Write a review

RV Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

Floorplan

Winnebago Travato reviews

4.4
Write a review
Liveability
4.5
Overall quality
4.3
Floorplan
4.7
Driving/towing
4.5
Factory warranty
3.9

For sale near youMatching RVs for sale near you

Top 10 RVs

Reviews

37 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

Gene Story

Idaho

Reviewed on 2018-04-13

RV reviewed2018 Winnebago Travato 59K

View listings

5.0
I doubt my wife and I could be more thrilled. For the two of us, the Travato 59K we bought is spot on. We had zero issues when we picked up our new 59K unless you count a mating pair of connectors that are semi-hidden above the ceiling of the bathroom closet between roof solar panel and charger/controller was not plugged together. Ditto another review that this RAM Promaster based RV drives and handles well, even in the wind. Whether driving on rough roads, passing a semi, gusty windws or simply standing still, the Travato is remarkably stable. More stable than the taller full frame/rear axle driven with dual wheels, Sprinter or Transit based RV's. Around town or on the highway, the RAM Promaster even with the WB coach addition drives like an upper end SUV with only a bit more length to park at the store or street side. Ours fits in our 10 foot high roll up opening in our shop so it has a nice home when we are not out and about in it. Like others have reported, we get excellent (for an RV) gasoline fuel mileage. You can usually count on 15 to 17.x average for overall trip drives. If you use it to drive 9,000 pounds-ish around town you can figure your mpg will be on the order of 12.4 mpg. Very nice mattresses are provided by WB on top of a Froli system in the Travato makes for a very comfortable rest. Adjustable height head rests are great for reading or watching a show. I have been in much higher priced RV's of any class that come with shamefully inadequate and horrible to sleep on bedding. Storage and wardrobe containment is good for one to two people taking touring or camping trips. If you want to take your house, and/or grandma and the kids with you, buy a Class A and require (0k, maybe not) the extra earthlings to pitch in some dough to pay for it. Charge them more for any (which will be all) luggage that wont fit under their seat. Have them sign up for clogging waste tank servicing insurance, using the screen door as a entry handle, etc. or pay a damage insurance deposit in advance. Again I am kidding. I'm just saying... As for the waste system flexible dump pipe, I installed an under chassis tube that allows the pipe WITH fittings attached, to store below. The built in, 2 foot long storage tube can only contain the factory supplied, compressed 10 ft long hose without any tank-end fittings. The factory tube has instead become home for our outdoor mat and a spare VHF/UHF ham & emergency services vertical antenna. Also said by another and I with some modifications quote here; the "Truma Combi hot water heater & furnace is awesome". Because it is. For kitchen (abd probably bathroom) sink hot water, make sure the shower control valve is all the way clockwise or it will draw & mix cold water with the result being just tepid warmth. With shower valve clockwise-closed, the kitchen sink hot water temperature then virtually matches the excellent hot and extra hot temperature ratings for the Truma Combi. As for the furnace side, if you want to heat up the coach fast, start with propane mode. Then if the outside temps are not too cold, you can probably switch over to High or Low electric-only heat to maintain your preferred comfortable level. Or a mix of propane and electric, your choice. Easy as pie. This is a VERY quiet system. And it provides VERY even heat throughout the coach including the bathroom because of the four near-floor ducts. Sometimes I start out by using the heating system in the dashboard of the van but really the Truma heats the entire coach all by itself just fine. If you do it with the electric heating elements only, it will take awhile. Goose it, or use propane only if you like instant (well, much faster) gratification. The water heater & LCD control panel at first is hard to figure out. If you are 60+ years old and never cussed a day in your life, yuou might learn how now. But zip it until you use it about three times. Read on. Good luck getting just the right sales person who has been selling for more than 3 days and often does not even own an RV, or walk-through tech to know how to operate this control panel either. What ever happened to plain language labeling instead of gosh darned icons that at first make NO sense? Ahh, maybe its a trick security system! However, once you have used it about 3 times, the icons just become GPS-like markers where you need to do your next zombi-like repeated steps and you then whiz through setup and settings, no problem. And yes, then you find out it works great too. You could hold 5 minute seminars to train others but ultimately the next person has to simply learn by doing it a few times too, regardless of attempts to follow the manual. The MCD shades are good. The shorter width windows in the newest 2019 models do have nicer, integrated bottom-up shades but the windows are not as nice. Despite the opportunity to get excellent dual pane windows in a 2019, we intentionally hunted down a 2018 with single pane less efficient but larger area windows. The cabinetry is well done. The drawer and bin doors with glossy surfaces we have are gorgeous. Any concern we had about keeping these surfaces clean has disappeared. Latch and hinge hardware is excellent. No rattles. Traveling in a Class B is easier than you think. We think it is more fun than a lumbering giant one. And we do not want to tow anything. We can rent and leave behind most anything we desire. No parking or backing up stress. No extra maintenance costs, insurance, additional fuel for towing, etc. We are Happy Campers with our Travato 59K.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
5.0
...
Helpful (228)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Brian Harward

