Write a review

RV Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

Floorplan

Grand Design Transcend Xplor reviews

3.8
Write a review
Liveability
4.3
Overall quality
3.0
Floorplan
4.3
Driving/towing
4.4
Factory warranty
3.0

For sale near youMatching RVs for sale near you

Top 10 RVs

Reviews

14 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

Tim Mccorry

Alabama

Reviewed on 2020-03-15

RV reviewed2020 Grand Design Transcend Xplor 221RB

View listings

3.8
Bought a 2020 221rb Transcend Xplor. Love the floor plan, However I have had numerous issues. GD has been responsive so far but I'm getting tired of the LEAKS ! I have only moved this unit Twice. Once to a Campground and now back to my property to repair leaks. Biggest issue has been sidewall caulking has bubbled and cracked in 16 areas in less than 5 months. I've had 2 rain water leaks that soaked insulation and wood which I had to dry out. Had black tank flush flood my back wall first time I used it. Seriously doubt at this point I would buy another Grand Design. After 2 years of research I can't even put into words how disappointed I am with this trailer.
Livability
4.0
Overall quality
2.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
3.0
...
Helpful (64)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Debby

Alabama

Reviewed on 2022-04-22

RV reviewed2021 Grand Design Transcend Xplor 231RK

View listings

3.4
We bought our travel trailer on July 9th in 2021. Brand new. We have camped in it 4 times. We kept it in a inclosed building through the winter. Second trip we took it to Branson Missouri. Get it set up, the refrigerator didn’t work. Fuss blowed out. It is set in we’re you have to take the refrigerator out. About to take fifth trip. Got everything ready and the slide out will not go back in. Can’t get the traveling repair man out here, he is on vacation. Needless to say I am very disappointed in my brand new grand design
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
1.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (2)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

A Chris Babcock

Texas

Reviewed on 2022-04-13

RV reviewed2021 Grand Design Transcend Xplor 245RL

View listings

5.0
My wife and I are RN's and used this camper for only 6 months while working in Texas. My job location changed and the camper is no longer needed. All components that make this ready to use will be included i.e. hoses, blocks heated lines etc. The slide out has a canopy that is after market. We only drove this camper less than 400 miles and is currently in covered storage in KERRVILLE, Texas.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Terry Matejka

Missouri

Reviewed on 2021-11-01

RV reviewed2021 Grand Design Transcend Xplor 245RL

View listings

3.8
We like the floor plan and the large bathroom and bedroom in the 245RL our trailer had problems with the plumbing leaking in three different places on our first trip. I found a place where the sealant was miss applied on the slide roof the slide trim inside was bowed out of the wall and the worst problem was that the siding on the rear of the camper had several spots where the staples were poking out through the metal siding not penetrating but leaving a dimple. I do not think that should have left the factory our the dealer without being repaired. We now are into the the fourth month of trying to get the repairs completed on the camper and are very frustrated with the dealers service department (Bill Thomas Camper Sales) third trip to dealer and more than a month at shop and still waiting for repairs to be finished!
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
2.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
2.0
...
Helpful (5)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Paul Wersing

Pennsylvania

Reviewed on 2021-08-08

RV reviewed2021 Grand Design Transcend Xplor 245RL

View listings

2.6
I purchased this RV in March of this year, and it was taken to a seasonal site. We had a problem from the beginning with the cover for the water heater that was bent on the unit when we looked at it, and dealer stated it would be fixed, then at the walk thru it still wasn’t fixed, we were assured it would be, then when it was delivered it was missing. So called dealer they gave me wrong cover so I called Grand Design and they ordered one and 2 months later we had it. I replaced it, that was the first small issue, then we noticed water spilling from the tank over flow that floods the area, asked Grand Design representative about that they gave me directions to operated the valve. This is hooked to “city water” I did not want to fill the tank, the valve failed and the tank fills, and the overflow tube floods the area around the trailer, nice! Did a service call to the dealer, scheduled a tech visit to the site which took several weeks , then on the 5th the morning of the service scheduled I am at the site, the dealer calls me the tech got sick now 2 more weeks for a visit, and hoping he has the right part to fix it , this dumps a load of water and nice mosquito attraction. Then the gas valve recall, shouldn’t use your gas appliances, stove, oven or heat, great also scheduled with the dealer a visit to replace that, But they are back ordered and can’t get them, now I sit out in a flooded campsite, can’t use the stove or oven and heat probably rest of this season, what a bargain on a 28k new trailer, also bathroom toilet need plunged on normal use never had to do that on any previous trailers I had! My 1999 Coachman never had this many problems for 5 K! I am sorry I bought this unit, been a miserable experience Very disgusted, bought the extended warranty but can’t get anything fixed under the original warranty! Who knows what’s next to go?? I
Livability
3.0
Overall quality
2.0
Floorplan
3.0
Driving/towing
3.0
Factory warranty/support
2.0
...
Helpful (11)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Richard Willoughby

