Write a review

RV Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

Floorplan

Monaco reviews

4.3
Write a review
Liveability
4.8
Overall quality
4.6
Floorplan
4.8
Driving/towing
4.7
Factory warranty
2.7

For sale near youMatching RVs for sale near you

Top 10 RVs

Reviews

240 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

Roger

Alabama

Reviewed on 2016-05-11

RV reviewed2005 Monaco Diplomat 40PDQ

View listings

3.0
I've owned many RV's in the past 50 years. They included pickup campers, bumper pull trailers, a large (45') fifth wheel trailer, and several motor homes. In 2005 Monaco made many changes to their Diplomat, including a fourth slide (in the 40PDQ model). That opened the interior up and resulted in spacious mobile living quarters. Monaco's choice of a ROADMASTER chassis, (with 8 airbags and 8 shocks), gives this coach a stable, quiet, comfortable ride. I previously owned another brand (comparable cost) and it rode like a "lumber truck". The way the newer Monacos handle crosswinds is really impressive. (2005 & newer) One shortcoming of most coaches is a lack of storage. I can honestly say that this coach has more storage that a person knows what to do with! Cabinets everywhere! Many drawers! Under coach storage that most coach owners would "die for". I've read posts authored by RV experts, and very experienced owners. Every one that I've ever read said something to the effect of, "YOU CAN'T GO WRONG WITH A Diplomat 40PDQ." I agree wholeheartedly! Note: There is a vast difference between various floor plans and various year models. Prior to year 2005 the ROADMASTER chassis used by Monaco, and other manufacturers, had handling problems. Those chassis models (RR4R) had only four airbags and four shocks. That was insufficient for a coach of 40'. Various remedies and aftermarket cures were attempted, to no avail. Stay clear of any brand or model riding on that chassis. If you will insist on ROADMASTER RR8R Chassis, combined with a Cummins ISL Turbo Diesel and an Allison World Transmission ... You'll be ONE HAPPY CAMPER for years to come! One last thing: Don't get hung up on horsepower. The ISL350 hp, and the ISL400 hp Cummins Turbo Diesel are basically the same engine. The 400 is simply programmed to drink more fuel, thus the extra horsepower. The 350 gets better gas mileage (diesel mileage). Any authorized Cummins dealer or authorized service center can change the horsepower (either up or down) by reprogramming the fuel controller. A local dealer quoted $170 to reprogram mine but I've heard other quotes of up to $300. My advice? If you buy a 350, leave it alone. Drive it a while and I think you'll find that Allison six speed transmission provides all the power you want, or can use. However, if you're doing a lot of mountain driving while towing ... and you don't object to loosing a mile per gallon ... have it changed to 400 hp. If you do change to 400 and you decide that you made a mistake, no problem ... have it changed back! Monaco got it right on this high quality coach!!!
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
0.0
Factory warranty/support
0.0
...
Helpful (49)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Phil Gottes

Florida

Reviewed on 2022-04-05

RV reviewed2013 Monaco Knight 40DFT

View listings

4.8
All we can say if you can find one 2013 - 2014 buy it!!! Hands down a great RV as you can see from all other reviews. Don't worry about parts if needed REV group will guide you where you need to go. Happy RVing.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
4.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

RM

Florida

Reviewed on 2022-03-25

RV reviewed2005 Monaco Safari Panther Diamond IV

View listings

4.2
With only 2 owners and full time storage inside, this coach is in incredible shape. It drives like a dream especially when pulling a full size chevy truck - mountains or flat lands. Truly a well built coach and it's obvious due to the age - you have to drive and see it to believe the true interior craftsmanship. No faux wood or cheap interior/exterior components. It's too bad they don't make them like this anymore - unless you purchase a Prevost.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Chuck B

California

Reviewed on 2022-03-07

RV reviewed2001 Monaco Diplomat 38PBD

View listings

5.0
This unit is great for living and running around, washer dry hook so makes life so easy. If you wanting to pull it has more power than needed, and with the price of property now, why not live and enjoy the ride.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

