Write a review

RV Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

Floorplan

Coachmen Viking reviews

3.2
Write a review
Liveability
3.4
Overall quality
2.3
Floorplan
3.7
Driving/towing
4.3
Factory warranty
2.3

For sale near youMatching RVs for sale near you

Top 10 RVs

Reviews

18 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

Boxwell

Ontario

Reviewed on 2019-08-07

RV reviewed2018 Coachmen Viking 17BH

View listings

1.2
a real lemon and stuck paying for it. Leak, water rum in from pullout, wood panel falling apart, just this past weekend, frig died and water tap broke. A real lemon. Never buy a Viking. Had 5 others before with no problems at all.
Livability
2.0
Overall quality
1.0
Floorplan
1.0
Driving/towing
1.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (46)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Joe Baer

Pennsylvania

Reviewed on 2021-10-17

RV reviewed2020 Coachmen Viking 18RBSS

View listings

3.0
Well the 2020 model is not any better when it comes to quality. We like the floor plan, it's easy to tow, set up and tear down. Well that's all I can say positive, the rest is negative. It started with the water heater leaking(fitting not installed properly),outdoor speakers not wired to radio, the kitchen faucet leaks. Nothing to serious, until the slide started leaking. I called RV VALUE MART of Manheim, PA which is where I bought it. I was told no problem it was still under warranty and would be fixed. RV VALUE MART could not get me in before my warranty expired, but said don't worry as long as I called before the warranty expired it would be covered. Upon picking it up I was charged for the repair, so much for not worrying it's covered. When the camper was built the inner seal on the slide was not attached. RV VALUE MART charged me $300 to do what should have been done when it was built. The repair didn't help, if I don't lean the camper towards the slide it still leaks. This could be a really nice camper if not manufactured with crap materials. Two things, never buy another coachmen rv and never deal with RV VALUE MART neither one cares about the costumers just making money.
Livability
3.0
Overall quality
1.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (8)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Barbara

New York

Reviewed on 2021-10-01

RV reviewed2018 Coachmen Viking 17FQ

View listings

3.6
We purchased our 2018 from Myers in fall of 2017. June 2020 discovered a soft spot in the floor. This was repaired all at our cost and the repair person felt it was a leak from the roof. We had two problems after the repair one because the water pump was not put back correctly and the other because when they replaced the floor they drilled through our water tank. Now in September 2021 the soft spot is back in the same location. Can’t even get it looked at until mid November. The original repair 14 months ago cost over $1000. Love the layout of the camper but am not looking forward to repeating last year’s nightmare. We have a Viking pop up from 1980 and never had a floor issue. Wish they made them like they used to!
Livability
4.0
Overall quality
2.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
2.0
...
Helpful (5)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Randy Gerrow

Ontario

Reviewed on 2021-07-01

RV reviewed2012 Coachmen Viking 16B

View listings

2.2
First time buyer. Purchased a 2012 in 2013 from McPhails in Harriston Ontario. Being greenhorns I think they saw us coming and the trailer was already a year old and was starting to stink up their lot and they wanted to get rid of it. Gave us a good deal and a one hour tour hoping they would never see the piece of junk again. We took one camping trip with it before parking it up at our lot up north. We basically use it as a camp kitchen for cooking and eating. The propane fridge works well, no complaints there. The stereo has not worked since that first trip. We started noticing water on the floor in front of the fridge the next year. Water was leaking in through the fridge vents. Called McPhails who said vents do not leak and got no support from them. We then took the trailer to Delorme's a local dealer for inspection and winter storage. They inspected the roof, did some re-sealing on it and re-caulked the fridge vents. We sent the bill to the manufacturer who begrudgingly paid for the work. The cheque was accompanied with a rather terse letter. Next year the water on the floor was back, the awning window was leaking and so was a side window. We tried to reseal the windows, but were told they had to be removed and reinstalled properly. Over the years, it developed so many leaks we just gave up and started covering the trailer when not using it. It is now 7 years later and the floor is soft in many places. Why they would use OSB for the flooring is beyond stupid. We had to put down 1/2 inch plywood just so we can walk around in it. While it still looks new from the outside, the trailer would require extensive and expensive restoration to the floors and walls. So we will continue to use it as long as we can and keep trying to seal the leaks. Eventually, we will tow it to the scrap yard. Bottom line is these things are built light and cheap and you get what you pay for. If you are a greenhorn please do your homework first before you buy any travel trailer. I only wish we had.
Livability
2.0
Overall quality
1.0
Floorplan
2.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (7)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

