Write a review

RV Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

Floorplan

Forest River Wildcat Maxx reviews

3.0
Write a review
Liveability
3.6
Overall quality
2.0
Floorplan
3.5
Driving/towing
4.0
Factory warranty
1.9

For sale near youMatching RVs for sale near you

Top 10 RVs

Reviews

21 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

James Barton

California

Reviewed on 2017-10-31

RV reviewed2017 Forest River Wildcat Maxx 28RBX

View listings

3.4
We purchased a brand new Wildcat Maxx because of the quality and the headroom. Biggest mistake. We took it on its first hour at very excited about it. Our first issue was with the trailer brakes they quit working because of faulty wiring. Then the water pump was faulty and flooded the trailer. The shower door assembly came apart and was unusable. There was a propane leak and the ladder on the back was broke and the front door broke. Lift shocks under the bed storage came unhinged. I was shocked at the amount of safety features that were carelessly assembled. Warranty and customer service is USELESS to say the least we were blown off several times. I guess this is what you get for spending $50,000. Thanks Forest River for sticking us with a piece of junk! You should be ashamed of yourself for pawning these trailers on the American people.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
1.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
4.0
Factory warranty/support
2.0
...
Helpful (46)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Karen L RADER

California

Reviewed on 2021-09-30

RV reviewed2016 Forest River Wildcat Maxx 28RKX

View listings

3.8
We bought this a year old from a second party so no info on the warranty. The axles were undersized so we upgraded them. We put in Dexter equilizers as they did not hold up either. The front cap paint faded and from what I read they knew that would happen. Love the floorplan, many windows on 3 sides and they are tinted. Love the free standing table and real chair option too. The fake leather on the sofa and 2 recliner type chairs is a joke, peeled off at only 4 years old. I think we got all the bugs out of it by now. These units take a beating on the terrible roads in Calif.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
3.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Michael Sandys

California

Reviewed on 2021-01-19

RV reviewed2016 Forest River Wildcat Maxx 28RLS

View listings

3.2
Bought new 11/2016. In first year, gel coat faded on front cap. Had to fight dealer to get fixed. They re-painted cap. 2nd year, kept wearing out outside tread on one tire. Dealer said axle was bent, dealer replaced. 3rd year, 1 entire wheel assembly fell off as I was backing into driveway. Dealer replaced. On all repairs I had to pay part of bill even though I had purchased extended warranty. What a waste of money. Do your home work. Forest River could do way better. When I looked at wheel assembly lying on ground, and at axle assembly, everything stamped "Made in China" Every trip to dealer in Westminster Ca is 50 miles one way and a $500 (approx) charge.
Livability
4.0
Overall quality
3.0
Floorplan
4.0
Driving/towing
4.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (9)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Linda

Texas

Reviewed on 2020-12-05

RV reviewed2016 Forest River Wildcat Maxx 242RLX

View listings

3.4
We bought this in 2018, but the previous owner barely used it and it looked like new! Here are my complaints: The water tank was reversed and had to be fixed! The refrigerator tore up immediately! The shower won’t drain unless you press on the side of the drain! Very irritating! And last but not least, the sofa and theater seating has the worst, thinnest faux leather in the world! It’s just my husband and I and we’re not hard on furniture, but it’s ruined, between the seams busting open and the leather pulling off, it’s ridiculous! When the first sofa cushion split on one of the seams, we ordered a new cushion and with $200.00 shipping, it was $450,00 total. I’m serious! I would not recommend this 5th wheel to anyone! Very disappointed!!!
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
1.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (8)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Jan Hovda

Washington

Reviewed on 2020-08-28

RV reviewed2020 Forest River Wildcat Maxx 26MEX

View listings

2.0
My husband and I bought our 2020 Wildcat MAXX 26MEX in January from Poulsbo RV, we took ownership of the trailer at the end of February. Since the end of February we have had so much go wrong with this trailer that it's a lemon and we are very disappointed in the craftsmanship of this trailer. We have had to put caulking around the shower because there was none and water went into the bedroom from the bathroom, the small window above the bed broke, the wall in the bedroom completely buckled and came apart, the tv antenna from the outside to the inside is not connected so it is not useable, the floor has started to peal in the corner near the pantry, the issue that happen over the weekend that put me over the edge was the handrail completely came out of the wall when I was walking up the stairs into the trailer, we have had several screws stripped out which included the handrail, the steps, the outside trim, the curtain in the bedroom. The dark and gray matter tanks leak and do not seal completely so when my husband opens the caps to the tanks he gets about a gallon or so of feces at his feet. We are so dissatisfied with this trailer, we will never buy another Forest River product and I will not recommend anyone buy one. On a scale of 1 to 10 and 10 being the highest your trailers are a BIG 1.
Livability
2.0
Overall quality
1.0
Floorplan
2.0
Driving/towing
3.0
Factory warranty/support
2.0
...
Helpful (12)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Rich Nestor

