Write a review

RV Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

Floorplan

Keystone Hideout Single Axle reviews

3.6
Write a review
Liveability
3.9
Overall quality
2.6
Floorplan
4.3
Driving/towing
4.0
Factory warranty
3.1

For sale near youMatching RVs for sale near you

Top 10 RVs

Reviews

11 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

Scott Johnstone

Florida

Reviewed on 2019-09-21

RV reviewed2019 Keystone Hideout Single Axle 179LHS

View listings

2.6
We bought this unit brand new not 6 months ago and have had nothing but problems with it. 1st problem we used the fresh water holing tank and it cloged everything up including toilet with some kind of white pieces look like plastic had to flush tank out and clean every place water was used to get them to work again. So we went on our first trip after that upon arrival i opened the door to find one of the ceiling panels was drooping and the staples were hanging out so I was looking at what happened and i guess they dont feel the need to put all the staples in the studs. I fixed that. 2nd trip having problems with the hot water heater having to go press the reset button on hot water heater outside it will heat the water for about 10 minutes then go in to default thats when i have to reset water heater. So moving on with trip trying to injoy rving and i keep smelling a mold smell opened up closet and wall is a wrinkly and all our clothes stink like mold. So i called several camping words or gander rv where i bought it from to get the roof fixed and i was told it would be easier to file a clam with my insurance than go through warranty process. And i need to find the leak and try to fix it because if i know about it and didnt do anything it might void warranty. I will never buy another keystone rv or purchase anything from camping world or gander rv. Seems like once you signed the paperwork they dont want nothing to do with you. Luckly i found another dealership that will help with the warranty process but it could take a month. Not sure how anyone else would feel about this whole situation but i feel like i got screwed buying one.
Livability
4.0
Overall quality
1.0
Floorplan
4.0
Driving/towing
3.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (14)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

F Irwin

Arizona

Reviewed on 2021-09-13

RV reviewed2019 Keystone Hideout Single Axle 179LHS

View listings

3.6
Like the overall layout, but build quality disappointing. Roof leaks at end caps just after warranty ran out. Roof cover on bath vent disintegrating in less than year. All cabinet doors loose, having stripped screws on hinges. Vinyl trim on exterior hatches stretched too tight and popping out from frame. AC freezes up on low cool setting. Rear bumper partially recessed under trailer making hitch attachment for bike rack extremely difficult. Wasted and inaccessible storage space under 50% of bed platform. Faucet aerator routinely plugs up with plastic debris from plumbing lines. Low pressure at kitchen sink even with city water hook up. Short kitchen drawers, could easily be 50% deeper. Propane/gas safety alert mounted too close to bath door, preventing door to fully open - plus it will run the battery down in a few days when in storage (no on/off switch). Needs a wider awning than the 10 ft factory installed. Pulls well behind 4Runner with load levelers, anti-sway bar and empty tanks. For a lower price point ($12,400), entry level trailer about what to expect.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
2.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
4.0
Factory warranty/support
2.0
...
Helpful (3)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Paul C.

Washington

Reviewed on 2021-07-22

RV reviewed2017 Keystone Hideout Single Axle 175LHS

View listings

4.6
Bought this TT new in March 2017, liked that this model had a large dinette, a bath sink, counter, and cabinet in bathroom that many other RV's with same floorplan, including other Keystones, lacked. Only used about a half dozen times so far. Made some personal major mods to the trailer like adding a couple of RV windows: 1) Next to main door 2) Upper bunk - to add more natural lighting and cross ventilation, plus an external shower unit, and a "Hott Rod" heat element to the water heater for electric water heating. The only issues in first year was the overhead light outside the bathroom door blinking occasionally and the AM function in the Jensen stereo sucks as very poor. Noticed this in first year of usage and ownership but did not think these were worth the trouble and any wait to bring it back to dealer for warranty work. Otherwise everything else worked fine though have never used the water pump since always full or partial hookups. This 2021 spring discovered minor leak damage in the door side wall inside the small wardrobe closet. Camper was not used in 2020 due to covid pandemic and unable to check the roof due to physical ailment that I'm mostly recovered from. Patched the roof with some liquid "Flex Seal". TT parked in my front yard since last used in August 2019. The vent fan motor in the bathroom finally died recently. Overall so far consider this entry level TT to be a good camper but not sure my next TT would be a Keystone if there is a next one, hope it lasts 15 more years if keeping.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
4.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
4.0
...
Helpful (5)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Mark H.

