Write a review

RV Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

Floorplan

Coachmen Freelander reviews

4.2 (65 reviews)
Write a review
Liveability
4.5
Overall quality
4.0
Floorplan
4.6
Driving/towing
4.6
Factory warranty
3.3

For sale near youMatching RVs for sale near you

See all

Top 10 RVs

Reviews

Stars Refinement

65 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

Lisa

Virginia

Reviewed on 2022-10-08

RV reviewed 2022 Coachmen Freelander 26DS view listing

2.0
Do not waste $100,000 on a Freelander like we did. Purchased July 23, 2022 and have used once! The rest of the time it's at the dealer or waiting for parts. I won't go thru the extensive list of small stuff like poor trim, inadequate sealing in various places or even the bedroom wall coming apart. We haven't been able to use because of fuel pump and a non working fridge. Note besides a monthly RV payment we are also paying for long term site. Combined we are paying $1500 a month for a motorhome we can't use. Oh and don't bother calling the company it goes straight to VM and they don't call back I have tried twice. Dealer said it takes them hours on hold to reach them on the dealer line. Speaking of dealer bait and switch as we were told what a high quality RV we were getting, whereas service said 2021 & 2022s are known Covid RV and they can't get them off the lots! Lessons learned, don't make the same mistake.
Livability
1.0
Overall quality
1.0
Floorplan
3.0
Driving/towing
4.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (0)

Flag

Flag this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Martha

Virginia

Reviewed on 2022-04-19

RV reviewed 2006 Coachmen Freelander 31BH Ford 450 view listing

5.0
The RV is the best and has queen size bed in private bedroom, dinette table converts into a bed, sofa folds into a bed, has top bed, sleeps 7-8 people comfortably, refrigerator, 3 burner stove, microwave, a/c blows cold, heater works, bathroom, has separate stand up shower with glass door, has generator, power leveling jacks..etc
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Flag

Flag this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Robert McCluskie

Pennsylvania

Reviewed on 2022-03-08

RV reviewed 2016 Coachmen Freelander 32BH Ford 450 view listing

2.6
I bought the Coachman Freelander BH, class C, brand new in 2016. The first camping trip was great, after that all downhill. To say the people on the Coachman/Forrest River assembly lines gave zero sh*ts about their basic workmanship would be an understatement. My first hint is when I looked under the sink where the hot water heater was. There was wire insulation and shavings everywhere. They were too lazy to clean up after their work. This was everywhere in the RV. Since then it was discovered the shower plumbing was installed wrong at factory causing damage. We eventually had to replace the whole shower which we had to pay for. We had a massive window leak which turned out they installed incorrectly at factory. They Gerryrigged it to get it off the assembly line. It ended up giving and the massive leak happened years later in the middle of a storm. We had to pay for. Vent fan broke. Numerous window shades broke. One of two slides totally jammed up. The slide controller got wet BECAUSE ITS INSTALLED IN AN OUTSIDE STORAGE COMPARTMENT! This screw up is on the designers. Because of condensation we can’t use that compartment now. There were more issues. The Ford truck part of the RV no issues. The Frig, AC, heater, etc made by other companies no issues. All the issues started on the assembly line. Sadly it sometimes takes a few years to discover them. Coachman just doesn’t understand this is a families 2nd home. This is a massive financial investment for a middle class family. Good luck on trying to get a hold of them for anything. Very disgusted by the Coachman/Forrest River brand.
Livability
4.0
Overall quality
1.0
Floorplan
4.0
Driving/towing
3.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (0)

Flag

Flag this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Tyler Cannon

California

Reviewed on 2021-11-14

RV reviewed 2018 Coachmen Freelander 20CBT view listing

4.4
Love the size of this RV. At only 23 ft it fits everything and allows entrance to state and national parks! Parking at beaches is easy! It sleeps 5 and has a 5 seat belts. Great for small families!
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
4.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
4.0
Factory warranty/support
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Flag

Flag this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Debra L MacLeod

Texas

Reviewed on 2021-11-07

RV reviewed 2019 Coachmen Freelander 31BH view listing

5.0
We have been living and traveling in our Coachman Freelander for three years and live it. It's a perfect layout for one or two people. It pulls our Jeep Wrangler with ease. We have not had a single mechanical problem with it at all.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Flag

Flag this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Michael wilson

Indiana

Reviewed on 2021-10-19

RV reviewed 2020 Coachmen Freelander 21QB view listing

3.0
Do not buy a coachmen they are junk from the day I got this I have had nothing but problems windows rattled had to have them replaced and told by the manufacturer they may have to be replaced again because there supplier sucks shower leaked bad took 3 times for them to fix it still not fixed right but it don’t leak that’s 2 of the worst things there was about 20 other things that was bad and that was just after the first trip I called the company and was told that they can’t get good help that’s the problem I stopped taking it in to be fixed because they had it more than I did what made me more mad is the representative I talked too acted like it’s the best we could do with what we have so deal with it
Livability
4.0
Overall quality
2.0
Floorplan
4.0
Driving/towing
4.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (0)

Flag

Flag this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Oscar Estrada

Georgia

Reviewed on 2021-04-16

RV reviewed 2006 Coachmen Freelander 31BH Ford 450 view listing

5.0
The full sized shower can be separated from both the back bedroom and the front kitchen area. It has a very large storage bin (basement) area. Except for driving through campground, RV is only allowed to travel on well maintained, paved, minimum 2-lane roads. A GPS Tracking device is installed on RV
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Flag

Flag this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Stephen Reyes

California

Reviewed on 2021-04-16

RV reviewed 2006 Coachmen Freelander 31BH Ford 450 view listing

5.0
Miles on the Powerful Ford Triton V10. Fantastic size with Kitchen and Sofa Slide Out making for a very spacious floor plan for its smaller and easier to drive size. With the Rear Queen Bed, Convertible Dinette, Sofa Bed and Front Loft Bed it offers enough sleeping space for up to 8!! Loaded with amenities and features. Includes 2 Flat Screen TV'S, Jensen Sound System with CD/DVD/MP3
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Flag

Flag this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Nicholas Lathouris

Georgia

Reviewed on 2021-04-15

RV reviewed 2006 Coachmen Freelander 31BH Ford 450 view listing

5.0
The full sized shower can be separated from both the back bedroom and the front kitchen area. It has a very large storage bin (basement) area. Completely self-contained with generator, shower, toilet, microwave, sink, large refrigerator, roof A/C, heater, TV and DVD player.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Flag

Flag this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • ...
  • 7
  • 1 - 10 of 65 reviews

For sale near youRVs For Sale

See all

Do you have an RV experience to share?

Help other RVers by leaving a review for an RV or dealership.

Write a review

Browse top RVs

Browse dealership reviews

Browse By State

Browse By Province