Write a review

RV Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

Floorplan

Thor Motor Coach Gemini reviews

3.2
Write a review
Liveability
3.4
Overall quality
2.3
Floorplan
3.5
Driving/towing
3.9
Factory warranty
2.8

For sale near youMatching RVs for sale near you

Top 10 RVs

Reviews

17 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

Nick Burns

New Jersey

Reviewed on 2017-01-31

RV reviewed2017 Thor Motor Coach Gemini 23TB

View listings

1.8
"Horribly disappointed" I had searched the rv scene for a while looking on some pretty particular features. I knew I wanted a Diesel engine, a couch rather than a dinette and a slide out the side so I could put a dirt bike on the back of the rv. I found the 2017 Gemini TB and it fit the bill. It is a purchase that I deeply regret as I have been very disappointed. The overall construction is extremely cheap. Multiple cabinet doors and a tv have fallen off their mountings just from road vibration. The hot water heater works 1 out every 5 times I try to use it. The unit came to me damaged with a broken valence and a dented ladder. The dealership ordered the parts months ago and they still haven't arrived from Thor. The bed support is incredibly cheap and flimsy. Other dealers had told me that Thor was cheap construction and I thought that would mean it just wouldn't have some of the nice fixtures that a Winnie or higher end brand would have. I didn't realize it would mean that it would literally fall apart while driving. At 10,000 miles and 6 months the rig seems more ready for retirement than repair. Nick
Livability
2.0
Overall quality
1.0
Floorplan
3.0
Driving/towing
2.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (113)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Gary leech

Maine

Reviewed on 2022-04-07

RV reviewed2022 Thor Motor Coach Gemini 23TW

View listings

2.6
The ford coach that it rests on is amazing. The Thor campa not so much. Many factory issues. Elec box cover not attached as cable wire and ground were looped over each other. Kitchen sink gurgles as vent was glued shut. Tub still gurgles when sink is draining. Multiple issues with battery system beeping. (Thank god for good sam techs.) Wall panel not attached above co alarm. Bed frame slats not installed properly esp. the one under my butt. The kitchen counter top and dinette covering is glued paper on a plastic base….really?? For $140k u can’t use something better than that. It’s already peeling and is 4 months old. An outlet behind the drivers seat was all afloat. Privacy curtain in the cab Velcro came off the first use. All the locks on the storage compartments were afloat/stuck. Inside drawer magnets fell off. When we first looked at the campa at the dealer the leveling jacks bar was sitting on the floor of the unit as we were told it fell off in transit. Yep. Shoulda known then it was shoddy workmanship. Overall very poor workmanship and even worse was the final inspection before it was sold. Thor should fire em all. Luckily I’m a fairly decent handyman and fixed many of the issues myself. The major ones with wiring, plumbing I’ve left for the warranty.
Livability
2.0
Overall quality
1.0
Floorplan
3.0
Driving/towing
4.0
Factory warranty/support
3.0
...
Helpful (2)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Anne Hunt

Virginia

Reviewed on 2021-03-06

RV reviewed2020 Thor Motor Coach Gemini 24SX

View listings

4.2
I bought this motorhome, my Mini Gem, in June 2020 at Motor Home Specialists in Alvarado Texas. My only other RV experience was a 3-week rental of a Winnebago Travato earlier in 2020. I have had many small problems and a couple of big problems with my Gemini (Mercedes Benz chassis) since purchase, but I love my motorhome, and am working with Thor to make my Gem everything I hoped it would be when I made the big investment as a 50 recent widow. I need to send out words of praise to Kayla Tee who monitors the Gemini/Compass Facebook group and steps in to offer assistance whenever she feels the group is not completely sufficient in their answers to other owners’ questions. And I especially need to praise Tristen Singleton who has helped me get reimbursement from Thor for defective batteries, other warranty problems that have happened during my travels, and given me some other important answers to questions that have vexed me as a newbie. He promptly answers emails and does research to try to address my issues. I did not feel this way about Thor until I made these two important connections, but as of this day, Kayla and Tristen have made my recent interactions with Thor a very “user friendly” experience, and they have my complete gratitude. I hope the executives at Thor read this review and give Kayla and Tristen big raises and lots of kudos for the goodwill they are generating for Thor by being excellent company representatives.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
3.0
Floorplan
4.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
4.0
...
Helpful (20)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

ElCapitain Superhawk

New York

Reviewed on 2021-01-21

RV reviewed2018 Thor Motor Coach Gemini 23TK

View listings

2.4
Thor and Camping World of Syracuse NY are of the worst two companies to do business with in the camping industry. We purchased a 2018 thor gemini 23TK new. We have never witnessed such incompetence with a company such as Camping World of Syracuse NY and Thor of Elkhardt Indiana. Right from strong arm tactics to force you to buy duplicate warenty packages, to service people who should be sweeping the floors not fixing coaches. Purchased this half finished piece of shit in December 2017. Zero quality assurance from the bottom side of this unit. Ie: gen exhuast straps not fastend, mud flaps never finished. Wiring just haning, no tie straps, truck tail pipe never tightened... Shortly after the purchase, went out on the first trip 65 days long. Please find the list of discrepancy's this coach demonstrated while on the first experience with it: 1.Slide out topper (Repair Paid for by Dodge's) 2.Refrigerator Door cover scratched CW service 3.Bed slats broken under bed 4.Kitchen sink window screen, broken latches 5.Fresh water tank plastic pipe filings and cut outs, causing 12v pump to cavitate 6.Licence plate holder installation (repaired by Seven O's, paid by Dodge's) 7.Dinette slide out trim re-fastening (repaired by Seven O's, paid by Dodge's) 8.Black water holding tank indicates full within the first week, no change in status 9.Venting issue, grey water tanks, only one is vented? Both valves must b open 10.Generator muffler clamp at manifold rubbing on gen shroud (Dodge paid repr) 11.Generator exh pipe, one screw exit coach 2nd hanger never bolted(Dodge paid repr) 12.Mud flaps bolts not tightened, bolts fell out, replaced. (Dodge paid repr) 13.Truck tail pipe muffler clamp never tightened, nut fell off (Dodge paid repr) 14.Grey
Livability
3.0
Overall quality
1.0
Floorplan
3.0
Driving/towing
4.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (31)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Douglas Wolford

