Write a review

RV Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

Floorplan

Thor Motor Coach Chateau reviews

3.6
Write a review
Liveability
3.9
Overall quality
3.2
Floorplan
4.2
Driving/towing
3.9
Factory warranty
2.6

For sale near youMatching RVs for sale near you

See all

Top 10 RVs

Reviews

Stars Refinement

76 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

Juan Carlos Commentz

California

Reviewed on 2022-10-10

RV reviewed 2022 Thor Motor Coach Chateau 25V view listing

1.0
No tengo experiencia con este RV. Pero me gusta porque No tiene slide en la cama, nosotros viajaremos largo tiempo, además se puede caminar junto a la cama, tiene horno, tamaño adecuado, cama para 5 personas, motor Ford, precio conveniente, alrededor de $ 100.000
Livability
1.0
Overall quality
1.0
Floorplan
1.0
Driving/towing
1.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (0)

Flag

Flag this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

THEODORE FUERTES

California

Reviewed on 2022-06-02

RV reviewed 2021 Thor Motor Coach Chateau 24F view listing

1.8
We have had this Brand New Thor Chateau for almost a year. We are real unhappy with it and have had to put and additional $20K into fixing the things NOT covered under the new motorhome warranty. So far we have had to replace the electrical, the suspension, the steering. We are saving to replace the heater. All these things are not covered under the warranty.
Livability
1.0
Overall quality
1.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
1.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (0)

Flag

Flag this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Olivia

Colorado

Reviewed on 2022-04-04

RV reviewed 2013 Thor Motor Coach Chateau 24C view listing

5.0
Awesome I love everything about it, we’ve had it for almost a year and it’s amazing. We upgraded her with solar panels and it is perfect. It is also the perfect size to get in and out of places and she has plenty of storage.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Flag

Flag this review
Please select a reason
Verified Owner
Voted most helpful review

Daniel Robbins

Florida

Reviewed on 2022-03-08

RV reviewed 2016 Thor Motor Coach Chateau 28Z view listing

3.0
Love the floor plan, drives OK, but quality of workmanship is horrible! Worse yet is the service from General RV which I suggest you avoid they only care about the sale and nothing more, they treat you like crap after the sale, they also charged $3K for what general rv calls “prep” and they did ZERO prep, nothing at all they lied and said all items would be checked and flaws fixed prior to delivery and they did nothing but steal $3K from me!
Livability
4.0
Overall quality
2.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
3.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (0)

Flag

Flag this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Mike Chilton

California

Reviewed on 2021-11-09

RV reviewed 2016 Thor Motor Coach Chateau 29G Ford view listing

3.6
The 29G is a good vehicle. We've been across the country three times in ours and its been overall a comfortable drive. Sidewinds will push it around and I'll pull over rather than fight it if it's getting pushed too much. If you're very sensitive to fuel cost, you shouldn't consider any Class A or C vehicles ... fuel stops will be traumatic. Everything seems to work well in terms of the galley, electrical, plumbing and slide outs. There is good closet and drawer storage but the lower drawers are not accessable unless the rear slide is extended. I have five gripes: The rear of the vehicle extends 'way out past the rear wheels and drags on most driveways ... steep ones you won't make it up ... probably common with most 29 footers. The jack clearance requires a very cautious approach to speed bumps ... it'll land hard on them if you're going too fast. The plastic trim strip over the passender cab door has shrunk and pulled away from it's mounting channel. It's too short to return it to it's place. The tranmission wants to down-shift a long time before it needs to when you're on a rise and often drops down a couple of gears. It makes the cruise control pretty useless unless you're on a level road. Probably a Ford issue.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
3.0
Floorplan
4.0
Driving/towing
3.0
Factory warranty/support
3.0
...
Helpful (0)

