Write a review

RV Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

Floorplan

Forest River Cherokee Wolf Pup reviews

3.7
Write a review
Liveability
3.9
Overall quality
3.2
Floorplan
4.4
Driving/towing
4.2
Factory warranty
2.9

For sale near youMatching RVs for sale near you

See all

Top 10 RVs

Reviews

Stars Refinement

29 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

Andy Shank

Reviewed on 2023-01-19

RV reviewed 2021 Forest River Cherokee Wolf Pup 17JG view listing

1.4
Slide problems plague this model. Mine has failed for the 3rd time. Forest river doesn’t stand by their product and does not want to help with it. Floor plan makes the RV useless if the slide does not work. Poor cabinet space, wood panel by the fridge was cut too long and shoved in to try and fit it…staples came out. There’s just a lot of quality issues, but the biggest one it has is the slide out. I would not buy and i will NEVER buy a Forest River product again. They do not care about your loyalty as a consumer. Sell it and forget it should be their new motto.
Livability
1.0
Overall quality
1.0
Floorplan
2.0
Driving/towing
2.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (0)

Flag

Flag this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Dan

Reviewed on 2022-11-19

RV reviewed 2019 Forest River Cherokee Wolf Pup 16FQ view listing

3.0
I purchased this model based on weight and floor plan. The walk around queen was appealing as was the large rear bath with centered toilet (provides more leg room than a corner placement). I also wanted a larger fridge that wasn't sitting on the floor. I like this more than I could have imagined. I also made sure to get a year that had a PROPANE fridge. Gas is nice and cold, reliable and easy. They try to sell you on your battery/solar power only, don't do it. I think we will be all set when we sell simply based on having a 3 way fridge. Our biggest complaints are: 1) The mattress is an absolute joke, it's more like a box spring. They do this so that the weight is as low as possible when advertising. You will need to spend some serious money to actually get comfortable. A topper isn't going to cut it. Plus once you add height to the mattress, the side closet doors will not open as they open inward against the bed. 2) The "walk around" is more like a squished side shimmy at best. I find myself scooting to the end and getting up more often than not. This is also due to the fact that you will slam your head on the sharp corner of the upper kitchen cabinet. You WILL do this more than once and it's no joke. Talk about a rude awakening. 3) The queen appears large but due to the cabinets mounted on either side you are really wedged in there from the arms up. It feels coffin-esque. You don't appreciate this until you've slept in it a few times. We removed these cabinets and we are so happy we did. Now we have an actual bedside area large enough to actually set things on and the upper cabinets that run the length are more than sufficient storage. 4) The sensor placement for the black water tank is not placed in the correct area. Therefore it will always read as full as soon as you basically start to use it. Thankfully we have a plumber in the family. 5) The radio and the outside speakers are junk. No biggie but don't think you will ever actually use them, you will end up bringing your own. 6) The storage area under the bed is hard to get to when you have to lift your 5 layers of bed material. I took a page from a youtuber and mounted a hydraulic hinge. Much better. There are a bunch of other annoying things that you will spend time and money on adjusting but I think that's par for the course i.e. the faucet handles have to be turned ass backwards. We figured out this was because they used knob faucets instead of levers like they were supposed to etc. etc. I have realized that all of these types of trailers are cheaply made so don't expect top quality, I feel bad for the people that buy new. If you get a good deal, the towing weight and floor plan are the key reasons to purchase but have some $$ set aside for all of the additions/adjustments that you WILL be doing to have comfort. After all, it was kind of the whole point right? I hope this helps! Happy camping!
Livability
3.0
Overall quality
3.0
Floorplan
4.0
Driving/towing
4.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (0)

Flag

Flag this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

G

New Jersey

Reviewed on 2022-10-13

RV reviewed 2017 Forest River Cherokee Wolf Pup 16BHS view listing

4.6
This is my second Forest River trailer. Both experiences have been great. This trailer I've had for 5 years. It's been very easy to maintain with no issues at all. The only warranty thing I needed to have done was the refrigerator, which needed to be replaced by Thetford, the fridge manufacturer, so I don't blame FR for that. Thetford tried to deny the claim and FR stepped in and paid for a new one for me because they felt Thetford was wrong. Excellent customer service experience from Forest River. Otherwise, there's literally nothing to note here. It's been an amazing little trailer.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
3.0
...
Helpful (0)

Flag

Flag this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Tim Willms

Wisconsin

Reviewed on 2022-09-12

RV reviewed 2021 Forest River Cherokee Wolf Pup 17JG view listing

4.6
We quickly purchased this RV from an dealer that was far away from us. This fit the bill for what we needed at the time. We were limited by towing capacity. This towed ok. This is inherent of a single axle trailer when comparing to a tandem axle. Kind of like comparing apples and oranges. The setup with the app was great. I could watch for trees when putting the slid out on my own with my phone running the slide. We went on several week plus long camping trips in this with our family of 5. It gets the job done. We all had a comfortable place to sleep at night. 5 is really pushing it for room getting ready in the morning or turning in for the night. This is really the only fault of the camper for us. Storage is ample, 12volt fridge is great! Great little camper for a family that does not have a big tow vehicle.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
4.0
Factory warranty/support
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Flag

