Write a review

RV Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

Floorplan

Jayco Hummingbird reviews

3.5
Write a review
Liveability
3.6
Overall quality
3.3
Floorplan
3.6
Driving/towing
4.6
Factory warranty
2.6

For sale near youMatching RVs for sale near you

Top 10 RVs

Reviews

14 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

Sue Brown

Kansas

Reviewed on 2018-01-09

RV reviewed2017 Jayco Hummingbird 17RK

View listings

4.8
Great trailer for 1-2 persons, has everything you need and lots of storage. Easy to tow, nice floor plan. Includes enclosed underbody, outside shower, solar panel jack and propane hookup for exterior grill.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
4.0
...
Helpful (54)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

CHAFIQ LAIQ

Texas

Reviewed on 2022-03-01

RV reviewed2018 Jayco Hummingbird HUMMINGBRID 17 FD

View listings

5.0
easy to tow and maneuver . Hit the road in a flash with the comfy, lightweight fiber glass materials very strong compare to any basic travel trailer on the markets just the best with very raisonnable price
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

K. Mayberry

South Carolina

Reviewed on 2021-09-09

RV reviewed2017 Jayco Hummingbird 17RB

View listings

4.8
This trailer is a convenient and fun for an older couple or a small family. The fold down dinette table is sleeping space for a third person. The area is perfect for one or two small children or grandkids. If they are bigger, a tent of their own would be better. It is also an ideal spot if you have a pet that you travel with. Since we are retired we have enjoyed taking grandkid(s) and our standard poodle with us. It is nice to have a bed already to go w/o having to unpack it. The one change I would have liked is the bed turned length-wise if space and weight had permitted. The kitchen is compact, but handy. The convection/microwave combo is great. We rarely used the stove top, but preferred to use a single induction burner or grill most of the time. My favorite is the bathroom with a separate shower, sink and toilet. There are so many storage areas in the bath and main section. When we first started camping over 50 years ago we had a tent, even with 3 kids and two dogs. This is quite a step up that we would have loved then – especially having an a/c unit when at the beach (and the outside shower to get sand off)! With this light weight trailer, many vehicles can handle towing it and it has outside storage as well. It is already setup for a solar unit. Jayco has thought of so many conveniences as well as the quality build. I’ve noticed several listed with incorrect information. Check the Jayco site to be sure of what is accurate for weights. Also be sure to understand the towing capability of your vehicle from some of the many RV/trailer blogs online. And enjoy!
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
4.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
5.0
...
Helpful (6)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Lajean Lewis

Texas

Reviewed on 2021-08-15

RV reviewed2018 Jayco Hummingbird 17RK BAJA

View listings

5.0
This is a great starter camper for anyone not sure they want to get into camping. It would also be great for a family with small children as the dinette makes into a bed. It's light weight, easy to tow, and supper easy to set up! With the rear kitchen there is a lot of counter space and storage, plus it has a rear window over the sink to allow you to see out. It has a queen sized bed and plenty of storage above and below the dinette. The Hummingbird also comes with a 2x4 folding table that has it's own storage place inside. With the Baja edition, you have the larger tires to allow for more clearance. We love this camper and you would too!
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
5.0
...
Helpful (9)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Mike turpak

Florida

Reviewed on 2020-11-26

RV reviewed2017 Jayco Hummingbird 17FD Baja

View listings

2.6
Poor fit and finish. Bed is very hard to make. Mattress is junk. Floor plan (bed and dinette) is strange to say the least. No vent of any kind in bathroom. You've got to hand dry the bathroom and/or leave the door open to allow it to dry after showering or allow "aromas" to escape. It does tow well and isn't to bad for1 or 2 people although there isn't much cabinet/drawer space and under bed/seat storage is not good for things you need often
Livability
3.0
Overall quality
2.0
Floorplan
2.0
Driving/towing
4.0
Factory warranty/support
2.0
...
Helpful (15)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Vince Smith

New Mexico

Reviewed on 2020-08-22

RV reviewed2018 Jayco Hummingbird 17RB BAJA

View listings

3.6
We own a 2018 Hummingbird 17RB and have been happy with the unit for short excursions. Highlights: 1. Very easy towing and maneuvering--backing up, parking, getting in/out gas stations, navigating town, competing through congested highway areas, traversing mountain passes--primarily due to the small size. We use a hitch with weight distribution bars and an anti-sway bar that are a snap to hookup/unhook. With those three in place, unless there are very high winds or the road is very rough, the unit is a breeze to tow with our Toyota Tundra. We towed this trailer with a Toyota Tacoma and the unit was more noticeable with the smaller truck, but still very manageable. 2. Set up is incredibly easy. Once the trailer is in place, the two of us working together can unhitch, level, get the stabilizer jacks down, connect electricity/water/sewer and have the A/C cooling the interior in less than 10 minutes. 3. While necessarily Spartan on interior space and amenities because of its compact size, it's all we've needed for up to 3-4 days at commercial campsites. The slide has been solid and fully functional 100% of the time. The A/C unit cools the interior quickly; the heater is a little slower but got the job done the one time we needed it. With the blinds up during the day, the unit is well-lit; the 11(!) interior electric lights are bright and turn on individually to allow customization when you need them. The refrigerator is decent size, but lacks a temperature adjustment--it's "factory set", and too cold (freezes stuff) unless it's packed full. The hot water heater is adequate in providing hot water to the sinks. The microwave has not failed to pop popcorn or re-heat leftovers. There is a surprising amount of storage space. Lowlights: 1. The bed is queen size, but (necessarily) the long side is along the width of the trailer. Which means if the person in the back needs to get up at night, they need to crawl over the person in front, or make them get up, too (pro tip: men 50+ -- don't sleep in the back...) 2. "RB" stands for "rear bath", and that location makes for great space around the toilet and sink. I'm 6'1" 235lbs and have no problems with the facilities. The shower, however, is so small as to be utterly worthless. Jayco might consider a showerless version. There's an external shower for boondockers to rinse off in a bathing suit, making the shower wasted space in our view. 3. The two burner stove will barely boil water at low elevations. We bring a small gas grill and a small charcoal smoker when we travel with the camper and only minimally use the stove--we mostly put a cutting board over the grates to prepare food. The kitchen sink is only useful for rinsing off things as it is small and shallow. The entertainment speakers are terrible, but replaceable. 4. Ostensibly, the table and seating area fold to sleep a third person, but unless that "third person" is the family pet, we wouldn't recommend it. Overall, for 3-4 days (which comprises 80%+ of our trips) and in commercial campsites (we haven't boondocked in the unit), we're happy. We've taken a couple of longer trips and the Spartan nature of a 17ft trailer begins to wear on us after day 3.
Livability
3.0
Overall quality
3.0
Floorplan
4.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
3.0
...
Helpful (37)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Chris Wadlington

