Write a review

RV Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

Floorplan

2021 Forest River reviews

3.3
Write a review
Liveability
3.5
Overall quality
2.5
Floorplan
4.1
Driving/towing
3.8
Factory warranty
2.6

For sale near youMatching RVs for sale near you

Top 10 RVs

Reviews

279 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

Jarvis

Florida

Reviewed on 2021-05-27

RV reviewed2021 Forest River Cherokee Wolf Pup 16FQ

View listings

5.0
We've had everything from pop-up campers to a 40' diesel pusher. We finally sold it because it was just too big for folks getting just a little too old to handle a beast like that any longer. Still wanted to travel so we bought a Ford truck and after a lot of shopping, chose the Forest River Wolf Pup 16FQ. This is a great little trailer and just right for us, with a lot a features packed into a small package. We see a lot of folks making a laundry list of petty complaints but these frustrations most often come from people who are first-timers or haven't been in the RV travel game all that long. Literally all RVs, even our diesel pusher, had its share of quirks and issues. It's part of choosing to stay in an RV instead of hotel rooms. With an RV motorhome or towable,learning to become handy is an absolute must. Make sure that you learn about RV electrical and plumbing and inspect those features so if you experience trouble while on the road you can make the repair if necessary. There's typically not an RV center around every corner. Be certain to put together an RV first-aid kit for your rig as well, ie fuses, washers, fittings, heavy duty tarp with tie-downs and a tool set with what you need to make repairs. Don't expect to purchase a lightweight 16ft. towable and act as though it should have been crafted by artisans and ace technicians. It's just not reality, folks. The manufacturing plant is churning out these trailers as fast as possible and if you're lucky, you'll get one without any hiccups. Just don't become frustrated because you bought a $15K trailer and begin inspecting it for flaws. Hook it up, get on the road and forget about the small stuff. It's why you purchased it in the first place. We went over our trailer when we first purchased it and it's built like any of the others on the market so don't forget that you're using it to get away from it all and not bring misery with you on the trip. Did we see imperfections and lack of attention to details when we inspected it? Sure we did. If you're expecting perfection, stay clear of purchasing an RV. If you want to simply buy an alternative form of recreation, get to meet new folks on the RV circuit and kick back with more privacy and self-sufficiency than hotel rooms, then go get yourself an RV rig and have fun. If something breaks, learn to fix it or take it to a dealer while you're on the road or when you get back home. The Wolf Pup 16FQ is perfect for a couple, with or without a couple of small pets or kids. Plenty of bathroom space for such a small package but very functional. Kitchen is just right for the rig and the murphy bed/jackknife couch is ingenious when it comes to function and space utilization. The electric awning is a real treat for a low-end package and perks like the backup camera, outdoor refrigerator and entertainment features, the 4-jack stabilization and storage capacity all make this small RV trailer an excellent choice. Don't forget, however, that regardless of what you're using to tow this rig to invest in a proper weight distribution/anti-sway hitch system. It will be the best money you've ever spent and provide you with the towing safety you will be glad you installed. We'll give the rig a 5 in all categories. We haven't yet faced a warranty issue with this new rig but have done so many times with all of our others. It's just part of the RV world. You work with them to get the issue resolved and move forward. Best advice is to stop all the complaining, get yourself a rig if you want to have some fun and go hit the road. At our age, we're here to tell you that life is indeed short so don't waste it being so negative. Nothing is perfect. RVs are no exception by any means. Go get yourself one and loosen your hatband a notch or two.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
5.0
...
Helpful (141)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