South Dakota

Reviewed on 2022-06-10

RV reviewed2019 Winnebago Travato 59G

View listings

2.0
The customer support is mostly nonexistent, always rude, and shockingly lazy. Build quality is garbage. Never again in this life will I touch their products . They didnt even insulate where they said they did, and did nothing when called out on it.
Livability
2.0
Overall quality
2.0
Floorplan
3.0
Driving/towing
2.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (12)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Joan Heihn

Oregon

Reviewed on 2022-05-26

RV reviewed2017 Winnebago Travato 59G

View listings

5.0
I like the size and handling. Drives like an SUV. Has a lot of great features. Front wheel drive, GPS, engine start from coach battery if necessary. I was impressed by the room for cooking. The refrigerator is huge by most rv standards. I converted the clothes closet into a pantry. there is above and below the bed storage. storage also at floor level, also over the cab. The bathroom has a cabinet above the toilet. It has 2 small storage openings on the side of the sink for toilet paper, etc. The kitchen has 3 drawers, cabinet under the sink, and cabinets above the stove and sink. The Truma heating system works great. Its efficient and quiet. Offers different options for water heating temperatures. Power vent works great, as does the air conditioner.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
5.0
...
Helpful (5)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

cindy cao

California

Reviewed on 2022-04-28

RV reviewed2018 Winnebago Travato 59K

View listings

5.0
2018 Travato 59k was our first RV. We just sold it because we're looking to buy a bit larger to accommodate our 3 dogs. Travato dark charcoal looks so sharp and classy. We got many compliments, "nice rig" wherever we go. We made 18 trips and never once any problem. Only one thing that I could remember was the navigate system didn't turn on. My husband decided to remove and put it back in and it works great ever since. Maybe a wire was loose. No problem with water leaks or mechanical issue. Our Travie heater and cool system worked great, TV, Microwave, and Fridge all worked great. The seat was very comfortable and handling was a breeze. If only all RV performs this way, I think people would continue keeping their RVs and never need to sell or trade it in. We did upgrade all tires to a Micheline brand for a smoother ride and bought a spare as well. No, they don't come with a spare one. We're researching for our next rig and crossed our fingers that we'll find a gem. Travie gave us both a great sense of ownership, secure, safe and made our vacations so pleasant that we look forward to our next one when pulling up to our driveway. Happy Rving to Travato!
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
5.0
...
Helpful (9)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Paul Goodman

Illinois

Reviewed on 2022-04-27

RV reviewed2020 Winnebago Travato 259K

View listings

5.0
Winnebago thought of everything with the Travato 59K. Drives like a car but has every feature you'd need to take it across country for long periods of travel. Great gas mileage. Every feature we could possibly want in this vehicle.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
5.0
...
Helpful (6)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

ritchie labat

Arizona

Reviewed on 2022-04-11

RV reviewed2019 Winnebago Travato 59K

View listings

4.8
Easy to drive, easy to park, zero setup time. I like the idea of not pulling a trailer so this make discovering backroad much easier (no worries about having to turn around). We rather this floor plan to the G model . I did no like the idea of having the big water tank in the doorway. We upgraded the batteries and found we had no need for the noisy generator. If it get really hot, we stop in at a campground for AC power - other wise we are camping in the National Forest. Floor plan - I built 2 adventure vans the same way, kitchen behind the drivers seat and a wide open doorway gives it a great feeling of space!
Livability
4.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
5.0
...
Helpful (11)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Michael Cyr

