Write a review

RV Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

Floorplan

Forest River Sabre reviews

3.3 (43 reviews)
Write a review
Liveability
3.7
Overall quality
2.3
Floorplan
4.3
Driving/towing
4.1
Factory warranty
2.1

For sale near youMatching RVs for sale near you

See all

Top 10 RVs

Reviews

Stars Refinement

43 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

Rob

Reviewed on 2022-11-21

RV reviewed 2008 Forest River Sabre 31REDS view listing

5.0
This has been an excellent 5th wheel for 14 years since I bought it new. As any RVer will tell you, they all have their issues. This one has been a solid performer for us living in it full time for 3 years, raising our first babies in it until age 2, and as a live in onsite office while we built our home. The living room slide is massive and was probably more than what they should have designed. A slide topper is critical here to prevent roof warping especially if snow piles on the roof in winter. At times the slide can be problematic to open or close fully, and if unopened fully can cause drafts. Never any bedroom slide problems. Watch the windows for leaks as delamination is common, and have your windows pulled, taped and resealed. That said we lived in all climates in all seasons as far north as Maine and this thing performed well in all. We added a second A/c in the bedroom which was a fairly easy install though not pre-wired. I did have tank failure issues (maybe my fault as they could have retained water when not level when drained for winterizing) but Forest River sold me perfectly matched tanks about year 5 of my ownership for a very reasonable price. When the air mattress on the foldout failed, Forest River sent me a new one as well as a few other parts for no cost even though I was out of warranty. Customer service with Forest River was always excellent. After a few years the entertainment system cd player failed, but the rest of it has held up well. You cant beat the storage and kitchen layout in this unit. Sadly we have to upgrade as kids are getting bigger and want tagalong friends and privacy, but I will really miss this camper. It has been very good to us.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Flag

Flag this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Madison

Reviewed on 2022-10-29

RV reviewed 2022 Forest River Sabre 37FLH view listing

1.8
Bought this camper 12/21/21 Couch’s Rv Nation Trenton Ohio brought home open up and the slide out came out crooked pulled slide topper off side of camper took to shop and they said my fault had to pay for a new topper finally got camper back took on vacation for week had water leak in bath room wasn’t sure where water was coming from took back to shop they told me was my fault needed to caulk shower door every 6 months had to pay for that finally got back and took for 3 day trip open camper up set up the next day had water in floor and lower compartment had to unload everything and dry out when getting ready to leave slides didn’t want to come all the way in got home opened back up slide out come out crooked and almost pulled slide topper off took back to shop they called me after 1 1/2 months and told the gears and rails are bad because of slide topper was not supposed to be on this camper and want me to pay for it . I bought this camper to use and it has been in the shop about as long as I have had it . There warranty is awful. I am ready to contact a lawyer
Livability
1.0
Overall quality
1.0
Floorplan
3.0
Driving/towing
3.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (0)

Flag

Flag this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Ken Bench

Texas

Reviewed on 2022-06-16

RV reviewed 2022 Forest River Sabre 36BHQ view listing

1.4
We purchased the RV in October 2022 and have used it five times at about a week each time. We have had to take it back to the dealer within (3) three days of buying it (November 2021) due to a water leak on one of the slides, They fixed it with some tape. (stated that was what the factor told them to do). The second time back (Mach 2022) to the RV dealer was for a broken faucet , which they replaced. Now the 3rd time back to the dealer( June 2022) is for: 1. Cracked slide out controller 2. Cracked TV 3. Electrical outlet and USB port not working 4. Lights dim when AC units turn on 5. Broken drawer pull out AS of today 16 June 2022 the Warranty company stated they would NOT fix the control panel or TV due to it must have been done by customer damage and is not covered by warranty. I explained to them (the warranty company} that the glass control panel has a design flaw. The glass panel has no support behind the glass panel which allows the glass panel able to be pushed in to far and it cracks the glass panel and the TV was due to the vibration of towing the unit. The overall RV unit is cheaply built and I'm very frustrated owning it. At a cost of $61,000 I should expect it to last at least a four years, but I guess my expectations are to high. Also, my dearlership wants me to purchase an extended warranty at a cost of $ 4,300 for 4 years to offset repair cost. My question is: Why buy a warranty if they are not going to fix major issues under warranty.
Livability
1.0
Overall quality
1.0
Floorplan
2.0
Driving/towing
2.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (0)

Flag

Flag this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Brandin

Colorado

Reviewed on 2022-03-11

RV reviewed 2020 Forest River Sabre 36BHQ view listing

2.4
So far not impressed at all! For a 2022 saber 36bhq For a 98000 dollar unit it looks like it cost 10000 to build. Bathroom tub is flimsy and leaks at the glass door seams. In one day two blinds fell apart. Polar package sucks. Was 22 degrees out and my kitchen froze. Trimming on the roof after the move from dealership to home 30miles was falling down I had to wood glue it back up. The more I look at everything the more I see how much forest-river cut corners and didn’t care about their workmanship. Sad that my 2014 was way better quality. Pretty sad. I’ll say it’s my worst purchase.
Livability
2.0
Overall quality
1.0
Floorplan
4.0
Driving/towing
3.0
Factory warranty/support
2.0
...
Helpful (0)