CHRISTY ROBEY

Virginia

Reviewed on 2022-06-28

RV reviewed2021 Forest River Cedar Creek 36CKTS

View listings

2.0
Purchased a 2022 park model from McGeorges RV, Thornburg VA. Got the unit home discovered several problems that I reported to the dealership. There has been no effort made by anyone to resolve the issues. BOTH air conditioner units do no work, the awning hits the slide, the slide folds in at an angle when retracted, recall on the propane lines, bent jacks, door molding came off, decorative pieces fell off the bedroom shelves, oven does not light and the list grows. I have called multiple people, emailed pictures, videos that were requested. To be ignored by everyone at the dealership, corporate, service manager and Forest River. It has been four months trying to get a resolution. The worst service all around and for an $80,000 unit, cheap.
Livability
1.0
Overall quality
1.0
Floorplan
4.0
Driving/towing
3.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Richard Butler

Arizona

Reviewed on 2022-06-26

RV reviewed2021 Forest River Rockwood Ultra lite 2891BH

View listings

3.4
We purchased this rig in Nov.2021 dealer was great prep service also good. 1st trip went west to Colorado river Ca.side. It met our expectations,pulled easy,set up for 1st timers not bad,getting used to it went well. After returning to home is when we found a few faults like a window over the dinning slide out wouldn't stay shut minor things. Dealer took care of them under warranty . Next trip was cross country to Massachusetts. We all know the roads are smooth (kidding). Each stop we found things a miss. Glass on fire place on the floor, elec.plug covers popped off, screws popped out, valance over shades screws out, shelves on the floor in the bunk house only held in by staples. There are many other little things but 1 big thing was we could not get the shore power cord to plug all the way in on the rig a service tech suggested to sand the face of plug to fit really. Well we tried everything else so we did now it fits. We made it to Ma. got a hold of a small FR dealer (Rousseau R V Lakeville Ma) great service fixed a few things. Said fireplace glass a problem, told him about the suggestion on the FR Forum of using mirror clips he did it and it works. He also said he bought a bag of them because it's most requested fix. We will see what happens on the trip back to Az hopefully nothing. Then drop off at dealer for the rest of the repairs.
Livability
3.0
Overall quality
3.0
Floorplan
4.0
Driving/towing
4.0
Factory warranty/support
3.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Kevin

Utah

Reviewed on 2022-06-23

RV reviewed2021 Forest River XLR Nitro XLF351

View listings

1.8
I owned the XLR Nitro 351 for one and a half years. Where do I start with all of the problems that I had with this thing. The dealership that i purchased it from is 150 miles from my home and I found out quickly that my local XLR dealerships won’t do warranty work on this rig. Rather than travel 150 miles I elected to repair the simple things myself and had a mobile RV repair guy do the hard stuff. Day one when I backed this thing into the driveway the slide seals fell out on the ground. One of the slides made a horrible banging noise when it was powered out. Within a couple of months one of the cables on the kitchen slide broke. Mobile repair guy fixed it. This spring I had another cable break. The lights in the loft have no wiring running to them. One of the window trim pieces fell out on the highway. The led lighting was falling off of the awnings. The control wires on the refrigerator were spliced together at the factory with cheesy crimp connectors. The wires weren’t long enough so they spliced them. The refrigerator ended up breaking down. The garage entry door had a 2 inch gap at the top and would not latch. The gates for the patio railings were starting to come loose and bend due to their weight. The mesh on the patio was damaged at the factory and it looked like someone walked on it at the factory as there were boot marks on it. The fireplace fell out going down the highway due to no bolts holding it in. The exterior panel on the underside of the overhang was falling out because it was cut too short. The list goes on and on. The quality of this rig was just atrocious. I am using the word “was” due to the fact that after a year and a half of chasing problems I traded it in. I have since purchased a new fifth wheel and when shopping I made sure I avoided looking at anything built by Forrest River.
Livability
1.0
Overall quality
1.0
Floorplan
3.0
Driving/towing
3.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Amanda

