Write a review

RV Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

Floorplan

Forest River Toy Hauler reviews

3.4
Write a review
Liveability
3.7
Overall quality
2.9
Floorplan
4.0
Driving/towing
4.0
Factory warranty
2.5

For sale near youMatching RVs for sale near you

See all

Top 10 Toy Haulers

Reviews

Stars Refinement

80 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

BRUCE L LEBEN

Reviewed on 2022-11-07

RV reviewed2021 Forest River XLR Hyperlite 2815

View listings

3.0
We took delivery in June of 2021 and were only able to use it 2 weekends. It had numerous minor issues that I was able to correct. This past summer we were filling the water tanks and heard a very loud "pop" and thought it came from a next door loading dock. We started down the road and a driver honked and pulled us over. We were dragging a metal support underneath (the loud noise). I was able to remove the other end of the damaged support. When we got home I crawled under to discover one of the water tanks fell out and was riding on the top of one axle. Contacted Forest River and they said to get it into the local dealer. Called them and the soonest appt. was 2 months! I crawled under and took down the coroplast liner and had to drill a hole in the water tank to empty it to be able to handle it. What I discovered was the water tanks were set in a narrow channel and when full would elongate and fall out of the channel. A design flaw! Took pictures and sent to Forest River and had several conversations/emails. They would not compensate me for materials or time to fix this issue. I asked for another year warranty extension. They flatly refused! This is zero money out of their pocket. We have a very short camping season in CO. and I could not wait 2 mos. for an appmt (end of August and our season) I had to make the repairs to be able to use the RV the remainder of our summer. I REINFORCED BOTH WATER TANKS WITH HEAVY STEEL CROSS BRACES AND NO FURTHER ISSUES. I would never consider another Forest River product again. NO customer service or willingness to stand behind their product! They tout their new state of the art final inspection facility. What a joke.
Livability
3.0
Overall quality
3.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
3.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Audra Comerford

New York

Reviewed on 2022-09-19

RV reviewed2020 Forest River Stealth Nomad 24FB

View listings

1.0
Warning! Anyone thinking of buying one of these units DO NOT! For the record, this is our eighth camper we have owned over the course of 20 years. We know the drill and have many experiences with manufacturers. Never have we been treated this bad before Stealth. Purchased our 2020 24' FB in March of 2020. First noticed massive water leak around rear window in Jan 2021. Went round and round with them for months! Horrible communication and follow through with their warranty department! Finally got a check in the mail for labor costs but never received any materials. We couldn’t wait any longer and began the repairs, FYI we are a registered repair shop. Holy Crap did we literally open Pandora's Box! The construction, fit and finish and lack of craftsmanship was appalling! Every window and door entry leaked and had voids in sealant! Throughout the whole unit, multiple fasteners were missing! The freshwater vent hose kinked and blew floor apart! The bathroom plumbing leaked. The roof was not properly reinforced for the Air Conditioner weight and almost fell through! And the list goes on and on. We have tried working with Stealth and was just passed on from one person to the next. I have a documented timeline verifying everything and how they totally dropped the ball in this disaster and yet they have the Gaul to tell us they will not cover their absolutely horrible construction of this unit. So now our goal... to make sure no one else gets burned like we did! I will be posting on all RV social mediate websites and forums. If you know of any others, please let me know. Anyone else with the same issue, please reach out to me, perhaps it’s time to start thinking Class Action lawsuit.
Livability
1.0
Overall quality
1.0
Floorplan
1.0
Driving/towing
1.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Patrick

Texas

Reviewed on 2022-08-30

RV reviewed2018 Forest River WA2916 Stealth

View listings

1.8
I've had nothing but problems with it , built horribly. Plumbing failed in many locations, shower door broke after first year , all fittings plastic . Cabinets falling apart , solar failed . Roof leaked after two years , all sunroof had to change out , fresh water tank replace . Entire undercarriage rusted . No galvanized anywhere. Generator issues since I purchased . Not worth the money! Don't buy it
Livability
1.0
Overall quality
1.0
Floorplan
2.0
Driving/towing
4.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Vern

New York

Reviewed on 2022-07-30

RV reviewed2019 Forest River 26RR Grey Wolf

View listings

4.2
My wife and I love our 26rr . I did have an issue with the water connection at the toilet. The inverted nut connecting to the foot operated valve was dripping water . I saw that the nut was only on by 1 thread and it was crooked, so I tried to tighten it by hand and it popped off. An incredible flood insued . By the time I shut off the water, water was running out of the side of the camper . Well when we returned home I removed the toilet and got a new valve from Amazon only 12 dollars, installed the valve and reinstalled the toilet. Thank god no damage was done to the flooring the water stayed on top of the linoleum . The next thing I did was to go over all the plumbing fittings in the camper, glad I did . I found a lot of loose fittings . The next thing I did was to get rid of the Chinese tires replaced them with Goodyear endurance tires and while I had the tires off I repacked all the bearings and replaced the seals . I noticed the the factory bearings had hardly any grease on them . Other than that it’s a very good camper. I load my Harley Electra glide rite in . A little scary because of the sharp angle but I bought a 7 foot ramp that I put on the edge of the ramp secured with jack stands . So now the angle is much less . I feel there should be better quality control when the camper is assembled and I would gladly pay extra for better tires . No China bombs
Livability
3.0
Overall quality
3.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Mary Awtrey

