Write a review

RV Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

Floorplan

Forest River Sandpiper reviews

3.6 (55 reviews)
Write a review
Liveability
3.6
Overall quality
3.1
Floorplan
4.3
Driving/towing
4.3
Factory warranty
2.5

For sale near youMatching RVs for sale near you

See all

Top 10 RVs

Reviews

Stars Refinement

55 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

Karen

Reviewed on 2022-11-12

RV reviewed 2017 Forest River Sandpiper 377FLIK view listing

5.0
Our 2017 Forest River Sandpiper 377FLIK 5th wheel is wonderful! It tows like it's not even there, the auto leveler is great & easy to work. The inside is beautiful & so comfortable & roomy. The upgraded refrigerator is beautiful & all the excess storage is so great to have. I found a place for everything we needed to bring along...plus some things we could have left home. This is a wonderful 5th wheel to camp part time for vacations & for full-time campers.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Flag

Flag this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Jodi

Michigan

Reviewed on 2022-09-03

RV reviewed 2004 Forest River Sandpiper 5th wheel Toy Hauler view listing

3.8
Well I never thought I'd see myself living in a Trailer/Camper. I met my boyfriend in Michigan, he already bought the Forest River, got a great deal on it, and we moved to Texas with it. We knew it needed a new Roof, it had already been leaking, so like the last woman who left a review about hers leaking, apparently these roof's weren't all that Great. But we replaced it with new materials from Amazon and it's been holding up just fine so far, well over 6 months Now. We've been living in it for 2 years. Just like a house, things need to be replaced and/or maintenance on when needed. Seals eventually go bad, slide out went a little off track on the one side, screens may need replacing, etc. But considering what we pay for lot payment, which includes electricity, water and sewage and we're on a Lake with full access you couldn't beat it with a 20 foot stick. The ONLY thing I would personally Try to have done, which I'm not fully how in this particular style of layout is to somehow have more counter space and more cupboards. Ours has an actual over under the stovetop, which I definitely prefer instead and it also has laminate wood flooring in the whole kitchen area and going up the stairs to the bedroom and on the landing in front of the bathroom sink....ours only has carpeting under the table, right in front of the Couch and in the bedroom area....and of course my back room is definitely considered a Garage atea. I have a washing machine back there as well....But it's so nice to have an on-board generator, the 100 gallons of Water and the gasoline reservoir too. Can totally go off the Grid with our type of Trailer/Camper. And able to pick up and go to any State we want to anytime we want to Also. It's the New way to live. 🖤😈😘
Livability
4.0
Overall quality
4.0
Floorplan
3.0
Driving/towing
4.0
Factory warranty/support
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Flag

Flag this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Robert Douglas

British Columbia

Reviewed on 2022-06-28

RV reviewed 2017 Forest River Sandpiper 389RD view listing

2.6
We got a weekend junk made Sandpiper, Dealer sold ours and needed to get another quick. We finally got RV the belly pan was hanging, got charged warranty to fix, they came three times to fix flap on toilet, OUR AIR CONDITIONING HAS NEVER WORKED. HAD ABOUT 6 REPAIR PEOPLE COME OUT NEVER REPAIRED< ALL WE ENDED UP WITH IS CEILING MARKS WHERE THE BRACES ARE AND THE SCREWS OR NAIILS SHOW UP>DUE to worker stomping on roof. WE HAD PRIVATE REPAIRMAN FIX ALL AROUND WINDOWS AND ROOF MARKS> . Also the back skin has been wrinkling more every year, also other places now too.. the recliner chairs were replaced in 2 years then again WE FINALLY BOUGHT OUR OWN chairs. NEVER BUY FROM FORREST RIVER , or if YOU GET A SANPIPER> PUKES O'CONNERS for not standing up to dealers warranties
Livability
1.0
Overall quality
1.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (0)

Flag

Flag this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Bart

Colorado

Reviewed on 2022-04-15

RV reviewed 2020 Forest River Sandpiper 38FKOK view listing

3.2
Overall with the quality of workmanship I would have to give Sandpiper an D. We purchased a Sandpiper luxury fifth wheel about five months ago and have had it set up at the RV park for the past month. First thing I noticed was water leaking around the shower door. As I investigated it does not appear that the shower door was caulked properly allowing water from inside the shower to go under the door and out onto the floor. It does not appear that there was any caulking put underneaththe bottom rail to prevent any water getting under the rail and out onto the floor. I had to re-caulk the entire bottom rail of the shower door short of pulling the whole shower door out caulking the bottom then reinstalling everything. Second issue was with the toilet worked for a couple of days then when you flush the toilet no water would fill the bowl. Figured it was probably a valve problem so I pulled the valve out and found the valve was broken. So I had to replace that. Next issue was leakage from the kitchen sink down into the storage area below. At first it appeared to be water leaking from the 90° connection for the hoses but as I investigated more I found that the water connections to the sink itself were not tight and were leaking. When I spend $90,000 I expect to get good quality for the money. I understand to some this may seem minor and to the manufacturer it may seem minor however again when you spend $90,000 and don’t have the opportunity just to run your fifth wheel back into the shop to get it fixed I should not have to fix these things myself because of poor quality in the manufacturing process where it would appear the people putting the unit together in the first place don’t really care or there’s really no quality control before the units roll out of the factory. I’m stuck with this unit at this point but I can guarantee I will never buy another forest river product again.
Livability
4.0
Overall quality
1.0
Floorplan
4.0
Driving/towing
4.0
Factory warranty/support
3.0
...
Helpful (0)

