Write a review

RV Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

Floorplan

Forest River Travel Trailer reviews

3.6
Write a review
Liveability
3.8
Overall quality
3.0
Floorplan
4.3
Driving/towing
4.0
Factory warranty
2.7

For sale near youMatching RVs for sale near you

See all

Top 10 Travel Trailers

Reviews

Stars Refinement

1,319 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

Amanda

Reviewed on 2022-11-27

RV reviewed2022 Forest River 32BDS Aurora

View listings

2.6
I decided to try Forest River. Big mistake. I bought a brand new 2022 Aurora off the dealer lot because of the floor plan and electric heater. I lived in it a week and noticed several leaks when it rains. One leak is from the roof into the bedroom. Numerous leaks from slides. I don’t understand how this happens when buying new. I would not recommend anything made by Forest River. There are cosmetic defects as well that I overlooked. My only hope is since it’s under warranty that the dealer and warranty company make things right. If you are looking to buy, steer clear of Forest River. I had to rate the warranty however I won’t know true rating until after I take it to the dealer on Monday.
Livability
1.0
Overall quality
1.0
Floorplan
4.0
Driving/towing
4.0
Factory warranty/support
3.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Jamie Browning

Reviewed on 2022-11-22

RV reviewed2022 Forest River Wildwood FSX 169RSK

View listings

2.2
I have never experienced worse customer service from a company and quality of a build in my life. Keep in mind I almost never write reviews so I hope this saves people some heartache. My GF and I bought this camper brand new in August of 2022. We took it on 1 trip for the month of August and had so many issues with it that, as soon as we got home, we had to take it in to the shop immediately. The slide out was defective and ripped up the whole floor because they did not install any rollers on the bed frame and the bed frame was held together by little staples! I am not going to list every small problem but this is just the start.... The shower catch PVC was not connected to the rest of the plumbing so when we would take showers water leaked everywhere into the wood. We had no idea for 2 weeks until water started bubbling up above the floor. Pieces of the trailer were flying off while we drove, sinks weren't working properly. The list goes on... but then it gets worse when I try to talk to Taylor at the service department for Forest River Wildwood. Imagine buying a brand new camper for 30+ thousand dollars, and when you call to express your frustration and figure out why they haven't approved your warranty work yet, the service rep hangs up on you? Something is going to have to change or I can promise that I will never buy a forest river product again in my life.
Livability
1.0
Overall quality
1.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
3.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Raymond

Reviewed on 2022-11-20

RV reviewed2018 Forest River Sierra Destination 393RL

View listings

1.6
We purchased a forest River destination 39 ft trailer from hitch tv in New Jersey 2018 an we noticed the floor is rotted out by slide very soft we made numerous calls to dealer an forest River an no help at all I will send all my bad reviews all over about the customer service is very poor an my buddy has same trailer as well an same issue so we feel there is a defect on these trailers an they said bring it in we have no way an they also said they don’t have techs that come out anymore this is so bad in the trailer business they wanna sell u an never take care of it so again I will never recommend this trailer company an I will do everything as my friend to tell everyone not to buy this company trailers poor customer service now after few years floor rotting out u can’t see it but floor is so spongey u can put ur foot the wit I wish people can back up there product after all we paid for it they are quick to sell but when issues happens no one will help u thank you for nothing hitch ever an forest River I will make sure everyone will no about this an tell them not to buy thank you Raymond Graf
Livability
1.0
Overall quality
1.0
Floorplan
3.0
Driving/towing
2.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Dan

