Write a review

RV Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

Floorplan

Coachmen Leprechaun 260DS reviews

3.5
Write a review
Liveability
3.8
Overall quality
3.2
Floorplan
3.7
Driving/towing
4.3
Factory warranty
2.5

For sale near youMatching RVs for sale near you

Top 10 RVs

Reviews

12 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

Lyle Davieau

Montana

Reviewed on 2019-01-01

RV reviewed2018 Coachmen Leprechaun 260DS

View listings

3.0
The 8 cylinder Chevy engine with 6 speed transmission is excellent. Quiet, smooth ride even when towing. We get 8.2 mpg. We have the model with double recliners. Nice, but the TV doesn't swing around far enough and gives us stiff necks looking way to the left trying to see the TV. We have had a few problems that were fixed under warranty and some problems we feel should have been fixed under warranty but were not. We fixed a drawer that broke, a drain that leaked under the sink, a window shade that wouldn't stay up, and replaced the two 12 volt (57 amp hour batteries) that were too weak to sustain the propane fridge and my 12 volt CPAP overnight, even when fully charged at bedtime. A dealer fixed a drawer, two latches, a leak around the shower, and adjusted the screen door so it would close. Another fixed the furnace because we have an extended warranty. We have had no luck getting warranty repairs on the leaking air bags near the rear tires, the fridge door that doesn't close properly or the rear bumper that nearly fell off (we had a bike rack and two Wal-Mart bicycles on it) - the only thing that saved the bumper is that we noticed it ripping apart and removed the bikes and rack before the bumper completely failed. The mattress seemed OK for the first few weeks but then flattened out - it's like sleeping outside on a nearly deflated air mattress over some large rocks. The black glass cover on the stove exploded one afternoon while we were reading. Again, no warranty coverage. The plastic runners under the mattress are too short and catch on/rip up the bottom of mattress whenever we move the bedroom slider. Other than that, we're OK. One other thing - if you buy a Leprechaun, be sure the dealer you buy from is nearby and has a good service department because virtually no one will do warranty work on your Leprechaun unless you bought it from them - even if they sell Leprechauns. Dealers have told us that the factory reimbursement on warranty work is less than dealers want - so dealers build losses for anticipated warranty work into the price you pay. Tough luck if you got it for a good price someplace else.
Livability
4.0
Overall quality
3.0
Floorplan
3.0
Driving/towing
4.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (50)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Christopher Kennedy

Illinois

Reviewed on 2022-06-16

RV reviewed2021 Coachmen Leprechaun 260DS

View listings

5.0
This is the perfect Class C if you are looking for quality and versatility. We have traveled as a complete family of 6 all around the USA. The small driving footprint (27.5) allows you to go virtually anywhere. The new Ford V-8 Godzilla engine has great power to travel the mountains, plains and all in between. The floorplan is great. Kids and guests in the front and a separate master bed in the back with the bathroom. Makes functioning together a breeze for privacy when needed. If you are in the market, take a look at the 260DS.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
5.0
...
Helpful (2)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Katie armstrong

Washington

Reviewed on 2022-05-01

RV reviewed2016 Coachmen Leprechaun 260DS

View listings

2.8
Really thought I caught a deal with this RV. Everything you try to fix just for preventative maintenance is such a headache. They make everything really hard to find. Even the resources to look things up are hard to find. Shower is way too small unless you're very petite. And it feels like I am chasing leaks in this RV even with all the preventative sealant in had a professional put on. Wouldn't recommend it for a 1st RV
Livability
3.0
Overall quality
2.0
Floorplan
3.0
Driving/towing
4.0
Factory warranty/support
2.0
...
Helpful (3)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Bill Kraft

New Jersey

Reviewed on 2022-03-02

RV reviewed2018 Coachmen Leprechaun 260DS

View listings

5.0
This rig has been a delight. Its quality is very good and the floor plan gives you all the luxury of a 40 footer in a highly manuverable 28 feet. The Chevy chassis is quiet and powerful with a superior ride quality and handling. We chose many options in designing the coach, including the front entertainment center and dual recliners. The cab is also optionally painted to match the rest of the coach, a deluxe feature. I have turned 87 and my days of motorhoming are coming to and end. This coach has had no pets or smokers, has always been privately garaged at my home and is very very clean with only 10,000 miles on the clock. Check it out!
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Teresa Morris

