Write a review

RV Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

Floorplan

Forest River Cherokee Wolf Pup 16 reviews

4.0 (18 reviews)
Write a review
Liveability
4.2
Overall quality
3.7
Floorplan
4.7
Driving/towing
4.6
Factory warranty
3.1

For sale near youMatching RVs for sale near you

See all

Top 10 RVs

Reviews

Stars Refinement

18 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

Dan

Reviewed on 2022-11-19

RV reviewed 2019 Forest River Cherokee Wolf Pup 16FQ view listing

3.0
I purchased this model based on weight and floor plan. The walk around queen was appealing as was the large rear bath with centered toilet (provides more leg room than a corner placement). I also wanted a larger fridge that wasn't sitting on the floor. I like this more than I could have imagined. I also made sure to get a year that had a PROPANE fridge. Gas is nice and cold, reliable and easy. They try to sell you on your battery/solar power only, don't do it. I think we will be all set when we sell simply based on having a 3 way fridge. Our biggest complaints are: 1) The mattress is an absolute joke, it's more like a box spring. They do this so that the weight is as low as possible when advertising. You will need to spend some serious money to actually get comfortable. A topper isn't going to cut it. Plus once you add height to the mattress, the side closet doors will not open as they open inward against the bed. 2) The "walk around" is more like a squished side shimmy at best. I find myself scooting to the end and getting up more often than not. This is also due to the fact that you will slam your head on the sharp corner of the upper kitchen cabinet. You WILL do this more than once and it's no joke. Talk about a rude awakening. 3) The queen appears large but due to the cabinets mounted on either side you are really wedged in there from the arms up. It feels coffin-esque. You don't appreciate this until you've slept in it a few times. We removed these cabinets and we are so happy we did. Now we have an actual bedside area large enough to actually set things on and the upper cabinets that run the length are more than sufficient storage. 4) The sensor placement for the black water tank is not placed in the correct area. Therefore it will always read as full as soon as you basically start to use it. Thankfully we have a plumber in the family. 5) The radio and the outside speakers are junk. No biggie but don't think you will ever actually use them, you will end up bringing your own. 6) The storage area under the bed is hard to get to when you have to lift your 5 layers of bed material. I took a page from a youtuber and mounted a hydraulic hinge. Much better. There are a bunch of other annoying things that you will spend time and money on adjusting but I think that's par for the course i.e. the faucet handles have to be turned ass backwards. We figured out this was because they used knob faucets instead of levers like they were supposed to etc. etc. I have realized that all of these types of trailers are cheaply made so don't expect top quality, I feel bad for the people that buy new. If you get a good deal, the towing weight and floor plan are the key reasons to purchase but have some $$ set aside for all of the additions/adjustments that you WILL be doing to have comfort. After all, it was kind of the whole point right? I hope this helps! Happy camping!
Livability
3.0
Overall quality
3.0
Floorplan
4.0
Driving/towing
4.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (0)

Flag

Flag this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

G

New Jersey

Reviewed on 2022-10-13

RV reviewed 2017 Forest River Cherokee Wolf Pup 16BHS view listing

4.6
This is my second Forest River trailer. Both experiences have been great. This trailer I've had for 5 years. It's been very easy to maintain with no issues at all. The only warranty thing I needed to have done was the refrigerator, which needed to be replaced by Thetford, the fridge manufacturer, so I don't blame FR for that. Thetford tried to deny the claim and FR stepped in and paid for a new one for me because they felt Thetford was wrong. Excellent customer service experience from Forest River. Otherwise, there's literally nothing to note here. It's been an amazing little trailer.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
3.0
...
Helpful (0)

Flag

Flag this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

David Tiplady

Maryland

Reviewed on 2022-03-19

RV reviewed 2021 Forest River Cherokee Wolf Pup 16FQ view listing

4.8
Took 2 big trips. Baltimore to Des Moines Iowa 4 a week 2021. Then Florida keys for 5 weeks in Jan. 2022. Only problem was Check valves in both Sink faucets Stuck closed. towing trailer was a dream. Very easy to set up. Overall very happy with layout and functionality. Have had trailer for a year now. Spent about 9 weeks camping. Just found out the solar panel is not charging the battery. Hoping it's something simple. Love this camper.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Flag

