Write a review

RV Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

Floorplan

Winnebago Travato 59G reviews

4.2
Write a review
Liveability
4.2
Overall quality
4.3
Floorplan
4.4
Driving/towing
4.3
Factory warranty
3.7

For sale near youMatching RVs for sale near you

Top 10 RVs

Reviews

11 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

Scott Baldassari

Arkansas

Reviewed on 2016-07-12

RV reviewed2016 Winnebago Travato 59G

View listings

3.8
Id love to give the Travato 5 stars all the way, because mine has been near perfect. But, there are units out there that tow more, and the warranty on a new one does seem a little short (1 year /15,000 miles). Otherwise, this thing is great! Price is the best in the industry (New well optioned units can be bought easily for 75K despite what some ads may say). Fold up bed leaves a ton of room for storage compared to other B's. Shower is bigger than most, beds are surprisingly comfortable and "permanent" dinette is bigger than most any other B. It Rides and sleeps 4 comfortably. The promaster is the most nimble, quick and easy to drive vehicle of this size hands down. Front wheel drive, 17+ MPG gas, 21 MPG diesel. lower roof than the competition due to no driveshaft raising the floor. Super sharp turning radius makes parking a breeze. Solar makes generator almost completely unnecessary (but it's nice to have anyway) Automatic thermostatically operated vent/fan keeps unit cool when parked, even in the rain. Visibility is great, sound system, TV, stereo, USB ports, etc all are very good. No complaints!
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
4.0
Factory warranty/support
0.0
...
Helpful (61)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Brian Harward

South Dakota

Reviewed on 2022-06-10

RV reviewed2019 Winnebago Travato 59G

View listings

2.0
The customer support is mostly nonexistent, always rude, and shockingly lazy. Build quality is garbage. Never again in this life will I touch their products . They didnt even insulate where they said they did, and did nothing when called out on it.
Livability
2.0
Overall quality
2.0
Floorplan
3.0
Driving/towing
2.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (12)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Joan Heihn

Oregon

Reviewed on 2022-05-26

RV reviewed2017 Winnebago Travato 59G

View listings

5.0
I like the size and handling. Drives like an SUV. Has a lot of great features. Front wheel drive, GPS, engine start from coach battery if necessary. I was impressed by the room for cooking. The refrigerator is huge by most rv standards. I converted the clothes closet into a pantry. there is above and below the bed storage. storage also at floor level, also over the cab. The bathroom has a cabinet above the toilet. It has 2 small storage openings on the side of the sink for toilet paper, etc. The kitchen has 3 drawers, cabinet under the sink, and cabinets above the stove and sink. The Truma heating system works great. Its efficient and quiet. Offers different options for water heating temperatures. Power vent works great, as does the air conditioner.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
5.0
...
Helpful (5)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Michael Cyr

North Carolina

Reviewed on 2022-01-06

RV reviewed2020 Winnebago Travato 59G

View listings

4.0
Likes: Layout with back full time murphy bed and front lounge big refrigerator big bathroom for a class B Black tank (no cassette toilet) Drives well and easy decent gas mileage gas engine reliable RV systems two separate beds available Dislikes: narrow back bed initial build quality is poor, as are all RVs (they don't check their work before shipping) awning is not useful on class B vans Still has lead acid batteries instead of Lithium Iron Phosphate drawers under bed should be a big shelf no factory shelves in pantry near fridge Overall I highly recommend this model RV, the systems have proved reliable and it is very comfortable to use.
Livability
4.0
Overall quality
4.0
Floorplan
4.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
3.0
...
Helpful (6)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Verified Owner
Voted most helpful review

Amanda Jaten

Colorado

Reviewed on 2021-10-06

RV reviewed2017 Winnebago Travato 59G

View listings

5.0
Loved this RV! We are selling ours now, and its bittersweet! We are upgrading to a larger RV. This is one of the best Vans out there in the Class B category, especially for the price. Its so easy to drive and park (even in the cities) and once you get to your destination, the set up of your home on wheels is practically instant. You can do so much with just the solar panels on board and the generator so we enjoyed off grid camping most of the time with no problem at all. Even though its just FWD we took it everywhere, and it did great even on the dirt roads to access more remote locations. One of our favorite features was the screen door (enjoy the outdoors, minus the bugs!). We've had only had minor repairs which were easy to fix and we have loved every moment of ownership! I highly recommend this RV!
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
5.0
...
Helpful (5)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Maxwell Smarts