Georgia

Reviewed on 2022-07-21

RV reviewed2021 Forest river Open Platinum 260ryx

View listings

3.4
Sold my house to live it , gas done very well jee8us cool in summer warm in winter, just no counter space and bed room is way to small. It's done wein the winter and wind which I was scared of inThe beginning . Heater warms the tanks underneath the rv, they didn't freeze. The tank Indicators never worked and the battery doesn't run the basic . But all in all it would be good to go camping for a few days or weeks with a portable generator. Not badly made. I want to sell once I'm through, I don't have a use for it. Good luck.
Livability
4.0
Overall quality
4.0
Floorplan
3.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Kevin

Utah

Reviewed on 2022-06-23

RV reviewed2021 Forest River XLR Nitro XLF351

View listings

1.8
I owned the XLR Nitro 351 for one and a half years. Where do I start with all of the problems that I had with this thing. The dealership that i purchased it from is 150 miles from my home and I found out quickly that my local XLR dealerships won’t do warranty work on this rig. Rather than travel 150 miles I elected to repair the simple things myself and had a mobile RV repair guy do the hard stuff. Day one when I backed this thing into the driveway the slide seals fell out on the ground. One of the slides made a horrible banging noise when it was powered out. Within a couple of months one of the cables on the kitchen slide broke. Mobile repair guy fixed it. This spring I had another cable break. The lights in the loft have no wiring running to them. One of the window trim pieces fell out on the highway. The led lighting was falling off of the awnings. The control wires on the refrigerator were spliced together at the factory with cheesy crimp connectors. The wires weren’t long enough so they spliced them. The refrigerator ended up breaking down. The garage entry door had a 2 inch gap at the top and would not latch. The gates for the patio railings were starting to come loose and bend due to their weight. The mesh on the patio was damaged at the factory and it looked like someone walked on it at the factory as there were boot marks on it. The fireplace fell out going down the highway due to no bolts holding it in. The exterior panel on the underside of the overhang was falling out because it was cut too short. The list goes on and on. The quality of this rig was just atrocious. I am using the word “was” due to the fact that after a year and a half of chasing problems I traded it in. I have since purchased a new fifth wheel and when shopping I made sure I avoided looking at anything built by Forrest River.
Livability
1.0
Overall quality
1.0
Floorplan
3.0
Driving/towing
3.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (2)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Gary hayslihayslip

Ohio

Reviewed on 2022-06-22

RV reviewed2021 Forest river Cherokee Grey Wolf Limited 29RRT

View listings

4.0
We really like this camper other than it only has one air conditioner and it will not keep it below 80 on a hot day they shouldn't build this unit without two units so I'm sure this is a big problem for everybody that has bought one like this.we are thinking about trading it in for that reason we have only had it about a year.
Livability
3.0
Overall quality
3.0
Floorplan
4.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
5.0
...
Helpful (2)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Seth Hammon

Utah

Reviewed on 2022-06-17

RV reviewed2021 Forest River XLR Hyperlite 3016

View listings

2.6
If it doesn’t break this is a great toy hauler. But they do break and not worth the price tag. Within the first year the fridge went out, generator needed serviced, and a bunch of other smaller issues. 2 years in and not eve 10 trips total and the slide motor is shot. Do not recommend.
Livability
2.0
Overall quality
2.0
Floorplan
3.0
Driving/towing
4.0
Factory warranty/support
2.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Alyssa Lugo

Washington

Reviewed on 2022-06-07

RV reviewed2021 Forest River XLR Boost 21QBS

View listings

2.2
Customer service from XLR boost is the worst experience of my life. The single point of contact will send you to voicemail and never respond. If you send emails he will not reply. If you ever do manage to talk on the phone he blames the customer for everything. What a joke he is. The manager then said he would personally handle it. Never heard from him again. A brand new rep got sick of me calling every day and decided to try and help. He has been the most help but has dropped the ball several times as well. If I don't hold their hand every day or every week it goes on for months and no one takes care of the situation. Its excuse after excuse. They all blame someone else or covid for the problems. Its out of hand. The amount of footwork I am having to do to get a refund of my own damn money is a complete joke. They should be held accountable and it seems they never are. I will never buy another forest river product and when folks have asked me about ours I tell them don't ever buy from them. Its a complete nightmare. As soon as I can sell this POS that is exactly what I will be doing.
Livability
1.0
Overall quality
1.0
Floorplan
4.0
Driving/towing
4.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • ...
  • 8
  • 1 - 10 of 80 reviews

For sale near youRVs For Sale

See all

Do you have an RV experience to share?

Help other RVers by leaving a review for an RV or dealership.

Write a review

Browse top RVs

Browse dealership reviews

Browse By State

Browse By Province