Write a review

RV Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

Floorplan

Keystone Outback Ultra-Lite reviews

3.6 (32 reviews)
Write a review
Liveability
4.0
Overall quality
3.0
Floorplan
4.2
Driving/towing
4.1
Factory warranty
2.5

For sale near youMatching RVs for sale near you

See all

Top 10 RVs

Reviews

Stars Refinement

32 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

Gabriel G

Reviewed on 2022-12-02

RV reviewed 2022 Keystone Outback Ultra-Lite 240URS view listing

2.2
The Cadillac of the RVs? NOT!!! Maybe a Yugo! We bought a brand new Keystone Outback Toy Hauler at the end of January 2022. The owner of a very prestigious RV Dealership told us that we are getting the CADILLAC of all the RVs. A year and a half later I'm starting to wonder if this is what they tell to all of their customers because nothing could be further from the truth. Things that broke within first three months: the water pump and the valve. Things that broke within the first six months: the bed ( the slideout is actually the support for the king bed ), the table. Things that broke within the first year: the toilet, the awning, the space heater ( furnace ) , the bathroom fan, the shower pan, the outside valve for the black tank, a lot of wood covering ( cabinets, door ) got damaged and peeled off, the awning lights ( not all of them but a few LEDs are not working anymore ) . The propane stove is fine but the oven is a joke, it turns off by itself every five minutes ( or less). Communication with the company was extremely difficult, almost non existent with sometimes more than two or three months between sending and receiving an answer to my emails. Although we kept all the documentation, the quotes and the invoices from the repair company ( including the broken parts and pictures of the defects ), in the end they only offered to pay for about a quarter of half of the repairs cost and the explanation was rude and borderline disrespectful. Such a shame that a beautiful RV lifestyle can be shattered by a company that has 12.6% market share but it's no wonder that the number went down from the years before.
Livability
1.0
Overall quality
1.0
Floorplan
4.0
Driving/towing
4.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (0)

Flag

Flag this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Marc T Miller

Reviewed on 2022-11-21

RV reviewed 2022 Keystone Outback Ultra-Lite 240URS view listing

2.0
I have had many issues since I purchased it in July. The shower was draining on ground the awning collapsed and broke. Took it back to camper world on August 2 for repairs and got it back in october 5 . Then refrigerator stopped cooling so returned it to camper world now they tell me keystone never installed vent for refrigerator. So they will have it for who knows how long. Camper world has had my camper that I am making payments on longer than I have because of all the many mistakes.
Livability
1.0
Overall quality
1.0
Floorplan
3.0
Driving/towing
4.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (0)

Flag

Flag this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Larry

Arizona

Reviewed on 2022-09-25

RV reviewed 2012 Keystone Outback Ultra-Lite 230RS view listing

4.4
Purchased a used 2012 230RS (same as the current 240URS) in 2018 for the front garage & 1/2-ton capability. It's been a great ownership experience. PROS: light weight, overall value, great relative build quality, front storage, a bath tub, outdoor cooking & TV hookup, high ground clearance. CONS: limited exterior storage, limited fresh H2O tank, decals fade quickly, must be mindful of load balance w/full H2O, no onboard genset. We can fit 2 full-size bikes, or a full-size and 2 to 3 kids bikes (65cc). Front garage allows space to put toolbox, picnic table, portable grill, & fold-down bunks give the boys their own room when setup. Having a 27-ft w/o side slides allows access to some parks/sites that limit slides or length <30. Cabinet & external storage is limited, wish it had a large pass-thru outside. If towing w/o a lot of weight forward & full H2O trailer handling degrades. We attend 8-14 races/yr, lots of backcountry & off-grid. Rear king bed is great. Nice having a real dining table unlike many toy haulers Downside is having to unload garage for boys to sleep up front, but if we're pulling roadside for a night they can sleep in rear bunks (coach & table fold). Rig can sleep 6 comfortably, 8 in a pinch if kids. 24ft pwr awning is nice - covers garage entry & then som. Wish it had larger tanks (43 gal fresh H2O) frame doesn't allow for addt'l tanks. Insulation proved great - no freezing H2O at temps in teens, easy to keep warm (unlike parents' Airstream). Only issue was H2O tank cracked from old age (now 10), but otherwise It's never let us down, and left a good impression of the brand.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
4.0
Driving/towing
4.0
Factory warranty/support
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Flag

