Write a review

RV Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

Floorplan

Forest River Toy Hauler reviews

3.5
Write a review
Liveability
3.8
Overall quality
2.9
Floorplan
4.0
Driving/towing
4.0
Factory warranty
2.6

For sale near youMatching RVs for sale near you

Top 10 Toy Haulers

Reviews

75 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

Jaz Fowco

Texas

Reviewed on 2016-09-11

RV reviewed2015 Forest River Wolf Pup 17RP

View listings

1.4
This trailer is a piece of junk, poorly constructed, everything has quit working at one point or another, grey & black water leaks into underliner, don't buy one of these, on second thought don't buy from Forest River if they will sell something like this
Livability
3.0
Overall quality
1.0
Floorplan
2.0
Driving/towing
1.0
Factory warranty/support
0.0
...
Helpful (72)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Kevin

Utah

Reviewed on 2022-06-23

RV reviewed2021 Forest River XLR Nitro XLF351

View listings

1.8
I owned the XLR Nitro 351 for one and a half years. Where do I start with all of the problems that I had with this thing. The dealership that i purchased it from is 150 miles from my home and I found out quickly that my local XLR dealerships won’t do warranty work on this rig. Rather than travel 150 miles I elected to repair the simple things myself and had a mobile RV repair guy do the hard stuff. Day one when I backed this thing into the driveway the slide seals fell out on the ground. One of the slides made a horrible banging noise when it was powered out. Within a couple of months one of the cables on the kitchen slide broke. Mobile repair guy fixed it. This spring I had another cable break. The lights in the loft have no wiring running to them. One of the window trim pieces fell out on the highway. The led lighting was falling off of the awnings. The control wires on the refrigerator were spliced together at the factory with cheesy crimp connectors. The wires weren’t long enough so they spliced them. The refrigerator ended up breaking down. The garage entry door had a 2 inch gap at the top and would not latch. The gates for the patio railings were starting to come loose and bend due to their weight. The mesh on the patio was damaged at the factory and it looked like someone walked on it at the factory as there were boot marks on it. The fireplace fell out going down the highway due to no bolts holding it in. The exterior panel on the underside of the overhang was falling out because it was cut too short. The list goes on and on. The quality of this rig was just atrocious. I am using the word “was” due to the fact that after a year and a half of chasing problems I traded it in. I have since purchased a new fifth wheel and when shopping I made sure I avoided looking at anything built by Forrest River.
Livability
1.0
Overall quality
1.0
Floorplan
3.0
Driving/towing
3.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Gary hayslihayslip

Ohio

Reviewed on 2022-06-22

RV reviewed2021 Forest river Cherokee Grey Wolf Limited 29RRT

View listings

4.0
We really like this camper other than it only has one air conditioner and it will not keep it below 80 on a hot day they shouldn't build this unit without two units so I'm sure this is a big problem for everybody that has bought one like this.we are thinking about trading it in for that reason we have only had it about a year.
Livability
3.0
Overall quality
3.0
Floorplan
4.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Seth Hammon

Utah

Reviewed on 2022-06-17

RV reviewed2021 Forest River XLR Hyperlite 3016

View listings

2.6
If it doesn’t break this is a great toy hauler. But they do break and not worth the price tag. Within the first year the fridge went out, generator needed serviced, and a bunch of other smaller issues. 2 years in and not eve 10 trips total and the slide motor is shot. Do not recommend.
Livability
2.0
Overall quality
2.0
Floorplan
3.0
Driving/towing
4.0
Factory warranty/support
2.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Alyssa Lugo

Washington

Reviewed on 2022-06-07

RV reviewed2021 Forest River XLR Boost 21QBS

View listings

2.2
Customer service from XLR boost is the worst experience of my life. The single point of contact will send you to voicemail and never respond. If you send emails he will not reply. If you ever do manage to talk on the phone he blames the customer for everything. What a joke he is. The manager then said he would personally handle it. Never heard from him again. A brand new rep got sick of me calling every day and decided to try and help. He has been the most help but has dropped the ball several times as well. If I don't hold their hand every day or every week it goes on for months and no one takes care of the situation. Its excuse after excuse. They all blame someone else or covid for the problems. Its out of hand. The amount of footwork I am having to do to get a refund of my own damn money is a complete fucking joke. They should be held accountable and it seems they never are. I will never buy another forest river product and when folks have asked me about ours I tell them don't ever buy from them. Its a complete nightmare. As soon as I can sell this POS that is exactly what I will be doing.
Livability
1.0
Overall quality
1.0
Floorplan
4.0
Driving/towing
4.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Nathan schnorrbusch