Reviewed on 2022-11-19

RV reviewed2019 Forest River Cherokee Wolf Pup 16FQ

View listings

3.0
I purchased this model based on weight and floor plan. The walk around queen was appealing as was the large rear bath with centered toilet (provides more leg room than a corner placement). I also wanted a larger fridge that wasn't sitting on the floor. I like this more than I could have imagined. I also made sure to get a year that had a PROPANE fridge. Gas is nice and cold, reliable and easy. They try to sell you on your battery/solar power only, don't do it. I think we will be all set when we sell simply based on having a 3 way fridge. Our biggest complaints are: 1) The mattress is an absolute joke, it's more like a box spring. They do this so that the weight is as low as possible when advertising. You will need to spend some serious money to actually get comfortable. A topper isn't going to cut it. Plus once you add height to the mattress, the side closet doors will not open as they open inward against the bed. 2) The "walk around" is more like a squished side shimmy at best. I find myself scooting to the end and getting up more often than not. This is also due to the fact that you will slam your head on the sharp corner of the upper kitchen cabinet. You WILL do this more than once and it's no joke. Talk about a rude awakening. 3) The queen appears large but due to the cabinets mounted on either side you are really wedged in there from the arms up. It feels coffin-esque. You don't appreciate this until you've slept in it a few times. We removed these cabinets and we are so happy we did. Now we have an actual bedside area large enough to actually set things on and the upper cabinets that run the length are more than sufficient storage. 4) The sensor placement for the black water tank is not placed in the correct area. Therefore it will always read as full as soon as you basically start to use it. Thankfully we have a plumber in the family. 5) The radio and the outside speakers are junk. No biggie but don't think you will ever actually use them, you will end up bringing your own. 6) The storage area under the bed is hard to get to when you have to lift your 5 layers of bed material. I took a page from a youtuber and mounted a hydraulic hinge. Much better. There are a bunch of other annoying things that you will spend time and money on adjusting but I think that's par for the course i.e. the faucet handles have to be turned ass backwards. We figured out this was because they used knob faucets instead of levers like they were supposed to etc. etc. I have realized that all of these types of trailers are cheaply made so don't expect top quality, I feel bad for the people that buy new. If you get a good deal, the towing weight and floor plan are the key reasons to purchase but have some $$ set aside for all of the additions/adjustments that you WILL be doing to have comfort. After all, it was kind of the whole point right? I hope this helps! Happy camping!
Livability
3.0
Overall quality
3.0
Floorplan
4.0
Driving/towing
4.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (2)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Joe n Bourgeois

Reviewed on 2022-11-18

RV reviewed2021 Forest River Flagstaff 25BSDS

View listings

2.4
Do not Purchase Forrest River Campers and especially Not from Berryland Campers Ponchatoula, LA. Traded a Passport 189, which I had camped with for 11 years to get a bed not sideways and a better outside kitchen hoping to camp more on retirement. Really liked the floor plan and outside kitchen on Forrest River Flagstaff 25BSDS. This was after reviewing and studying campers for months. Found and Purchased from Berryland Camper Sales in Ponchatoula Louisiana. Needed service after purchase and learned service hard to schedule and service department scary bad. I am on a first name basis with Forrest River Factory repair techs after camper having many problems fixed mostly by me and wife. Wife now says she really misses Passport which we enjoyed mostly problem free. Repair summary remembered provided below remember 2021 now used three times. - Board on right side inside where one puts knee to access closet paper thin and on first kneel knee breaks into cargo compartment other side thick. - Power supply to refrigerator poorly spliced behind refrigerator, didn't work on first trip, found and repaired taking a lot of my time on trip. -Rained on first trip and water poured into microwave, Barryland insisted from stove vent defying gravity. Antenae on top of Microwave cracked after much debate and picture proof Berry land went on top and applied a tremendous amount of caulk on cracked antenae on new camper. Got new antenae and installed self with wife, had to remove the stupid amount of caulk. - Have a opening shelf on center kitchen station brackets on shelf fatigue fail every time camper is hauled. No help and multiple discussions with Forrest River. -Electrical system completely failed repaired by Barryland caused by wires not spiced correctly to connectors and disconnecting from panel. -Scared after many problems of first trial trip and took camper on planned trip to Mount Rushmore and Yellow Stone. In route on Interstate in Kansas Propane rack with tanks fell off, fortunately no one killed. Directed by Forrest River to repair dealer in Mount Rushmore for warranty repair, found shelf bracket broke again. Had to not as instructed pay cash for repair, much, much later refunded by Forrest River, taking vacation emergency fund and spending money. -Next wiring bundle going from front to back fell in wheel well and was dragging alerted by a passing stranger stopped and duct taped and tie wrapped. -Returned home and shelf bracket broke again. -Thanks to Biden tripling gas prices and worst inflation in my life didn't return to Yellowstone this year and home maybe next year. -Took camper on a four day trip to check out after WY trip and shelf bracket broke again. Radio which is also the DVD player for TV didn't work and discovered water leaking under sink filling drawers and kitchen faucet loose. Removed drawers to access and trouble shoot and bearing fell out of one drawer slide and compartment full of construction debris. Water leak from sink not sealed and also fried radio. Informed camper out of warranty. Looking for missing drawer slide bearing found electrical panel loose attached to board in bottom of cabinet. Sealed sink, repaired faucet, bought new shelf bracket and strengthened with JB weld, ordered new drawer slide, contacted Forrest River multiple times on where electrical panel goes, no response. Waiting on new radio to install. Three trips and alot of repair and if not doing self could not afford RETIRED and TIRED working on NEW camper withput ready support from Dealer or Forrest River.
Livability
1.0
Overall quality
1.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
4.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Randal Butcher