Flag this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Dan Martin

South Carolina

Reviewed on 2022-06-28

RV reviewed 2021 Keystone Outback Ultra-Lite 240URS view listing

4.6
When we were looking for a toy hauler with a sep garage we looked at reviews and utube and saw a guy in Indiana who had a video of the unit. We were impressed and he stated the toy hauler garage had the tiedowns in the frame rails. So we felt good about securing a 2019 Harley Davidson Ultra Limited. Yes it has to go a little sideways, its too long to go straight in. On our first long trip the tiedown pulled out of floor and we had to of coarse get it fixed and pulled all the tiedowns out because every one was installed in wood. Inch and 1/2 screws in wood so we had the whole floor cover removed and did the covering like a garage floor and installed the stainless bolts with backing plates and put a big Harley sign in the middle and sealed it. Also I put a chock in so when I come up the ramp turn slight right and frt wheel locks in. And I put the tie downs where needed. Now I know the 30 thousand motorcycle is secure. Also just put in a heater kit that you can order online with two sensors and a burner tube for 115.00. And installed my self and tied up the wiring and cleaned out the area. Also replace the water heater element and anidizer , unscrew after you drain water from faucets and replace every year. I put another faucet in sink in Bathroom because finish was crappy and cheap. Regular one at Lowes 40.00 works great.. Also the radio , I will replace with a upgrade because the bluetooth is not sinc. Other than that on the bottom bunk it you open them correctly they will not break. They sent me one when we bought it in Jan 2021, and the shop broke one and had to order and i replaced both. The finish on outside of trailer is nice and keep it clean and it looks brand new. Everything else works good so far just do yearly maintance. And grease your hubs every year and it pulls with a silveraldo 4x4 5.3 with stabilizers great. I'm pulling 6500 lbs loaded and get 14-18 miles per gallon in mountains to coast.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
3.0
...
Helpful (0)

Flag

Flag this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Debbie

Virginia

Reviewed on 2022-01-25

RV reviewed 2020 Keystone Outback Ultra-Lite 221UMD view listing

3.0
Brought our new trailer home, started camping in less than 3 days we had 34 issues. I currently have a trash bag taped to the ceiling to catch water coming in from the vent. We hooked up to a water source l, left the camper for a couple of hours only to return to a flooded trailer, tracked it to the bathroom sink water lines. The water pump kicks on randomly even though it’s not turned on nor does the fresh water tank have water in it. Our biggest concern now is the door latch. Twice it’s been worked on. Two days ago I had to call my husband to come and rescue me as I couldn’t get the door open. Heaven help me if the camper had been on fire! The shades have pulled off the wall, screws were missing on the trim frame of the slide, inside trim has fallen from the ceiling, now the slide motor is making an awful noise when retracting. The sales center has done their best to fix what they can. But it’s not enough. I’m waiting for something to fly off when we are going down the road. I’m afraid to tow it any distance
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
1.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
3.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (0)

Flag

Flag this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Alan Pelletier II

North Carolina

Reviewed on 2022-01-20

RV reviewed 2020 Keystone Outback Ultra-Lite 240URS view listing

3.8
Bought a brand new 2021 Keystone outback Ultralite 240URS and was super excited to see my rig. Allow I do still enjoy it, the attention to detail in the manufacturing process was unfortunate. Mounting 3 sets of blinds extremely not level (easy to see with the eye), and 2 water leaks immediately after receiving the travel trailer. I guess the technicians and workers putting these together are not pushed for quality. Everything does function, just sucks to spend so much money on a brand new unit and take the hit with brining it right back to the dealer to be worked on a week after.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
3.0
Floorplan
4.0
Driving/towing
4.0
Factory warranty/support
3.0
...
Helpful (0)

