Write a review

RV Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

Floorplan

Thor Motor Coach Compass reviews

3.4
Write a review
Liveability
3.7
Overall quality
2.4
Floorplan
3.7
Driving/towing
4.5
Factory warranty
2.7

For sale near youMatching RVs for sale near you

Top 10 RVs

Reviews

15 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

Dave Akins

New York

Reviewed on 2019-02-12

RV reviewed2018 Thor Motor Coach Compass 23TR

View listings

4.2
I've read a number of negative reviews about the Compass. Some have been constructive and helpful, and some have simply been vindictive. Now, I'm throwing my counter point into this ring, with a different perspective about the Compass and about RV ownership. On the Ford side of this equation, our Compass has been a home run. We love the Transit's smooth ride and the diesel's power and breaking when driving through the mountains. Fuel economy has been in the 13-14 mpg range consistently. It's a breeze to park, the transmission in manual mode is very helpful down steep inclines, the AC easily handles the nastiest summer heat and our bony asymmetrical senior citizen rears are not fatigued after hours of driving in it. We've had No issues, whatsoever. On the Thor side, it's also been very good and the rig is precisely what I expected it to be. I've owned several trailers and boats and I've scratch built and restored more than a few, so I understand how these things are built and why they are affordable for the average guy or gal to buy, and I haven't had one negative surprise yet with the Compass. Yes, I've zip tied wire harnesses under the coach, fixed a mud flap issue, re-set a few of the cabinet doors and tightened up 50 screws. Yes, I've removed ceiling AC vents and vac'd out the Styrofoam particles, I've traced a screwy ckt to a defective fuse block holder, and I've replaced an HDMI cable that was badly routed under the chassis by the factory. When I've called Thor, they have been responsive and accurate. > It's no big deal < That's a good attitude to have when you own any RV because it's a bucket of bolts that moves in formation down the highway, and sooner or later you're going to need a tool kit and a book to find the loose ones. Or plan on writing checks. I didn't pay six figures for it and I didn't expect it to be flawless, nor do I drive back to the dealer every time it squeaks. If you're looking to buy a RV, then by all means do your homework and download a check list and plan on spending a half-day or more inspecting it. But also be realistic about how these things are made and priced affordably and be prepared to do some basic maintenance on it. Try to keep your high expectations in check, and just learn to enjoy the work as part of the whole RV "thing". You might as well, because you won't escape it. The rest of my efforts on our Compass have been focused entirely on making fun improvements to it and tricking it out with electronics, communications gear and making some of its systems easier to work with. Right now I'm building a custom cargo carrier with 18 sq' of stowage and a slide out BBQ grill. Then I'm doing a makeover for better hose storage with faster hook ups. So I'm really quite satisfied with my informed purchase. It's a helluva a lot of fun, it's very reliable, it's affordable, we get compliments on it everywhere we go, it allows us to spend more time together and it all performs quite well. And that's what this is all about, getting out, enjoying a slice of life and getting home safely.
Livability
3.0
Overall quality
4.0
Floorplan
4.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
5.0
...
Helpful (300)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Thomas Hincy

Washington

Reviewed on 2021-07-07

RV reviewed2021 Thor Motor Coach Compass 23TW

View listings

2.4
The dealer I bought it from did not do a PDI or even clean the unit. Had a 12 minute walk through Took it to the dealer to have warranty work done ie: satellite doesn't work, bolt coming up through the floor, dent in frame by windshield and just found out the 4 pin flat towing connector does not have power to the right tail light. When I took it to the dealer, which is 140 miles from home they kept it for six hours and said yes I need all those things but did nothing to fix any of the problems. Contacted Thor and they said take it to another dealer to check to see, what had already been confirmed to be a bad antenna by both a ford dealership and the rv dealer I bought the unit from, if the antenna is bad. Called other dealers and because I did not buy it from them they won't service it. I was told by many not to buy a Thor product and I should have listened to them.
Livability
4.0
Overall quality
1.0
Floorplan
3.0
Driving/towing
3.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (17)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Dale Antrim

