Write a review

RV Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

Floorplan

Grand Design Imagine XLS reviews

4.0
Write a review
Liveability
4.2
Overall quality
3.5
Floorplan
4.3
Driving/towing
4.5
Factory warranty
3.5

For sale near youMatching RVs for sale near you

Top 10 RVs

Reviews

31 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

James Williams

Oklahoma

Reviewed on 2019-10-05

RV reviewed2019 Grand Design Imagine XLS 22RBE

View listings

4.0
1. The front of the RV was dented or bowed in were the middle trim is. If you look down it the front is wavy. I looked at it myself and touched the screws on the trim 3 of the screw heads fell off, they appeared had twisted off and been glued back on and then noticed one of the screws was even missing. I was going to put a screw in and discovered there was never a screw there as there was only a hole in the trim and not the trailer. 2. Both pieces of trim running across the front were not sealed and I was leaving on a 17 day trip so I had to seal them myself. 3. Doors to bedroom and bathroom very hard to shut and so miss adjusted that the door striker and magnet could not make contact. And the metal plate on the bathroom door that contacts the magnet was missing and was in fact never there as there were no screw holes. 4. Front decal was coming off 5. Trim on wall by recliner coming off 6. Trim at back of bathroom on floor pulling away from wall. 7. Recliner closest to the bathroom will not recline all the way because it hits the wall. Recliner closest to bedroom does recline fully but also scapes the wall and will result in rubbing a hole in recliner. 8. Bottom right draw will not stay closed when being towed 5. Top gutter above awning leaks above front window Things I fixed because I didn’t want to take it back. 1. Had to adjust bathroom door so my wife could shut it as it was very tight. This was more of a challenge. Tried to adjust it but just couldn’t so I removed the trim on both sides of the door at the top and discovered that the header board that the track screws to was bowed down because the header board was bowed down in the middle. That was because the ceiling is bowed down in the middle. I loosened the header screws and shimmed header at the ends and was able to get it straight and adjust the door. 2. One of The drawers in the bedroom would not stay shut. Discovered that the striker was not even close to the plate so I moved it. 3. Day before I leave on a 17 day trip it rains and water is dripping from the AC unit onto the floor. I removed the top cover but couldn’t see anything wrong. I then removed the bottom covers on the inside of trailer and discovered that all 4 bolts holding the unit to the roof were loose. I tightened them and it rain very hard the next day and no leaks. 4. In the process of fixing the leak I noticed the roof has several bubbles in it and the roof material is not installed very well. Lots of little bubbles. This is my third RV and the worse roof job I have seen. 5. Just discovered that the screw on one side of blinds in bathroom is coming loose because it is just screwed into the paneling and is in the wrong place so that the string is putting to much pressure on screw. I will fix it myself but it will leave a hole as it needs moved over. Things not fixed yet 1. Awning hits slide-out and rests on it. This will result in wearing a hole in the awning. Can not tilt awning when raining, as a result the awning fills with water and then tilts down releasing the water but slide-out pushes on awning and may tear a hole in it. Told it was designed that way. I am not satisfied with that answer as this is my 3rd RV and the awning should not fill with water and then collapse to let the water out. I tried pulling the awning down some on one side but looks like the awning pushes down on the slide out so hard it may poke a hole in it. So we can’t even set under awning if there is very much rain. Very poor design. 2. Heater fan is very loud. I have a recording of it. Dealer looked at it and I admit it was quieter there. It is loud again. High pitch squill. I asked them to replace the fan motor as I had a recording of it but they would only do it if I payed for it, even though they heard the recording. 3. Several of the blinds are crooked when you pull them down because the screws were put in the wrong place. Can’t be fixed with out leaving holes. 4. When the paneling was installed they put something over where the nails or staples are and never wiped of the access so there are blotches every 5. The shower door now only retracts half way, sometimes two thirds. I will see if I can fix it as I am still on a trip. 6. Now one of the LED lights in the main part of trailer is flickering, very annoying to watch. Going to cut the wires and disconnect it. Because I am still on a trip. 7. Poor roof job Summary Worst quality construction in a trailer I have ever seen. I have had a Jayco and Flagstaff by Forest River. I purchased this Grand Design because I had read about how great they were. I love the design and looks but beware the quality control is horrible at least it was on mine. Gave it a 3 for factory warranty and support because I don’t know yet
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
2.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
3.0
...
Helpful (108)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Sandy

