Write a review

RV Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

Floorplan

Forest River Sandpiper reviews

3.5
Write a review
Liveability
3.6
Overall quality
3.0
Floorplan
4.3
Driving/towing
4.2
Factory warranty
2.5

For sale near youMatching RVs for sale near you

Top 10 RVs

Reviews

52 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

Paul Via

Virginia

Reviewed on 2015-02-27

RV reviewed2015 Forest River Sandpiper 376BHOK

View listings

2.4
Night Mare RVWHOLESALERS-DURNLESS RV SALES LAKEVIEW OH Delivered Sept 20 2014 Came with used stove grease caked behind knobs, frig controls and door shelves broken. Poorly installed trim none of the miters cut right. Large gap in trim above stove and sofa. Didn't come with lazy boy recliners, wall behind sofa had wall paper rubbed off, No heated under belly, no R-38 fiberglass insulation in floor. fresh water holding tank falling out from underbelly. shower stall has 1/4 inch gap where the wall and bottom pieces come together. two of the slides are broken, soft spots in floor, Step are caving in poorly built frame. Outside paint has orange pill, fish eyes and runs. Can see all seems and buff marks. List is longer but you get the picture I hope. Five months still waiting to be fixed. I just want my money back. My 376BHOK IS JUNK look good before buying.
Livability
1.0
Overall quality
1.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
0.0
...
Helpful (15)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Bart

Colorado

Reviewed on 2022-04-15

RV reviewed2020 Forest River Sandpiper 38FKOK

View listings

3.2
Overall with the quality of workmanship I would have to give Sandpiper an D. We purchased a Sandpiper luxury fifth wheel about five months ago and have had it set up at the RV park for the past month. First thing I noticed was water leaking around the shower door. As I investigated it does not appear that the shower door was caulked properly allowing water from inside the shower to go under the door and out onto the floor. It does not appear that there was any caulking put underneaththe bottom rail to prevent any water getting under the rail and out onto the floor. I had to re-caulk the entire bottom rail of the shower door short of pulling the whole shower door out caulking the bottom then reinstalling everything. Second issue was with the toilet worked for a couple of days then when you flush the toilet no water would fill the bowl. Figured it was probably a valve problem so I pulled the valve out and found the valve was broken. So I had to replace that. Next issue was leakage from the kitchen sink down into the storage area below. At first it appeared to be water leaking from the 90° connection for the hoses but as I investigated more I found that the water connections to the sink itself were not tight and were leaking. When I spend $90,000 I expect to get good quality for the money. I understand to some this may seem minor and to the manufacturer it may seem minor however again when you spend $90,000 and don’t have the opportunity just to run your fifth wheel back into the shop to get it fixed I should not have to fix these things myself because of poor quality in the manufacturing process where it would appear the people putting the unit together in the first place don’t really care or there’s really no quality control before the units roll out of the factory. I’m stuck with this unit at this point but I can guarantee I will never buy another forest river product again.
Livability
4.0
Overall quality
1.0
Floorplan
4.0
Driving/towing
4.0
Factory warranty/support
3.0
...
Helpful (2)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Walter Davis

West Virginia

Reviewed on 2022-02-02

RV reviewed2021 Forest River Sandpiper 391FLRB

View listings

2.4
We bought this unit last April and it has been in the shop the last 4 months waiting on Forest River to supply parts for repair. Here is a list of some of the issues so much for the quality they preach. Asked for an extended warranty on this after all this happened and was told that will not happen. Lots of money for what was supposed to be a Luxury camper. 1. Door that slides over the washer/dryer opening fell off on the first trip breaking in half and hitting a door on the vanity denting it. 2. Something poking thru linoleum in the bathroom floor x 2 3. Door that slides between BR and bathroom will not stay in on bottom track 4. Backsplash bubbling up behind the stove 5. Poor quality and scratches on the wood in the front window area and insulation not place correctly around glass 6. Something bubbling the linoleum in the LR floor 7. Slide out in the LR came completely loose from the wall shearing all screws in one side and-came out 1.5 inches. 8. Lights for the awning not run correctly causing bent awning arm 9. Awning started coming apart at the seams on an early trip. 10. A couple areas on Roof something popping against rubber roof. 11. Window trim on outside came out of place 12. Baggage doors would not close correctly So frustrated at the quality of this unit and not even 1 year old by the way the list goes on and on not knowing what to expect when we get it back and what else to fall apart.
Livability
2.0
Overall quality
1.0
Floorplan
4.0
Driving/towing
4.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Brenda Dalin

Georgia

Reviewed on 2021-11-07

RV reviewed2019 Forest River Sandpiper 389RD

View listings

2.8
Impossible to cool and heat. The factory A/C ran continuously and was worthless and loud. First we tried a portable unit. Then we paid 4,000 to install a mini split. The recliners are a joke. What heat and what massage? Living in an RV for the second time while we build a house. The Springdale we had before was so much more livable.
Livability
2.0
Overall quality
3.0
Floorplan
4.0
Driving/towing
3.0
Factory warranty/support
2.0
...
Helpful (2)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Lee Kelly

South Carolina

Reviewed on 2021-11-04

RV reviewed2016 Forest River Sandpiper 378FB

View listings

4.4
In our opinion, a 5th wheel RV is much easier to tow than a regular travel trailer. No sway to speak of, even when an 18 wheeler blows by you on the highway. Our Sandpiper is the perfect set up for 2 people in a long term situation. Additionally, having the half bath near the living room area is great for guests using the pull out sofa bed. We installed a roof mounted automatic positioning satellite dish and using Dish Network, we only pay for service when we’re camping. The residential sized refrigerator is as big as the one in our home, and the ice maker keeps our coolers iced up while camping. No need to buy overpriced bags of ice. The small fridge in the outdoor kitchen is great for keeping cold beverages close to the campfire. The master bath in this unit is huge. Plenty of room for two people to use at once. We added a washer/dryer combo unit which gave us additional drawer space for clothes.
Livability
4.0
Overall quality
4.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Cheryl Roady

