Write a review

RV Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

Floorplan

Forest River XLR Hyper Lite reviews

3.5
Write a review
Liveability
4.0
Overall quality
3.1
Floorplan
4.3
Driving/towing
4.1
Factory warranty
2.2

For sale near youMatching RVs for sale near you

Top 10 RVs

Reviews

29 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

Charlie Pratt

North Carolina

Reviewed on 2017-06-27

RV reviewed2017 Forest River XLR Hyper Lite 30HDS

View listings

3.0
I would like to start by saying that the floor plan, the amount of storage space and two slides are great for a toy hauler. Also the unit is very light for towing. Now for the problems, which are way too many for a new camper. The couch slide gets jammed sideways going in or out. While we were at the Grand Canyon, AZ and Boulder City, NV the temps were 107 to 117. The AC breaker kept tripping all day so we had to pack up the dog and drive around in the truck all day. The frig did not cool like it should but I think that was because it was so hot in the camper. The front door is hard to open and close and pops open going down the road even though I double look it. I had to put a bungie cord on it. We had a lot of trim work fall off of the walls because of poor stapling. There were numerous interior finish issues. Now the power is out to one of the couch recliners which controls the light, massage and heat. I would not buy another one of these campers.
Livability
4.0
Overall quality
1.0
Floorplan
4.0
Driving/towing
4.0
Factory warranty/support
2.0
...
Helpful (14)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Corey Rice

Missouri

Reviewed on 2022-03-28

RV reviewed2016 Forest River XLR Hyper Lite 30HDS

View listings

3.8
This camper is very user friendly. We have stayed 3 weeks in it and always felt comfortable. Towing the camper I recommend a 3/4 ton. The warranty has expired. We are very comfortable camping in this camper both in and off the grid however, we out here the garage with our new purchase.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
4.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
4.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

James Krill

Florida

Reviewed on 2022-01-12

RV reviewed2013 Forest River XLR Hyper Lite 30HFS5

View listings

4.8
Pulls great with the equalizer hitch i installed , family friendly lay out , great kitchen and the location of every thing is with in arms reach when cooking. sitting under the awning after a hard play day is real relaxing. first one that i had with gas and elc, hot water Great no wait for hot water. this is a very good camper lots of fun. My camper is a 3013 Forest River XLR Nitro 30FQS This camper is not on there list of choices so i chose the closest one
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Ted Kares

Indiana

Reviewed on 2021-08-27

RV reviewed2019 Forest River XLR Hyper Lite 30HFX

View listings

4.6
Following the racing circuit with in 200 mile of home I was looking for a universal toy hauler to take my golf cart and Harley with me. What a great unit. It pulls like a dream behind my 3/4 ton truck. The open kitchen / living room is spacious with lots of storage. The cargo area has 2 lay down couches that make a queen bed, the loft bed works great when others want to join at the races. Full size bath with large shower work well, with plenty of storage for bath necessities. Auxiliary fueling station located below the cargo area with dispensing nozzle works great for fueling your toys. This unit has the arctic package and made a big difference in cooling and heating. Highly recommend to anyone interested in an ideal size toy hauler.
Livability
4.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
4.0
...
Helpful (3)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Raquel Miley

Florida

Reviewed on 2020-09-06

RV reviewed2014 Forest River XLR Hyper Lite 24HFS

View listings

2.4
The couches in the back are peeling and it looks terrible. I need to figure out where to have them redone or buy covers for them. Very poor quality. I would have rather had cloth than that cheap so called leather
Livability
3.0
Overall quality
2.0
Floorplan
2.0
Driving/towing
4.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (11)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Sonja Brown

Tennessee

Reviewed on 2019-11-05

RV reviewed2017 Forest River XLR Hyper Lite 26HFS

View listings

5.0
Very easy to tow and back. Set up is a breeze. Amazing amount of storage. Dry camping/boondocking is no problem with the 30-gal fuel tank and Onan generator, starts easily with the push of a button from inside the RV. Shower is roomy, lots of storage inside the bath, medicine cabinet. The queen size bed sleeps well and there is lots of storage space beneath the bed and in the cabinets over the bed, and in the closets on each side of the bed for hanging clothes. It is the perfect size!
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
5.0
...
Helpful (3)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

thomas hedgers

Minnesota

Reviewed on 2019-10-29

RV reviewed2018 Forest river XLR Hyper Lite 27HFS

View listings

4.2
slide fails alot goes crooked vary disappointed only 1 year old but i did buy it from 1 owner vary low miles just barley used can you help with warranty???? other then that Vary nice camper . just dont want to gets stuck camping some where and wont go in or out can i bring it to a local dealer and have it fixed under warranty that would be nice..
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (4)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Bob G