Flag

Flag this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Will Smith

Connecticut

Reviewed on 2022-02-26

RV reviewed 2019 Forest River Sabre 36FRP view listing

4.6
Let me start with all the negatives first and work to the positives. First DO NOT BUY FROM LEE'S RV in Ellington Ct. They lie, the owner lies and he is a coward he does not stand behind his promise! The camper went back five times for the same repairs with the same results water in the underbelly and the slide would not close all the way and a few more problems. Enough of them, the camper went back to the factory for repairs. The 2019 model year they cut too many corners and pushed them out at record pace with terrible reviews that followed. The stairs we had to adjust because the screen door would not close. I had to tighten down the fan and put new screws in the fan. Bathroom trim work was falling apart . The hoses for the outdoor sink broke the trim because it was getting stuck. Bad design on getting to the hot water by-pass to winterize and no markings for the cable or water tank. Could use a light in the area. The heat would never make it to the bunkhouse area. Been through three fireplaces so far. Yes we had loose plumbing but with all the rough roads that got travelled to get to the New England area I'm not surprised. We are buying new windows for the bedroom for better air circulation And a few more things. The Positive My friends nicknamed it the Taj (Taj Mahal) it is very spacious and comfortable. The double slide-out in the bunkhouse gives the kids plenty of room on a rainy day. We took out the table and put in a bench design. Open kitchen area, big fridge medium size stove good size sink and plenty of storage all over. Very spacious bathroom for a RV. Master bedroom is nice we took out the king mattress and put in a queen for more side space getting around the bed. The closet is ok needs more lights. washer and dryer hook-up. The TV's are ok. We are outside 85% of the time so it really doesn't matter to us. Outside is ok the down fall with the kitchen slide-out the awning is set up really high buying a screen drop to help with the shading. Plenty of space in the underbelly with good lighting . The outdoor kitchen is fine, small sink and fridge but it does the job plenty of cabinet space for all the outdoor needs. It is a very nice camper and it fits our needs. You have to remember its a house on wheels and things will loosen up. A little maintenance and patience is key. I never had a problem with the Sabre customer service they always returned my phone calls and were very helpful.
Livability
4.0
Overall quality
4.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Flag

Flag this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Marti

Arizona

Reviewed on 2021-11-19

RV reviewed 2021 Forest River Sabre Cobalt view listing

3.4
I bought my 5th wheel in Hesperia Calif. in March 2021, since then nothing but problems, I have a continuous leak under the bathroom sink. I have had to replace the propane sensor, which I had to do myself because the Mobil places here won’t do warranty work for Forrest River because they say that they don’t pay them in a timely manner! My sensor lasted 6 months. The date was 2025! It cost me almost $100.00 just for the part! Now I have to figure out what the heck is going on under the bathroom sink again! The layout is very comfortable but the workmanship is very poor!!! Like others have said for $50k I would have expected better!!! Way better customer support that’s for darn sure!!!
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
1.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (0)

Flag

Flag this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Donn Vorbeck

Minnesota

Reviewed on 2021-05-18

RV reviewed 2019 Forest River Sabre 38RDP view listing

2.8
Where do I begin, this is our 3rd Fifth wheel 2 of which we have purchased new. This is by far the most poorly made that we have owned. The roof had to be replaced after our first trip, I noticed that it was starting to come loose and buckle along the edge, the adjustable bed quit working, trim pieces where falling off. After talking with the dealer Forest River wanted us to bring the unit back to the factory for repairs (which would have been a 1200 mile round trip) I suggested they either let the dealer fix the problems or give us a new camper. well needless to say they agreed to let the dealer repair it. after 3 months we got it back and now the antenna does not work so no tv. Now the tires keep going flat after sitting for more than a week and last weekend after towing it 20 miles the bathroom vent cover blew off even though it was closed. Very cheap quality camper
Livability
3.0
Overall quality
2.0
Floorplan
4.0
Driving/towing
3.0
Factory warranty/support
2.0
...
Helpful (0)

Flag

Flag this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Steve Bassett

California

Reviewed on 2021-05-17

RV reviewed 2018 Forest River Sabre 30RLT view listing

5.0
Best Buy Price ever seen on line others are 40,000 plus Good Buy and extended Warranty too! Most people who need a Loan can get up too 15 to 20 year Loan on this unit and can purchase a Longer warranty if needed.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Flag

Flag this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Rod

Alberta

Reviewed on 2021-03-20

RV reviewed 2018 Forest River Sabre 30RLT view listing

2.8
We have regretted buying this RV from the day we purchased it. First time out the trailer filled up with dust dust and more dust. Slide seal was missing from factory build. Had to show dealership where seal was missing as they couldn’t figure it out. We’ve had cabinets fall apart drawers slides loose from poor workmanship. Very crude building of this unit as there were all the wall cutouts and sawdust for wiring left laying behind. Holes were cut with an axe or chisel instead of a hole saw. Disgusting. Most appliances have failed and needed replaced. Microwave was thrown in a hole with four screws and not supported underneath. I wonder why it fell apart. After all this we only have a one year warranty for a $70,000 RV. All I can say is Buyer beware.
Livability
4.0
Overall quality
1.0
Floorplan
4.0
Driving/towing
4.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (0)

Flag

Flag this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 1 - 10 of 43 reviews

For sale near youRVs For Sale

See all

Do you have an RV experience to share?

Help other RVers by leaving a review for an RV or dealership.

Write a review

Browse top RVs

Browse dealership reviews

Browse By State

Browse By Province