Write a review

RV Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

Floorplan

Grand Design Reflection 5th Wheel reviews

3.9
Write a review
Liveability
4.1
Overall quality
3.4
Floorplan
4.6
Driving/towing
4.4
Factory warranty
3.0

For sale near youMatching RVs for sale near you

See all

Top 10 5th Wheels

Reviews

Stars Refinement

169 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

Stephen Kimball

Reviewed on 2022-12-28

RV reviewed 2022 Grand Design Reflection 313RLTS view listing

3.2
As a guest in this 5th wheel, I found it roomy enough for 8 humans and four dogs. With the freeze of Christmas 2022, I found sleeping arrangements much to be desired. The living room fireplace couldn't heat the area sufficiently to take the iciness out of the air. The furniture that converts into sleeping spaces were build for people under 5 feet tall. Drafts were noticeable in the outside corners of the slides and back end. Floors were ice cold so stretching out was a hyperthermia starter. Black and gray tanks froze solid.
Livability
3.0
Overall quality
3.0
Floorplan
4.0
Driving/towing
3.0
Factory warranty/support
3.0
...
Helpful (0)

Flag

Flag this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Jeremy

Reviewed on 2022-11-06

RV reviewed 2019 Grand Design Reflection 311BHS view listing

3.0
I purchased a Grand Design RV because they reportedly were a high quality unit and excelled at customer service. My refrigerator failed after the first year and was repaired under warranty. The repair failed less than a year later. This time I was told I was on the hook for repairs as the warranty had expired. This in spite of the ongoing problems with the refrigerator. I called Grand Design and they couldn't have cared less. They said it was Dometic's problem as they manufactured the refrigerator. I was stunned that a company that advertised themselves as wanting customers for life treats their customers this way. Grand Design doesn't stand behind their product. To say that they have customer service is an oxymoron.
Livability
3.0
Overall quality
3.0
Floorplan
4.0
Driving/towing
4.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (0)

Flag

Flag this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Jeremy

Reviewed on 2022-11-03

RV reviewed 2019 Grand Design Reflection 311BHS view listing

3.0
We bought this RV because Grand Design was purported as producing a high quality product with an emphasis on customer service. The overall quality of the RV is good but the Dometic components are junk. Also, Grand Design customer service is non-existent. Their mode of operation is to sidestep any responsibility for problems and defer the customer to the manufacturer of the problematic component. The customer has to do all of the leg work! When the warranty expires you are on your own whether the problem is fixed or not.
Livability
3.0
Overall quality
3.0
Floorplan
4.0
Driving/towing
4.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (0)

Flag

Flag this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Jeremy

Reviewed on 2022-11-03

RV reviewed 2019 Grand Design Reflection 311BHS view listing

3.0
We love the layout and it tows nice but pray no problems arise. Grand Design claims to make customer service a priority but nothing could be further from the truth. Their customer service procedure is simply to shirk responsibility and defer you to the manufacturer of whatever component you have problems with. The customer is left to fend for themself and at their expense.
Livability
3.0
Overall quality
3.0
Floorplan
4.0
Driving/towing
4.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (0)

Flag

Flag this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Craig

Wisconsin

Reviewed on 2022-10-06

RV reviewed 2020 Grand Design Reflection 313RLTS view listing

2.4
We will never buy another reflection again! When we bought the camper brand new the slide would not come out cause the motor was to weak. So they fixed it. Now a 1 1/2 yrs later its doing the same thing! When we bought the camper we took out the extended warranty right away cause we didnt want to get stuck with paying for something major. And here we are and Looks like you guys are going to cover this junk! The slide is one of 15 things wrong with the camper! The slide is more of the major thing and you guys just rip people off with this extended warranty and then dont cover shit! Then give me my money back since I cant even use the warranty!
Livability
2.0
Overall quality
2.0
Floorplan
4.0
Driving/towing
3.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (0)

Flag

Flag this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Christina l Boyer

Arizona

Reviewed on 2022-10-04

RV reviewed 2021 Grand Design Reflection 313RLTS view listing

1.0
Absolutely loved the Grand Design Reflection 5th wheel when purchased. However, that became a love hate relationship very quickly. Immediately started having various problems with the 5th wheel. What topped it off is that it is now an 80k+ paperweight. The slide out completely fell out of the 5th wheel and almost crushed a person when it did. Due to manufacture defect. Grand design now refuses to work with on getting it repaired. This company is going through multiple lawsuits for manufacturer defects that they don't want to and refuse to do anything about. My advice to anyone that is looking at any of their products. Do your research. We will never purchase anything from this company. We will make sure that we let everyone that we know not to purchase from them as well. I will be going on every website that I can to leave a review and warn other people about Grand Designs Business practices. Shame on them!
Livability
1.0
Overall quality
1.0
Floorplan
1.0
Driving/towing
1.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (0)