Illinois

Reviewed on 2022-05-28

RV reviewed2021 Grand Design Imagine XLS 22MLE

View listings

5.0
Mike husband and I absolutely loved everything about our Grand Design Imagine Travel Trailer. It was the perfect balance of big enough for all of our needs and comforts and small enough to pull with our Durango and to fit at every campsite. The features and quality are top of the line. It was perfect for us.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
5.0
...
Helpful (2)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Michael

Florida

Reviewed on 2022-05-06

RV reviewed2021 Grand Design Imagine XLS 22RBE

View listings

4.8
We retired and decided to purchase this new in June 2020. We wanted a cozy home on the road that our Yukon could pull easily. Both of us have loved and cared for this trailer and we’ve had no major issues along the way. The tires were upgraded to Goodyears and we added a few other options along the way. We’ve traveled from Texas to the Great Lakes to Florida, and have truly loved our glamping experiences. Across 17 states, we’ve been sightseeing, hiking, kayaking, fishing, dining, cycling, winetasting and relaxing by the campfire. We sold only to move up to a 5th Wheel for longer stays out west.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
4.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
5.0
...
Helpful (6)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Jimbo

New Mexico

Reviewed on 2022-03-15

RV reviewed2021 Grand Design Imagine XLS 21BHE

View listings

2.4
Grand design costumer support is useless. I would rate them a 0 if I could. I've had nothing but issues with my rv since the get go. I do not recommend anyone buy from this company. My rv is not even 2 yrs old and they tell me I'm out of warranty which I understand. The thing that bugs me is that my sump pump under my sink completely stopped working and they basically told me I was out of warranty and there was nothing they could do. I told the lady that me and her both know that something like that shouldn't brake that quick. She was rude and no help to me. Save your self heartache and buy another brand.
Livability
4.0
Overall quality
1.0
Floorplan
3.0
Driving/towing
3.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (4)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Jason Peery

Kansas

Reviewed on 2022-02-22

RV reviewed2020 Grand Design Imagine XLS 22RBE

View listings

3.0
I guess being a first time buyer I should have known better, I was told Grand Design was the way to go, but I've had nothing but problems with this trailer. In all fairness, I haven't called the dealer or GD yet, but I am really frustrated by the entire experience. I bought this trailer used less than a year ago, I made the mistake of trusting the dealership salesman and thought it would be a good idea to get the 24/7 roadside added on, which has proven to be useless and a waste of money. Anyway, from day one this trailer had problems with the heater, finally got that fixed after replacing the thermostat and the main board. Now the stove/oven will light but immediately go out, and the refrigerator is 100% dead. So I can't cook, and I can't keep food. I'm currently in Texas, and now have to pull up and go back to Kansas to deal with all this, because all I can get out of the 24/7 deal is they will send someone out here that I have to pay for then (MAYBE) get reimbursed, for a tech to come tell me the unit(s) need to be replaced. I understand that all RVs have issues, but when 3 of the 4 major appliances in this thing have failed in less than a year all I can say is that's junk in my book, There's trim inside that's fallen off, overall quality is questionable, drawer slides aren't right, I've had some screws rust out at the door and other places outside already, the stereo and speakers couldn't be cheaper, and have never worked with the TV. All in all I feel like I was taken advantage of and sold an overpriced piece of junk with extra "piece of mind" services that are a rip off. Like I said, I haven't called the dealer or GD yet so maybe they'll make this right, but it's a real pain, and I feel even though it's a used trailer, I shouldn't be having these types of problems already. I have heard when the pandemic hit that a lot of people quit, and they don't have experienced people building these things any longer, which really makes me wonder if GD is a decent place to work and are less-than-concerned about their employees and their customers. Hopefully I can come back here with good news soon, but as I feel right now I've got a very expensive piece of junk, I'll never buy another Grand Design, and I would never recommend them or the dealer (Lifestyle RVs outside of Kansas City).
Livability
4.0
Overall quality
2.0
Floorplan
3.0
Driving/towing
3.0
Factory warranty/support
3.0
...
Helpful (7)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Pamela Aronson

Georgia

Reviewed on 2022-01-03

RV reviewed2021 Grand Design Imagine XLS 17MKE

View listings

3.4
The customer service from the manufacturer of Grand Design and the service by Campers Inn of Tucker, Ga is nonexistent! We have had several issues since the purchase of our trailer last January. Now to address a simple repair we are asked to leave our camper with them for weeks to have a part looked at for service. They will then contact the manufacturer to see about a solution. The first issue was a manufacturer’s defect which finally was patched up but not fixed appropriately. What a huge disappointment as we like the trailer . I cannot recommend anyone purchase from this manufacturer or dealership.
Livability
4.0
Overall quality
4.0
Floorplan
4.0
Driving/towing
4.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (7)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

james thompson

Mississippi

Reviewed on 2021-11-08

RV reviewed2020 Grand Design Imagine XLS 22RBE

View listings

3.4
We Love our travel trailer, But In less than a year we started having Leaks. Contacted the dealer and took it in it sat there a month and a half, Grand Design rejected our Warranty. We've never had this kind of problem in 30years of buying campers.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
1.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (16)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Kevin Wier