Flag

Flag this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Walter Davis

West Virginia

Reviewed on 2022-02-02

RV reviewed 2021 Forest River Sandpiper 391FLRB view listing

2.4
We bought this unit last April and it has been in the shop the last 4 months waiting on Forest River to supply parts for repair. Here is a list of some of the issues so much for the quality they preach. Asked for an extended warranty on this after all this happened and was told that will not happen. Lots of money for what was supposed to be a Luxury camper. 1. Door that slides over the washer/dryer opening fell off on the first trip breaking in half and hitting a door on the vanity denting it. 2. Something poking thru linoleum in the bathroom floor x 2 3. Door that slides between BR and bathroom will not stay in on bottom track 4. Backsplash bubbling up behind the stove 5. Poor quality and scratches on the wood in the front window area and insulation not place correctly around glass 6. Something bubbling the linoleum in the LR floor 7. Slide out in the LR came completely loose from the wall shearing all screws in one side and-came out 1.5 inches. 8. Lights for the awning not run correctly causing bent awning arm 9. Awning started coming apart at the seams on an early trip. 10. A couple areas on Roof something popping against rubber roof. 11. Window trim on outside came out of place 12. Baggage doors would not close correctly So frustrated at the quality of this unit and not even 1 year old by the way the list goes on and on not knowing what to expect when we get it back and what else to fall apart.
Livability
2.0
Overall quality
1.0
Floorplan
4.0
Driving/towing
4.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (0)

Flag

Flag this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Brenda Dalin

Georgia

Reviewed on 2021-11-07

RV reviewed 2019 Forest River Sandpiper 389RD view listing

2.8
Impossible to cool and heat. The factory A/C ran continuously and was worthless and loud. First we tried a portable unit. Then we paid 4,000 to install a mini split. The recliners are a joke. What heat and what massage? Living in an RV for the second time while we build a house. The Springdale we had before was so much more livable.
Livability
2.0
Overall quality
3.0
Floorplan
4.0
Driving/towing
3.0
Factory warranty/support
2.0
...
Helpful (0)

Flag

Flag this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Lee Kelly

South Carolina

Reviewed on 2021-11-04

RV reviewed 2016 Forest River Sandpiper 378FB view listing

4.4
In our opinion, a 5th wheel RV is much easier to tow than a regular travel trailer. No sway to speak of, even when an 18 wheeler blows by you on the highway. Our Sandpiper is the perfect set up for 2 people in a long term situation. Additionally, having the half bath near the living room area is great for guests using the pull out sofa bed. We installed a roof mounted automatic positioning satellite dish and using Dish Network, we only pay for service when we’re camping. The residential sized refrigerator is as big as the one in our home, and the ice maker keeps our coolers iced up while camping. No need to buy overpriced bags of ice. The small fridge in the outdoor kitchen is great for keeping cold beverages close to the campfire. The master bath in this unit is huge. Plenty of room for two people to use at once. We added a washer/dryer combo unit which gave us additional drawer space for clothes.
Livability
4.0
Overall quality
4.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Flag

Flag this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Cheryl Roady

California

Reviewed on 2021-06-29

RV reviewed 2018 Forest River Sandpiper 381RBOK view listing

4.4
My friend lived in this 5th wheel for 13 months with 2 children half time. Very doable! Love that the 2 bedrooms, each with a bathroom, are at each side. I personally would add an L shaped sectional in the living room, preferably with recliner.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
4.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
3.0
...
Helpful (0)

Flag

Flag this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Jeremy Simpson

Florida

Reviewed on 2021-05-17

RV reviewed 2019 Forest River Sandpiper 372LOK view listing

4.6
Love the floor plan. And you could not ask for more in a long term living situation. The Quality Assurance definitely lacked some over sight. Plan on spending the for free months finding little things that need an adjustment. Doors, pipe connections, Piles of saw dust and left over cut out pieces left behind from manufacturing. The over all structure of the RV very sound and no major issues that would ever prevent use of the rig. Probably would buy a lightly used rig so that I didn’t spend the time fixing all those little things again or ensure warranty work had already covered some of those issues. Slide toppers would be a bug plus to add. Slides are very loud in the rain. Focus less on adding so much interior lighting option and focus that time in other areas like QA. This RV has several lighting options…Reading lights, main overhead, ambiance over head, blue ambiance the list goes on, luckily all LED so draw is very low.having the residential fridge just elevated the living experience.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
4.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Flag

Flag this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 6
  • 1 - 10 of 55 reviews

For sale near youRVs For Sale

See all

Do you have an RV experience to share?

Help other RVers by leaving a review for an RV or dealership.

Write a review

Browse top RVs

Browse dealership reviews

Browse By State

Browse By Province