Write a review

RV Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

Floorplan

Grand Design Transcend Xplor reviews

3.7 (18 reviews)
Write a review
Liveability
4.0
Overall quality
3.0
Floorplan
4.3
Driving/towing
4.4
Factory warranty
2.9

For sale near youMatching RVs for sale near you

See all

Top 10 RVs

Reviews

Stars Refinement

18 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

Karen Pierpont

Reviewed on 2023-01-28

RV reviewed 2021 Grand Design Transcend Xplor 245RL view listing

2.4
We like the floor plan but that’s about all we like. We choose Grand design thinking we were getting a top notch product.The trailer has been used 4 times by 2 adults and so far we have had 4 water leaks and now we have to install a new leaking toilet. The shower floor felt weak so the repair man looked under the shower floor and 3/4ths the floor is reinforced and 1/4 th of the floor isn’t reinforced. So I guess the next problem will be replacing the shower floor. No I would not buy a Grand Design no matter how beautiful they look on the outside. Our 20 year old Sunline trailer was made well and we never had any problems. The only thing good about this RV is the inside lay out. Hope this review is helpful & taken seriously.
Livability
1.0
Overall quality
1.0
Floorplan
4.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (0)

Flag

Flag this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

George Leduc

Ontario

Reviewed on 2022-08-30

RV reviewed 2022 Grand Design Transcend Xplor 265BH view listing

4.0
We took our 2022 256BH out for a test run last week and loved the layout., although not crazy with the walkthrough bathroom. There are a few flaws in the design of the trailer that could be improved upon. Safety wise, there are no side flashers when turning for people in your blind spot. Storage under the dinette and couch are not high enough to store a case of bottled water. The kitchen window opens up behind the door when opened, therefore useless during the day. It would be worth the extra cost to have a window that opens beside the couch. The curtains are see through at night with interior lights turned on. It would be nice to be able to manage the lights in the main room, they are either all on or off. The light over the bed is so bright that it's blinding when lying down. And finally the connections under the trailer for propane, black and grey water are so far back that you have to get on your knees to find them. besides the listed shortfalls we really enjoyed our experience with it so far.
Livability
4.0
Overall quality
4.0
Floorplan
4.0
Driving/towing
4.0
Factory warranty/support
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Flag

Flag this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Warren Wilbratte

Louisiana

Reviewed on 2022-07-09

RV reviewed 2022 Grand Design Transcend Xplor 265BH view listing

2.6
They were happy to sell us an RV but didn't care to work with us to fix the problems we're having. Both Chris in sales and Greg in service told us we bought an RV with the largest ac unit, 1500 btus, that the unit was capable of handling. I read the brochures, removed the filter on the unit and found out that it was a smaller unit. The unit runs so much that the 30 amp breaker heats up to the point that we are unable to use the microwave to cook for our grandchildren. They have the RV and can't find anything wrong with it. The videos my wife took of me repeatedly resetting the main breaker show how poorly a design this RV is. They keep telling us its just the way they design these units. Its like dental work, they haven't made any upgrades in decades. Warren Wilbratte
Livability
2.0
Overall quality
2.0
Floorplan
4.0
Driving/towing
4.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (0)

Flag

Flag this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Jeanne Exum

Maryland

Reviewed on 2022-06-09

RV reviewed 2021 Grand Design Transcend Xplor 260RB view listing

4.8
We love our Grand Design Transcend Xplor 260RB. The quality is outstanding with real wood front cabinets and a porcelain toilet. It's the perfect couple's camper with a large rear bathroom and tons of storage. Having the sink across from the fridge and stove is really great and adds extra storage and counter space for the coffee maker. The AC is also really good and heating. We highly recommend this model for anyone looking for a travel trailer for couples.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Flag

Flag this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Debby

Alabama

Reviewed on 2022-04-22

RV reviewed 2021 Grand Design Transcend Xplor 231RK view listing

3.4
We bought our travel trailer on July 9th in 2021. Brand new. We have camped in it 4 times. We kept it in a inclosed building through the winter. Second trip we took it to Branson Missouri. Get it set up, the refrigerator didn’t work. Fuss blowed out. It is set in we’re you have to take the refrigerator out. About to take fifth trip. Got everything ready and the slide out will not go back in. Can’t get the traveling repair man out here, he is on vacation. Needless to say I am very disappointed in my brand new grand design
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
1.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (0)

