Write a review

RV Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

Floorplan

Jayco Redhawk reviews

4.0
Write a review
Liveability
4.2
Overall quality
3.7
Floorplan
4.4
Driving/towing
4.2
Factory warranty
3.4

For sale near youMatching RVs for sale near you

Top 10 RVs

Reviews

47 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

Troy

Wisconsin

Reviewed on 2020-11-29

RV reviewed2021 Jayco Redhawk 26XD

View listings

4.4
Love the floor plan. Slides make it roomy, very roomy, I’m 6’4 260 lbs and find it to be very accommodating. Fords V8 has plenty of power, trans is smooth. A number of “quality” issues arose on our first two camp nights, which were on our way home from the purchase. It was 30 degrees out at night, so we got to test the heater and cold weather operation. Let me say I have had and worked on other RV’s so I am familiar with their systems and construction. The bathroom had no heat, literally zero flow from the vent. I took the drawers out of the wardrobe, and found the bathroom heat duct literally cut in half (it’s a foil duct, like your dryer has). I made room for the duct by trimming away some of the wood on the inside (unseen) are of the wardrobe, and repaired the duct with a paper towel tube wrapped once in aluminum tape (trust me, it works). So now there is heat and good flow at the bathroom vent. If you use this RV in winter, do yourself a favor and buy a 25 dollar electric dehumidifier for it. We had 5 sleeping in it and the condensation was crazy! The daytime sun cleared it up, but I ordered a dehumidifier after the first night. The hood over the stove was cocked and off by about an inch and 1/2. I pulled the hood, and found the vent needed a “better job” of sealing at the hood to the outside, so I used more aluminum tape to fix the vent seal, then re-installed the hood itself, making sure it was level. It looks and works great now. The LP heater rattled like crazy, I pulled the vent cover to access it, and found the grommet not installed where the line went into the unit. It was there, just not installed. I also found the wires in this area not tied up/ supported, so I did that too. Rattles stopped! Under neath, the battery and step wires right near the power step, under the chassis, were not supported and were in fact hanging down so low I’m suprised they didn’t scrape the road. But they hadn’t, so I used some heavy duty zip straps and secured them above the bottom edge of the frame rail. Crisis averted! Then, also under the chassis, the black tank sensor wires were hanging loosely under the strap beneath the tank, so I installed wire looms to prevent chafing through the insulation, and zipp strapped them securely as well. Another crisis diverted! On the table/ bench area, the bench closest to the front has electrical installed inside it. The screws that were used to mount the junction box to the bench had screws that were way too long, and were poking the material outward. How this didn’t rip through the fabric is beyond me, and I consider this a lucky break that I caught it. I removed the screws and replaced them with appropriate shorter ones. After these fixes, I’m ready for another trip! I will say the heater works great, the faucets all work great, the shower probably needs to be caulked at the top to keep water from duetting behind the insert wall. At 6’4, the skylight in the shower is actually there for headroom. I’m talking I could not use the shower if this skylight was not there. But it is, and it works! The bunk ladder has two hooks that put it directly in the center of the rig, making it impossible to get in the cockpit for ANYTHING. So I purchased a replacement hook on line, and mounted it so the ladder can now be used at center, or behind the drivers seat. This solution is so cool I can’t believe it’s not standard. The exterior speakers are super loud, I was surprised they are of good quality. However, the switch was not wired securely, I had intermittent cutting out of the speakers. I pulled the interior/exterior speaker switch, crimped the wires and connectors more securely, and guess what? Crisis averted! I could not imagine needing to take this thing to the dealer for all these fixes, I have heard horror stories of the time and frustrations for dealer support/ repairs. I did my own in a day, after my test camping trip. If you buy one of these, I highly recommend you have basic tools and skills, don’t rely on the dealer to fix the “house”. One last thing, the cushions at the table actually slip off when driving, due to no Velcro on them. Buy a roll of Velcro, glue AND STAPLE the Velcro to the wooden portion of the bench, the secure portions, NOT the removable cargo bin covers. The cushions themselves have fuzzy material on the back side that grips just great to the Velcro. Another crisis averted. I sincerely hope these tips help new owners! Thanks! If I have any other issues to report, I’ll write another review.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
4.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
3.0
...
Helpful (123)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Mark