Connecticut

Reviewed on 2021-09-12

RV reviewed2021 Winnebago Travato 59G

View listings

2.6
We looked at four Winnebago conversions vans today, in the 95K range. Solis and Travato models. Here are our comments from an Accessibility and quality perspective. 1. Decent outside running board step, grippy, and outside handhold to aid side entry. 2. Very narrow side entry, hard to maneuver. 3. Two separate areas of raised floors created unacceptable footing hazard for my wife. Angled floor break behind front seats apparently houses floor ducts. Terrible design, put a wiring plenum under the whole truck and keep it level! Another 3 ft long speed bump in rear passage to rear doors. 4. Two models had a pop top roof tent/ kids sleeping quarters. No use for this. The aluminum ladder hangs from two hooks and could easily displace leading to accident. Failure to include any latch. Two ladder halves are joined by cheesy plastic insert. Picture a 190 lb adult torquing this thing. Picture the ensuing e.r.run in middle of your trip. 5. All vans had two joke seats for kids I guess behind driver. For your little angels who like to be as close to each other as humanly possible. Good luck with that. If you were to remove the seats the area below has quarter inch plywood over bath gear and is not suitable for the logical use of stacking crates of supplies you'll likely need. Totally wasted needed space. 6. Bathroom doors will break, quickly!! Terrible design, pair of bifolds that only open 90 degrees. Your kitchen has comparable 170 degree hinges so the door folds out if the way. Doors have strong magnet catch at only one point, hard to open, inadequate hinging so bottom opens before top, (may be weak particleboard?). WILL BREAK the first time someone is in a hurry or inevitably bangs into them or grabs them for support. Rear side would clear raised floor if trimmed two inches at bottom. Be prepared to fabricate your own Baltic birch ply doors with continuous piano hinging and multiple magnet catches if you buy this beast. 7. Zero none no handholds in or next to bathroom! Fabricators are clueless. 8. Two models had no ladder to roof. Those with ladders exhibited too hooks over doors rather than top bolts. Why, not secure. 9. Solar panels installed over roof rack with bolt shafts pointing up not down, protruding above rack. So they will tear the crap out of any kayak, lumber, chair or bike you successfully wrestle up there. Some sort of some antennae like protrudes high. 9. Look at caulking fiasco in roof. A trained monkey could do better than the obviously untrained installers. True for two inspected. 10. Did not measure but looks like 9 inch undercarriage clearance. Not nearly enough if you will ever turn around on crowned road, J turn on ramped drive entrance, or drive on potholed dirt road or uneven grassy RV site. Which is what you're buying it for,right? Shocked at 1.5 inch clearance between tire and wheel well. 1.5 inch stones, mud, ice will hang up especially if you get some decent knobby tires and will tear the crap out if all the cheap plastic wheel well housing and mudflaps. Be prepared to leave a litter I'd plastic debris behind. 11. Many small deficiencies in quality and installation of hardware and components were immediately obvious. 12. Rear bed shockingly above waist high. How the hell does a non limber person safely get in and out??! Considered ways to build a reasonably lower platform, stymied by all the built-ins. The bed height ended our hopes of buying and modifying this brand for our use. On to trailers and other brands.
Livability
3.0
Overall quality
2.0
Floorplan
2.0
Driving/towing
3.0
Factory warranty/support
3.0
...
Helpful (12)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Ed Le Cara

Texas

Reviewed on 2021-04-23

RV reviewed2021 Winnebago Travato 59G

View listings

5.0
I love this RV. Easy to drive and maintain. The Volta Lithium Battery is amazing. The Truma Heater keeps things nice and toasty in the cold weather. I do wish there was a four wheel drive option so I can easily take it to the snow. Hopefully someday!! Currently I use chains when I head to the mountains which is fine.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
5.0
...
Helpful (8)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Scott Baldassari

Arkansas

Reviewed on 2020-08-19

RV reviewed2016 Winnebago Travato 59G

View listings

5.0
With almost 4 years and 80,000 miles under its belt, My Travato has proven to be a life-changing experience for us. We have traveled all but a couple of different states in the US and made many great friends and memories. We had a couple of minor adjustments that needed to be made in the first month or two of ownership, and virtually no problems since then. The couple minor issues we HAVE had were handled quickly and without charge by Winnebago or its suppliers. I think I have invested $60.00 in "repairs and replacements" since purchase (a switch and an LP regulator). Winnebago has earned a loyal repeat customer with me.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
5.0
...
Helpful (17)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

jfsellers

Georgia

Reviewed on 2020-06-15

RV reviewed2021 Winnebago Travato 59G

View listings

3.8
This is the best all round camper plan for your money. Ride is good, seats are hard after couple of hours, gas mileage is about 16/mile, quality is good, warranty work is good. Group support is excellent.
Livability
3.0
Overall quality
4.0
Floorplan
4.0
Driving/towing
4.0
Factory warranty/support
4.0
...
Helpful (30)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

bill powell

Florida

Reviewed on 2020-05-30

RV reviewed2015 Winnebago Travato 59G

View listings

4.6
We owned this model of Winnebago Travato (59G) for three years. During the time we took several trips to the Carolina mountains and visited family and friends. We took one extended trip to California and Utah. During this time the vehicle performed extremely well under all conditions. We added external Thule storage pods and a tie down grid to the pre existing Fiamma factory roof rack. We also added a swing arm hitch mounted pod for the grill and chairs. This allowed more internal room for multiple family members. There are also two bike racks and a rack attachment for Kayak. The ease of maneuverability with a van type vehicle cannot be underestimated. It can be parked on a city street or campground. The turning radius is similar to an SUV. Camping off grid is no problem provided you check ground clearance. It is not a global expedition vehicle but does allow you to get off the beaten path and enjoy the scenic byways.
Livability
4.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
4.0
Factory warranty/support
5.0
...
Helpful (34)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 1 - 10 of 11 reviews

For sale near youRVs For Sale

Do you have an RV experience to share?

Help other RVers by leaving a review for an RV or dealership.

Write a review

Browse top RVs

Browse dealership reviews

Browse By State

Browse By Province