Flag

Flag this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

A Chris Babcock

Texas

Reviewed on 2022-04-13

RV reviewed 2021 Grand Design Transcend Xplor 245RL view listing

5.0
My wife and I are RN's and used this camper for only 6 months while working in Texas. My job location changed and the camper is no longer needed. All components that make this ready to use will be included i.e. hoses, blocks heated lines etc. The slide out has a canopy that is after market. We only drove this camper less than 400 miles and is currently in covered storage in KERRVILLE, Texas.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Flag

Flag this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Terry Matejka

Missouri

Reviewed on 2021-11-01

RV reviewed 2021 Grand Design Transcend Xplor 245RL view listing

3.8
We like the floor plan and the large bathroom and bedroom in the 245RL our trailer had problems with the plumbing leaking in three different places on our first trip. I found a place where the sealant was miss applied on the slide roof the slide trim inside was bowed out of the wall and the worst problem was that the siding on the rear of the camper had several spots where the staples were poking out through the metal siding not penetrating but leaving a dimple. I do not think that should have left the factory our the dealer without being repaired. We now are into the the fourth month of trying to get the repairs completed on the camper and are very frustrated with the dealers service department (Bill Thomas Camper Sales) third trip to dealer and more than a month at shop and still waiting for repairs to be finished!
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
2.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
2.0
...
Helpful (0)

Flag

Flag this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Paul Wersing

Pennsylvania

Reviewed on 2021-08-08

RV reviewed 2021 Grand Design Transcend Xplor 245RL view listing

2.6
I purchased this RV in March of this year, and it was taken to a seasonal site. We had a problem from the beginning with the cover for the water heater that was bent on the unit when we looked at it, and dealer stated it would be fixed, then at the walk thru it still wasn’t fixed, we were assured it would be, then when it was delivered it was missing. So called dealer they gave me wrong cover so I called Grand Design and they ordered one and 2 months later we had it. I replaced it, that was the first small issue, then we noticed water spilling from the tank over flow that floods the area, asked Grand Design representative about that they gave me directions to operated the valve. This is hooked to “city water” I did not want to fill the tank, the valve failed and the tank fills, and the overflow tube floods the area around the trailer, nice! Did a service call to the dealer, scheduled a tech visit to the site which took several weeks , then on the 5th the morning of the service scheduled I am at the site, the dealer calls me the tech got sick now 2 more weeks for a visit, and hoping he has the right part to fix it , this dumps a load of water and nice mosquito attraction. Then the gas valve recall, shouldn’t use your gas appliances, stove, oven or heat, great also scheduled with the dealer a visit to replace that, But they are back ordered and can’t get them, now I sit out in a flooded campsite, can’t use the stove or oven and heat probably rest of this season, what a bargain on a 28k new trailer, also bathroom toilet need plunged on normal use never had to do that on any previous trailers I had! My 1999 Coachman never had this many problems for 5 K! I am sorry I bought this unit, been a miserable experience Very disgusted, bought the extended warranty but can’t get anything fixed under the original warranty! Who knows what’s next to go?? I
Livability
3.0
Overall quality
2.0
Floorplan
3.0
Driving/towing
3.0
Factory warranty/support
2.0
...
Helpful (0)

Flag

Flag this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Richard Willoughby

Wisconsin

Reviewed on 2021-07-24

RV reviewed 2020 Grand Design Transcend Xplor 265BH view listing

3.6
Have had for 2 years and used one month and two trips of 1500 miles. No towing issues or mechanical issues. Only problem is a pungent smell in the trailer that gets in your clothes and will not go away. Tried the usual de-gassing procedures but to no avail. Trailer layout is good with front bedroom and bath separate from living area. Wife has Asthma so I will try ammonia treatment next to try and decrease smell.
Livability
4.0
Overall quality
4.0
Floorplan
4.0
Driving/towing
4.0
Factory warranty/support
2.0
...
Helpful (0)

Flag

Flag this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 1 - 10 of 18 reviews

For sale near youRVs For Sale

See all

Do you have an RV experience to share?

Help other RVers by leaving a review for an RV or dealership.

Write a review

Browse top RVs

Browse dealership reviews

Browse By State

Browse By Province