Write a review

RV Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

Floorplan

Keystone Cougar Half-Ton reviews

3.3 (110 reviews)
Write a review
Liveability
3.5
Overall quality
2.5
Floorplan
4.0
Driving/towing
4.0
Factory warranty
2.6

For sale near youMatching RVs for sale near you

See all

Top 10 RVs

Reviews

Stars Refinement

110 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

AK Fish

Reviewed on 2023-01-11

RV reviewed 2022 Keystone Cougar Half-Ton 30RLS view listing

2.4
The company makes a big deal of its automotive windshield. We bought a 2022 22MLS June 2022. After we left the Colorado dealer and began heading on the home many many hundreds of miles away, noted several days later that the frame and the interior paneling had a gap on the driver’s side. You could only see it if you were laying in bed looking up at it or viewing it from the side. The gap was big enough to slide your hand through up from bottom of frame to 14″. Took numerous photos and had a dealer submit claim when we got home in Alaska. Keystone says: “The “gap” is within factory spec, no warranty claim approved”. Really? Luckily, it does not leak water, just looks awful. The passenger side windshield frame is snug against the interior paneling with no gap. Go figure. Sent in email requesting reconsideration of claim. Nope. Go pound sand. Never again Keystone, you lost a customer for life.
Livability
2.0
Overall quality
2.0
Floorplan
3.0
Driving/towing
4.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (0)

Flag

Flag this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Rob Stockwell

Reviewed on 2023-01-02

RV reviewed 2020 Keystone Cougar Half-Ton 29RKS view listing

2.8
We have owned this RV for 2 years now. We have had several issues with it. We purchased in the fall of 2020 and made our first trip the following March. We had several issues on that trip. TV Had black spots in picture. Entertainment Slide jumping and opening unevenly. Black tank flush valve wasn't working due to being installed backwards. Issues that we feel are just poor quality. The jackknife sofa is horrible. It does not open flat and anone taller than 5' could not sleep on it. The included Capital Grill could barely cook a hotdog. Everything was fixed under warranty and seemed to be working fine. We then discovered a leak in the skylight over the shower. We were told this was not covered under warranty and it cost us over $100 to repair. We have had several cosmetic issues with molding, et.. that are also not warranty coverage. We now are having the same issues with the slide and it is also no longer under warranty. However after looking at the issue closer it is not a mechanical issue. The floor on one end has apparently gotten wet and has begun to rot and as a result has expanded. my assumption is that rain made its way into it. So when you bring the slide in and out it is causing it to bind. I have not contacted them yet but my assumption is that it will not be a warranty item. I have no idea what this will cost to repair.
Livability
2.0
Overall quality
2.0
Floorplan
4.0
Driving/towing
4.0
Factory warranty/support
2.0
...
Helpful (0)

Flag

Flag this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Antony

Reviewed on 2022-11-02

RV reviewed 2022 Keystone Cougar Half-Ton 30RLS view listing

2.4
We purchased the new Cougar 29RLI from camping world in October 2022. The layout of the RV was perfect utilization of space for the two of us. We liked the idea of the theater seats across from the TV plus a sofa sleeper at the back of the RV for additional seating and a bed if necessary. We also liked the island in the kitchen area and a pantry. Quality; The quality of construction is poor. The wall material was attached with staples, many of which are not all the way in with half the staple sticking out. The kitchen slide mechanism pulled out of the wall the second time we retracted the slide. It tore up the seal on top of the slide and the roof material on the slide. The entire slide had to be removed to fix it. This happened getting ready for our first trip, so obviously we couldn't make the trip. The Service center said the pulley brackets were not installed correctly. They couldn't verify if the other pulley bracket on this slide, or the other two brackets on the other slide were also installed incorrectly. Very troubling. The awning wires were exposed when the awning is deployed, they were not supported or covered so the wires were getting pinched in the structure when it closed. When we were talking to the service manager he said that this unit has a structural issue at the right hand lower corner of the wardrobe slide which will fail and the fiberglass exterior wall will crack. The siding material will have to be removed and the support structure reinforced. He did say the repair was covered by Keystone. The batteries don't have the capacity to raise and lower the unit without getting a low voltage alarm. The service center says this is normal and you have to have your truck plugged into the RV or connected to shore power when lowering or raising it. This seems ridiculous to us. There is nothing in the manual on how to winterize the RV. Towing; The unit tows great with our F250SD Diesel. Customer Support: We contacted Keystone two weeks ago about our issues. Still waiting for a response from them. Warranty; So far other than the battery issue The repairs are being covered. Camping World will only repair three items per visit. So we are going to have to reschedule another appointment to fix some of the other minor issues. Overall; At this point we would not of purchased this unit had we known that there is an inherent structural issue that exists with this unit.
Livability
1.0
Overall quality
1.0
Floorplan
4.0
Driving/towing
4.0
Factory warranty/support
2.0
...
Helpful (0)

Flag

Flag this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Bryan

Indiana

Reviewed on 2022-09-23

RV reviewed 2021 Keystone Cougar Half-Ton 30RLS view listing

2.0
Overall we like the size and weight. We know it's an entry level trailer, but really built poorly. It has construction flaws and it looks like Dutchman put everything into it that was broken. As soon as we got it home the air conditioner didn't work. We weren't able to use it the first year so the first time we used it was 8/30/22. toilet leaks couldn't use it. Tge microwave won't open. Dutchman said use website to find nearest location . Called Rv sales and they won't make appointment until next month. I have someplace to go ,but can't leave with a broke down piece of crap. The Hell of it is Dutchman is only 70 miles away, but I can't take to where it was built. I'm not a happy owner.
Livability
1.0
Overall quality
1.0
Floorplan
2.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (0)