Flag this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

David Tiplady

Maryland

Reviewed on 2022-03-19

RV reviewed 2021 Forest River Cherokee Wolf Pup 16FQ view listing

4.8
Took 2 big trips. Baltimore to Des Moines Iowa 4 a week 2021. Then Florida keys for 5 weeks in Jan. 2022. Only problem was Check valves in both Sink faucets Stuck closed. towing trailer was a dream. Very easy to set up. Overall very happy with layout and functionality. Have had trailer for a year now. Spent about 9 weeks camping. Just found out the solar panel is not charging the battery. Hoping it's something simple. Love this camper.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Flag

Flag this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Eldar Aharonovich

Maryland

Reviewed on 2022-01-12

RV reviewed 2021 Forest River Cherokee Wolf Pup 17JG view listing

1.8
I'll split my review into two parts: 1. The trailer - is junk! Poor quality, poor workmanship. 2. The company, Forrest River - even worse! My trailer is in the shop for over 4 months now waiting for parts. Their so-called "road assistance" doesn't work when you need them, told me it will take them 4 days to send a technician to fix the slide out. Stay away!!!
Livability
1.0
Overall quality
1.0
Floorplan
3.0
Driving/towing
3.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (0)

Flag

Flag this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Jocelyn Adviento

Georgia

Reviewed on 2021-11-04

RV reviewed 2021 Forest River Cherokee Wolf Pup 16FQ view listing

3.6
I really like the Murphy bed/sofa combination layout because this is a small trailer with no slide out. The space is good for a couple or couple with a small child or pet. My husband and I brought our two kitties and they thought it was purrrrrfect. The awning with lighting, refrigerator and speakers made a great outdoor space to hang out and listen to music while enjoying your campsite. And the sofa/Murphy bed made the indoor space useful and versatile. We would lay on the bed and watch movies or play Uno at the dinette when it rained. Both the bathroom and kitchen size for this trailer is great and functional. This is our first trailer and is great for short trips but even with it’s short length I never felt comfortable pulling a trailer so we are going to upgrade to a small class C RV. Looking at the Jayco 22A as it’s short and has a great layout as well.
Livability
3.0
Overall quality
3.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
4.0
Factory warranty/support
3.0
...
Helpful (0)

Flag

Flag this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

John Dobrzynski

Colorado

Reviewed on 2021-09-08

RV reviewed 2021 Forest River Cherokee Wolf Pup 17JG view listing

2.8
This is our first RV and was so extremely excited for it, but what a huge disappointment it has been. This thing was built with incorrect electrical parts according to the dealership as which has caused us to miss quite a few trips with it stuck in the shop to be repaired. We bought new to avoid issues like this. Walls are coming undone the slide has already broken down and this is now back in the shop which will have been a total of 7 weeks this time waiting on forest river to send the parts. This has been our biggest regret of a purchase of any kind... EVER! we will never consider anything from forest river again. Their CS over there is pitiful as well. We bought the trailer in March of 2021, and it has been at the dealership for repairs 6 times. We have used it 6 times which means that every time we tried to use it, it would break on us. Do yourself a favor and seriously consider something else from another manufacturer.
Livability
4.0
Overall quality
1.0
Floorplan
4.0
Driving/towing
4.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (0)

Flag

Flag this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

yanbo li

Florida

Reviewed on 2021-08-28

RV reviewed 2020 Forest River Cherokee Wolf Pup 16PF Black Label view listing

3.0
I bought the 2020 Black Label Edition. Pro: Nice appearance, layout, lighting, owning, auto, colors, blinds Cons: 3900lb trailer is dangerous with one ax and cheapest Chinese tire. One tire has blown out during a normal drive. Immediately we replaced all tires with the best Michelin tires. Domestic AC unit is cheap and noisy. Mine is a lemon. The fan motor shaft vibrates and is noisy. The circuit breaker was triggered many times, so we replaced the AC with a smaller unit. Some 120v sockets and USB ports do not work. The outside shower head is cheap and broke the first time use.
Livability
4.0
Overall quality
2.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
2.0
Factory warranty/support
2.0
...
Helpful (0)

Flag

Flag this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 1 - 10 of 29 reviews

For sale near youRVs For Sale

See all

Do you have an RV experience to share?

Help other RVers by leaving a review for an RV or dealership.

Write a review

Browse top RVs

Browse dealership reviews

Browse By State

Browse By Province