Write a review

RV Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

Floorplan

Winnebago Class A - Diesel reviews

4.3
Write a review
Liveability
4.6
Overall quality
4.2
Floorplan
4.7
Driving/towing
4.5
Factory warranty
3.2

For sale near youMatching RVs for sale near you

Top 10 Class A - Diesel

Reviews

194 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

Ed Soniat

Georgia

Reviewed on 2014-12-29

RV reviewed2013 Winnebago Journey 36M

View listings

3.6
Bought this used about 6 months ago. Been out about 6 times, probably spent 5 weeks in it so far in total and driving about 2000 miles some back roads. Getting 9.5 MPG. Very comfortable to drive, just finished Naples to ATL 630 miles in one day. Much better than doing it in a car. I think the coach is a good value. It is built well and I think the Chassis is a good quality chassis. The house is solidly built. They tried hard to put in quality appliances and features. The kitchen is very workable and the residential fridge is an amazing convenience. There is no pantry but there is plenty of storage within easy reach to serve as a pantry. The hood vent actually exhausted the air not just blow it back out the top. The washer and dryer work well and we find them very convenient. The washer is very quite and uses very little water, but it is not on the inverter. The full wall slide really opens up the coach bay making the hall at the bath nice and roomy. The Maxum chassis provides a basement that gives this coach the storage of a regular 40 but with better access. Storage inside is equally impressive It also has a true 10000 lb towing capacity. Some coaches require you to reduce your payload to tow a full 10K, this one does not. It comes with a whopping 660 amp hours consisting of 6 AGM batteries, no cutting corners there. No maintenance easy to own, expensive to replace but LiFEPo4 will probably be available by the time these wear out. It has a neat power management system that used the massive 2800 watt inverter to make being on 30 amp or even on 15 amp much more workable. It also comes with an automatic A/C source switch to switch from grid or generator power that includes good surge protection. We prefer the sliding windows that open very wide to the new "frameless" that only flip out on the 2014 and later coaches. The lighting is pretty amazing on the inside. Lights everywhere. The two exhaust fans can really move the air. My wife loves the MCD shades. The roof is very cleaning organized and I was able to install 12 big solar panels for a whopping 1200 watts of solar to charge all those batteries. Now for the nits and they really don't detract from much from our pleasure in owning it. It does not come with good battery monitoring, and you will want to upgrade your inverter remote, they put in the cheapest one. We have the digital comfort rest mattress which is a full queen, but we don't find it all that good. Probably will get a 3" memory foam topper. The kitchen sink is set a little deep to be used from straight on but ok from the corner. The dryer is pretty noisy but it works quite well. I would like another cup holder for the driver. The IPOD interface on the dash is junk, they should have just provided a cable. It also doesn't have a 1/4 headphone jack for input, it does have USB. We are not big TV watchers and that is good because none of the TV's are easy to view except the lounge from the dinette and only for two people. You really can not use the bedroom without the closet slide out. I think the passenger side basement doors are way to big, they. Should have made the water tank door separate. They really catch the wind and swing way out. The A/Cs are zoned but they both use the same duct work so you can't really cool just the back or the front with out closing the vents (easy) and blocking the returns (hard). This may be common in many coaches. The outlet we use the most ( for our laptops) at the dinette is not on the inverter, this should be easy to fix. The bed room door, which we never use anyway, is hard to use.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
4.0
Floorplan
4.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
0.0
...
Helpful (45)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Adam

Ontario

Reviewed on 2022-06-20

RV reviewed2003 Winnebago Journey 32T

View listings

5.0
This RV is really only positives and I wouldn't stray from Winnebago for any RV purchase in the future. The 32T/32TD is such a smart floorplan... you barely have any concept about the fact that you're barely over 32' in this thing - there's an absolute ton of space. It was so well designed. The Cummins 5.9L ISB engine and Alison transmission make for a killer combo and you're loaded with power up hills and on the road.... it's an awesome drive and with good oil, the engine runs beautifully. With a Winnebago as well, you have the ability to go to the Forest City, IA centre for service and repairs and there's no other place which will treat your unit as well for as reasonable a price. They are absolutely amazing there. I couldn't be happier with this thing.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
5.0
...
Helpful (3)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Timothy Street

Georgia

Reviewed on 2022-06-02

RV reviewed2008 Winnebago Destination 39FB

View listings

1.6
Wide-open space and easy to move around even if the slides are closed. Inside finishes were well made and sturdy. The finish on the outside of the coach was also well done. Easy access to the wet bay and electrical systems. Driveability is a little challenging. Due to the size, a lot of movement when being passed by large trucks or on a very windy day. Too much air in the tires makes it completely undrivable. The worse thing about these coaches, you will see it in almost every ad, are the leveling jacks. A lot of them have been replaced and you may be ok. If not run. Run! These cannot be rebuilt. IF you can find the parts, each jack will set you back 1500-2000. The master pump will also go our- another $2000. Overall a great coach but I could not stomach $10k in the leveling jacks only for them to possibly go out again.
Livability
1.0
Overall quality
1.0
Floorplan
3.0
Driving/towing
2.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Steven Fish