Indiana

Reviewed on 2020-07-28

RV reviewed2019 Keystone Hideout Single Axle 177LHS

View listings

4.2
Have had our camper about a year now,have had no issues with it.It is an economy camper so the finish was not as nice as some of the other campers we looked at,but everything works like it should and it is bone dry on the inside.Overall we are very satisfied with our camper and would recommend this model to anyone looking for the most bang for their buck.
Livability
4.0
Overall quality
4.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
3.0
...
Helpful (8)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Lisa

New Hampshire

Reviewed on 2020-07-15

RV reviewed2019 Keystone Hideout Single Axle 179LHS

View listings

2.0
Bought our camper brand new not even a year ago and have had numerous problems. Battery is constantly dying and I mean not even 48 hours after we picked it up the battery was dead and the alarms were sounding at 3am. Leaks too. we attached our camper to water and once the tanks were filled the water back fed through the hoses and came streaming down the side of the camper into our dry storage compartments and inside of both sides of the bed.maybe if there was a disconnect it wouldn't of happened. Water pump is cooked. we contacted country campers in New Hampshire and they still haven't called us back because they're seeing if we are still under warranty which we are till September.It's unfortunate. We are highly disappointed. We actually miss our 97 jayco pop-up which never leaked.
Livability
2.0
Overall quality
1.0
Floorplan
3.0
Driving/towing
3.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (6)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

James Culberson

Alabama

Reviewed on 2019-10-10

RV reviewed2016 Keystone Hideout Single Axle 175LHS

View listings

5.0
This travel trailer has served us well. Over many extended camping trips it has not had a malfunction. I can say that we are impressed by the build quality. It is light and my truck can tow it easily. I haven't even needed a weight distribution hitch. The interior space and features are impressive for a camper this size. I had some questions a few times and had no trouble getting Keystone customer support on the phone. They were always very helpful and pleasant to speak with.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
5.0
...
Helpful (10)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Leona Barnes

Florida

Reviewed on 2019-10-10

RV reviewed2016 Keystone Hideout Single Axle 175LHS

View listings

5.0
We love this camper! It has the perfect amount of space for our family and I love that it is one of the lighter models available. It is simple and convenient to travel with. It has served us well on many camping trips and everything (electrical, etc) is still working (knock on wood!). I am a Keystone customer for life.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
5.0
...
Helpful (5)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Bonnie Dahl

Iowa

Reviewed on 2019-08-23

RV reviewed2019 Keystone Hideout Single Axle 179LHS

View listings

4.0
The problems with our new camper, after all considered, Keystone was concerened. It appeared they were not. They followed up with me about the repairs. They do care. Also Thank God we chose a dealer close to home. They also treated us with prompt care and concern. I am confident in Keystone now and our small town dealer. On to fall camping. Happy trails Rv'ers.
Livability
4.0
Overall quality
3.0
Floorplan
4.0
Driving/towing
4.0
Factory warranty/support
5.0
...
Helpful (2)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Bonnie Dahl

Iowa

Reviewed on 2019-08-12

RV reviewed2019 Keystone Hideout Single Axle 179LHS

View listings

1.0
We just purchased this camper brand new. First night slide wire came unhooked and slide was stuck. Thankfully we tried it in driveway. They came to us and attached wire back in place. No idea how to use the override to get it closed!!! Went camping. Bad water pump. Drove to dealer. Got water pump. Installed it ourselves. Drove to dealer. Returned no good one. Came next time to camp and mouse was inside. Found big hole left wide open under tub. Sealed hole. Bleached whole camper. Next trip clothes were all molded and wet in closet. Got out ladder and looked at roof. Seems had bubbled, cheap, pliable, black caulk that had holes and slits and no way would that keep water out. Some type of buetyl. What???? We should of inspected roof and seems before we purchased but did not have ladder to inspect the roof and besides, hey, it was brand new. Drove camper back to dealership. Still there. We now have one week left of two week vacation. I am very sure we just paid many thousands of dollars for a molded camper. Dam
Livability
1.0
Overall quality
1.0
Floorplan
1.0
Driving/towing
1.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (7)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Mel

Illinois

Reviewed on 2019-07-15

RV reviewed2018 Keystone Hideout Single Axle 178LHS

View listings

3.6
We purchased this new. Floorplan was the deciding factor. Like the bathroom space. Just 2 of us and a big dog we thought this would be great. First thing we did was replace the so-called mattress. Location of radio is right below sink. If you lean or bump against counter, radio comes on. Then, like others, we started noticing poor quality. Metal shavings throughout, poor alignment and fit, and just plain cheap components. Leveling jacks are super thin tin. When extended they don't keep camper steady. The siding was about 3/8" short at one point so they just filled area with silicone. Found a few screws missing. As others have stated, a complaint will get the response ' covered by warranty '. I'm not driving 150 miles to get a screw replaced. This is our first and last Keystone.
Livability
4.0
Overall quality
2.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
4.0
Factory warranty/support
3.0
...
Helpful (8)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 1 - 10 of 11 reviews

For sale near youRVs For Sale

Do you have an RV experience to share?

Help other RVers by leaving a review for an RV or dealership.

Write a review

Browse top RVs

Browse dealership reviews

Browse By State

Browse By Province