North Carolina

Reviewed on 2022-06-23

RV reviewed2021 Forest River Wildwood 36VBDS

View listings

2.2
This is very long, I know but I promise you if you are looking to purchase it is worth a read! We had many issues with our camper. We purchased our 2021 Forest River Wildwood 36VBDS on 07/24/2021. We loved the camper but since purchasing it we have had nothing but problems. When purchasing the camper, The RV center did an inspection upon purchase where we noticed one of the outside speakers was not working and the awning motor shifted when going out. We scheduled for service at their first available date 09/24/2021 to have the awning motor replaced and speaker fixed. We took our camper home so we could use the camper without the awning until the service date as we did not want to make payments on the camper for it to sit at the dealership for several months. After taking out for the first time we were very excited but a few other problems arouse like the bedroom door that would not shut because the frame was bent, the back outside door handle would stick and not allow the door to close, the motor on front stabilizer jacks didn't work properly, the light in the front stabilizer jack did not work, the battery box was cracked, the rear window blind was broken, the drivers side marker light was not working and the sealant was cracked. We dropped the camper off for service on 09/24/2021 to have the noted complaints fixed. Some of the required parts were on back order and not available at time of service so a second service date of 11/27/2021 was set to have these corrected. Upon dropping the camper off for service on 11/20/2021 it stayed with the company for several weeks due to the parts they ordered being incorrect. We picked our camper up from the service shop again on 12/18/2021 and scheduled yet another service date for 03/21/22 as the door frame is on backorder and will not arrive until February of 2022. We have planned a trip to North Carolina for 2 weeks in February and we are preparing to leave in the coming week. We have had our camper plugged in and running in preparation for our upcoming trip. Everything within the camper functioned as it should aside from the bedroom door frame still scheduled to be replaced. Until going to the grocery store and spending around $230.00 on groceries that had been placed in the camper refrigerator on 02/09/2022. Today(02/12/2022) I went to the butcher shop and purchased another $200.00 in meat for our trip. When returning home and unloading I realized that our refrigerator and freezer were not cold and everything inside had spoiled. Thankfully I noticed before another $200.00 in meat went bad but now 2 days before we are set to leave on our 2 week trip we are without a fridge and freezer. The power to the camper is still plugged into the appropriate amp plug as we had one installed at our house when we purchased the camper. Everything inside is still working as it should (fireplace, slide outs, microwave, tv, ect.) The fridge is still plugged in, light is on, you can hear it running but everything inside is warm. This comes as a great disappointment as we purchased our camper new in hopes of having less maintenance issues but that has not been the case. We have reached out to our local service department again today about the refrigerator but will not have time to have it serviced before our trip as the service department is an hour from our home. My husband is a commercial refrigeration technician decided to fix it himself since we need our fridge and the next available service date was 2 weeks out. Fast forward 4 months to June 3rd, we are in our camper out of state from where we originally purchased. There is a thunderstorm and the window over the couch starts leaking(flooding). Water is running down the window, wall, couch, and soaking the carpet on the floor. A couple days later I reached under our bathroom sink in the cabinet and notice a puddle of water. The bathroom pipe was not tight enough and sprung a leak. My husband then went and checked under the kitchen sink and found it was also loose but nothing was leaking yet. We also noticed that after the rain our plastic battery cover filled with water and had no drain holes. After having fixed the refrigerator once already it had again stopped working. This time the fan motor had gone bad and also had to be replaced. When we first started looking for a camper it took almost 2 years to find one that suited our needs and that we really liked. We found the Forest River Wildwood 36VBDS and we LOVED this camper. We have been greatly disappointed since purchasing our camper as we spent more than we had originally planned but it was a camper we really loved. After all the issues we've had with our Forest River I would not recommend anyone to purchase this camper. We are not oblivious to the fact that these are mass produced travel trailers and they will have flaws as does everything we just hoped the issues we had would be more cosmetic.
Livability
1.0
Overall quality
1.0
Floorplan
3.0
Driving/towing
3.0
Factory warranty/support
3.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Gary hayslihayslip

