Write a review

RV Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

Floorplan

Forest River Forester MBS reviews

3.8
Write a review
Liveability
3.9
Overall quality
3.0
Floorplan
4.1
Driving/towing
4.6
Factory warranty
3.4

For sale near youMatching RVs for sale near you

Top 10 RVs

Reviews

21 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

Beate von Stutterheim

Montana

Reviewed on 2020-08-29

RV reviewed2019 Forest River Forester MBS 2401W

View listings

1.8
I owned this new 2019 Forester for a total of 5 months or 14000 miles. I bought it in February when it became apparent that my husband could no longer fly to Arizona for his monthly treatments. This small Class C on a Mercedes Sprinter Chassis seemed just right, sleek looking, not much larger than a truck, fast and economic to drive, spacious floor plan for the night. I might have gotten a lemon, but this unit was poorly made, using cheap plastics for locks and latches that constantly broke; Outside compartments kept opening up in mid-drive and could not be reliably locked; The glue used was sub-standard, the floor discolored, the rubber cover on the stair cover came off, sending me flying to the floor, the bathroom mirror came loose, the wood looking paper veneer peeled off; The hub cap came off almost immediately; Something was wrong with the electronics, when it rained, the LED park lights stayed on for a few days; The touch-screen monitor was temperamental and didn't work reliably all the time; the waste tank handles didn't close the valves properly, showering me with gunk every time I opened the sewer cap. I suffered through the first few repairs in good humor, being able to schedule them between my trips to the hospital, BUT when the slide-out malfunctioned on the 5th trip, leaving me stranded until Road Service jammed the slide back in, breaking the trim, gaskets, rails inside, leaving openings for wind, dust, insects, hot air and yes, vermin to come inside, when I was not able to schedule warranty repairs before the summer was over with any of the Forest River dealers in Montana or Arizona (when Co-Vid hit in earnest and America discovered camping, repair appointments were months out) Forest River Customer service initially proposed that I drive it broken with 4 x 4's holding in the slide, which I tried for 1500 miles, but gave up when the A/C gave out because of the excessive heat coming in. I did receive a very nice letter from the CEO, Peter Liegl, assuring me that Forest River is very interested, and that somebody would be in touch. I could not wait any longer and traded the lemon in at great financial loss to me. I gave the floor plan 3 stars, because when the slide works, it is spacious and quite wonderful. In fact, my new unit has the same floor plan, albeit quality and workmanship are far superior.
Livability
1.0
Overall quality
1.0
Floorplan
3.0
Driving/towing
3.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (34)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Danny Brion

Pennsylvania

Reviewed on 2022-02-24

RV reviewed2017 Forest River Forester MBS 2400WS

View listings

4.2
We had purchased a used 2004 Winnebago sightseer 31 foot. Very nice used camper as we were not sure if we would like traveling with a RV. We found out we loved it and purchased a new 2017 Forest River 2400 MBS (Mercedes sprinter) The Mercedes part of this RV is awesome, having a V-6 turbo diesel engine there is no lack of power. As far as the forest river RV side we had a lot of issues that needed repaired. It seems like they just throw these together and let the dealer fix the mistakes. I feel poor quality
Livability
4.0
Overall quality
3.0
Floorplan
4.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Brenda Reese

Florida

Reviewed on 2022-01-26

RV reviewed2016 Forest River Forester MBS 2401R

View listings

5.0
It is just the right size for 2 people. I like the extra storage above the cab vs a sleeping loft as we don't need the extra sleeping space. I love the extra large television. I like having a screened door. It is nice having the lavatory sink outside the bathroom so two people can get prepped at the same time. It is so easy to drive and maneuver through traffic. We tow a 4 door Sahara Jeep Limited with no problem at all.hings I don't like? I would like an indicator for traffic coming along side us. Can't think of any other things I would change about it.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
5.0
...
Helpful (2)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

unhappy camper

California

Reviewed on 2021-10-27

RV reviewed2016 Forest River Forester MBS 2401R

View listings

2.4
omg every time i go somewhere something or things break. drawers flying open(tore up the cabinetry one time), fridge acts up, cap on the sewer outlet breaks and falls off, beauty rim flies off on the freeway( which are not reasonably available), one night we got locked in the coach because the door latch assembly broke inside, the leather seats are crumbling apart, i am now working on replacing stripped out mounting screws on passenger and drivers side entry door steps that were mounted unbelievably poor, the motor for the coach entry step, fuses on the water heater...... it goes on and on folks! it does drive like a dream though. gotta give it that. looses a marked amount of fuel mileage towing a 1200lb. boat. and what the hell is up with those emissions monitors mr. mercedes? took 3,000 miles for 1 monitor to turn on so i could get it smoged. THAT drove me outa my mind.
Livability
3.0
Overall quality
1.0
Floorplan
1.0
Driving/towing
4.0
Factory warranty/support
3.0
...
Helpful (2)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Phillip Sulkosky