Louisiana

Reviewed on 2020-06-21

RV reviewed2017 Jayco Hummingbird 16FD Baja

View listings

2.8
Jayco installed the incorrect door grab handle on my Rv. This caused it to make contact with my awning, which Destroyed the awning rail. It cost me $500 to repair. Jayco refused to cover it under warranty or defect. Buyer beware
Livability
3.0
Overall quality
2.0
Floorplan
3.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (22)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Travis Shana

Wyoming

Reviewed on 2020-05-08

RV reviewed2019 Jayco Hummingbird 17BH

View listings

4.2
After a year of use in the Rocky Mtns. we've had zero issues with our Jayco. It does everything we expect with a camper this size and this price range. Pulls great with my Ram Eco Diesel, sets up fast and enough room for 3. Many of the things I see bad comments on should have been considered before purchase i.e. uncomfy bed, bed to high, fridge doesnt work when towing etc. Our owners manual specifically states not recommended to run the fridge while traveling. I'm 6'2, and I can stand up in ours, lay on the bed although my head/feet will touch but only if I lay perfectly flat, stretched out which I never do. We looked at many RV's before picking this one. Is it exactly as we would design it? No, but it checked off all the boxes we wanted, price, ease of moving, and the comfort features we wanted. Don't expect perfection when you're not paying the premium prices. We also had a great dealer and service department who fixed all the issues we pointed out BEFORE we picked it up. I went through it with a fine tooth comb! After many nights in the mountains and a few campgrounds we've gotten our money's worth so far. Our loose piece of trim and a curtain rod that came loose hasn't affected one night of camping. If you want an affordable trailer with without all the bells and whistles I would recommend it. It is "camping" after all. Want/need more, then pay more or maybe try a Hilton.
Livability
4.0
Overall quality
4.0
Floorplan
4.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
4.0
...
Helpful (45)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Elna Platz

Florida

Reviewed on 2019-10-15

RV reviewed2018 Jayco Hummingbird 17RB BAJA

View listings

1.8
I decided to treat myself and buy a new RV. MISTAKE when I purchased a Hummingbird 17’ rv. The quality is poor, the refrigerator does not keep a constant temperature, the right tail light didnt work properly, the curtain broke first time it was used, NONE of the storage compartment doors are fitted correctly, SO, if it rains hard, the compartments flood and consequently the floor inside the living space floods too, the 1 storage drawer in kitchen slide was broken before we even used it. If you’re anywhere close to 6’ tall, dont buy, your head will hit pne wall and your feet the other.😢
Livability
2.0
Overall quality
1.0
Floorplan
3.0
Driving/towing
2.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (30)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Steven Gordo

California

Reviewed on 2019-08-05

RV reviewed2017 Jayco Hummingbird 17FD

View listings

3.0
Bought this because we are able to tow it with our 2005 Honda Pilot. Dry weight of the trailer is around 2800. Since we bought it, I have pulled it from California to Kansas and back, four times and always with our Honda Pilot. The single greatest feature of this trailer is it's towability. For it’s size and relative comfort, there’s few, if any, travel trailers that can be so and be towed by a mid-sized SUV at the same time. The design is understandable, but not entirely to our liking. For one thing, as has already been mentioned, in another review, it is not friendly for a senior with mobility issues. The bed sits higher than normal and this made it hard for my wife to reach, plus it's only one butt space opening to get, which makes ingress to and egress from the bed complicated. My wife, who has had both knees replaced, had trouble stepping up into the wet bath. I am guessing this was one of the first models to roll out from the new Franken-merger company made by Thor and Jayco. To make it light, it’s clear, that most of the materials on the aluminum frame are the cheapest and lightest available. For example, the dining table is useless as a bed, since the MDF board and the support beneath it broke- twice. In general, this trailer seems to be Jayco/Thor's answer to the Forest River R-Pod. The other major thing was the Norcold refrigerator does not ignite on propane, although, since we do not boondock, this was never much of an issue. But, when you pay nearly $20K for something you'd like it to work, just as a matter of principle. Two different Jayco dealers did not fix it and that's over 8 months, total, in the shop. We bought this from RV One location in Des Moines, Iowa. Price was good, but dealership might as well have been Camping World and is not recommended by me. The lack of good service was the single worst thing about this buy. Not sure how Jayco dealer service was before the merge with Thor, but we are not impressed.
Livability
3.0
Overall quality
3.0
Floorplan
3.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (52)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 1 - 10 of 14 reviews

For sale near youRVs For Sale

Do you have an RV experience to share?

Help other RVers by leaving a review for an RV or dealership.

Write a review

Browse top RVs

Browse dealership reviews

Browse By State

Browse By Province