Write a review

RV Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

Floorplan

2017 Forest River reviews

3.6
Write a review
Liveability
3.9
Overall quality
2.9
Floorplan
4.2
Driving/towing
4.0
Factory warranty
2.9

For sale near youMatching RVs for sale near you

Top 10 RVs

Reviews

370 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

Randy Pollock

Texas

Reviewed on 2017-05-07

RV reviewed2017 Forest River R-Pod RP-178

View listings

2.4
After much research, we decided to purchase a 2017 Rpod 179 from a dealer in Mesquite, Texas. Although the dealer is approximately 300 miles from our home in San Antonio, we felt confident that the combined quality of the traler and the assurance that we "could take it to any Forrest River dealer for service"', we would be safe. (There is no Rpod dealer within a 100 miles of where we live). The first time we had a problem with the electric tongue lift not working, we found that "any Forrest River dealer" for repairs was true. In fact, even with with Forrest River's help, we were left with called Ngo numerous dealers only to say no and offer no assistance. Fortunately, I did find an area Forrest River dealer has worked very hard to help us. They were the only dealer of 6 which I called that was willing to help us. Although they are not an RPod dealer, they have done much to help us. There has been a series of issues with the RPod which have greatly undermined my confidence in my camper. So far, our 6 month old camper has had considerable problems . Beginning with a defective tongue lift, we found ourselves with a heather that was so loud, we stopped using it and plugged in a stand alone. (Reported to be a piece of packing plastic inside the unit). We have experienced a water leak which flooded the rear storage compartment.(Break at the city water inlet). An A/C unit with a part missing that makes too much noise to use until the part comes in. (2 weeks in the shop so far). Blue caulk scattered on numerous portions of the black framing. Decals beginning peel in some places. This unit sold for $22 k before discount. The most a dealer will allow on trade is $9k. We are trapped in a camper that we have no faith in manufactured by a company we have no faith in and sold by a dealer we have no faith in. If I had a do over, I would have purchased something from a local dealer and it would not have been a Forrest River product.
Livability
2.0
Overall quality
1.0
Floorplan
3.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (595)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Robert Douglas

British Columbia

Reviewed on 2022-06-28

RV reviewed2017 Forest River Sandpiper 389RD

View listings

2.6
We got a weekend junk made Sandpiper, Dealer sold ours and needed to get another quick. We finally got RV the belly pan was hanging, got charged warranty to fix, they came three times to fix flap on toilet, OUR AIR CONDITIONING HAS NEVER WORKED. HAD ABOUT 6 REPAIR PEOPLE COME OUT NEVER REPAIRED< ALL WE ENDED UP WITH IS CEILING MARKS WHERE THE BRACES ARE AND THE SCREWS OR NAIILS SHOW UP>DUE to worker stomping on roof. WE HAD PRIVATE REPAIRMAN FIX ALL AROUND WINDOWS AND ROOF MARKS> . Also the back skin has been wrinkling more every year, also other places now too.. the recliner chairs were replaced in 2 years then again WE FINALLY BOUGHT OUR OWN chairs. NEVER BUY FROM FORREST RIVER , or if YOU GET A SANPIPER> PUKES O'CONNERS for not standing up to dealers warranties
Livability
1.0
Overall quality
1.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Ron Froseth

New Mexico

Reviewed on 2022-05-26

RV reviewed2017 Forest River Rockwood Signature Ultra Lite 8299BS

View listings

4.6
We bought this RV new and it was our first 5th Wheel. We especially liked the large closet, round shower, large refrigerator/freezer, and great storage. One thing we noticed with Rockwood was a lot of things that are extra in other RVs was standard in ours. For example, ceiling fan in living room area, two fantastic fans in bathroom and kitchen area, solar equipped, electric/propane water heater, lazy boy recliners, and a rear carrier are just some of the extras. I really liked the Reese revolution hitch that rotated at the trailer instead of the fifth wheel. I have a short bed truck and can make 90 degree turns without ever worrying about hitting my truck with the trailer. I upgraded the tires because the factory tires are not rated for speeds over 60 mph. It is a great trailer but our health has reached the point that we can't travel in an RV any longer. But I would highly recommend this fifth wheel. I have talked to very few RVers who have found a great dealer to maintain their rig although I kept looking. A lot of things can be fixed yourself if you have any mechanical knowledge. Good luck on your RV adventure and we wish all of you the wonderful time we have had with ours.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
3.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Dworkin Daniel