Flag this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Jocelyn Adviento

Georgia

Reviewed on 2021-11-04

RV reviewed 2021 Forest River Cherokee Wolf Pup 16FQ view listing

3.6
I really like the Murphy bed/sofa combination layout because this is a small trailer with no slide out. The space is good for a couple or couple with a small child or pet. My husband and I brought our two kitties and they thought it was purrrrrfect. The awning with lighting, refrigerator and speakers made a great outdoor space to hang out and listen to music while enjoying your campsite. And the sofa/Murphy bed made the indoor space useful and versatile. We would lay on the bed and watch movies or play Uno at the dinette when it rained. Both the bathroom and kitchen size for this trailer is great and functional. This is our first trailer and is great for short trips but even with it’s short length I never felt comfortable pulling a trailer so we are going to upgrade to a small class C RV. Looking at the Jayco 22A as it’s short and has a great layout as well.
Livability
3.0
Overall quality
3.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
4.0
Factory warranty/support
3.0
...
Helpful (0)

Flag

Flag this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

yanbo li

Florida

Reviewed on 2021-08-28

RV reviewed 2020 Forest River Cherokee Wolf Pup 16PF Black Label view listing

3.0
I bought the 2020 Black Label Edition. Pro: Nice appearance, layout, lighting, owning, auto, colors, blinds Cons: 3900lb trailer is dangerous with one ax and cheapest Chinese tire. One tire has blown out during a normal drive. Immediately we replaced all tires with the best Michelin tires. Domestic AC unit is cheap and noisy. Mine is a lemon. The fan motor shaft vibrates and is noisy. The circuit breaker was triggered many times, so we replaced the AC with a smaller unit. Some 120v sockets and USB ports do not work. The outside shower head is cheap and broke the first time use.
Livability
4.0
Overall quality
2.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
2.0
Factory warranty/support
2.0
...
Helpful (0)

Flag

Flag this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

joe

Tennessee

Reviewed on 2021-08-14

RV reviewed 2019 Forest River Cherokee Wolf Pup 16BHS view listing

3.2
Maybe I am spoiled, as I recently retired and sold my Airstream which I had for 15 years. This travel trailer, which was a 2019 and only two years old, I recently rented for a weekend and was very disappointed. There are serious design issues: (1) the only food prep area is the glass over the stove, so that if cooking something, one can also not prep food at the same time (2) if one opens the cabinets over the stove, to use as utensil storage or pantry and want to check on something cooking, you will hit your head on the cabinet door (3) the shower faucets turn in opposite directions, so almost impossible to get a good temp setting (4) when opening the black water valve, you will cut your right arm on a jagged piece of metal on the trailer body (5) if you have a pickup, you cannot open the tailgate because the jack is in the way (6) the steps are a bad design as they catch on the lowest part of the door and keep the door from opening or closing correctly (7) it was advertised as sleeping 4, but really only sleeps two adults and two small children, no way can it sleep 4 adults. These things are deal breakers and make me think they have been making travel trailers only recently have no experience,and the designers have never camped in their lives. Reliability is also an issue: a two year old RV should not have broken door locks and a broken jack (we had to remove the jack from the travel trailer to tow it back to the rental place), fortunately we had tools or we would have been hosed. The only good things are: the A/C was good and it towed very nicely with no sway. This is a poor quality product, okay to rent if you have experience in fixing things and a tool kit with you, but do not buy this unit unless you are a mechanic.
Livability
3.0
Overall quality
2.0
Floorplan
3.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
3.0
...
Helpful (0)

Flag

Flag this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Arnold Ring

Florida

Reviewed on 2021-08-06

RV reviewed 2021 Forest River Cherokee Wolf Pup 16FQ view listing

4.0
Wife and I Travelled 2500 miles up and down east coast twice and lived in our Wolf Pup a month each time. Strong points: The Murphy bed gave us great comfort when sleeping and more living space when made up. The bathroom with sink vanity mirror, toilet and shower across back end was great, Full sized battery operated solar charged refrigerator, 2 burner attractive stove, deep sink, dining area, ease of cleaning, lighting, large windows, awning, outside convenience lighting, phone charge outlets, tv adapted locations, rear rack, ease of towing, water , black/ grey storage tanks ample, We modified by removing panels and adding access to upper shelf over dining table and installed holding latch, replaced poor original tires after SEVERE blow out on US 95 near Richmond, upgraded tv antenna and modified rear carrier for generator box, A/C does great job but very loud, need more access doors instead of panels to shelves over Murphy Bed and draw for utensils underneath sink, improvement for difficult storage compartment locks. We felt very comfortable and confident towing into Smokey mountains with our F-150 2.70 engine. Rating for service at Gander Bartow Fl. And fort Pierce Fl. POOR. I still have an issue with a factory call back for shore line connection box which I intend to take up with Mr Lemonis President of Camping World.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
4.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (0)