Reviewed on 2022-11-15

RV reviewed2019 Forest River Rockwood Mini Lite 2109S

View listings

2.6
We certainly like the floor plan which is why we picked the Forest River Mini-Lite... Several issues such as floor got spongy, replaced steps, furnace doesn't work properly, matress lumpy after 1 year, one of tanks dropped down and we had to have welded back on, front jack had to be replaced as it stopped working on our first trip, on/off switch to hot water tank doesn't work, cabinet doors had to be strapped closed, spare tire exploded while mounted to back of camper (never been used), outside shower door doesn't open, sink in kitchen leaked and so on..... DO NOT buy this product esp because of the floor since it's made of the thinnest plywood and foam. JUNK!
Livability
2.0
Overall quality
2.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
3.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Brenden

Reviewed on 2022-11-10

RV reviewed2021 Forest River 23MKBL Cherokee Grey Wolf

View listings

3.2
It's a pretty decent camper and looks great inside and out. But after a year of full time living (FTL) in Alaska there have been a few needed repairs. -Furnace control board stopped working 6 months after purchase (2-3 months of real use). -Shower pan/floor cracked (14 months FTL) - Self repaired (YouTube). -Wintertime condensation accumulates quickly in the slide area under table seats, mold was discovered so I added much needed insulation. - Stove - The numbering and lettering on all of the stove dials rubbed off after 2 months. (Called the manufacturer to replace and never received a return message or parts). -Bedroom window passenger side, shattered into thousands of pieces while driving on the road. Called Forest River to help repair but due to my local area not having an RV dealer I was told I'd have to pay for a technician's flight for repair. I called the dealership I purchased it from, and they split the cost for a replacement window and shipped it to me ($200) Install took 5min. (8 screws hold it in place). -The freezer coils become a solid ice cube every 3-4 months and the refrigerator stops working/maintaining a useable temperature. So, I have to remove all items from the freezer, turn off the power to the unit and remove the back panel inside the freezer. A hair dryer melts the ice buildup in about an hour. Then power it back up and it's good to go until the next freeze up. First off, its only me and my black lab(dog) full time living in the camper, so it can feel cramped. After all the repairs, I still think this would be a great for short term camping trips and a couple with small children. There's definitely room for improvement when it comes to assembly. Thanks for reading, hope this helps someone out there.
Livability
4.0
Overall quality
4.0
Floorplan
3.0
Driving/towing
4.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (2)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Brenden Secor

Reviewed on 2022-11-10

RV reviewed2021 Forest River 23MKBL Cherokee Grey Wolf

View listings

3.4
It's a pretty decent camper and looks great inside and out. But after a year of full time living (FTL) in Alaska there have been a few needed repairs. -Furnace control board stopped working 6 months after purchase (2-3 months of real use). -Shower pan/floor cracked (14 months FTL) - Self repaired (YouTube). -Wintertime condensation accumulates quickly in the slide area under table seats, mold was discovered so I added much needed insulation. - Stove - The numbering and lettering on all of the stove dials rubbed off after 2 months. (Called the manufacturer to replace and never received a return message or parts). -Bedroom window passenger side, shattered into thousands of pieces while driving on the road. Called Forest River to help repair but due to my local area not having an RV dealer I was told I'd have to pay for a technicians flight for repair. I called the dealership I purchased it from and they split the cost for a replacement window and shipped it to me ($200) Install took 5min. (8 screws hold it in place). -The freezer coils become a solid ice cube every 3-4 months and the refrigerator stops working/maintaining a useable temperature. So I have to remove all items from the freezer, turn off the power to the unit and remove the back panel inside the freezer. A hair dryer melts the ice build up in about an hour. Then power it back up and its good to go until the next freeze up. First off its only me and my black lab(dog) full time living in the camper, so it can feel cramped. After all the repairs, I still think this would be a great for short term camping trips and a couple with small children. There's definitely room for improvement when it comes to assembly. Thanks for reading, hope this helps someone out there.
Livability
4.0
Overall quality
4.0
Floorplan
3.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Mike

Reviewed on 2022-11-07

RV reviewed2022 Forest River Cherokee 234DC

View listings

2.4
We love the floorplan of the 234DC. We have found the quality of the work inside to be very very poor. All the pantry shelves need to be replaced. My trim has fallen off. I have problems with my heater, my sink cracked just to name a few issues.
Livability
1.0
Overall quality
1.0
Floorplan
4.0
Driving/towing
3.0
Factory warranty/support
3.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • ...
  • 132
  • 1 - 10 of 1,319 reviews

For sale near youRVs For Sale

See all

Do you have an RV experience to share?

Help other RVers by leaving a review for an RV or dealership.

Write a review

Browse top RVs

Browse dealership reviews

Browse By State

Browse By Province