Write a review

RV Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

Floorplan

Forest River Salem reviews

3.3 (91 reviews)
Write a review
Liveability
3.7
Overall quality
2.5
Floorplan
4.2
Driving/towing
3.8
Factory warranty
2.4

For sale near youMatching RVs for sale near you

See all

Top 10 RVs

Reviews

Stars Refinement

91 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

Darryl Lynch

Ontario

Reviewed on 2022-09-30

RV reviewed 2022 Forest River Salem 170SS view listing

1.6
Shortly after purchasing the unit, the slide out jammed and we lost a couple of days from our trip while getting it repaired. While on route to Nova Scotia, the water tank fell out of the trailer. We were fortunately going at low speed at the time and were not injured. The dealer's technician reported that the supports were not properly installed. I later learned that there was a recall in 2021 for this problem but apparently, nothing was done to address the root problem. Forest River has been very difficult to deal with and I have found it impossible to speak to anyone beyond the junior customer representative level. The company's failure to address a problem that is potentially fatal can only be described as negligent.
Livability
1.0
Overall quality
1.0
Floorplan
3.0
Driving/towing
2.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (0)

Flag

Flag this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Kathy Heath

Texas

Reviewed on 2022-09-22

RV reviewed 2021 Forest River Salem 171RBXL view listing

1.8
We purchased a Salem little over a year ago. I know trailers are built cheap, but I am shocked how you would put tiny screws to keep the underbelly panels on. Ours blew off and almost had a wreck in the process. It would be nice to put safety in building your trailers. We replaced the cheap tires you put on the trailer due to fear of a blow out. You may want to step up your game for safety reasons or at least let customers know where you are going cheap and no cares of safety, so they can take care of it before they venture out.
Livability
1.0
Overall quality
1.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
1.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (0)

Flag

Flag this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Kayleigh West

New Hampshire

Reviewed on 2022-07-23

RV reviewed 2022 Forest River Salem 32BHDS view listing

2.6
We have had nothing but problems since we purchased this rv, brand new in February. It's litterally falling apart, and even though it's still under warranty no one can fit it in for months. So we have a brand new camper thay we can not even use. Every trip out something else breaks or we find out it never worked in the first place. Its very disappointing especially considering the amount of money we spent.
Livability
1.0
Overall quality
1.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (0)

Flag

Flag this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Chris West

New Hampshire

Reviewed on 2022-07-02

RV reviewed 2022 Forest River Salem 32BHDS view listing

2.4
Fell in love with the layout, perfect family Floorplan for us with 3 kids and 2 dogs. Unfortunately from our first trip out nothing but problems. Ac didn't work, was taken back 3 times still not right. Water leaking from shower through floor, poor craftsmanship throughout camper, slideout failed twice due to cheap wiring connectors, etc. My $20k camper was 100% better quality without issues than our brand new $45k rv. Not happy at all, have had zero successful trips this year.
Livability
1.0
Overall quality
1.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
4.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (0)

Flag

Flag this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Joe

Florida

Reviewed on 2022-06-23

RV reviewed 2022 Forest river Salem 240BHXL view listing

2.4
Sloppy assembly and craftsmanship to this trailer was outrageous. It looked like a child put the trailer together. There was excessive silicone all over the slide out and windows and door framing. I’ve seen other trailers less expensive with better quality workmanship. The only thing we were not interested because of the layout. I would not ever buy this brand ever again.
Livability
1.0
Overall quality
1.0
Floorplan
4.0
Driving/towing
4.0
Factory warranty/support
2.0
...
Helpful (0)

Flag

Flag this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Bill Ellison

Indiana

Reviewed on 2022-06-19

RV reviewed 2022 Forest River Salem 26DBUD view listing

3.4
Liked the overall appearance and layout of the trailer. Very bad quality control inspection before it left factory. Have fought very hard to get repairs completed. Dealer was very good at helping but support from the factory was less than steller.
Livability
2.0
Overall quality
2.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
3.0
...
Helpful (0)

Flag

Flag this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

GW

Texas

Reviewed on 2022-04-19

RV reviewed 2017 Forest River Salem 29FKBS view listing

4.6
We spend a lot of time traveling with our Salem and it’s a very comfortable travel trailer. We find the floor plan well thought out with a large bedroom and built in desk. There’s lots of room in the living area and it can even accommodate a recliner or two. It has a full size couch that folds out to provide a comfortable bed for an adult or a couple of kids as well as a full size make down dinette. The kitchen is excellent and large compared to most we have seen or owned. There’s a lot of counter space and huge amounts of storage including a pantry. The appliances are spectacular in stainless steel with subway-look back splash design. The automatic refrigerator and water heater make boondocking very comfortable. Both run on electric or gas and switch automatically. The huge 21 foot awning makes lounging or grilling outdoors so much nicer and we often sit out in the evenings to enjoy nature. There’s even a cable outlet for game day if you are “tailgating”. All in all, it’s a large comfortable travel trailer with just about any amenity you can think of for camping or even extended stays for work or whatever your needs are. It’s definitely a home away from home.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
4.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
4.0
Factory warranty/support
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Flag

Flag this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Ashley

Texas

Reviewed on 2021-12-28

RV reviewed 2022 Forest River Salem 29VBUD view listing

3.0
We purchased a 2022 Salem 29vbud 3 days before Thanksgiving of 2021. We have owned the Trailer for 1 month prior to taking it on a 10 day shake down. We are currently on day 4 of our trip and we have come across a number of issues with the trailer, most of which are all a result of poor manufacturing. Our slide does not go in or out properly, one of our outdoor speakers was not hooked up correctly which caused it to blow, out fireplace does not work (this was caught prior to delivery by our dealer), our shower leaks at the seam, and our final straw was this morning we discovered our bed (in the bedroom) has broken. The armature that allows the bed to lift and gain access to the pass-through was secured directly to a knot in the 2x2 they attach the bed to. Of course this allowed a fault in the structure of the bed, and after the 5th use, it broke. We picked a forest river because of the superior quality the brand offered... but we believe that quality has fractured due to the high demand of trailers in 2021. We thought that forest river as a brand would put the quick money grab aside and focus on keeping their popularity as a quality brand intact, clearly we were mistaken.
Livability
3.0
Overall quality
1.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (0)

Flag

Flag this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

marshall durham

Arizona

Reviewed on 2021-09-26

RV reviewed 2010 Forest River Salem view listing

4.2
I bought the T.T 2 spend 6 months in mountains in AZ. I decided I wasn't going bk 2 Phx, I sold my place there found a nice place here. I love being mountains. My T.T was very comfortable. Have outside speakers was nice seating outside listening 2 music. Have a nice TV 2 watch also. Microwave, stove, fridge all work great. Have nice flooring, lots of storage cabinets, shower is nice. Full awning, new tires, new wheel covers, water lines, new sewer lines, elec cord with power surger. Very great stabilizers, star bar, hitch. Must see its in great condition. Have a thick matters 4 better sleeping
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (0)

Flag

Flag this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • ...
  • 10
  • 1 - 10 of 91 reviews

For sale near youRVs For Sale

See all

Do you have an RV experience to share?

Help other RVers by leaving a review for an RV or dealership.

Write a review

Browse top RVs

Browse dealership reviews

Browse By State

Browse By Province