North Carolina

Reviewed on 2021-06-26

RV reviewed2018 Thor Motor Coach Compass 23TB

View listings

4.6
I lived in this unit for 3 months while we traveled and visited family. The Ford element of this model is, by far and hands down, the best experience I could have had. It handled like a dream in rain, ice and snow. The motor is amazing. The dependability of the unit totally surprised me. It is an amazing vehicle. We loved it. The only area of critique is the way they build them inside to save weight. It makes for a little flimsier experience. You need to be careful. It does start to get small, but you find your rhythm AND it isn't a Class B which is twice the price and even smaller. This unit parks almost anywhere. I had a spare tire mount and bike rack on the back. I would pull into a Pilot, etc. and find a spot with grass on the drivers side and room to back over in the rear and put out the slide. Slept well and was comfortable. A little overkill on the TVs but we used the sleeper one with a Roku stick. Worked beautifully. Overall, this unit comes highly recommended. I am very pleased with our choice and now that we are selling, am sad to see it go.
Livability
4.0
Overall quality
4.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
5.0
...
Helpful (24)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

David Moore

Colorado

Reviewed on 2021-06-26

RV reviewed2021 Thor Motor Coach Compass 23TW

View listings

3.0
Bought new 6/4/21. Delivered with broken BMPRO (control center) mount, skylight box not attached at factory, and the overhead center console dropped out of the ceiling while driving home to Colorado. Almost had an accident when that one happened. Coach door does not lock, as it was warped at delivery. High Pointe stove rattled so loud I thought it would break, delivered with two out of four pads missing. The top of the stove is not installed square, so the glass vibrates when on the highway. Sirius XM radio has an Antenna Fault and does not work. No one is accepting accountability for this one. I think the antenna was simply not connected at the build, or broken during assembly, but have no idea and no one is helping. This week I removed all of the drawers and found most of the glides installed with a single 3/8" screw and the catch installed on broken 1"X1" blocks that were stapled in and not glued. I had to repair all of them. Sawdust keeps appearing mysteriously on the bathroom floor and in the corner of the bedroom. I have only had contact with Thor on these issues twice, as they are extremely hard to get on the phone. One representative (Terry) was very attentive, but unable to do anything for me except ship a new BMPro mounting bracket directly to me (I got it). The other representative gave me phone numbers of Thor dealers to call and try to arrange a warranty service. No way in this market. Luckily, I have a dealer in Grand Junction that has been trying to help. They have been great. The selling center has not helped once. The Ford chassis and engine are fantastic. The 3.5 EcoTech engine is a dream to drive in the mountains, and AWD seems to function great. Gas mileage is about 12 now, but I think as it breaks in will improve. Goes easily with traffic on the interstates. I really think once all of these issues are resolved, I will have a fantastic little motorhome. I would recommend to any buyer to thoroughly go through your new coach for the above details and TEST drive your unit before you pay. For me, I installed a second solar panel and battery, but failed to have an inverter installed. I would highly recommend this as the generator works great, but is noisy for neighbors, even when boon docking.
Livability
4.0
Overall quality
1.0
Floorplan
4.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (11)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

JOHN R LYNCH

Arizona

Reviewed on 2021-05-16

RV reviewed2021 Thor Motor Coach Compass TE

View listings

4.8
Luxurious, spacious living area and bathroom area. Nice light colors and windows - super Ford Transit chassis , great drivability, power up hills, and economy of 3.5 eco-turbo gas engine, 410hp, 400 ft-lbs torque 12.5-14 mpg over mountains to San Diego - well equipped and literally better than new - kept under cover since February delivery - selling due to family crisis -perfect and ready at this great price!!! - 1 trip to Coronado Beach in California - no issues, few cosmetic minor things at LaMesa RV for 1st courtesy servicing Only 3300 miles total - has 2086 as delivered new to us.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
4.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
5.0
...
Helpful (5)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Thomas Sanders

