Write a review

RV Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

Floorplan

Palomino Columbus reviews

3.7
Write a review
Liveability
4.2
Overall quality
3.1
Floorplan
4.6
Driving/towing
4.1
Factory warranty
2.7

For sale near youMatching RVs for sale near you

Top 10 RVs

Reviews

49 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

Benny and Patricia McCann

Arkansas

Reviewed on 2015-08-14

RV reviewed2015 Palomino Columbus 385BH

View listings

1.6
Our Columbus 385BH was manufactured December 11, 2014. We brought it home in January, 2015. We have had one trip in it that the slides worked. One of the slides hasn't worked since. We have been to the RV dealer seven times. The RV dealer has had it seven weeks while Forest River and the manufacturer of the slide mechanism argue over who will pay for it. The people at Palomino won't even talk to me. We are more than dissatisfied. We are still waiting for Palomino to send a part to fix the slide, and we definitely have warranty. I would like to think that this will help.
Livability
1.0
Overall quality
1.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
1.0
Factory warranty/support
0.0
...
Helpful (50)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Craig and Bobbi Leidy

Pennsylvania

Reviewed on 2022-05-02

RV reviewed2018 Palomino Columbus 366RL

View listings

4.6
We bought a 2018 366RL 1492 in 06/21 as a used unit from a private seller. Due to the pandemic it was only used for 6 months. It still smells new. We paid $45k which included 3 years remaining on the factory warranty and a Reese Goosebox hitch thrown in. The dishwasher and outside burner top had never been used. The sellers were very nice, and the unit had not had time to delapidate from owner neglect, which we had ran into so many times it was ridiculous. We had it out camping about 6 times last year, and just opened it up after wintering over. The only issue we had so far was a wiring problem with the outdoor microwave. My husband and the neighbor were able to fix it. It was mis-wired from factory. I love the kitchen and layout of the RV. Our unit was ordered with two upgrade packages, so there are a lot of bells and whistles that we now would not want to be without. The outdoor kitchen is handy. I love the dishwasher, the on-demand water heater means adequate hot showers without waiting, leveling happens in seconds at the push of a button, and setup is quick and simple. We have no complaints. I do feel bad for those who've had issues with their units. We are part of the Columbus FB group, so we get to see when problems arise. So far, so good, thankfully. I was dismayed when we were still looking to buy and I saw more negative reviews than I thought for the Columbus units. I was afraid but all has worked out thus far. Do watch if you buy one that the sealant was applied to the bottom outside trim piece on the bed slideout. I've heard of a rotted bedroom slideout floor due to missing sealant on the exterior bottom trim piece. Another common problem is soft floors in earlier models, which is remedied by adding additional floor joists and is relatively simple as a DIY project. Our neighbors bought a new, inexpensive stick and tin trailer just before the pandemic broke out, and it gave them numerous problems and was cheaply made, then the dealer gave them a hard time about doing warranty repairs. They won't recommend a stick and tin trailer to anyone now. They were surprised that we did not find a bunch of problems with our trailer every time we took it out, but I think for the most part you get what you pay for. I would not buy anything made during the pandemic or since. The RV industry as a whole needs to be regulated, and I am not one to advocate for government intervention. Do your due diligence and try to find a seller who took care of their unit. We had no warranty issues so far that were not minor and that we could not remedy more quickly ourselves, so that's why I left three stars for that.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
3.0
...
Helpful (3)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Stephanie Stark