Texas

Reviewed on 2022-04-28

RV reviewed2018 Forest River Stealth FQ2916G

View listings

2.0
Unit I bought was new in 2019 had mushrooms growing in leaking slide . Fun town fix this problem . Antenna has flew off twice in 3 times towing it . First time we thought the truck was issue . We bought a dodge Dual wheel . First time we pull it after replacing it flew off again . This is a solid mounted antenna. Can’t no one tell me why this is happening. Had a bunch of wires exposed after repair on slide . It’s is nice to have while at deer lease but if I was to do it again I would of bought something with a better design or built a little stronger. Had multiple plumbing issues also after first time taking it out.had electric chest put in which works great in bed room area , No luck in main living . Wish this thing didn’t have to go in shop after ever use .I’m not a person who complains much just think this unit was built on a sat
Livability
1.0
Overall quality
3.0
Floorplan
4.0
Driving/towing
1.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Billy Humphries

North Carolina

Reviewed on 2022-03-15

RV reviewed2021 Forest River Coachman Adrenaline 23 LT

View listings

3.4
2021 Adrenaline 23 LT. We just bought the camper at Country Roads in July 2021. The water heater never worked ,so we had a repair man at the campground in myrtle beach fix it $100. Now we ready to go camping and the fridge quit working, our repair man said the compressor has quit working. Country roads had us send all pic and information to them to send to warranty. Now warranty needs more information.this has been going on 2 weeks now. Repair man can get a new one in a week and fix it.But warranty don't want to do that. more wasted time. warranty they don't answer. Also country roads said it would take at least 6 to 8 weeks if they fix it.I should have a camper that works ,not being repaired every time I want to go camping. That's a LOT of MONEY I Paid just to keep having to get repaired every time I want to go camping.
Livability
3.0
Overall quality
4.0
Floorplan
4.0
Driving/towing
4.0
Factory warranty/support
2.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Joey

Florida

Reviewed on 2022-03-13

RV reviewed2021 Forest River XLR Boost 25LRLE

View listings

4.8
Layout is very nice and especially nice with the back door open platform down with the containment fencing. Tows nicely especially with the added bars. Only real draw back is the one year warranty. I would like to see the builders stand behind their product for more than a year.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

thomas akey

Mississippi

Reviewed on 2022-02-14

RV reviewed2020 Forest River Wildwood FSX 260RTX

View listings

3.8
Buyers beware of buying new rv's. They are build really shifty. Your walls are cardboard, they use balsa wood or something along that way, and everything is plastic. I have a 2020 rv I bought a lil over a yr ago. The first week I had it a fitting fell off in the bathroom had 2" of water on the floor. Using the toilet paper and the holder came off the wall that is when I noticed walls are made of thin cardboard. The first yr I had decided to go on a trip first TX, planning to travel the states when I went to set it up the electric jack gave out had to get a 2ton jack to get it off my truck. Then I noticed I had a 6 in Crack in my toilette bowl. Thank God I bought a 3 yr warrantee bumper to bumper. The repairman that comes out to fix it makes 185 an hour. Got that all replaced. Living in the sun in TX my vents covering cracked and are disintegrating, my sink made of plastic has a 6 ln and 3 in Crack in it leaking water all over. Went to use the bathroom opened the door and the door knob fell off in my hand. My stove has a glass counter top built into it, put it down and it shatter in Lil pieces, the black water flush the fitting broke water everywhere, also the infresh water inlet broke, driving down the free way a trucker honking his horn told me something flapping in the air. Stopped and my antenna to my radio had broke off, my vents in the floor are disintegrating, now all those things are made of thin plastic. The couch that came with it is flat and when you sit on its like sitting on a pallet very uncomfortable nothing like having a 1x1 in the Crack off your ass. I've only had this rv for 1 1/2 yrs. And a paid a pretty penny for this rv I love the floor plan of it, but for the stuff they build it with is junk. Now trying to find a mobile rv repairman is a problem cause there is none. So now I got to put in the shop to fix it ruining my vacation.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
1.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
3.0
...
Helpful (8)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

george walsh

Washington

Reviewed on 2022-02-09

RV reviewed2015 Forest River XLR Thunderbolt 401AMP

View listings

3.4
i love the rv but the support for bad work is nonexistent. the roof is under a 12 year warranty and after 5.5 years or lets say 6 years old the metal flashing under the roof has come undone, staples coming up thru the roofing. the metal flashing under the roofing is cutting the roof down both sides from the inside out. ive contacted forest river and NOT gotten a response and worked with my local dealer to get this fixed under the 12 year roof warranty based on the bad craftmanship and got DENIED there too. the roof is in perfect shape except for the flashing under the edges coming apart and cutting it from underneath as well as the staples starting to come up thru the membrane. had i have dragged it under a tree and caused damage i have no problem getting it repaired BUT when the damage is from lack of quality control i feel forest river should own up and fix this on their end and not ignore me or deny the claim at the local dealer when they have pictures and video. i understand that these things happen but the support ive gotten is nothing more than a slap in the face from forest river.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
1.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (2)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • ...
  • 8
  • 1 - 10 of 75 reviews

For sale near youRVs For Sale

Do you have an RV experience to share?

Help other RVers by leaving a review for an RV or dealership.

Write a review

Browse top RVs

Browse dealership reviews

Browse By State

Browse By Province