California

Reviewed on 2020-06-26

RV reviewed2018 Forest River Wildcat Maxx 285RKX

View listings

2.4
In 2006 we purchased our first Wildcat and enjoyed it very much. It was well built and of high quality with good craftsmanship. In 2017 we sold this trailer and decided to buy your 2nd Wildcat which has turned out to be a huge mistake. We started having problems almost immediately and have had ongoing issues to this day. I have made many attempts to work with the factory on repairs with no success. Just to name a few problems we have had multiple parts literally fall off and be lying on the floor when we arrive at our destination including cabinet panels and doors that break in half when you open them. Body side moldings on the exterior that buckle and pull away from the fiberglass, refer door panel that feel off on my toes, a shower that runs water all over the floor because it was never sealed, a water fill tube that leaks every time I fill the water tank and runs water all over the interior to name a few of the problems we have had. As I said I have tried to work with the factory and as recently as last week I was told that I'm now out of warranty and there is nothing they can or will do for me. I will never again buy or recommend a Forest River product.
Livability
3.0
Overall quality
1.0
Floorplan
3.0
Driving/towing
4.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (10)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

David Cook

Washington

Reviewed on 2020-05-16

RV reviewed2019 Forest River Wildcat Maxx 262RGX

View listings

3.6
The biggest issue was the main slide out would not work. The manual crank could not be used,as the holes for the crank did not line up. Working through our RV dealer, No resolution, not a word from Forest River. Fortunately, the dealer made a work around so the slide motor resets itself. Also, glass fell out of an upper cabinet. The shower doors had to be re installed. Other experience’s have been great.
Livability
4.0
Overall quality
2.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
2.0
...
Helpful (8)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

c.corbin

Washington

Reviewed on 2020-02-01

RV reviewed2019 Forest River Wildcat Maxx 29RLX

View listings

2.8
We bought this trailer Brand New, and everything under the sun has gone wrong. The kitchen sink faucet leaked and had to be replaced, the kitchen sink came detached from the counter and had to be reguled and support add underneath. The grab bar on the outside at the front door came off and had to resecureed with bigger screws, the supports under the dinning table seats came off, the fridge wooden door panels fell off on my foot and left a huge bruse, the window screens were not installed properly, the shock supports under the bed that allows you to left the end of the bed to get to under bed storage, both came out of the the wood they were secured to, flimsy plywood and wrong screws cost us 75$ for new struts, paper towel holder keeps coming off, cabinet locks and drawer locks have fallen off, all the window seals fill up with water when it rains. The warranty has covered about 30% of the problems and it's a ,70 visit call every time. I would not purchase again, however the repair man said most trailers thees days are made like that. I guess you get what you pay for. Hope this helps.
Livability
3.0
Overall quality
2.0
Floorplan
1.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
3.0
...
Helpful (15)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

J. Lehman

California

Reviewed on 2019-07-14

RV reviewed2013 Forest River Wildcat Maxx 313RE

View listings

4.8
We have had this 5th wheel for 6 years. It was reasonably priced new. We had a few minor issues with it that were taken care of under warranty. It is very liveable. The electric fireplace will heat the entire unit. The three zone surround sound is great, living area, bedroom, and/or outside. The bedroom has a real door for privacy, which is very nice when others are staying with you. We actually lived in it for 8 months with an 85 pound dog and were very comfortable. There is lots of storage and full length hanging closet space. We are not small people, and the shower is more than adequate.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
4.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
5.0
...
Helpful (15)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Kevin

Washington

Reviewed on 2019-07-01

RV reviewed2017 Forest River Wildcat Maxx 262RGX

View listings

4.2
The first one we looked at had Horrible craftsmanship.The cabinets were very poorly put together. then we saw the second one at a different dealer and it was in perfect condition. I couldn't believe they were from the same manufacturer. I am very pleased with this one but two things they need to improve on are the axles. The brakes are weak and were non existent when we brought it home, i took it to les schwab then they worked much better but are still on the weak side. The axle has to much of a upward bow in it and is causing the outside of the tire to wear. I put solar panels on and used the pre wired solar wires that was very useful. The bed is my favorite part, it is so comfortable.
Livability
4.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
4.0
Driving/towing
4.0
Factory warranty/support
4.0
...
Helpful (13)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 1 - 10 of 21 reviews

For sale near youRVs For Sale

Do you have an RV experience to share?

Help other RVers by leaving a review for an RV or dealership.

Write a review

Browse top RVs

Browse dealership reviews

Browse By State

Browse By Province