Ohio

Reviewed on 2022-04-04

RV reviewed2018 Palomino Columbus 383FB

View listings

2.8
Columbus 383FB offered a terrific interior design but TERRIBLE QUALITY IN DESIGN. WATER SEEPAGE has become a disaster for us due to POOR EXTERIOR DESIGN on the bedroom and bathroom slides which has created MAJOR DAMAGE to the floors of both. The lower trim plate allowed RAIN traveling down the exterior walls to GO DIRECTLY into the bottom WOOD PANEL of each slide. This issue would not be evident for 2 years since the damage could not be seen on inspection. The cause of this situation was the fact that there was NO CAULKING at the seam between the wall and the trim plate FROM THE FACTORY. The evidence of this issue became apparent only after the second year of ownership when items stored under the bed were moved and finding BLACK MOLD on the plywood shelf and throughout the linens. The MOLD also TRAVELED under the carpet across to the WOODEN DRESSER on the opposite wall. We had a local RV mobile service inspect and fix any caulking. THEY even MISSED the seam on the slides and only CAULKED them when WE POINTED it out. We also went to the CLOSEST DEALER who only suggested an INTERIOR MOLD TREATMENT. The REAL DAMAGE was YET TO BE SEEN.. This problem RESULTED in COMPLETE DETERIORATION of the bedroom slide bottom panel due to DRY ROT. The same is true under the bathroom slide. FOREST RIVER DENIED any responsibility saying the issue was not reported during the warranty period. However POOR FACTORY PERFORMANCE in 2017 ALLOWED WATER TO INVADE our unit for 2 years before any problem was found. NOW we are returning to the original dealership to see : IF ANY REPAIR IS EVEN POSSIBLE. THIS FEELS LIKE A CAMPER'S WORST NIGHTMARE.
Livability
4.0
Overall quality
1.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
3.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (4)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Walter

Texas

Reviewed on 2022-01-09

RV reviewed2015 Palomino Columbus 365RL

View listings

2.8
After owning two Highland Ridge Travel trailers ..which we had no issues with and great costumer service we wanted to upgrade to a fifth wheel and found the Columbus 1492 366rl. It is a beautiful fifth wheel with great amenities. The problem is the customer service and quality if workmanship for what you pay. 3 days into our first trip the refrigerator and freezer went out. We were going to be gone 3 weeks so we had to outcast a small refrigerator freezer. No help from customer service from the dealer we purchased it from (Funtown RV Cleburne Texas) from the time we pi ked this RV up the customer service and lack of was apparent. So on the road the refrigerator freezer went iut the pipe that drains the washing machine slooded the bedroom. The bedroom door came off its hinges and broke. The exhaust fan in kitchen stop working, handles on shower doors fell off and to cap it off the auto leveling system failed halfway through the trip. Other small items as well. Got home. Complained to Palomino. No help there. Ended up in the repair shop with Funtown for 3 months. Finally got it home and you guessed it . Nothing was fixed properly. Auto leveling didn't work as told. Door fell and broke..again. etc etc. The only that got fixed was the refrigerator which LG had to come out to them and fix. So unhappy with this company and it's product. Going to try and sell it and go back yo Highland Ridge
Livability
4.0
Overall quality
1.0
Floorplan
4.0
Driving/towing
4.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