Ohio

Reviewed on 2022-06-22

RV reviewed2021 Forest river Cherokee Grey Wolf Limited 29RRT

View listings

4.0
We really like this camper other than it only has one air conditioner and it will not keep it below 80 on a hot day they shouldn't build this unit without two units so I'm sure this is a big problem for everybody that has bought one like this.we are thinking about trading it in for that reason we have only had it about a year.
Livability
3.0
Overall quality
3.0
Floorplan
4.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

David

Florida

Reviewed on 2022-06-20

RV reviewed2021 Forest River Cherokee 274RK

View listings

2.6
In the past year I’ve owned this RV the dealer has had it as much as I have. I didn’t purchase an RV for it to have problems like this and make payments for it to sit on a lot. The biggest issue is from day one the camera would not work. It was freezing. They tried everything. I finally got the manufacture to send a new camera a year later. It took almost 5 weeks for it make to the dealer. Again they don’t care if you get to use your RV as long as you purchase it. Make your payments and let it sit on the lot. Well the new camera does the same thing and same problem. Well now the manufacturer says it’s a distance issue. I have a short bed truck. If that’s a known issue why not stand behind the sale? You sold it with a camera it should work period. If not fix it. So as far as support I give you a zero. Stand behind the product you sale. Pros Looks good Tows good Cons Camera freezes No support from manufacturer Half the electrical outlets would work for almost a year. Had it in the shop 3 times for that. Spent over 7 months of the first 14 months of ownership and it’s still not fixed. I believe I have a lemon
Livability
2.0
Overall quality
2.0
Floorplan
4.0
Driving/towing
4.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

David

Iowa

Reviewed on 2022-06-20

RV reviewed2021 Forest River Cedar Creek Silverback 35LFT

View listings

4.6
What an amazing layout. You could seriously full time in this RV. Tons of space. The back room can be used for an office or an extra bedroom. There's even an extra bathroom back. The kitchen is made for a mini chef. Huge fridge and stove makes my wife feel at home. Master bedroom has a king size bed. HUGE closet with enough space for a washer and dryer. Loft is useful for friends that wanted to stay the night. You could use it as storage too. Makes the RV feel bigger and roomier. Cons: The back room would get a little cold at night so we just bought an electric heater. Overall..It's one of the best layouts we've' ever been in.
Livability
4.0
Overall quality
4.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Seth Hammon

Utah

Reviewed on 2022-06-17

RV reviewed2021 Forest River XLR Hyperlite 3016

View listings

2.6
If it doesn’t break this is a great toy hauler. But they do break and not worth the price tag. Within the first year the fridge went out, generator needed serviced, and a bunch of other smaller issues. 2 years in and not eve 10 trips total and the slide motor is shot. Do not recommend.
Livability
2.0
Overall quality
2.0
Floorplan
3.0
Driving/towing
4.0
Factory warranty/support
2.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Sherri

Texas

Reviewed on 2022-06-16

RV reviewed2021 Forest River Flagstaff Classic Super Lite 832IKBS

View listings

1.6
This is a beautiful looking RV.. there is a beautiful piece of crap. We have used it three times the waterlines leak we had it in a repair shop for warranty work that they were supposed to fix and they did not hear I am on vacation with the sink and the shower leaking like a sieve! The drawers that are soft close won’t close because the framework is so cheesy did it will not hold it still in order for it to be closed. Staples are pulling out of the wall where do it so cheese installed. And then let’s not forget right before I took this trip and I’ve had this RV for maybe a year it had to be in the shop because the backsplash had all peeled and fleet in crumbled and had to be replaced.. i’ll be honest I don’t think that you could buy a lower quality built RV I am so extremely disappointed for my money makes me want to spit nails!
Livability
1.0
Overall quality
1.0
Floorplan
3.0
Driving/towing
2.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • ...
  • 28
  • 1 - 10 of 279 reviews

For sale near youRVs For Sale

Do you have an RV experience to share?

Help other RVers by leaving a review for an RV or dealership.

Write a review

Browse top RVs

Browse dealership reviews

Browse By State

Browse By Province