Oregon

Reviewed on 2022-03-09

RV reviewed2018 Jayco Redhawk 22J

View listings

3.4
Good rig not so good support. Ask Jayco tech about connecting cables to house battery. Instead of admitting he didn’t know or getting the information from someone who did know he told me that the double cable always goes to ground. Following his instructions I blew the reverse polarity fuses. Learned that the double cable always goes to positive not negative. Jayco uses all unmarked black wires, a very bad choice.
Livability
4.0
Overall quality
4.0
Floorplan
4.0
Driving/towing
4.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Tammy Roach

Kentucky

Reviewed on 2022-02-12

RV reviewed2019 Jayco Redhawk 24B

View listings

5.0
This RV is an amazing floor plan - small enough for just a couple for a cross country trip or big enough to accommodate family/friends for a weekend getaway. They Jayco JRIDE makes the ride seem so smooth. It is super easy to park in a grocery parking lot to run in and get your supplies. I can't say enough good things about the durability, floor plan and quality of this unit, We looked a long time to find the perfect RV and as soon as we walked in to this one, we knew it was IT.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

William Shehee

Georgia

Reviewed on 2022-01-03

RV reviewed2014 Jayco Redhawk 31XL

View listings

5.0
I lived in this RV comfortably with my family of 8 for over four months, and we traveled over 8000 miles. All systems worked great, and it has a surprising amount of storage. Handles well on the highway once you get used to the wind resistance created by passing semis.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Verified Owner
Voted most helpful review

Mike S

Florida

Reviewed on 2021-10-31

RV reviewed2021 Jayco Redhawk 24B

View listings

4.6
This has been one of the better RV's that we have owned. There have been mostly minor issues but have had an issue with the slide coming out of alignment. It was supposedly installed crooked but one it was aligned correctly it has been working perfectly. Besides that, the unit has been flawless. The driveability has a bit to be desired and would require a steering stabilizer to even out the steering. It moves easily in wind and passing semi's and may be intimidating for first time owners. When warranty issues have arose, Jayco customer service has been very helpful! Highly recommend!
Livability
4.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
4.0
Factory warranty/support
5.0
...
Helpful (3)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Chuck

Indiana

Reviewed on 2021-09-23

RV reviewed2022 Jayco Redhawk 24B

View listings

3.0
We’ve own our rv for 2months and only taken it out twice so far. We have a water leak behind the toilet and a roof leak at a light fixture. The fixture is corroded due to the leak. That’s a no-brainer to show how long that’s been going on. Took it to Camping World to have these issues addressed a few days ago. Since then it’s rained twice. Still no one has looked at the roof leak. I’m told it’s a process. It’s a freaking roof leak. There will be damage to the ceiling if not addressed. No one at the Greenwood, IN location will take it seriously.🤪
Livability
4.0
Overall quality
3.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
2.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (7)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Robin Foote

Rhode Island

Reviewed on 2021-09-14

RV reviewed2018 Jayco Redhawk 26XD

View listings

5.0
We were so pleased when we bought this "Like New" Jayco Redhawk from Campers Inn as it appeared brand new and with only 8,000 miles on it. it rides firm (no rocking as some others do) and drives very straight. We bought and had the dealer install new "stuffed" recliners to watch the large TV and a new mattress as well. As a pilot, I am always concerned with the mechanicals so in addition to the multi-point inspection of the dealer, I had the largest and most reputable RV maintenance company in RI do its own thorough multi-point inspection. They fixed a "sticky" shower curtain slider door, installed the new $1,000 mattress, a "grab bar" on the screen door to prevent a hand from inadvertently going through the screen and installed a removable "Door Shade" entry door window cover for privacy and better night sleeping. They also installed a new 20" ROKU HDTV in the master bedroom. We watch streaming movies from all "NETFLIX' and "HBOMAX" or any other streaming channels using our phone "Hot Spot" and also get excellent Internet service from virtually everywhere. AARP has a great program for this service from AT
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
5.0
...
Helpful (6)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Melissa

Florida

Reviewed on 2021-08-17

RV reviewed2022 Jayco Redhawk 26XD

View listings

4.8
I love the ability to travel and not have to stop for food or the bathroom! It is a smooth ride and surprisingly comfortable to sleep in! Cons would be i just wish it was bigger for our family. I would say it fits 4 adults and 3 kids comfortably. I would like kore storage as well.
Livability
4.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
5.0
...
Helpful (6)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Kitty Adams

