Write a review

RV Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

Floorplan

Forest River Travel Trailer reviews

3.6
Write a review
Liveability
3.9
Overall quality
3.0
Floorplan
4.3
Driving/towing
4.1
Factory warranty
2.8

For sale near youMatching RVs for sale near you

Top 10 Travel Trailers

Reviews

1,258 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

Randy Pollock

Texas

Reviewed on 2017-05-07

RV reviewed2017 Forest River R-Pod RP-178

View listings

2.4
After much research, we decided to purchase a 2017 Rpod 179 from a dealer in Mesquite, Texas. Although the dealer is approximately 300 miles from our home in San Antonio, we felt confident that the combined quality of the traler and the assurance that we "could take it to any Forrest River dealer for service"', we would be safe. (There is no Rpod dealer within a 100 miles of where we live). The first time we had a problem with the electric tongue lift not working, we found that "any Forrest River dealer" for repairs was true. In fact, even with with Forrest River's help, we were left with called Ngo numerous dealers only to say no and offer no assistance. Fortunately, I did find an area Forrest River dealer has worked very hard to help us. They were the only dealer of 6 which I called that was willing to help us. Although they are not an RPod dealer, they have done much to help us. There has been a series of issues with the RPod which have greatly undermined my confidence in my camper. So far, our 6 month old camper has had considerable problems . Beginning with a defective tongue lift, we found ourselves with a heather that was so loud, we stopped using it and plugged in a stand alone. (Reported to be a piece of packing plastic inside the unit). We have experienced a water leak which flooded the rear storage compartment.(Break at the city water inlet). An A/C unit with a part missing that makes too much noise to use until the part comes in. (2 weeks in the shop so far). Blue caulk scattered on numerous portions of the black framing. Decals beginning peel in some places. This unit sold for $22 k before discount. The most a dealer will allow on trade is $9k. We are trapped in a camper that we have no faith in manufactured by a company we have no faith in and sold by a dealer we have no faith in. If I had a do over, I would have purchased something from a local dealer and it would not have been a Forrest River product.
Livability
2.0
Overall quality
1.0
Floorplan
3.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (595)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Mike

Utah

Reviewed on 2022-06-27

RV reviewed2022 Forest River Cherokee 234DC

View listings

3.0
We really liked the floor plan of the 234DC. Perfect for 2 people with a few extras. After our first trip, we started having lots of quality issues. The door didn't fit right, our awning fell apart, water leaks, trim not attached. The quality is poor.
Livability
2.0
Overall quality
2.0
Floorplan
4.0
Driving/towing
4.0
Factory warranty/support
3.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Amy

California

Reviewed on 2022-06-26

RV reviewed2011 Forest River Wildwood X-Lite 273QBXL

View listings

4.2
We loved this floor plan for us. No kids. Double bad. Mote room in galley and storage. AC blows cold! 20 ft easy to tow and back store. Also to cover. See through storage compartment. Side outdoor access to propane for out door cooking. Outdoor stove attachment available. Chrome wheels a plus. Appliances still work after 11 years.
Livability
4.0
Overall quality
4.0
Floorplan
4.0
Driving/towing
4.0
Factory warranty/support
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Dianne Harnum

Newfoundland and Labrador

Reviewed on 2022-06-25

RV reviewed2022 Forest River Vibe RK26

View listings

3.8
Initially loved this RV, but disappointed with the very cheap low quality canopy. Had it out in the rain and when bringing it in, the steel bars actually bent with the weight of the rain water. Very disappointed. Very poorly built with very low quality materials.
Livability
3.0
Overall quality
3.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
3.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Greg Schultz

North Carolina

Reviewed on 2022-06-23

RV reviewed2019 Forest River Surveyor 250FKS

View listings

2.6
Great floorplan and outdoor kitchen. Shower drain and outdoor kitchen drain are broken and have warranty recalls. Outdoor kitchen range had faulty pressure valve. Sitting slide seals leaked because factory install wrong size seals (took 4 repairs to fix). Wheels are 6-lug but it came with a 5-lug spare. Tires on the 2019 were dated 012018 and all blew out on our 2021 road trip. The left Lippert axle didn't have the locking cotter pin installed and the entire wheel and brake drum fell off in our 2022 trip (over $2,000 repair cost). No pipe thread on plumbing so it all leaked. Plastic faucets leaked after one year and had to be replaced. Bottom line? GREAT design and total shit quality.
Livability
2.0
Overall quality
2.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
3.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Amanda