Flag

Flag this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Tom D

Pennsylvania

Reviewed on 2022-09-05

RV reviewed 2022 Keystone Cougar Half-Ton 32RLI view listing

4.2
Issues: numerous rivet head shards all over unit, screws not run into channels but into flooring. Chunk of hard material under flooring , would have punched a hole in it. Screw ran into tv cable causing short. Poorly assembled connector causing 2nd short. finish trim box screw screwed to a "hole"? Shower door glass in shower not square off by 2" from top to bottom. Decals not lined up properly at slides off by 1". 20 exposed staples along medicine cabinet. Island kitchen too close to refrigerator does not allow you to open with slides closed( supposed to be a new feature) . Front underbody at pin box held by too few screws leaving huge gap at seal, rendering it useless. Material used to cover nail holes and such doesn't match leaving a pasty look like drywall dust. Furrion DVD player doesn't play blu ray( how lame) TV is just ok. Positives: Layout is great. In command system worked flawlessly. Refrigerator is roomy enough and worked well. Dual A/C works great and quiet. Auto level is a nice feature.400 watt solar nice! Has a great open feel with all the windows. Microwave and stove work great. If Keystone would clean up their quality issues it would be an outright awesome 5th wheel! Note: Keystone Customer Service has been great working with me to resolve some of my concerns.
Livability
3.0
Overall quality
3.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Flag

Flag this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

C. Young

Ohio

Reviewed on 2022-05-27

RV reviewed 2022 Keystone Cougar Half-Ton 34TBS view listing

2.4
We bought our travel trailer with intention of keeping the family camping tradition going. The camper is laid out decent although you MUST have all the slides out to get into the camper, no exceptions. The quality of product is horrible! They were pushing quantity instead of quality. The wall trim is "pieced" together with square edges, no detail. The walls themselves are able to be pressed in no matter where you are pushing. Their was a recall on the 4th month we have had it due to electrical issues. The shower is cheaply put together and the edges didn't match at all so I had to put clear putty in so the floor wouldn't flood. The steps were not done properly so no additional railing can be done because the drill holes do NOT match anything out there. Storage in living area and bedroom was NOT thought through and is no existent in the living area. The best thing we do like about this is that we all fit without being on top of one another. The tradition continues, but again, quantity over quality really played a key here in making of this camper.
Livability
1.0
Overall quality
1.0
Floorplan
3.0
Driving/towing
4.0
Factory warranty/support
3.0
...
Helpful (0)

Flag

Flag this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Lynn Monson

Minnesota

Reviewed on 2022-05-06

RV reviewed 2019 Keystone Cougar Half-Ton 30RLS view listing

5.0
My review is not on a product but on one of your employees, Renee Jones. I believe she is the Head of Marketing for your company. I have been in the industry for 30 years and cannot believe her comment that black people do not feel safe camping because of white people. What gives her the right to make this statement? I have sold to many nationalities and have never had anyone comment or experience such an issue. I am guessing that Miss Jones dopes not actually camp but only thinks that she knows everything. She is part of the reason that has brought racism back in the frontline of America. I am so sorry that you have someone so biased that is a part of your organization. This woman should not be allowed in any way shape or form to be ahead of anything. She needs to check her facts and actually visit some campgrounds and see for herself that what she states is not true. People like her are what is wrong with our country and I am sorry that you have given here the power to be in such a high position with such outrageous beliefs.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Flag

Flag this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Joe LaGrua

California

Reviewed on 2022-04-06

RV reviewed 2021 Keystone Cougar Half-Ton 31BHKWE view listing

5.0
My 2021 Keystone Cougar Half Ton - Model 31BHKWE is an excellent travel trailer. It’s very high quality over all. From a livability and floor plan perspective it is perfect for families, with a separate bunk room and a private master bedroom with a king size bed, very comfortable. The 2 slide outs provide roomy and spacious living quarters. The roof mounted solar panel provides off the grid capabilities, extremely convenient inn all camping scenarios. Three flat panel televisions provide entertainment for all. Towing this trailer with an F150 Lariat, equipped with a Husky weight distribution hitch and air bags makes this configuration a snap to tow safely and efficiently. Extended warranty included.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Flag

Flag this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Connie

Colorado

Reviewed on 2022-03-31

RV reviewed 2018 Keystone Cougar Half-Ton 27RES view listing

4.8
The Keystone Cougar Half Ton 27RES is a good sized trailer, allowing one to relax in comfort. The 2 theater style chairs, in lieu of fold down couch, are comfortable and have built in drink holders and storage compartment for TV and Radio remotes and other goodies. It has an RV King Size bed, made more comfortable by the memory foam topper we added. The bathroom is roomy with a good sized shower; adding a rod over the top of the shower increased our hanging storage for coats and such. We always had plenty of room for storage (extra) with cabinets over the TV, on the end cap, in the kitchen, in the bathroom and over/around the bed. Not to mention the pass through storage on the exterior, the fold down bike/storage rack on the back and room in the outdoor grill/fridge area. The automatic levelers are a little tricky to understand and can take a little finessing to get it leveled, but a lot easier than manually extending the jacks. Towing is made easy with the Equalizer Sway Control Hitch and back up camera. This trailer has a polar package, rated to 0° and a fully sealed underbelly. We bought this trailer when we retired and was our introduction into the RV adventure. We are happy with our purchase and love the time spent together traveling. Unfortunately, we no longer are able to take it out and must let it go. We have kept it very clean and made some homey decorative touches, that are easily modified if desired.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
4.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Flag

Flag this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • ...
  • 11
  • 1 - 10 of 110 reviews

For sale near youRVs For Sale

See all

Do you have an RV experience to share?

Help other RVers by leaving a review for an RV or dealership.

Write a review

Browse top RVs

Browse dealership reviews

Browse By State

Browse By Province