Wisconsin

Reviewed on 2021-07-24

RV reviewed2020 Grand Design Transcend Xplor 265BH

View listings

3.6
Have had for 2 years and used one month and two trips of 1500 miles. No towing issues or mechanical issues. Only problem is a pungent smell in the trailer that gets in your clothes and will not go away. Tried the usual de-gassing procedures but to no avail. Trailer layout is good with front bedroom and bath separate from living area. Wife has Asthma so I will try ammonia treatment next to try and decrease smell.
Livability
4.0
Overall quality
4.0
Floorplan
4.0
Driving/towing
4.0
Factory warranty/support
2.0
...
Helpful (5)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Kurt M Wise

Missouri

Reviewed on 2021-06-12

RV reviewed2021 Grand Design Transcend Xplor 231RK

View listings

3.0
Having purchased 3/2/21 1st trip cold water leak at water heater had to tighten hose down, running off fresh water tank so pressure wasn't that bad. 2nd trip hooked all lines up with pressure regulator on water line off city water in Oklahoma, Hot water leak at water heater, spraying water inside bureau and towel cubbies by shower. Had to stop at dealership in Fort Worth to have them manufacture a whole new harness for hot water tank connections,water damage to wood. 3rd trip out dust cover
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
1.0
Floorplan
4.0
Driving/towing
4.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (4)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Lonnie Hamilton

Oklahoma

Reviewed on 2021-04-05

RV reviewed2020 Grand Design Transcend Xplor 265BH

View listings

5.0
This has been an excellent travel trailer for us. Outstanding Floorplan. No issues at all. Love the walk through bathroom from living room into bedroom. Two outside doors. One into the living room and one into the bedroom.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
5.0
...
Helpful (12)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Robert

Tennessee

Reviewed on 2021-03-16

RV reviewed2021 Grand Design Transcend Xplor 245RL

View listings

2.6
We purchased this rv 10 days ago and brought it out camping this past weekend. Wow!!! It's brand new and the window behind the chairs leaks and won't open ( how long has this been going on sitting on the lot, hmmmm ). With the awning out water comes down the side if the rv and on the other side the rain gutter leaks everywhere, come on. Wait, the empty kitchen drawers open up when driving and both buckle straps on the sliding inside doors broke. So. E mail grand design and they just give me some generic warranty response to find a dealer to get it fixed. So I totally disagree on this because they should contact a mobile dealer and have this stuff fixed on my property. Crappy customer service, and so far crappy quality control... Heck I haven't even made a payment yet...
Livability
4.0
Overall quality
2.0
Floorplan
3.0
Driving/towing
3.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (33)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Arnold Kellogg

Wisconsin

Reviewed on 2020-12-21

RV reviewed2019 Grand Design Transcend xplor 247BH

View listings

4.2
so, I have a grand design 247 bh, it is overall pretty good but the insulation is not very great. I went on a trip this spring to North Dakota and it survived the trip. If you want to go in weather below freezing, you would probably want consistent power cuz you can really feel the temp drop when the heater is off. Most of the heat goes into the master bedroom, so if you are sleeping in the bunk, you might want a lot of blankets. All and all, most other travel trailers like this would be the same quality. Nothing leaks, but in cold temps, you would want to keep your sink running or everything will freeze. It is worth the price but I might get a fiberglass model next time for insulation.
Livability
4.0
Overall quality
3.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
4.0
...
Helpful (12)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 1 - 10 of 14 reviews

For sale near youRVs For Sale

Do you have an RV experience to share?

Help other RVers by leaving a review for an RV or dealership.

Write a review

Browse top RVs

Browse dealership reviews

Browse By State

Browse By Province