Minnesota

Reviewed on 2021-10-01

RV reviewed2022 Grand Design Imagine XLS 17MKE

View listings

2.2
After doing a great deal of research, we decided to purchase a Grand Design travel trailer based upon their reputation for quality. We ordered an Imagine XLS 17 MKE in April of 2021 and took delivery on July 30 2021. We have been disappointed ever since. Unfortunately, we now know that their reputation for high quality is FALSE and UNDESERVED. They may have been good at some point, but right now they are cranking out crap. Their quality is an absolute joke!! Here are just a few of the issues we have found so far that somehow got past their special PDI (pre-delivery inspection) that they like to talk so much about… -Water leak that sprayed water all over the chaos of wires and connectors that were just lying on the floor beneath the leaking hose in the same area as water pump and water heater. What kind of geniuses combine plumbing and electric in the same spot with zero protection for the electric? Ever heard of a wiring harness or loom! This leak soaked all the way through the floor of camper and leaked out the bottom so the integrity of that is now suspect. The rusty screw laying on the floor below the hose indicates that this leak has been there since delivery. The screw probably belongs in the bottom of the vertical 1x1 piece of wood next to it that doesn’t have any anchor in the bottom… -Every exterior light and the 30 Amp electrical connection on the outside of camper all leak and take on water in the rain. That’s a 100% failure rate! -The interior trim of the dinette slide out rubs on the couch every time the slide moves. -The hardware for the door catch on the outside is mounted 1.5” too far to the right, making it useless unless they remount and drill 4 new holes in the side of a brand new camper. - Drawer slide hardware detached and was pinching electric wire with sharp metal edge. -The vast majority of cabinet doors are out of alignment and rubbing. Mounting screws are stripped into the wood. Adjusting screws have stripped heads. -Wobbly drawers with splintered wood joints that are just waiting to fall apart. -Glue stains on couch cushion. I have contacted our dealer about these and other issues and they have been responsive, but they are backed up like everyone else and haven’t had time to fix it all. They got it in to fix the water leak but most of the other issues are waiting on parts from Grand Design, and time for the dealer to fix. In the meantime, I have had to fix several of the items myself just so that we can use the thing. Maybe I’ll send an invoice for my time and materials to Grand Design! Very disappointing quality on a very expensive trailer! I would not recommend Grand Design to anyone.
Livability
2.0
Overall quality
1.0
Floorplan
4.0
Driving/towing
3.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (37)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Michael

Tennessee

Reviewed on 2021-09-25

RV reviewed2020 Grand Design Imagine XLS 17MKE

View listings

4.6
The design is well thought out and very spacious. Quality is great. HOWEVER, they need to take care of those waiting for new propane pressure regulators under their current recall. It has been since June, we're heading into October.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
4.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
4.0
...
Helpful (13)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Victor

North Carolina

Reviewed on 2021-09-01

RV reviewed2020 Grand Design Imagine XLS 21BHE

View listings

5.0
This review is for a 2021 Imagine XLS 23BHE. It wasn’t on the list for some reason. I’ve had the 23BHE for close to a year and have put around 10K miles on it so far. My tow vehicle is a 2019 Toyota Tundra double cab with the 5.7L engine. When the camper and truck are loaded for a trip we are right at the maximum weight. So far, I’m very happy with the 23BHE. She’s been pulled up and down mountains, over sketchy gravel roads, through plenty of potholes and I’m sure the occasional curb, and have had no mechanical issues whatsoever. Lest you think that I baby the rig, I have 6 and 10 year old boys who are genetically predisposed to kick, lick, slam, chew, and just generally abuse everything in sight, and with the exception of the occasional sticking door and peeling laminate, the RV has held up remarkably well. The floor plan is great as well. GD has made good use of the small space. Keep in mind that this is a fairly small RV, so don’t expect to fit all of your belongings. We recently went on a 3 week trip to Yellowstone and had plenty of space for everything we really needed.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
5.0
...
Helpful (12)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 1 - 10 of 31 reviews

For sale near youRVs For Sale

Do you have an RV experience to share?

Help other RVers by leaving a review for an RV or dealership.

Write a review

Browse top RVs

Browse dealership reviews

Browse By State

Browse By Province