Washington

Reviewed on 2021-05-03

RV reviewed2016 Forest River Forester MBS 2401W

View listings

2.6
DO NOT purchase a Forrest River product! We have a 2016 Forest River Forester 2401W motorhome which we purchased because of it's Mercedes chassis. We regrettably chose to disregard the numerous negative reviews of Forrest River products which have proven prophetic. Our MH has 6,465 miles and I found the Hellwig sway bar that F.R. so highly touts literally hanging from the rear axle housing by one bracket! Upon inspection and contacting Hellwig, I was informed that it was dangerously (per Hellwig) installed not even close to Hellway's specifications by F.R. The Hellway technician told me to NOT attempt replacing this sway bar send him pictures of all aspects and the remove it! I have actually found this exact type of build quality in almost every area of this M.H. which I would never expect in a unit in this price range. I would be glad to expound further on all of the issues requiring repair we have found which are far too numerous to include in this review. Our best, Phil and Kaisha Sulkosky
Livability
4.0
Overall quality
1.0
Floorplan
2.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (14)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Jay

Texas

Reviewed on 2021-01-14

RV reviewed2018 Forest River Forester MBS 2401R

View listings

5.0
The best Rv I ever had with 42yrs experience! I’m owning few Rvs and if I want to compare them, I would definitely recommend this one! Very easy drive and comfortable for long and short trips. Reasonable maintenance, solar power so NO more hassle.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
5.0
...
Helpful (9)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Lynn A. Hayward

Florida

Reviewed on 2020-09-17

RV reviewed2017 Forest River Forester MBS 2400WS

View listings

5.0
This drives like a dream. It is quiet powerful diesel. The side and back up cameras make it easy to park and change lanes. There is spacious room when full side slide is not open. When the slide is open it is a comfortable room. A full bathroom is a a great attribute. A Microwave, stove top ,Cable TV/Stereo(inside), and speakers outside make it a home a way from home. The low mileage (28,000) says this Mercedes Benz Diesel V6 motor and chassis are going to be around for a long. The Onan propane generator says that you can camp any where. You will be very pleased to own this RV and not pay for the original price. This is a great deal, and a lot of happy/fun memories, are to be made.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
5.0
...
Helpful (7)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Craig Rhodes

Arizona

Reviewed on 2020-07-27

RV reviewed2018 Forest River Forester MBS 2401W

View listings

3.0
Well the MB part of this Lemon is doing just fine. Only complaint was that RV Wholesalers did a poor job of acquainting me with the emergency brake dual positions because of the rotating front seats. It cost me $175 at a Sprinter center in San Diego to get “educated” The quality of this a Forest River product is terrible. Many circuit breakers routeenly pop. Many electronic components have failed; central control unit failed, microwave has failed, main TV has failed, coach radio failed, contact paper finish on cabinets has pealed, drawers have broken, etc. etc. This product is a piece of junk. Getting product support while traveling is impossible. Forest River dealers refuse to do warranty work if you didn’t buy it from them. Warren Buffet is getting rich and his customers are royally screwed. Do not buy a Forest River product, unless you can stand operating a lemon! There is just no excuse for such poor quality and reliability and a warranty plan that is useless. Shame on Warren Buffet. I want a refund for this LEMON!
Livability
3.0
Overall quality
1.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
3.0
Factory warranty/support
3.0
...
Helpful (14)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

RJ

Arkansas

Reviewed on 2020-06-16

RV reviewed2016 Forest River Forester MBS 2401W

View listings

4.2
This 2016 has been a dream. No problems! Bought it used with 7200 miles. Gets great gas mileage and is very reliable. The mbs diesel gets approximately 16 miles to a gallon. Great for long RV trips. No issues to date. Stored in a garage. Has 20K miles. Everything works great!
Livability
4.0
Overall quality
4.0
Floorplan
4.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
4.0
...
Helpful (5)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Claudia

California

Reviewed on 2020-02-19

RV reviewed2016 Forest River Forester MBS 2401W

View listings

2.6
I have spent more money on repairs than I have camping! Bought this rig brand new as I wanted something dependable. Water dripped on my mothers head on the way home and I thought the passenger door leaked because the seals appeared loose. Turns out the window in bunk area leaked, improper installation, ruined bed,repaired. Radio kept cutting out on the way home, and the GPS is way too small to read. Satellite radio antenna should be mounted on top of rig but it's not and cuts out continually. Weather stripping popped out on front seams of MH, replaced. Electric stairs quit working, repaired and now quit again. Multiple slide issues. New seal installed and shop recommended a repair they claim was a manufacturing defect. FR would not authorize replacement until broken...guess what, in the shop again for slide issues. Nothing like being multiple states away from home and having your slide malfunction with 3 seniors needing to sleep. I'm posting this from memory as my book of repairs is in the RV at the shop.
Livability
3.0
Overall quality
1.0
Floorplan
4.0
Driving/towing
4.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (17)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 1 - 10 of 21 reviews

For sale near youRVs For Sale

Do you have an RV experience to share?

Help other RVers by leaving a review for an RV or dealership.

Write a review

Browse top RVs

Browse dealership reviews

Browse By State

Browse By Province