Flag

Flag this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Jennifer Kunes

Arizona

Reviewed on 2021-10-25

RV reviewed 2021 Thor Motor Coach Chateau 25V view listing

2.8
Bought my 2021 Chateau in August 2020 and from the get go it was obvious that there was little oversight for quality on this thing. Positives - I love the overall interior of the unit in regard to the layout, twins to king bed, kitchen and overall storage. It's easy to drive and maneuver. Have had lots of fun adventures. Negatives - where do I start...once Thor and LaMesa RV (Phoenix AND Mesa) has your money they are less than helpful for repairs, warrantable items or really anything you might need help with. La Mesa RV loves to put the blame on Thor (who IS also to blame but they are the ones selling the sub-par RVs and they know they aren't quality units). In the first year my brand new RV sat on the lot waiting for repairs for almost 3 months (even when parts were in). If you schedule an appointment for repairs expect to not have access to your RV for 2 to 3 weeks each time you take it in. You'll get lots of excuses and not much action. After 8,000 miles my transmission had to be completely replaced (after months of Ford and La Mesa RV bouncing me back and forth between them over who was to blame for high pitched squealing when I took foot off accelerator at 55 mph). My generator didn't work after 6 months and had to replace the fuel pump to it which was not functioning (found this out a week or so after warranty was up) Constant water issues and leaks - my water pump goes off often when no water is running. Have had it in for repairs 2 times for this and have a new leak somewhere now. Shower surround has been separated (and bubbled) from the wall since I bought it, even with 3 attempts to fix. Was told once the RV was in more humid conditions it would fix itself - it didn't after I spent 3 months in humid Ohio. Exterior paint peeling and bubbling in various spots Severely warped wardrobe door. Mirror cracked on it after a month due to the warped door vibrating and not staying latched. Took 3 visits to have it fixed. Bathroom sink and stopper rusted after two months. Rust rubbed out by RV tech and after 6 months it was rusty again. Series of wires hanging inches from the road under the unit (protective cover was dried out and cracked off so bare wires exposed). Wood panel next to fuse panel split in half. Majority of screws are stripped on latches and cabinetry. Even if I wanted to simply replace a latch that has failed (have had multiple) I can't because the screws are stripped and won't come out. Rest assured, if you buy this unit you will experience lots of excuses, shifting of blame for the many items that will go wrong, and unanswered emails and correspondence. Although I do love the RV because I've been able to go on a lot of adventures I question if those adventures have been worth the hassle of owning this unit. Buyer Beware - Thor (and La Mesa RV in AZ) don't care about the customer once they have their money.
Livability
4.0
Overall quality
1.0
Floorplan
4.0
Driving/towing
4.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (0)

Flag

Flag this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Charles Steffen

Arizona

Reviewed on 2021-09-29

RV reviewed 2020 Thor Motor Coach Chateau 28Z view listing

5.0
Pros: Loved layout, comfortable bed. Ovely hanging lockers and drawers.Big refrigerator. Shower was good size, tons of storage everywhere. Great visibility driving. Cons: Stove cooked a bit hot and fire alarm would go off. Passenger seat a bit cramped.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Flag

Flag this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Marc

Texas

Reviewed on 2021-08-29

RV reviewed 2017 Thor Motor Coach Chateau 29G view listing

4.6
One of our dreams was to spend the early years of our retirement enjoying the National Parks and an RV always seemed like the best way to go. Since this was our first RV we wanted to get one that was easy to handle and it had to be around 30ft so we could get around and stay in the parks wherever possible. We found this used 2017 Thor Chateau that had the features we both wanted, the full kitchen, bathroom, and bedroom with queen bed and nice size wardrobe for her; and an outdoor kitchen, auto levelers and easy site setup that comes with this fully configured Class C for me. Since it was used I ran into some small maintenance issues such as 2 bad chassis circuit breakers that had to be replaced but overall i've done most of my own maintenance and i learned a lot in the process. I've seen bad reviews about Thor Motorhomes but this one has been very reliable. We have taken several 3,000 mile trips that lasted over 3 weeks with no issues whatsoever. We have 2 small dogs that travel with us so we decided for our next RV we'll get a class A (still 30 Ft but more storage due to sitting up higher) that has a King bed, and 2 A/Cs for those trips out west during the Summer. Even though the Chateau has an outdoor kitchen, mine didn't have an outside TV. We have always liked sports and tailgating so i want the full tailgating package on the next one. We liked the layout and reliability of our Thor so much that we just bought a Thor Hurricane 29M. I can only hope that this one will be as reliable as the last one.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
4.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Flag

Flag this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Carey Vassallo

North Carolina

Reviewed on 2021-08-02

RV reviewed 2020 Thor Motor Coach Chateau 31W view listing

4.6
The 31W has a great layout and functionality. The 32ft length allows us to easily find spots in state parks and drivability isn't challenging. The theater seating adds comfort during time inside and the tv is positioned in the correct spot for viewing. The whole system water filter and ice maker is a nice added bonus. There is plenty of storage inside. The tv sound doesn't get loud enough for us so we connected a speaker to help.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
4.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
4.0
Factory warranty/support
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Flag

Flag this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • ...
  • 8
  • 1 - 10 of 76 reviews

For sale near youRVs For Sale

See all

Do you have an RV experience to share?

Help other RVers by leaving a review for an RV or dealership.

Write a review

Browse top RVs

Browse dealership reviews

Browse By State

Browse By Province