David dennis

Florida

Reviewed on 2021-06-03

RV reviewed2018 Coachmen Viking 17BH

View listings

3.4
While not having a lot of issues other than the heater is hard to keep lit and fridge takes for ever to cool down it’s been a good unit for us easy setup and towing just wish the made all electric model for all appl
Livability
3.0
Overall quality
3.0
Floorplan
4.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
2.0
...
Helpful (7)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Thomas Small

Michigan

Reviewed on 2021-06-02

RV reviewed2018 Coachmen Viking 21BH

View listings

2.0
As a camper owner,the window screws fall out,the carbon monoxide detector keeps going off,the bathtub drain leaks water onto the floor,the awning does not close properly because it moves in the tube,the hot water tank does not work,the side door by the bunk house needs a window shade because it faded the interior,all the silicone on the exterior is cracked, and all the materials you use inside the camper are the cheapest I've ever seen.I would not recommend a Viking camper to anyone,and I would not recommend Midland RV camper sales.
Livability
3.0
Overall quality
1.0
Floorplan
1.0
Driving/towing
4.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (9)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Judi Baker

New York

Reviewed on 2020-11-01

RV reviewed2018 Coachmen Viking 16RB

View listings

2.2
What a nightmare the last 2 years have been. It all started with delivery to the wrong address with the wrong keys. Shoddy workmanship. Put together with spit and bubblegum. Every camping trip has been a problem. Water leaks, battery malfunction, non-working lights, moldings coming off, 27F weather and furnace not operating, air conditioner malfunction. Chat for furnace problem over 24 hours ago and still no further contact. I see apparently I am not the only one with problems from Meyers campers!! However, the payments keep rollin in!!
Livability
3.0
Overall quality
1.0
Floorplan
2.0
Driving/towing
4.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (12)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Judi Baker

New York

Reviewed on 2020-10-31

RV reviewed2018 Coachmen Viking 16RBD

View listings

2.4
Worst purchase ever! Always needs repair. Shoddy workmanship. Too many problems to list. Just check my computer work records!! Looks like my cross country road trip will never happen. I am throughly disappointed with this purchase. No amount of apologies make up for all my disappointments with this purchase!! Currently it’s 26F and furnace stopped working.
Livability
4.0
Overall quality
1.0
Floorplan
3.0
Driving/towing
3.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (10)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Jack Greene

Michigan

Reviewed on 2020-08-30

RV reviewed2018 Coachmen Viking 21RD

View listings

5.0
I absolutely LOVE my new trailer!!!! Everything is PERFECT!! I would highly recommend the 2018 21 RD Viking Coachmen to everyone. No problems and one of the best escapes in our world of "new normal." I really don't understand the previous review because my experience has been a 10++.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
5.0
...
Helpful (5)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Randy

Ontario

Reviewed on 2020-08-07

RV reviewed2012 Coachmen Viking 16B

View listings

2.2
Our first and only RV purchase. The dealer must have seen us coming and thought, here's a chance to get that Viking off our lot. First trip, stereo stopped working and a exterior reflector blew off on the highway. During the second year we noticed water on the floor in front of the fridge. It appears to be a faulty design of the exterior vents for the fridge. We inspect the roof every year and even had it resealed by an RV service shop, so the roof was not the problem. The owner of that shop told us they are all built like crap and there are no brands they could recommend. We started noticing the floor at the front of the trailer getting soft. We found that the awning window on the front had been leaking, but the water was inside the walls so we never noticed it until it damaged the floor. We are now looking to gut the trailer so that we can repair the floors and walls and reseal the leaking windows. Not a great experience. Obviously, we were inexperienced and did not realize just how much maintenance these things require. As one fellow on another forum put it, "they are just pieces of crap wrapped in aluminium siding".
Livability
2.0
Overall quality
1.0
Floorplan
2.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (11)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 1 - 10 of 18 reviews

For sale near youRVs For Sale

Do you have an RV experience to share?

Help other RVers by leaving a review for an RV or dealership.

Write a review

Browse top RVs

Browse dealership reviews

Browse By State

Browse By Province