Flag

Flag this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Carl Loeb

Washington

Reviewed on 2022-09-19

RV reviewed 2022 Grand Design Reflection MB31 view listing

3.6
5,000 mile review of new Reflection MB31 We traded a well-used Reflection 303RLS in for a new MB31 in March, 2022. We selected this design because it provides a separate bunkhouse and sleeping area. The purpose of this review is to advise those buying a new Reflection what to expect – the Good, and the Bad. First, the good. Since this is our second Reflection, we clearly think the brand is our best, or at least a perfectly acceptable choice. The layout of the MB31 is great, providing us a completely separate sleeping area with two bunks, one of which provides a lot of extra storage of gear and the other used by my bride, who thinks I snore. Harrumph. I sleep in the forward cabin. There are a few nice improvements in this Reflection vs. our older, 2016 unit. They did away with the carpet in the cargo storage areas in favor of a much easier to maintain vinyl. A ceiling fan is included which is dead silent, and can run all the time keeping humidity under control, which was a problem in the older unit on cold nights with two adults and two dogs. The supplied equipment – refer, microwave, water heater, etc. all work pretty well, except as noted below. The auto leveler If everything on the unit was great, this could be a shorter review, but it all isn’t great, so here’s the Bad. All of this is stuff that Grand Design could control if they wanted to. While Reflection generally scores very well, as compared to other brands, with RVs that is a bit like saying they are the cleanest shirt in the dirty clothes hamper. There are so many little things that if they cared about quality, they could fix. But they don’t, so here’s a list of the stuff that has to be fixed after just three weeks on the road: 1. Trim pieces covering the seams of interior walls fall off because they use very tiny staples to attach these cover strips, and they don’t hold. Be prepared to glue them in place with a bit of epoxy. 2. I suppose in order to save weight, GD uses faux wood in many places that appears to be highly compressed fiber of some sort, covered with a thin vinyl that looks sort of like wood. It’s very hard to tell where this material is used vs. actual wood because they all look the same, but where ever this fiber lumber is used, any end cuts act like a wick for any moisture present. So, if they used this rubbish only in places that never get wet, it might not be an issue, but they use it in the bathroom, right next to the shower in trim pieces for the bathroom cabinet. This material absorbs water about as well as a paper towel, so after three dozen uses of the shower, enough water was wicked up that the stuff delaminated. GD could fix this by not using the material in wet areas, or by caulking the seam where the stuff touches the flooring and where the water wicks in. They do neither, so the fix is to peel back the vinyl, scrap off some of the saturated fiber, dry it thoroughly, then seal with thin epoxy and caulking to keep water out. 3. Wood trim pieces on the foot of the slideouts fall off. Again, epoxy is your friend. 4. Interior doors are all sliders, and GD installs a track guide at the bottom of each door to prevent the door from swinging. These immediately fall apart as they are just cheesy plastic, and with the exception of one sliding door into the bunk house aren’t needed, since the pocket keeps the door from swinging. One such guide was screwed into the wood door frame trim in such a way that when you closed the door, it caught on the guide and ripped the trim piece off. Reapply the trim with epoxy, since GD uses the same cheap staples to attach it in the first place, or simply junk the guides before using the units. 5. On one of the pocket doors, a staple used to attach a thin piece of plywood to the interior frame was never completely sunk, so scraped the vinyl faux wood skin off in places. Short of removing walls, the only fix was to purchase a piece of flat steel from Ace Hardware, and use it to reach the staple and bend it over. This is just lousy Q.C. indicative of GD’s overall attitude towards quality. 6. In the forward bedroom there is a separate thermostat that controls the heat. However, GD thought that a great place to mount this thermostat was directly above the heat vent, so the minute it calls for heat, the stat registers 90 degrees and shuts off the heat. I have no clue why they include a separate stat in the bedroom, since the once that controls heat and a/c mounted in the living area also heats the bedroom. This is not so much a quality issue as a “what are these people thinking” kind of thing that again, speaks to GD’s Q.C. The fix is to ignore this thermostat and it is without useful function. 7. In our old unit, we had a hot water heater – 6 gallons I recall – and I don’t recall running out of hot water. In this unit, they installed a continuous flow heater that gives you unlimited hot water. The problem is, you have to run a couple gallons of water before it gets
Livability
3.0
Overall quality
3.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
4.0
Factory warranty/support
3.0
...
Helpful (0)

Flag

Flag this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Denise Durgin

New Hampshire

Reviewed on 2022-09-17

RV reviewed 2020 Grand design Reflection 303RLS view listing

3.2
We have several issues with this one despite buying it new. The auto leveling system no longer works well. The oven had to be replaced. The water heater fuse blew. The handle broke on the fridge. The replacement oven won't light. The roof developed cracks. A ceiling light needs replacing. And the icing on the cake you ask? The hitch doesn't allow for a tight turn and the corner of the trailer hit and broke the back window of the truck. The dealer says that it's installed correctly and shouldn't have happened.
Livability
3.0
Overall quality
3.0
Floorplan
4.0
Driving/towing
3.0
Factory warranty/support
3.0
...
Helpful (0)

Flag

Flag this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Tim Rodoni

Oregon

Reviewed on 2022-09-16

RV reviewed 2021 Grand Design Reflection 313RLTS view listing

2.2
Beware this manufacturer, to say their quality is substandard is an understatement. I have a Grand Design Reflection 2021 that from the start had a significant number of issues. These ranged from improperly assembled plumbing to construction debris under the bedroom carpet to faulty cabinetry and even up to and including replacing the oven as it never worked. If you're looking for something you intend to use, I would advise you to look elsewhere. It's clear their quality and quality control is severely lacking. All of the issues I have experienced that resulted in my RV spending more time being repaired than being used, could have been prevented with even a modicum of quality control. It's easy to blame the manufacturer of the given appliance, as GD did, instead of owning their products quality. Even still, many of the issues had nothing to do with an appliance manufacturer. While under warranty, GD did cover most of the repairs, but it should never have come to that. In total, in the relatively short time I used my RV, I had over 50 notable issues. Your money is better spent elsewhere, I cannot caution you enough. Note: The dealers lackluster or failure to repair, further contributed to my overall negative experience.
Livability
1.0
Overall quality
1.0
Floorplan
4.0
Driving/towing
4.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (0)

Flag

Flag this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • ...
  • 17
  • 1 - 10 of 169 reviews

For sale near youRVs For Sale

See all

Do you have an RV experience to share?

Help other RVers by leaving a review for an RV or dealership.

Write a review

Browse top RVs

Browse dealership reviews

Browse By State

Browse By Province