California

Reviewed on 2021-06-29

RV reviewed2018 Forest River Sandpiper 381RBOK

View listings

4.4
My friend lived in this 5th wheel for 13 months with 2 children half time. Very doable! Love that the 2 bedrooms, each with a bathroom, are at each side. I personally would add an L shaped sectional in the living room, preferably with recliner.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
4.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
3.0
...
Helpful (3)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Jeremy Simpson

Florida

Reviewed on 2021-05-17

RV reviewed2019 Forest River Sandpiper 372LOK

View listings

4.6
Love the floor plan. And you could not ask for more in a long term living situation. The Quality Assurance definitely lacked some over sight. Plan on spending the for free months finding little things that need an adjustment. Doors, pipe connections, Piles of saw dust and left over cut out pieces left behind from manufacturing. The over all structure of the RV very sound and no major issues that would ever prevent use of the rig. Probably would buy a lightly used rig so that I didn’t spend the time fixing all those little things again or ensure warranty work had already covered some of those issues. Slide toppers would be a bug plus to add. Slides are very loud in the rain. Focus less on adding so much interior lighting option and focus that time in other areas like QA. This RV has several lighting options…Reading lights, main overhead, ambiance over head, blue ambiance the list goes on, luckily all LED so draw is very low.having the residential fridge just elevated the living experience.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
4.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
4.0
...
Helpful (5)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

deana williams

Texas

Reviewed on 2021-04-03

RV reviewed2018 Forest River Sandpiper 383RBLOK

View listings

4.8
Space is very well planned, high quality throughout, mechanics are excellent. Roomy and convenient. Counters are easy to maintain, faucet is handy. Storage is excellent throughout. Could use some handing space in 2nd bedroom.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
4.0
...
Helpful (3)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

TJ Rennie

Missouri

Reviewed on 2021-03-29

RV reviewed2020 Forest River Sandpiper 379FLOK

View listings

1.8
I am BEYOND appalled and extremely DISGUSTED that forest river would sell and yet again allow these piles of CRAP to be put on the road!! My daughter is a nurse / respiratory therapist. My son in law was doing very well in his profession. With the Covid outbreak my daughter was recruited by several hospitals across the nation to help circumvent the pandemic. They decided that he would put his career on hold temporarily so that she could do everything possible to help in this crisis. So they sold their house and bought this lovely RV to travel from state to state. The lovely Sandpiper forest river 5th wheel ended up being a very POLLUTED Nightmare !!! Let me explain... right now they are stranded in Apache Junction AZ. because after my son in law was flushing the black water tank in preparation to leave, the whole tank FELL off! Taking wires and everything else with it!! Now can you imagine what would have happened if they had been on a highway and this would or should I say it would’ve come off?!? People could’ve or would’ve died! SO my daughter cannot get to her next assignment and people could indirectly die because of this!!! They have had NOTHING but problems with this piece of s—t since they bought it. From leaky plumbing, cheap craftsmanship which results in breakdowns and I could go on and on! Plus you can absolutely COUNT ON the least amount of assistance and customer service possible!!!You HAVE been warned!!!! Buy one of these after reading this and it’s on YOU!!! And may God bless! Good luck! Also if you are driving down the highway and encounter an RV that has Sandpiper on it, GET AWAY from it ASAP!! These things should be banned from the road and actually should be condemned from human occupancy! Again you’ve been warned!! Another thing, if you value your life, buy tires GOOD tires ASAP! Even if it’s brand new because the the cheap ones don’t last. After only 4000 miles one blew out and damaged the side of that piece of ... well you know what. It should be illegal for them to be on the road! Oh plus I hear that there’s a recall on them. What does THAT tell you?!?! Should I say more? I should hope not!
Livability
2.0
Overall quality
1.0
Floorplan
4.0
Driving/towing
1.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (15)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Dennis Byron Winchester jr

South Carolina

Reviewed on 2021-03-02

RV reviewed2017 Forest River Sandpiper 365SAQB

View listings

3.8
We love the layout of our camper. You would think paying $60,000 for a camper it would be built to last NOT. We bought it new in 2018 it is now 2021 so all this happed in 3 years. We have only used it 12 times hauled literally 9 miles from our house to the camp ground. The first year front lift jack leaking twice. Second year bunkhouse slide cylinder had to be replaced. Brought it home from the camper place and the living room slide went out same day. I had to change the cylinder out in it. Front jack leaking again. Now our rear ac is leaking when it rains. Had a gasket put on first time. Two months later Started leaking again. Contacted Forest river they sent our parts to change. Had it installed at a camper place. 3 months later It is leaking again. I have someone coming out to my house again today 3/2/2021 after work to see if he can fix it. Also buttons and lights on the waist tank stoped working after the first year. My ice maker stoped working a month ago. This is the 3rd forest river camper we have purchased new. I will not make that mistake again. I still owe $50,000 on it. It makes me sick to look at it.I am very disappointed with this camper. Thank you for taking time to read this. Byron Winchester
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
1.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
3.0
...
Helpful (16)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 6
  • 1 - 10 of 52 reviews

For sale near youRVs For Sale

Do you have an RV experience to share?

Help other RVers by leaving a review for an RV or dealership.

Write a review

Browse top RVs

Browse dealership reviews

Browse By State

Browse By Province