Flag

Flag this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Larry potter

Missouri

Reviewed on 2021-08-11

RV reviewed 2019 Keystone Outback Ultra-Lite 221UMD view listing

2.0
Owned this camper for a year and only used it maybe 5 times.Took it back to camping world 5 times.Ac vents were plugged,heater would not stay on, fridge has blown Thermo fuse twice while out on the road and the door handle is a joke with no help from camping world.Had issues with the wiring on all plugs they were wired backwards.The awning is not right and all of the trim has had to be glued back down. We are so very disappointed in this unit and we can’t get anything resolved with camping world.
Livability
2.0
Overall quality
1.0
Floorplan
3.0
Driving/towing
3.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (0)

Flag

Flag this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Rosario salafia

Connecticut

Reviewed on 2021-08-11

RV reviewed 2016 Keystone Outback Ultra-Lite 325BH view listing

1.8
I purchased my 2016 outback 325bh brand new from Pete’s RV in northern VT. I’ve had problems from day 1. Interior wood trim work falling apart, outdoor kitchen leaked in water which rotted out the bunk house floor, roof leak in bunk house, bathroom door handle needed replacing, bunkhouse door handle needed replacing, main bed lifts up for storage but plywood broke, outdoor kitchen door struts didn’t hold door up from day 1, water heater always needed to be reset to refire, more but I’m getting fired up just thinking about it. I actually sold it to someone knowing all of the issues but got it for a very little cost and he is very handy so he wants to spend time fixing it up. I do y have the time nor the want. I would stay clear from these units.
Livability
1.0
Overall quality
1.0
Floorplan
3.0
Driving/towing
3.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (0)

Flag

Flag this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Rick West

Alberta

Reviewed on 2021-07-29

RV reviewed 2019 Keystone Outback Ultra-Lite 240URS view listing

1.8
We really liked the floorplan when we first looked at this unit. We needed a toyhauler for our bike. First time out, the furnace would not work. The dealership we bought from (Guarantee RV in Calgary) couldn't get us in "for probably 6 weeks) so we went to another dealer in Red Deer(Vellner RV) the next day and they were able to repair the furnace in 2 days. The next time I went to load the bike, the hinge on the extension board on the loading ramp broke and I almost dumped the bike. I contacted the dealer with photos which were sent to Keystone and it turns out...OOPS...we installed the brackets backwards! Fixed at no cost but we lost the use of the loading ramp for 2 weeks. Fast forward now-first trip this Spring when I extended the rear slide out bed, the black plastic on the underside of the slide is badly cracking. Some areas the cracks are so long that the plastic panel is dropping away from the plywood(if it really is plywood). Again, I contacted our dealer with photos and Keystone "declined to repair as its not deemed structural". I emailed the owner relations and was told someone would look at the pictures and get back to me. Three weeks with no reply so I called there this morning and after waiting on hold for over 20 minutes I was told they wont fix it. So I guess I'm on my own. The dealership suggested replacing the plastic panel with the same material that the hard walls are made of at a cost approaching $2000! NOT! As in previous owner complaints, the finishing in these RVs is crap. The corners dont fit well, the valances over the curtains fall down, the wood panelling on the cupboards falls off repeatedly, and on and on... Going to file for mediation on this one because I dont have $2000 to pay for this repair. My advice? Dont buy any Keystone product. IT'S JUNK!!!
Livability
3.0
Overall quality
1.0
Floorplan
2.0
Driving/towing
2.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (0)

Flag

Flag this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 1 - 10 of 32 reviews

For sale near youRVs For Sale

See all

Do you have an RV experience to share?

Help other RVers by leaving a review for an RV or dealership.

Write a review

Browse top RVs

Browse dealership reviews

Browse By State

Browse By Province