William Barrow

Pennsylvania

Reviewed on 2021-09-06

RV reviewed2014 Palomino Columbus 365RL

View listings

3.2
Proud owners of a 38 foot 5th Wheel. Purchased this baby new, and filled it with all the bells and whistles. What prompt me to write about my Columbus was one day this past summer, I was parked next to a Forest River River Stone Fifth Wheel. It is the luxury model although I considered the Columbus to be luxury too. My first encounter with our first excursion was to our annual trip to the Florida Keys. At our very first stop, the fridge was found open and stuff on the floor. The Dometic double wide fridge uses plastic door locks. Found that if you stuff a sponge between the locks, fixes this problem. The next problem was the string LED lights on the awning. Failed. Ordered some higher rated LED's tape string and fixed that. After a month in the Keys, retracted the auto levelers (electric jack screws) and one if the tires were flat. Learned real and quick how to change the flat tire. The spare is mounted under the trailer and was fairly easy to get too. But, the winch and tire holder will not hold the regular Columbus tire. I now know how heavy the trailer tire is since I had to pick it up and put in the bed of my truck. Headed over to Sanibel Florida knowing there was an RV place I could get the tire repaired. The RV place called the next day and said that the tire and wheel was OK. The air valve stem is metal and the nut that holds it on place was loose. That prompted me to check the other wheels and yes, they too were loose but not enough to allow the tires to loose air. Easy fix. Heading back home to PA. Stopped in Jacksonville, FL at Flamingo RV Park, one if the nicest parks in Florida. Notice uneven wear on the driver side rear wheel on the Columbus. Need to keep an eye in this. Once back home and the Columbus was in driveway, checked the tire again. The inner part of the tire was bald. Made an appointment with a local RV dealer and they said the the torque on that wheel bearing was loose. Had all the bearings checked, repacked. Confidant that shakedown problem was resolved. Since that first outing we have made repeated long trips up to 2020. Little problems like leaking water in the bedroom AC unit. Fixed. AC fan motor failed on bedroom AC unit. Fixed ( only after two previous fixes were attempted before the motor was replaced). Central vacuum system failed. Manufacture wanted to replace the entire system because the failed control PCB was our of stock. Being an electronic engineer, I fixed it myself. Been good since. The wear on the tire did not stop. Changed tires to Goodyear Edurance. No help. Swapped wheels with other positions thinking a wrapped wheel. NOT. Then on a return trip on I 295 around Richmond, VA. (which no one should ever take) the roughness of the road made the truck and trailer rock several times. When I stopped In DC for the night I notice my trim on the overhang holding the pin box was slightly seperated. I can fix that too, maybe. Lived with the tire problem and trim problem another a few years until the summer of 2020. The tire wear suddenly accelerated and I had to change and rotate tires on that position three times. Now I am worried. And two of my four auto levelers jackscrews either fell apart or siezed up. Worked my way through that and had a good vacation. Made an appointment to the original dealer we purchased our Columbus. To make a long story short, cracked frame sections in the overhang. Axle is damaged. Jack screws worn badly. All four. So I read up on the River Stone luxuary model by Forest River. Many of the same problems with no attention to detail was reported by many write ups. Columbus is still in the shop. Still don't know if the trailer can be repaired. New axle and Jackscrews required.... Oh, I almost forgot that our gray water tank developed a leaked and filled up the belly of the trailer which has insulation. Cleaned that up, but I could never drive the trailer with any water in the tank or accidentally over fill it. Told to live with it. Too expensive to replace. Love My Columbus. Perfect interior layout. Even with the interior wall paper cringing and most of the drawers falling apart with wood screws too short to work. Yep, fixed that too. Remember this name. Forest River.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
1.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
3.0
Factory warranty/support
2.0
...
Helpful (6)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Charles D Fournier

Tennessee

Reviewed on 2021-06-18

RV reviewed2017 Palomino Columbus 386FK

View listings

4.6
When I first received notification from RVT regarding a unit I was interested in, I foolishly thought they would connect me with a seller. After a few days of nothing I emailed again to Laurie at RVT assuring them I was a cash buyer very interested....after many more of these emails to RVT with no response I gave up. I suggest you do not waste any time with RVT as they do not offer a timely service.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
3.0
...
Helpful (3)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Dennis Johnson

Minnesota

Reviewed on 2021-05-25

RV reviewed2015 Palomino Columbus 320RS

View listings

3.2
Love the floor plan. The large shower is a huge plus for us. That is where the positives end. Landing gear problems three times the first year resulting in replacing everything except the legs themselves. The second year we had to have four of the six legs rebuilt as they were jammed or had broken their shear pins. The dealer was no help. The black tank coupler in the belly of the unit came loose and was dripping waste into the belly of the unit. They cut open the the belly to fix the leak and only taped the opening instead of a more permanent fix. The coupling worked loose again a year later so I took it to an RV repair shop instead of the dealer. The black tank valve does not seal tight and therefore you get a big surprise when you remove the waste cap to attach the hose. I have had a gate installed on the waste pipe so I don't get any more surprises. The third year The brakes worked loose and ruined the the backing plate. The second year I noticed a bulge in the fiberglass at the bottom right of the bedroom slide. Fought with the dealer to address the issue. It was finally addressed by sending the unit back to the factory to have it fixed. It turned out to be a broken frame and pressure on the exterior wall causing the bulge. The floor in the kitchen area in front of the sink and stove are soft and feel like they will give way. I had the dealer look to see if there was any water leak causing the issue. The dealer said nothing looks water damaged. Since I had issues with he dealer I then took the unit to an RV repair shop and he confirmed no water damage. It turns out, after research on line, this is a known issue. (https://www.forestriverforums.com/forums/f96/palomino-columbus-320-soft-floor-124438.html) The dealer will not address the issue and Forest River/Palomino will not return my calls on this. The third year again I inspected the roof half way through the season. There were several cracks in the bathroom skylight around the screws that fasten it to the roof and up into the skylight dome. The dealer said the warranty was expired and the extended warranty would not cover it. Two of the dual day/night roll up shades quit rolling up and are not useable. The two largest windows. The replacements are $235 and $275. This unit has been the biggest piece of crap I have ever purchased! I will never buy another Forest River product!
Livability
4.0
Overall quality
1.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
4.0
Factory warranty/support
2.0
...
Helpful (8)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Bill