North Carolina

Reviewed on 2022-06-23

RV reviewed2021 Forest River Wildwood 36VBDS

View listings

2.2
This is very long, I know but I promise you if you are looking to purchase it is worth a read! We had many issues with our camper. We purchased our 2021 Forest River Wildwood 36VBDS on 07/24/2021. We loved the camper but since purchasing it we have had nothing but problems. When purchasing the camper, The RV center did an inspection upon purchase where we noticed one of the outside speakers was not working and the awning motor shifted when going out. We scheduled for service at their first available date 09/24/2021 to have the awning motor replaced and speaker fixed. We took our camper home so we could use the camper without the awning until the service date as we did not want to make payments on the camper for it to sit at the dealership for several months. After taking out for the first time we were very excited but a few other problems arouse like the bedroom door that would not shut because the frame was bent, the back outside door handle would stick and not allow the door to close, the motor on front stabilizer jacks didn't work properly, the light in the front stabilizer jack did not work, the battery box was cracked, the rear window blind was broken, the drivers side marker light was not working and the sealant was cracked. We dropped the camper off for service on 09/24/2021 to have the noted complaints fixed. Some of the required parts were on back order and not available at time of service so a second service date of 11/27/2021 was set to have these corrected. Upon dropping the camper off for service on 11/20/2021 it stayed with the company for several weeks due to the parts they ordered being incorrect. We picked our camper up from the service shop again on 12/18/2021 and scheduled yet another service date for 03/21/22 as the door frame is on backorder and will not arrive until February of 2022. We have planned a trip to North Carolina for 2 weeks in February and we are preparing to leave in the coming week. We have had our camper plugged in and running in preparation for our upcoming trip. Everything within the camper functioned as it should aside from the bedroom door frame still scheduled to be replaced. Until going to the grocery store and spending around $230.00 on groceries that had been placed in the camper refrigerator on 02/09/2022. Today(02/12/2022) I went to the butcher shop and purchased another $200.00 in meat for our trip. When returning home and unloading I realized that our refrigerator and freezer were not cold and everything inside had spoiled. Thankfully I noticed before another $200.00 in meat went bad but now 2 days before we are set to leave on our 2 week trip we are without a fridge and freezer. The power to the camper is still plugged into the appropriate amp plug as we had one installed at our house when we purchased the camper. Everything inside is still working as it should (fireplace, slide outs, microwave, tv, ect.) The fridge is still plugged in, light is on, you can hear it running but everything inside is warm. This comes as a great disappointment as we purchased our camper new in hopes of having less maintenance issues but that has not been the case. We have reached out to our local service department again today about the refrigerator but will not have time to have it serviced before our trip as the service department is an hour from our home. My husband is a commercial refrigeration technician decided to fix it himself since we need our fridge and the next available service date was 2 weeks out. Fast forward 4 months to June 3rd, we are in our camper out of state from where we originally purchased. There is a thunderstorm and the window over the couch starts leaking(flooding). Water is running down the window, wall, couch, and soaking the carpet on the floor. A couple days later I reached under our bathroom sink in the cabinet and notice a puddle of water. The bathroom pipe was not tight enough and sprung a leak. My husband then went and checked under the kitchen sink and found it was also loose but nothing was leaking yet. We also noticed that after the rain our plastic battery cover filled with water and had no drain holes. After having fixed the refrigerator once already it had again stopped working. This time the fan motor had gone bad and also had to be replaced. When we first started looking for a camper it took almost 2 years to find one that suited our needs and that we really liked. We found the Forest River Wildwood 36VBDS and we LOVED this camper. We have been greatly disappointed since purchasing our camper as we spent more than we had originally planned but it was a camper we really loved. After all the issues we've had with our Forest River I would not recommend anyone to purchase this camper. We are not oblivious to the fact that these are mass produced travel trailers and they will have flaws as does everything we just hoped the issues we had would be more cosmetic.
Livability
1.0
Overall quality
1.0
Floorplan
3.0
Driving/towing
3.0
Factory warranty/support
3.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Joe

Florida

Reviewed on 2022-06-23

RV reviewed2022 Forest river Salem 240BHXL

View listings

2.4
Sloppy assembly and craftsmanship to this trailer was outrageous. It looked like a child put the trailer together. There was excessive silicone all over the slide out and windows and door framing. I’ve seen other trailers less expensive with better quality workmanship. The only thing we were not interested because of the layout. I would not ever buy this brand ever again.
Livability
1.0
Overall quality
1.0
Floorplan
4.0
Driving/towing
4.0
Factory warranty/support
2.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Lisa Brenna. CT

Connecticut

Reviewed on 2022-06-21

RV reviewed2020 Forest River Flagstaff

View listings

1.8
Piece of junk and lousy assembly is an understatement. More time in the shop than use. Electric issue since mo. 3 and Warranty is No Support from Mfg. on ANY LEVEL! Now i need a new door that should be a recall since EVERYONE knows its an issue. I am escalating to BBB and Corporate Complaints. You buy one ,, nothing but one problem after the next. Save your $
Livability
1.0
Overall quality
1.0
Floorplan
3.0
Driving/towing
3.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

David

Florida

Reviewed on 2022-06-20

RV reviewed2021 Forest River Cherokee 274RK

View listings

2.6
In the past year I’ve owned this RV the dealer has had it as much as I have. I didn’t purchase an RV for it to have problems like this and make payments for it to sit on a lot. The biggest issue is from day one the camera would not work. It was freezing. They tried everything. I finally got the manufacture to send a new camera a year later. It took almost 5 weeks for it make to the dealer. Again they don’t care if you get to use your RV as long as you purchase it. Make your payments and let it sit on the lot. Well the new camera does the same thing and same problem. Well now the manufacturer says it’s a distance issue. I have a short bed truck. If that’s a known issue why not stand behind the sale? You sold it with a camera it should work period. If not fix it. So as far as support I give you a zero. Stand behind the product you sale. Pros Looks good Tows good Cons Camera freezes No support from manufacturer Half the electrical outlets would work for almost a year. Had it in the shop 3 times for that. Spent over 7 months of the first 14 months of ownership and it’s still not fixed. I believe I have a lemon
Livability
2.0
Overall quality
2.0
Floorplan
4.0
Driving/towing
4.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Bill Ellison

Indiana

Reviewed on 2022-06-19

RV reviewed2022 Forest River Salem 26DBUD

View listings

3.4
Liked the overall appearance and layout of the trailer. Very bad quality control inspection before it left factory. Have fought very hard to get repairs completed. Dealer was very good at helping but support from the factory was less than steller.
Livability
2.0
Overall quality
2.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
3.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • ...
  • 126
  • 1 - 10 of 1,258 reviews

For sale near youRVs For Sale

Do you have an RV experience to share?

Help other RVers by leaving a review for an RV or dealership.

Write a review

Browse top RVs

Browse dealership reviews

Browse By State

Browse By Province