Write a review

RV Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

Floorplan

Coachmen Freelander reviews

4.3
Write a review
Liveability
4.6
Overall quality
4.1
Floorplan
4.6
Driving/towing
4.6
Factory warranty
3.4

For sale near youMatching RVs for sale near you

Top 10 RVs

Reviews

64 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

Cathleen Savage

Colorado

Reviewed on 2015-02-06

RV reviewed2012 Coachmen Freelander 21QB

View listings

3.4
The 2012 Freelander 21QB, actually 24' in length, is a great value for the money. It is a great option for two adults and up to two children. Although it technically sleeps six, that would be a bit crowded. In addition to the rear Queen bed, the dinette converts to a Full size bed (48" x 76"). The overcab bunk has a weight limit of 350 lbs. PROs: 1) The rear bed is 60" x 80", very spacious for an RV and so much more liveable than the "Short Queen" (60" x 76") that is so common in other models. An added bonus is that standard Queen-size sheets fit perfectly! 2) the fresh water holding tank is 50 gallons, lots bigger than most Class Cs and even some Class As. This means we stay out in remote areas longer without breaking camp. 3) The exterior "basement" storage is huge! Over 100 square feet! We can fit everything we need for a month-long trip in with no problem. Have not seen this much storage in other models. 4) It is very easy to drive and has a good turning radius. 5) The dinette is designed in a circular "lounge" style, which is great for watching TV and relaxing. See related Cons below. CONs: 1) The factory installed vents are cheap and flimsy. We immediately replaced ours with Fantastic Vents. 2) The window in the coach side entrance door (not the cab) is made of frosted glass, reducing driver visibility. We had ours replaced with clear safety glass and we added a shade for privacy when needed. 3) The table for the dinette is too big for the space. We took it out and just store it for when we might need to use it to convert the dinete into a bed. We use a large tv tray table for indoor dinners and we made our own insert to make the sofa more comfortable. 4) The wardrobe for hanging clothes has two rods that run from the exterior wall to the wardrobe door instead of a single rod running across the top of the wardrobe. A simple modification to make. I notice that Coachmen made this change to later models too. 5) Curved shower door on a track is irritating but functional. Coachmen changed this to a regular swinging door set on the diagonal in later models. Summary: with a few simple modifications, the 2012 Freelander 21QB is a great combination of compact size and desireable features! I would buy it again.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
4.0
Floorplan
4.0
Driving/towing
4.0
Factory warranty/support
0.0
...
Helpful (128)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Martha

Virginia

Reviewed on 2022-04-19

RV reviewed2006 Coachmen Freelander 31BH Ford 450

View listings

5.0
The RV is the best and has queen size bed in private bedroom, dinette table converts into a bed, sofa folds into a bed, has top bed, sleeps 7-8 people comfortably, refrigerator, 3 burner stove, microwave, a/c blows cold, heater works, bathroom, has separate stand up shower with glass door, has generator, power leveling jacks..etc
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Robert McCluskie

Pennsylvania

Reviewed on 2022-03-08

RV reviewed2016 Coachmen Freelander 32BH Ford 450

View listings

2.6
I bought the Coachman Freelander BH, class C, brand new in 2016. The first camping trip was great, after that all downhill. To say the people on the Coachman/Forrest River assembly lines gave zero sh*ts about their basic workmanship would be an understatement. My first hint is when I looked under the sink where the hot water heater was. There was wire insulation and shavings everywhere. They were too lazy to clean up after their work. This was everywhere in the RV. Since then it was discovered the shower plumbing was installed wrong at factory causing damage. We eventually had to replace the whole shower which we had to pay for. We had a massive window leak which turned out they installed incorrectly at factory. They Gerryrigged it to get it off the assembly line. It ended up giving and the massive leak happened years later in the middle of a storm. We had to pay for. Vent fan broke. Numerous window shades broke. One of two slides totally jammed up. The slide controller got wet BECAUSE ITS INSTALLED IN AN OUTSIDE STORAGE COMPARTMENT! This screw up is on the designers. Because of condensation we can’t use that compartment now. There were more issues. The Ford truck part of the RV no issues. The Frig, AC, heater, etc made by other companies no issues. All the issues started on the assembly line. Sadly it sometimes takes a few years to discover them. Coachman just doesn’t understand this is a families 2nd home. This is a massive financial investment for a middle class family. Good luck on trying to get a hold of them for anything. Very disgusted by the Coachman/Forrest River brand.
Livability
4.0
Overall quality
1.0
Floorplan
4.0
Driving/towing
3.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Tyler Cannon