Florida

Reviewed on 2021-07-28

RV reviewed2020 Jayco Redhawk 31F

View listings

2.4
Well, the Jury is still out regarding my Redhawk…I am disappointed at the moment about some very serious design flaws…one in particular with the gas tank. It was something that they knew about before selling it to me, but did not disclose. In Real Estate that would be grounds for litigation immediately and it’s actually in violation of antitrust laws. Jayco is offering to do this “approved fix” except it’s only been approved by Jayco…not NITSA the gov’t agency that recalls vehicles, so that seems like fox guarding the hen house…and I wonder if it will come back in even worse condition. I have had 5 radios, they told me that it was wired wrong, said they fixed it, but it’s not fixed. They came to fix the noise coming from something under the frig, so loud no one could sleep in it…this coach designed to sleep 10. When they finished, the ac nor microwave would work using generator…the problems go on and on…to make a long story short, and I’ve left the best for last….The first time I went to put gas in it…it wouldn’t go in…it was so strange, the hose just continually clicked off as soon as it pulled the lever…I was shocked, and stuck because I had my Autistic son with me, I’ve got no gas and I can’t get any to go in the tank. I panicked ….then I thought to call the roadside service folks….the man on the phone told me that it was not a new problem, it in fact was very common in this model…he said go to another pump and try again..so I drove to another station, tried another pump and same thing.I called back, he said…for me to pull the Nozzel out of the tank as far as I could and go very slow…I did that and it worked better, still not right but at least if I was very careful, not to pull to far out…go very slow, like 30 min or so to pump a tank with lots of spills especially on me, my hands, shoes..ground…occasionally in eyes…I could get gas enough to go in it…at one particular pump by my house, other stations it would not work…just cut off over and over no matter whaat I did….so I have a magic pump near my home and can only travel where a tank of gas can take me and get me back for the next one….it’s even frustration and disheartening because My autistic son really want to go to Disney campground and I bought it for that and to take him on other journeys and we haven’t been able to do it. Jayco is offering this fix, but will not exchange it for one that doesn’t have this problem…I bought a brand new RV and I got a lemon. 2 Microwaves, 5 radios and all these problems later and they want me to let them do more to it that could make it even worse…all the repairs so far have not gone well and caused more problems than were solved…I was told by a repairman that they had to take it off the chassis to do this fix and was near impossible to put everything back afterward.. I asked Jayco if I could be connected with some folks who purchased this model and had the gas problem and the fix…so I could talk to them and get some feedback…to help me make my decision…they did not respond.. If there is anyone out there who has found themselves in my position and already had this design fix, could you please contact kittytadams@yhoo.com and tell me about your experience. I am in such a quandary and I’m trying to decide if I should let them do this approved fix or not…Perhaps I could learn more from the experiences of others who’ve already had this done…I hope so.
Livability
3.0
Overall quality
1.0
Floorplan
4.0
Driving/towing
3.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (6)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Stan McClain

Washington

Reviewed on 2021-07-13

RV reviewed2022 Jayco Redhawk 24B

View listings

2.0
I bought the 2022 Jayco Redhawk 24B on Friday, drove it home. The next trip is back to the dealer asking for a full refund. The awning would not extend when I viewed to vehicle. On the day I picked it up an awning cap fell to the ground. During the test ride drawers slid open. The dealer 'repaired it' but nobody double checked the repair. On the way home the same side facing drawer reopened.I stopped once to clsoe it, but it reopened again. I was advised during my orientation to make sure the driver's seat was not in position to interfere with the full wall slider and to make sure nothing the bed that would interfere with the rear part of the slider. Once home, before extending the slider I checked the seat, and since I had nothing on the floor to slide around ,or on the bed I opened the slider.It made noises of mechanical wheels turning but nothing out of the ordinary, until I heard the sound of cracking wood, but by then it was too late. behind and hidden behind the slider are some drawers which cannot be seen from the slider command center. Since the molding is help on with nails and not screws, the molding began to come loose until the wood began to crack. The slider is designed to fail from the shoddy craftsmanship of the drawers. The slider retracted but never opened again and the fuse panel is on the bottom of the wall that is not accessible with the slider closed! I am unimpressed with Jayco...... oh btw, There is No GPS!!!
Livability
3.0
Overall quality
1.0
Floorplan
2.0
Driving/towing
3.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (6)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 1 - 10 of 47 reviews

For sale near youRVs For Sale

Do you have an RV experience to share?

Help other RVers by leaving a review for an RV or dealership.

Write a review

Browse top RVs

Browse dealership reviews

Browse By State

Browse By Province