North Carolina

Reviewed on 2022-01-06

RV reviewed2020 Winnebago Travato 59G

View listings

4.0
Likes: Layout with back full time murphy bed and front lounge big refrigerator big bathroom for a class B Black tank (no cassette toilet) Drives well and easy decent gas mileage gas engine reliable RV systems two separate beds available Dislikes: narrow back bed initial build quality is poor, as are all RVs (they don't check their work before shipping) awning is not useful on class B vans Still has lead acid batteries instead of Lithium Iron Phosphate drawers under bed should be a big shelf no factory shelves in pantry near fridge Overall I highly recommend this model RV, the systems have proved reliable and it is very comfortable to use.
Livability
4.0
Overall quality
4.0
Floorplan
4.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
3.0
...
Helpful (6)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Verified Owner
Voted most helpful review

Teresa Gillia

Arizona

Reviewed on 2021-12-02

RV reviewed2022 Winnebago Travato KL

View listings

4.6
There is a lot of new things to like. Beds very nice. All the gauges over the slide door. Screens on side door and back door. Counter top is wonderful, cabinet are fantastic great quality. Love convection oven microwave. Back extension shower for dry camping. What I hate: no fresh water outside outlet. The back door has to be open when at a park. Same with the cable. They should have put an access panel on the side where you could put the hoses up through. I don't like the way that you can see all of the mechanisms on the side of the driver side that they didn't camouflage any of it like the road treks.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
4.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
4.0
Factory warranty/support
5.0
...
Helpful (10)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Lisa Michelle Aleman

California

Reviewed on 2021-11-13

RV reviewed2018 Winnebago Travato 59K

View listings

4.6
We owned this RV for 3 years, and went all over the Western US and up through Canada. We drove it on skinny roads, rough roads and a few freeways, although we liked taking the back roads instead. We recommend this type of RV for couples who don't want to rough it in a tent anymore. It has all the conveniences of a large RV, just not as much capacity :). We can boondock for up to 4 days without needing to dump the tanks. We updated the shower to a cloth - fast drying curtain in a slide, love it!!!!! Our Lithium batteries have made it really boondock friendly!!! We find it very easy to drive and the front window has the best view. We found Winnebago to be too proprietary and not willing to share part numbers. My husband is a licensed mechanic, and prefers not to have others work on his vehicles. Down to the number for the bike rack it was nearly impossible to get a good part number to buy items. I think if you want to drive and camp a Travato 59K is a perfect option for a couple or a single too!!!
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
3.0
...
Helpful (17)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Doug Bean

Texas

Reviewed on 2021-10-20

RV reviewed2016 Winnebago Travato 59K

View listings

4.6
We have enjoyed our2016 59K desiel avg 23 mpg with very little problems. Our recall items were minor and fixed without a problem. We have traveled from the northwest down the mountains of California up to the Grand Canyon and back down to New Mexico, Texas, Arkansas, Mississippi, Louisiana , Florida, and back to the Black hills of SD. The van has handled all types of weather, winds and roads without a problem. Winds crossing New Mexico had gust up to 70 and that did throw us a little. I can't complain about the van cause we have traveled 18k miles and thank God for our little home on wheels. We love it but are going to sell because of family issues. Keep Truckin✌️
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
4.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
4.0
Factory warranty/support
5.0
...
Helpful (10)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 1 - 10 of 37 reviews

For sale near youRVs For Sale

Do you have an RV experience to share?

Help other RVers by leaving a review for an RV or dealership.

Write a review

Browse top RVs

Browse dealership reviews

Browse By State

Browse By Province