California

Reviewed on 2021-11-14

RV reviewed2018 Coachmen Freelander 20CBT

View listings

4.4
Love the size of this RV. At only 23 ft it fits everything and allows entrance to state and national parks! Parking at beaches is easy! It sleeps 5 and has a 5 seat belts. Great for small families!
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
4.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
4.0
Factory warranty/support
4.0
...
Helpful (2)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Debra L MacLeod

Texas

Reviewed on 2021-11-07

RV reviewed2019 Coachmen Freelander 31BH

View listings

5.0
We have been living and traveling in our Coachman Freelander for three years and live it. It's a perfect layout for one or two people. It pulls our Jeep Wrangler with ease. We have not had a single mechanical problem with it at all.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
5.0
...
Helpful (3)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Michael wilson

Indiana

Reviewed on 2021-10-19

RV reviewed2020 Coachmen Freelander 21QB

View listings

3.0
Do not buy a coachmen they are junk from the day I got this I have had nothing but problems windows rattled had to have them replaced and told by the manufacturer they may have to be replaced again because there supplier sucks shower leaked bad took 3 times for them to fix it still not fixed right but it don’t leak that’s 2 of the worst things there was about 20 other things that was bad and that was just after the first trip I called the company and was told that they can’t get good help that’s the problem I stopped taking it in to be fixed because they had it more than I did what made me more mad is the representative I talked too acted like it’s the best we could do with what we have so deal with it
Livability
4.0
Overall quality
2.0
Floorplan
4.0
Driving/towing
4.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (6)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Oscar Estrada

Georgia

Reviewed on 2021-04-16

RV reviewed2006 Coachmen Freelander 31BH Ford 450

View listings

5.0
The full sized shower can be separated from both the back bedroom and the front kitchen area. It has a very large storage bin (basement) area. Except for driving through campground, RV is only allowed to travel on well maintained, paved, minimum 2-lane roads. A GPS Tracking device is installed on RV
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
5.0
...
Helpful (3)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Stephen Reyes

California

Reviewed on 2021-04-16

RV reviewed2006 Coachmen Freelander 31BH Ford 450

View listings

5.0
Miles on the Powerful Ford Triton V10. Fantastic size with Kitchen and Sofa Slide Out making for a very spacious floor plan for its smaller and easier to drive size. With the Rear Queen Bed, Convertible Dinette, Sofa Bed and Front Loft Bed it offers enough sleeping space for up to 8!! Loaded with amenities and features. Includes 2 Flat Screen TV'S, Jensen Sound System with CD/DVD/MP3
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
5.0
...
Helpful (2)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Nicholas Lathouris

Georgia

Reviewed on 2021-04-15

RV reviewed2006 Coachmen Freelander 31BH Ford 450

View listings

5.0
The full sized shower can be separated from both the back bedroom and the front kitchen area. It has a very large storage bin (basement) area. Completely self-contained with generator, shower, toilet, microwave, sink, large refrigerator, roof A/C, heater, TV and DVD player.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
5.0
...
Helpful (2)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Fred Gomes

Minnesota

Reviewed on 2021-04-09

RV reviewed2016 Coachmen Freelander 20CB Ford Transit

View listings

4.2
We're original owners and we're going into our 6th season with our Coachmen Freelander 20CB (This model is no longer made). It continues to serve us well, with NO problem either with the coach's appliances, electrical or water systems, or the Ford Transit engine and chassis. I do keep ahead of ALL maintenance myself and It is covered in the winter with an ADCO RV cover. I polish it and clean the roof once a season. This "beginners" level of motorhome has proven itself.
Livability
4.0
Overall quality
4.0
Floorplan
4.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
4.0
...
Helpful (4)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • ...
  • 7
  • 1 - 10 of 64 reviews

For sale near youRVs For Sale

Do you have an RV experience to share?

Help other RVers by leaving a review for an RV or dealership.

Write a review

Browse top RVs

Browse dealership reviews

Browse By State

Browse By Province