David Marvin

Florida

Reviewed on 2022-03-04

RV reviewed2011 Monaco Knight 40PBQ

View listings

4.2
This RV is Wonderful to drive. Handles great and has only 60 000 miles. It is in very good condition for a 2011. Very clean inside and out.. Must sell. The coach has been in Florida since 2017. You must see. Had a platinum warranty so any issues were fixed right away. Generator has 3 000 hrs. The coach has a Max Force 350 Diesel. Queen size Sleep number bed in the master bedroom and pull out sofa bed in the living room. 4 slides and 3 air-conditioning units. Also has a dish for watching great shows where ever your located. Stackable washer and dryer. Outside flat screen TV with DVD player. Lots of pass through storage. Awnings are in very good shape. Full size refrigerator.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
4.0
Floorplan
4.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
3.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Keith Boone

Georgia

Reviewed on 2022-03-04

RV reviewed2005 Monaco Dynasty 42 Diamond IV

View listings

5.0
This RV has been a pleasure to own. It's not only stunning from the outside but it flows into the inside. I call this my on-road condo. The amenities are in abundance. I have always had it service and maintained. I have recently had a complete service on it. Drives like a dream.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
5.0
...
Helpful (2)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Ballards Campground (Bob Stambaugh)

Missouri

Reviewed on 2022-02-21

RV reviewed2006 Monaco McKenzie Medallion Estate 2006

View listings

4.8
This is by far the best RV we ever owned. We have owned 6 different RV's. When we researched to purchase our RV, "to go full timing". We looked at 65 RV's and took notes on all the different ones offered. We fell in love with Monaco Medallion. With its metal stud construction, multi layered insulation, with gorgeous woodwork throughout. With two sliding glass french doors seperating the living room from the kitchen, and the fireplace. We were instantly smitten. Then the fact it was completely self contained. With a generator and 200 watt solar panel. We were good to go. We have since taken it Boondocking, and have spent winters in sub zero temps. And we were snug as a bug. Unfortunately they stopped making these well built classics. we have looked at all the new rigs and were nothing but disapointed in the lack of quality and workmanship. 2006 36ft. Monaco Medallion
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Ray W

Florida

Reviewed on 2022-02-11

RV reviewed2008 Monaco Dynasty Squire IV

View listings

4.8
Purchased our 1st coach with intent to try-out RV lifestyle and keep the coach 5-years. Turns out we bought our last coach first! Our Dynasty is now 14-years old and cannot find a reason to part with it. Coach seems to have gotten even better with age-116,000 miles on odometer. People often ask what year it is and are amazed when told 2008–they comment it looks new. The major factor contributing to the Dynasty longevity is the Roadmaster chassis. The coach rides quiet and comfortably on all road conditions with its 10-air bags and 10- shock absorbers. Can’t find anything like it at any price under 1.5 million dollars!
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
4.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Leslie Bertucci

Louisiana

Reviewed on 2022-02-07

RV reviewed2012 Monaco Vesta 35PBD

View listings

4.6
The well appointed interior of this RV is much higher quality than most of the other ones in it’s class. Real wood cabinetry, lots of interior and basement storage, sleek aerodynamic exterior design. The powerful diesel engine is really good at getting this unit uphill although a little bit louder than a pusher due to it being in the front. Average is around 10 miles per gallon, sometimes a little better depending on driving conditions. Overall, this is a great unit.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
3.0
...
Helpful (2)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Verified Owner
Voted most helpful review

Petrr

Arizona

Reviewed on 2022-01-16

RV reviewed2001 Monaco Signature Chateau

View listings

1.0
Sorry greedy people did not put the miles on here they are so full of garbage I wish trump was back in office he would call all you sorry people out. As they say corporate greed.
Livability
1.0
Overall quality
1.0
Floorplan
1.0
Driving/towing
1.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (2)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • ...
  • 24
  • 1 - 10 of 240 reviews

For sale near youRVs For Sale

Do you have an RV experience to share?

Help other RVers by leaving a review for an RV or dealership.

Write a review

Browse top RVs

Browse dealership reviews

Browse By State

Browse By Province