Pennsylvania

Reviewed on 2022-05-10

RV reviewed2017 Forest River 38RE Riverstone Legacy

View listings

3.8
Excellent 5th wheel. We’ll appointed with luxury touches. Has washer drier, 3 air conditioners and a wine chiller as well as corian countertops and dual bathroom sinks and a Hollywood lit mirror. Only downside is that this unit is BIG and care must be taken parking it.
Livability
4.0
Overall quality
4.0
Floorplan
4.0
Driving/towing
4.0
Factory warranty/support
3.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Gary Giummule

North Carolina

Reviewed on 2022-04-26

RV reviewed2017 Forest River Salem Hemisphere Lite 282RK

View listings

4.4
Our Salem hemisphere has been a great camper for me my wife and our grandkids when they visit. The kitchen area is huge for a camper of this size. More than adequate cabinet space in kitchen bathroom and even the bedroom. Bedroom has a large three drawer dresser and wardrobe closet hard to find in a travel trailer. Outside frig and sink a bonus when outdoors. Only issue was the recliners starting to peel (which has been a problem with all types of campers made from 2015-present) We put covers on the backs so not a big deal. Everything else has been perfect. Pulled great with my 1500 ram.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
4.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
3.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

GW

Texas

Reviewed on 2022-04-19

RV reviewed2017 Forest River Salem 29FKBS

View listings

4.6
We spend a lot of time traveling with our Salem and it’s a very comfortable travel trailer. We find the floor plan well thought out with a large bedroom and built in desk. There’s lots of room in the living area and it can even accommodate a recliner or two. It has a full size couch that folds out to provide a comfortable bed for an adult or a couple of kids as well as a full size make down dinette. The kitchen is excellent and large compared to most we have seen or owned. There’s a lot of counter space and huge amounts of storage including a pantry. The appliances are spectacular in stainless steel with subway-look back splash design. The automatic refrigerator and water heater make boondocking very comfortable. Both run on electric or gas and switch automatically. The huge 21 foot awning makes lounging or grilling outdoors so much nicer and we often sit out in the evenings to enjoy nature. There’s even a cable outlet for game day if you are “tailgating”. All in all, it’s a large comfortable travel trailer with just about any amenity you can think of for camping or even extended stays for work or whatever your needs are. It’s definitely a home away from home.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
4.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
4.0
Factory warranty/support
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Victoria Goff

Kansas

Reviewed on 2022-04-12

RV reviewed2017 Forest River Rockwood Windjammer 3001W

View listings

4.8
I love the floor plan and that it has 2 exit/entrance doors and 2 AC units. The pop-outs make it even larger in the living/dining area and the bedroom. Everything works well, stove, fridge, microwave, TV, stereo, plumbing, heating, cooling. All the windows have nice window coverings. Of course lots of storage helps too. The Diamond package warranty is transferrable and covers brakes, suspension, chassis, water heater, waste system, fresh water system, air conditioning, gas/propane system, heating, refrigerator, aux generator, range/oven, slide-out boot, slide-out rooms and flat panel tv.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
4.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Peter Johnson

New York

Reviewed on 2022-03-10

RV reviewed2017 Forest River Sunseeker 2860DS Ford

View listings

1.0
I have emailed many time about the unit and have talked with the manager Cody a few times. No one has gotten back to me. I would say customer service is not there strong point nor is wanting to sell rv's. I would ask to speak to the manager but having done so this is only a place to window shop at.
Livability
1.0
Overall quality
1.0
Floorplan
1.0
Driving/towing
1.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Norma

Kentucky

Reviewed on 2022-03-08

RV reviewed2017 Forest River Wildwood X-Lite 241QB

View listings

4.0
Easy to tow. Small. We used for part time work out of town. Was perfect for saving money, not using hotels. Fun. Sleeps 4-5. During day would be cramped with 4-5 inside all day. Good for camping, living part time , but not necessarily fulltime. We have not needed any warranty or support.
Livability
3.0
Overall quality
4.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
3.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Gwen Johnson

Maryland

Reviewed on 2022-03-04

RV reviewed2017 Forest River Riverstone legacy 38MB

View listings

5.0
This is a beautiful RV! We loved camping in it. Has a great floor plan and lots of counter space especially around the cook top. It feels like a home inside with all the amenities. It is nicer than my sticks and brick. Great for anyone that does not want to give up many luxuries of home or wants to full time
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • ...
  • 37
  • 1 - 10 of 370 reviews

For sale near youRVs For Sale

Do you have an RV experience to share?

Help other RVers by leaving a review for an RV or dealership.

Write a review

Browse top RVs

Browse dealership reviews

Browse By State

Browse By Province