Pennsylvania

Reviewed on 2020-09-22

RV reviewed2018 Thor Motor Coach Gemini 24TX

View listings

3.2
We are in our third season with the Gemini. The Sprinter chassis has been dependable and delivered great mileage during this time. Would definitely recommend any class B or C with a Sprinter chassis. The box is another story. Workmanship is poor and repairs are constant. Besides the little things like fixing drawers and replacing screws that are always falling out from somewhere the biggest issue so far was when the front cowl above the cab came loose in the beginning of the second season. The rattle made any trip unbearable. After a $700 fix its happening again in our third season. In my opinion this was more of a design issue than workmanship.Looking for a Class A next year. Won’t be a Thor product.
Livability
3.0
Overall quality
2.0
Floorplan
4.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
2.0
...
Helpful (36)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Karen Kenney

Florida

Reviewed on 2019-12-27

RV reviewed2017 Thor Motor Coach Gemini 23TR

View listings

3.2
Love my Gemini but..recalls yes, this past summer the Ford Transit Blew the turbo on a trip and as of Oct 31 it won’t start and has been in the Ford dearlership for going on 8 weeks. They have NO idea. What do I do now?
Livability
4.0
Overall quality
3.0
Floorplan
3.0
Driving/towing
4.0
Factory warranty/support
2.0
...
Helpful (74)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Jim K

Ohio

Reviewed on 2019-10-26

RV reviewed2019 Thor Motor Coach Gemini 23TK

View listings

3.6
Quite a few minor issues but every major component works well after we have made 4 trips. Had a poor experience with Camping World on initial pick up as the unit was not prepared for sale properly. I have not needed warranty work and thank goodness as you cant get anyone in the service department in the Georgetown Ky Camping World to answer the phone. Unit drives well except in high wind where it is a struggle. Every thing works well but had to learn how to use them with trial and error. As an example the unit has a flash water heating system but if you take a shower you will get repeat bouts of cold water coming through. By lowering the temp on the control and only using the hot water you get a warm continuous shower. Floor plan has worked well for a retired couple but would not be good for more than 2 people. Getting 15 mpg about what expected. Unit came missing DVD control and the Ford funnel used for the capless gas tank which I still hate and have not bought other Ford vehicles for many years. Also had an unusual curtain which did not fit the unit and had no way to fasten up. We purchased a curtain and rod that works fine. The DVD is in an odd location where when you open the door it hits the shelf, the door broke off due to this. Also be aware that the DVD works on only 1 TV of the three in the unit, not sure why they cant remedy this. Fridge and stove have worked great as well as the heat pump, Control panel is well laid out and easy to work with. Over all I very much like this Class B plus unit and would purchase again. I just wish that there was better attention to detail at Thor, better instruction manuals and that Camping World would not be a detriment to the experience.
Livability
4.0
Overall quality
3.0
Floorplan
4.0
Driving/towing
4.0
Factory warranty/support
3.0
...
Helpful (45)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Don OConnell

Alberta

Reviewed on 2019-10-07

RV reviewed2019 Thor Motor Coach Gemini 23TW

View listings

4.0
We just purchased our new 23tw two weeks ago. We have had a few glitches that are being addressed and repaired. We like the living space with the full slide, the drivability is very comfortable, the fuel mileage is very good, I kept the speed at 100 kph for 7 hours and got 20.4 mpg. My main problem at hand is the smell from the def system. It constantly smells. Their are no leaks on the injection system. Does anyone else have or had this problem?
Livability
4.0
Overall quality
3.0
Floorplan
4.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
4.0
...
Helpful (26)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Mitchell Crump

Texas

Reviewed on 2019-04-11

RV reviewed2017 Thor Motor Coach Gemini 23TB

View listings

4.2
We love the sizing and space. The fuel milage is good as well. Wish we had purchased the double side though. It parks almost anywhere. It road handles well. We have driven it to several states now couldn't be more pleased with its handling ability and interior design.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
4.0
Floorplan
4.0
Driving/towing
4.0
Factory warranty/support
4.0
...
Helpful (21)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Cathryn Collins

New Mexico

Reviewed on 2019-02-06

RV reviewed2017 Thor Motor Coach Gemini 24TS

View listings

1.0
This Thor Gemini 24TS Recreational Utility Vehicle (RUV) has been perfect for two of us and our dog. The unique floor plan maximizes space, and there is lots of storage inside and out. We had some warranty work done at Thor in Indiana last year and it is in top top shape.
Livability
1.0
Overall quality
1.0
Floorplan
1.0
Driving/towing
1.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (16)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 1 - 10 of 17 reviews

For sale near youRVs For Sale

Do you have an RV experience to share?

Help other RVers by leaving a review for an RV or dealership.

Write a review

Browse top RVs

Browse dealership reviews

Browse By State

Browse By Province