Arizona

Reviewed on 2021-05-01

RV reviewed2014 Palomino Columbus 320RS

View listings

4.8
This is a beautiful 5th wheel and tows like it is not even back there. Easy to setup and very comfortable. We have only used this for vacations and it fit our needs perfectly. Love this 5th wheel.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
4.0
...
Helpful (4)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Dennis Johnson

Minnesota

Reviewed on 2021-03-31

RV reviewed2015 Palomino Columbus 320RS

View listings

2.8
Took deliver on June 18 2014. It was back in the shop two weeks later with self- leveling landing gear issues. I went to pick it up three weeks later and the landing gear worked great. Got to my seasonal site and the landing gear would not lower. Back to the shop it goes. All in all, the unit was in the shop a total of six weeks the first year all for landing gear. Next year I noticed a bulge in the sidewall below the bedroom slide. Fought with the dealership all summer long to get it looked at. I sent the unit back to the factory that fall for a broken weld in the frame. The third year there was a brake malfunction and ruined the brakes and backing plate on one of the axels. Warranty argument and then repaired. Mid-season the fourth year the landing gear would not self- level. Some of legs would not operate at all. Dealership wanted $300 deposit $60 trip charge and "maybe" warranty would cover it. ( I purchased the 5 year extended warranty.) I politely told them what they could do could do with their deposit and trip charge. I bought hydraulic jacks and concrete blocks and removed the legs myself. I took them to a RV repair only shop and he rebuilt them. While removing the jacks I noticed a drip from the middle of the unit right under the bathroom. I took the unit to the dealer. Turns out the tank shifted and the coupling from the sewer line to the black tank came loose. It was repaired under warranty. Three weeks later after returning from a one week trip I noticed it was leaking under the bathroom again. This time I took it to the repair only shop. The tank shifted again and the coupling came loose. The coupling was to short so the repair only shop put in a longer full rubber coupling. No problems with tank leak since. Last year I noticed the floor in the kitchen in front of the sink was soft. I took it in the repair only shop that fixed the landing gear and had him inspect the RV for water leaks. None found. Turns out Forest River changed the design and went with a 5/8 inch sub floor instead of the 3/4. They also did not add any additional bracing to help support the thinner sub floor. This is a known issue I found through the Forest River web site. Warranty is over so I don’t know what I am going to do to get this fixed. I will never buy another Forest River product. They are junk!
Livability
4.0
Overall quality
1.0
Floorplan
4.0
Driving/towing
4.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (4)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

JOHN G. BUTLER,JR.

Alabama

Reviewed on 2021-03-23

RV reviewed2013 Palomino Columbus 320RS

View listings

5.0
My wife and I fell in love with this RV when we bought it. The quality and layout far exceeded others we looked at. We still love it, but just don't have time to use it. It looks great and is spacious. It tows great and has many high end features. We still like it better than most new ones we have seen.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
5.0
...
Helpful (3)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 1 - 10 of 49 reviews

For sale near youRVs For Sale

Do you have an RV experience to share?

Help other RVers by leaving a review for an RV or dealership.

Write a review

Browse top RVs

Browse dealership reviews

Browse By State

Browse By Province