California

Reviewed on 2022-06-01

RV reviewed2021 Winnebago Forza 34T

View listings

1.6
This Rv has spent the last year in the shop more than on the road. Don’t buy this. Poor quality and less prep by dealership. Shower didn’t drain, diesel leak, cabinets falling off, generator died, batteries no good.
Livability
1.0
Overall quality
1.0
Floorplan
3.0
Driving/towing
2.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Corey Hack

Kentucky

Reviewed on 2022-05-25

RV reviewed2002 Winnebago Journey DL 39QD

View listings

4.8
The Chassis and Drivetrain of this RV are fantastic. The air ride is very smooth and it's designed to last virtually forever. It's very well built, and includes most key features motorhome seekers would be looking for. Everything about this RV is designed to last.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

John G Root Jr

Massachusetts

Reviewed on 2022-04-11

RV reviewed2011 Winnebago Via 25R

View listings

4.6
The reason to like the VIA is that it is built on the Mercedes Sprinter Chassis and so gets very good gas mileage. 15 mpg in regular use is a reasonable expectation, although driving all day at 70 drops it to 14mpg. Towing a car is 13 mpg. The VIA 25 R is a great big little motorhome. The full wall slide makes it very roomy inside and the big closet gives the feeling and space of a much larger motorhome. Not having a walk-around bed could be a drawback for some people. There is also a large compartment outside that has our ladder, folding table, flat chairs and beach umbrella plus my toolbox, sealants, and fluids. The compartments under the slide-out have plenty of room for everything else. There is a drop-down double bed over the cab, and the couch is also a bed. The driver and passenger seats swivel, it has a big tv. We have traveled with our son and his wife and two small fry all sleeping comfortably. That is two couples and 2 kids. We have had 9 people watching tv. so it is not too small for entertaining. A three month trip is easy!
Livability
4.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
4.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Jess Hansen

Texas

Reviewed on 2022-03-16

RV reviewed2018 Winnebago Forza 38W

View listings

5.0
I have always kept current with the service oil changes lubes slides anything to break so I fixed it I also have an insurance policy USA Today coverage cost $5000 is transferable it’s good for another three years for only $100 so if anything goes wrong it’ll get fixed the coach has been very good to us I’m only showing for health reasons is currently sitting in Texas will be in the Rio Grande valley in Mission till 26 March well then head to Rock Island Illinois.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Chris Romine

California

Reviewed on 2022-03-12

RV reviewed2012 Winnebago Via 25Q

View listings

4.6
Our 2012 Via 25Q has been an outstanding motor home for us. Two senior adults and golden doodle recently traveled 7000 miles over 6 weeks from California to the East Coast and back, towing a Ford Escape hybrid. Averaged 15 mpg and had no trouble with power or handling. Have since installed Suma auxiliary springs for much improved handling in windy conditions. Local Mercedes dealer happily services the vehicle. Highly recommend this RV for couples and small families.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
4.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
4.0
...
Helpful (4)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Charles Kitchen Sr.

Ohio

Reviewed on 2022-03-01

RV reviewed2012 Winnebago Tour 42QD

View listings

5.0
We bought this RV new and have driven it to Florida annually since new. We spend 4 months year in it at a RV resort in south Florida. Have had very few issues with the coach and they were all covered under warranty.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Emilio James Santana

New York

Reviewed on 2022-02-26

RV reviewed2009 Winnebago Tour 40FD

View listings

4.6
this is my third class A RV , and the best one I have owned since i Started in 2004. it drive down the highway like a smooth driving car ,not affected the by crosswinds and passing tractor trailer like I experience with my First RV, The only issue I have is with the engine temperature gauge always seems to register like its overheating , But when I switch over to the digital temperature reading it stays within the normal temperature range , my mechanic informed me the newer diesel engine run at a higher temperature range that the previous model which I owned. I have also experience water leaking into the coach on rainy days thru the slide lockout mechanism, which has a drain hose which gets clogged from time to time, but that can be corrected by passing some tobacco pipe cleaner thru the drain outlet. overall my experience with this good has be good
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
3.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • ...
  • 20
  • 1 - 10 of 194 reviews

For sale near youRVs For Sale

Do you have an RV experience to share?

Help other RVers by leaving a review for an RV or dealership.

Write a review

Browse top RVs

Browse dealership reviews

Browse By State

Browse By Province