use brake controller to apply a little brake as semi sucks it in and poof it settle out with no worries). When you do your first chalking - run a bead over the horizontal of the rock guard and you’ll never have the issues the one reviewer had with moisture (I haven’t had to rechaulk yet and everything is dry so far. So to close - we love our rig!
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Barbara Lyle

Colorado

Reviewed on 2022-05-02

RV reviewed2018 Northwood Arctic Fox 25R

View listings

5.0
Artic Fox Travel Trailers are full of amenities and work well for long trips and boon docking. This trailer has ample storage and feels large with the slide out. We often stop for lunch along the way to our destination and can access the kitchen and bath without opening the slide. We seldom use the generator with the extra solar panel. Camping is great in the winter months since the trailer is so well insulated. The only downside is the weight - GVWR is 10,000 pounds. This was my dream travel trailer and still is.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Ralph Lowery

Oklahoma

Reviewed on 2022-04-15

RV reviewed2021 Northwood Arctic Fox 996

View listings

4.6
My wife and I enjoyed the Truck Camper AF 996. It is very versatile and has room for us to move around in it. We love it and wish it had a dry bath and a set of recliners. If so we would full time in it until we had seen all of the USA that we wanted to. The quality of it is outstanding we had a problem at the beginning with the sink drain but I was able to take care of it. I would recommend Arctic Fox brand to anyone who wants a good Truck Camper.
Livability
4.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
4.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

6Wheels

Georgia

Reviewed on 2022-03-20

RV reviewed2013 Northwood Arctic Fox 22G

View listings

4.6
Great camper for weekends as a couple, easy to pull, quality build. There are only a few travel trailers made as well, very few. Wide body, all season, 200W solar panel with 1000W Zamp true-sine inverter
Livability
3.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Wendi Phelps

Montana

Reviewed on 2022-03-14

RV reviewed2021 Northwood Arctic Fox Grand Ronde

View listings

5.0
This 5th wheel is an absolute dream! It felt very home-like with many extra touches that I did not expect. I really love the magnifying mirror in the bathroom.....clearly that was designed by a woman! Easy maintenance, spacious, with all the amenities of home.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Glen I Johnson

California

Reviewed on 2022-03-01

RV reviewed2018 Northwood Arctic Fox 27-5L

View listings

4.4
This is our 9th or 10th trailer we've owned in the last 30 years. The last three have been Arctic Fox trailer. The first one a 22GQ took us to Alaska and back and several more trips totaling 15K miles without any problems. The next was a 26X that took us on a three month trip around the US as well as other trips totaling 28K miles without any problems. Last is the current 27-5L that took us to most of the states in the west totaling 11K miles. The only issue is we lost a wheel due to not checking and torquing the lug nuts. The only reason we are selling it is health and vision problems. Northwood product quality is due to a very substantial frame and structure framing and cabinetry. The appliances are the same as everyone elses. The 27-5L has some of the largest holding tanks in this size trailer. The grey water tanks are 67 and 35 that can be conbined to provide 102 gallons of capacity. This makes longer off grid camping possible. Fresg water and black tanks are also large.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
4.0
Factory warranty/support
3.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Carrie

Nevada

Reviewed on 2022-02-05

RV reviewed2014 Northwood Arctic Fox 27-5L

View listings

3.6
We bought this 5th wheel used, in 2017. We bought it mainly because the Arctic Fox is so well insulated. We lived in it for over a year while our house was being built. The A/C could never keep up with cooling the 5th wheel off in the summer heat, and drew in the bad odors from the drains when it was on. The automatic holding tank drain valves never did work right, and would either stick closed or open. Then, if they did stick, you can't manually open them! We had to order new ones, and they aren't cheap. My husband had to pull off insulation under the 5th wheel to replace them. Also, the holding tank gauges never worked, either, in spite of doing EVERYTHING suggested for fixing them. For towing, we consider the height too high at 12'8" inches and it is a wide body at 8.6 ft., which sometimes is a pain to park if the slideout is hanging out in a street or in a cramped RV Park. Arctic Fox's are also very heavy 5th wheels. The bed has an air mattress which keeps leaking air. On the positive side, it was fairly comfortable for a small living space and most of the 5th wheel was well-built.
Livability
4.0
Overall quality
4.0
Floorplan
4.0
Driving/towing
3.0
Factory warranty/support
3.0
...
Helpful (3)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

brian johnson

Washington

Reviewed on 2022-01-09

RV reviewed2011 Northwood Snow River 256RLSS

View listings

1.6
I purchased 2011 snow River 256 rlss 2 years ago to live in full time after my house burned down. First thing I noticed was water leaks between the shower leaking down into the wall all the way to the front bedroom area and the roof membrane leaking down into the walls down to the floors the entire front bedroom area was rotted out completely. Second thing and actually more importantly was the poor craftsmanship. All wires pipes tubing that came through walls and Floors the holes were never sealed or filled I have two inch holes in the floors with one single wire going through with no foam or seal or cover where mice get in constantly they're open to the outside environment. I have zero storage I have six cabinets and two worthless supposed Ward closets. There's more wasted space in my cabinets just for decoration and show then I have actual cabinet space. I could understand if it was a toy hauler a partier but it's not and never was. Almost three whole square feet of counter space throughout the entire trailer I can't even put a coffee pot on the counter without it being in the way somehow. The power panel is directly below the freezer and fridge which when it drains it drains right into my converter oh, that's always a safe thing, LOL. No insulation whatsoever underneath the slide out. The insulation underneath my floor is held up by plastic insulate sheets but nothing more. The three tanks grey black and freshwater are sagging so low there sitting on my axles. I have nothing good to say about this trailer whatsoever it's cold year-round and I live in a pretty mild climate everything has leaked everything has caught fire and what hasn't been destroyed the might of come in and s*** all over because there's massive holes from crappy craftsmanship. I can't find any information about this model online ever I do believe it's because Northwoods manufacturing was so embarrassed that they made sure it was erased from existence. I'm sorry for the crappy review but it is a horrible trailer as far as craftsmanship quality and let's talk about livability oh, absolutely non-existent. I would never call this a four season trailer I would never recommend anyone ever buy one.
Livability
1.0
Overall quality
1.0
Floorplan
2.0
Driving/towing
3.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • ...
  • 16
  • 1 - 10 of 156 reviews

For sale near youRVs For Sale

Do you have an RV experience to share?

Help other RVers by leaving a review for an RV or dealership.

Write a review