Flag

Flag this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Jarvis

Florida

Reviewed on 2021-05-27

RV reviewed 2021 Forest River Cherokee Wolf Pup 16FQ view listing

5.0
We've had everything from pop-up campers to a 40' diesel pusher. We finally sold it because it was just too big for folks getting just a little too old to handle a beast like that any longer. Still wanted to travel so we bought a Ford truck and after a lot of shopping, chose the Forest River Wolf Pup 16FQ. This is a great little trailer and just right for us, with a lot a features packed into a small package. We see a lot of folks making a laundry list of petty complaints but these frustrations most often come from people who are first-timers or haven't been in the RV travel game all that long. Literally all RVs, even our diesel pusher, had its share of quirks and issues. It's part of choosing to stay in an RV instead of hotel rooms. With an RV motorhome or towable,learning to become handy is an absolute must. Make sure that you learn about RV electrical and plumbing and inspect those features so if you experience trouble while on the road you can make the repair if necessary. There's typically not an RV center around every corner. Be certain to put together an RV first-aid kit for your rig as well, ie fuses, washers, fittings, heavy duty tarp with tie-downs and a tool set with what you need to make repairs. Don't expect to purchase a lightweight 16ft. towable and act as though it should have been crafted by artisans and ace technicians. It's just not reality, folks. The manufacturing plant is churning out these trailers as fast as possible and if you're lucky, you'll get one without any hiccups. Just don't become frustrated because you bought a $15K trailer and begin inspecting it for flaws. Hook it up, get on the road and forget about the small stuff. It's why you purchased it in the first place. We went over our trailer when we first purchased it and it's built like any of the others on the market so don't forget that you're using it to get away from it all and not bring misery with you on the trip. Did we see imperfections and lack of attention to details when we inspected it? Sure we did. If you're expecting perfection, stay clear of purchasing an RV. If you want to simply buy an alternative form of recreation, get to meet new folks on the RV circuit and kick back with more privacy and self-sufficiency than hotel rooms, then go get yourself an RV rig and have fun. If something breaks, learn to fix it or take it to a dealer while you're on the road or when you get back home. The Wolf Pup 16FQ is perfect for a couple, with or without a couple of small pets or kids. Plenty of bathroom space for such a small package but very functional. Kitchen is just right for the rig and the murphy bed/jackknife couch is ingenious when it comes to function and space utilization. The electric awning is a real treat for a low-end package and perks like the backup camera, outdoor refrigerator and entertainment features, the 4-jack stabilization and storage capacity all make this small RV trailer an excellent choice. Don't forget, however, that regardless of what you're using to tow this rig to invest in a proper weight distribution/anti-sway hitch system. It will be the best money you've ever spent and provide you with the towing safety you will be glad you installed. We'll give the rig a 5 in all categories. We haven't yet faced a warranty issue with this new rig but have done so many times with all of our others. It's just part of the RV world. You work with them to get the issue resolved and move forward. Best advice is to stop all the complaining, get yourself a rig if you want to have some fun and go hit the road. At our age, we're here to tell you that life is indeed short so don't waste it being so negative. Nothing is perfect. RVs are no exception by any means. Go get yourself one and loosen your hatband a notch or two.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Flag

Flag this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Douglas Hollums

Oregon

Reviewed on 2021-04-19

RV reviewed 2021 Forest River Cherokee Wolf Pup 16FQ view listing

4.0
Size and layout is great for two people. Good sized bathroom and walk around queen. The main problem is the Murphy bed design causes a two to three inch drop between jack knife sofa level and the hard surface when weight is applied making it impossible for anyone with back issues. Could not find any good remedies. The dinette cushions will not stay in place when used. I have heard that they may have worked on the design problem with the bed in newer models.
Livability
4.0
Overall quality
3.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
3.0
...
Helpful (0)

Flag

Flag this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 1 - 10 of 18 reviews

For sale near youRVs For Sale

See all

Do you have an RV experience to share?

Help other RVers by leaving a review for an RV or dealership.

Write a review

Browse top RVs

Browse dealership reviews

Browse By State

Browse By Province