South Carolina

Reviewed on 2021-03-17

RV reviewed2019 Thor Motor Coach Compass 24SX

View listings

3.2
While advertised as sleeping 4, it really only sleeps 2 adults comfortably. This unit is just right for 2 adults. With 4 adults, it is overcrowded. The systems are intuitive and easy to use. The MBZ Diesel Engine is powerful. Handling on the interstate or on a mountain road is very good.
Livability
3.0
Overall quality
3.0
Floorplan
3.0
Driving/towing
4.0
Factory warranty/support
3.0
...
Helpful (15)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

R. Couture

Ontario

Reviewed on 2020-08-01

RV reviewed2018 Thor Motor Coach Compass 23TR

View listings

5.0
Really enjoy this motorhome eventhough I did not had the chance to use it to its full potential due to health condition. Easy to drive and park because his size.All you need for a nice and comfortable trip.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
5.0
...
Helpful (30)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Charles Edward White

Texas

Reviewed on 2020-07-26

RV reviewed2017 Thor Motor Coach Compass 23TR

View listings

4.0
This is a new RV for us , we have never owned a RV before we are happy and excited about this.We have a trip planned with our son and his family for next summer that will be so much fun with the grandaughters we have two 8 and 5 years old they are great.
Livability
4.0
Overall quality
4.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
4.0
Factory warranty/support
3.0
...
Helpful (21)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Carl Smith

Arkansas

Reviewed on 2020-04-07

RV reviewed2018 Thor Motor Coach Compass 23TB

View listings

3.0
Bought this unit brand new. Could fill a page with all that has gone wrong or just did not work. It is so sad that the quality of work is so poor. I really cannot believe there is any quality control on there units. Parts used, such as bathroom sink, tv switch control, bed slates, etc are just the cheapest money can buy. My unit had spent way too much time in the shop during the first year. Look elsewhere
Livability
3.0
Overall quality
1.0
Floorplan
3.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
3.0
...
Helpful (41)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Tom Jackson

Wyoming

Reviewed on 2020-03-13

RV reviewed2018 Thor Motor Coach Compass 23TK

View listings

2.8
the concept is great, and my wife loves the floor plan. as for the "workmanship and quality control", they don't exist, the wiring under the unit was a mess,some of it wasn't hooked up,and some was to the wrong place. The mud flap was tied up with a plastic zip tie which was also holding up tail pipe for the generator, when the pipe got hot everything fell to the ground. the gray tank for the shower had the cut out piece at the top of tank fall in tank and ended up restricting the gate valve emptying the tank. the vent for the plumbing was restricted from working because some filings and putty were dropped in from the top making it impossible for the sinks to drain when both were full. the 7 way plug used when pulling a trailer was dangling by a wire, as was the propane hookup for a grill blowing in the wind, these are just a few the things I have addressed, dining room table great idea but total junk I completely overhauled it. I understand it is like an earth quake on the road things shake loose, I've had a number rvs', but I don't think I have ever seen kind of workmanship. I'm extremely disappointed. As far as the FORD TRANSIT goes, the motor is great power and mileage are super,however we are having lots of trouble with the exaust filter, we have been to 3 big FORD dealer ships, one of them we went to, made the comment this is the first one I've seen in an RV you are not supposed to let them idle with a "CHUCKLE". It is a lot of money to spend on something new for a good time, of 11000 miles in a year 3000 were a good time, we are seriously thinking about trading it in, talk about a waste of money!!!! Don't buy anything RV wise that has THOR on it, there is way too many of us having the same problems.
Livability
3.0
Overall quality
1.0
Floorplan
4.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (33)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 1 - 10 of 15 reviews

For sale near youRVs For Sale

Do you have an RV experience to share?

Help other RVers by leaving a review for an RV or dealership.

Write a review

Browse top RVs

Browse dealership reviews

Browse By State

Browse By Province