Missouri

Reviewed on 2019-08-13

RV reviewed2017 Forest River XLR Hyper Lite 29HFS

View listings

3.8
As far as the overall RV I have not had that many problems. One of the pocket doors rail mounts on the door broke. I ordered the parts but had a hard time trying to get them to go back into the pins and lock. I finally took off the trim over the door which made it much easier to connect and lock the door to the rail. I put the trim back on with a couple of screws so if I need to work on it again it will be easy to get to. Need to make sure the door is closed before traveling. My fuel pump quit working so the gas gauge does not work. The main problems I have is the generator. So far it has been in for service 4 times. 3 in Missouri, they replaced the started and relay. Recently went on a trip out west. In Colorado I tried to start the generator and it would run a little and die. Finally got it to run for a longer time and it died early in the morning. In Cheyenne Wy the generator would continually surge. At times it would start and seem to run at the correct speed and then start to surge. It would not run the AC. Took it to a Cummins service center and the tech said the carburator was bad. Cost me $415 to replace. That evening started the gen and it kept shutting down when I turned on the AC. The AC has the fast start capacitor in it. Finally had to use shore power by using an extension cord. Call the service center and was told that they gen loses a lot of wattage due to the altitude. The altitude on the carb was set to 6000 ft which was the altitude in Cheyenne. Even trying to run 2 small fans the gen kept shutting down. Got home and ran the gen with the AC and refrig on with no problem. Don't know why they have an altitude compensation adjustment on the carb if it does nothing. Wondering why Onan makes a RV generator that does not work when you get in the mountains. On the plus side the toy hauler pull great, don't even feel it behind you. I replace both the mattress because the ones that came with the trailer were very uncomfortable. The bathroom is rather small and with the tall cabinet next to the sink it is a little tight. It is a big step up to get into the shower. Getting out one time I almost fell. Probably will make some kind of step. Some of the decals of peeling off. Have to be careful to make sure all the drawers are full closed before extending the slide out or it will catch on one of the drawer handles. Wish they had a side in the bedroom so there was more room. There is not much space on each side of the bed. Hard to get dress in such a limited space. I bought the cold weather package and upgraded air conditioner. The area inside under the slide get a lot warmer than other parts of the trailer since there in not much if any insulation on the top of the slide out. Think adding the pull out awning might help to keep it cooler. Kitchen faucet is very cheap and will probably break sometime. There are no manuals for several things. Like the blue lights over a couple of the cabinets. Also have the 3 seat recliner which is great .
Livability
4.0
Overall quality
3.0
Floorplan
3.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
4.0
...
Helpful (7)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Dennie Smith

Illinois

Reviewed on 2019-08-10

RV reviewed2016 Forest River XLR Hyper Lite 29HFS

View listings

5.0
Bought it for traveling to motorcycle rally's and a few weekend trips. Have owned it for 3 years and have had only one slight problem. Front light on front of camper by propane tanks somehow got water in it. They replaced it and that's it. Plenty of room for four people with the queen bed in back. Nice camper overall.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
5.0
...
Helpful (2)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Dan finnel

Wisconsin

Reviewed on 2019-07-03

RV reviewed2016 Forest River XLR Hyper Lite 18HFS

View listings

2.2
Never again will I is brand or would I recommend this to anyone. From the lies, poor quality, poor service lack of empathy once they got there money all was over. Delivery of the product was late and we lost warranty as it stared from not when we received the unit but 45 days earlier when we paid for it. The worst quality you could ever imagine. WAY too many things to mention. DO NOT BUY FOREST RIVER PRODUCT!!!!!!!!!!!!
Livability
1.0
Overall quality
1.0
Floorplan
4.0
Driving/towing
4.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (14)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 1 - 10 of 29 reviews

For sale near youRVs For Sale

Do you have an RV experience to share?

Help other RVers by leaving a review for an RV or dealership.

Write a review

Browse top RVs

Browse dealership reviews

Browse By State

Browse By Province