Florida

Reviewed on 2021-07-26

RV reviewed2019 Coachmen Leprechaun 260DS

View listings

3.2
2nd trip out we discovered a large amount of water in the kitchen area coming from under the sink/stove area. Found that it was coming from the p-trap in the shower. It wasn't even attached, this was the 1st time using the shower. Fast forward 8 months, ther generator wont start, 1 month later the front bunk window that's supposed to be maintenance free is now leaking, several inches of water in the bunk which spilled over in to the cockpit shorting out the back up camera and completely soaking everything. While unpacking the coach to take it to the dealer for repairs the plastic refrigerator handle breaks off. Now we did purchase the ultimate coverage contract from cornerstone rv at the low low price of $5,000 which is good for 60 months or 60,000 miles but unfortunately it doesn't cover anything except mechanical failure so basically I bought a boat. While I agree this is a beautiful coach that is the perfect size for the two of us I must also admit I now have buyers remorse. We have owned cheaper camping equipment from tents and popups to travel trailers and were really hoping that with the Coachman name it would be a quality coach that we could enjoy for years but as it turns out they are made assembly line cheap just like the rest but with a heftier price tag. Sorry Forest River and Coachman but your product is cheap made and you should be ashamed of yourself. American made used to mean something. I really cant give it a good review or suggest anyone buy it. Good luck and safe travels.
Livability
3.0
Overall quality
2.0
Floorplan
4.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
2.0
...
Helpful (14)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Robert Hellams

North Carolina

Reviewed on 2021-06-16

RV reviewed2019 Coachmen Leprechaun 260DS

View listings

5.0
Great Class C RV! We were looking at several less expensive Class C's, but after seeing this model in person, there was no comparison with some other brands and lesser trim levels when it came to the materials used and build quality. The floor plan comfortably accommodates up to 8 (6 if they are all adults). The RV is a great length to get into any park, drive around town, and has plenty of power for interstate/mountain driving. The model with the Chevy engine greatly outperforms the Ford engine when it comes to horse power and pickup. The Ford engine seemed sluggish, while the Chevy V-8 has plenty of power for your toad vehicle and greater acceleration. We love our 260DS!!!
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
5.0
...
Helpful (7)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Mike Smith

Florida

Reviewed on 2021-04-28

RV reviewed2019 Coachmen Leprechaun 260DS

View listings

4.8
The perfect size class C for my situation. Me, my wife and daughter. We've been able to travel the entire state and go to multiple parks. We did a lit of research before finally deciding on this one and no regrets. I've done a ton of upgrades and have been loving every second of it. No RV is perfect but this one is perfect for us.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
4.0
...
Helpful (7)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Stephanie Clowe

Alberta

Reviewed on 2020-12-13

RV reviewed2018 Coachmen Leprechaun 260DS

View listings

1.4
The experience I’ve had to date with my Coachman RV and the customer service they offer is beyond horrendous! I brought a brand new Coachman RV directly off the show room floor in august 2019( no previous owner) and I’ve been regretting it every day since that time. I’ve experienced continuous problems with this unit and cannot rely on it to go out of town because I’ve been stranded in the bush on several occasions! It’s been leaking water since the day we bought it, yet coachman is not taking full accountability for this issue and continues giving me the run around as opposed to giving me the RV I already paid for!! Instead they would rather keep trying to do the same repairs even though they have been unsuccessful to date! Can someone please explain this logic to me because I cannot figure it out! I can honestly say that the RV I receive from Coachman is GARBAGE and the customer service is even worse!!!Ron Ross, warranty manger , is beyond disrespectful and not helpful at all! I was shocked to see coachman with such a disrespectful human dealing with customers but now I can see he saves them a lot of money by giving customers the run around until their warranty is expired!!! Forest river customer service is no better! In fact their lead customer service guy, Jason Brewer, treated the manger at Woodys RV World and I like complete shit!!! He was mask-talking to tell others how to reply to my questions in the meeting to avoid accountability, and derailed the entire meeting even though he was just brought into the matter an hour before the meeting. I have the entire conference call video recorded and it’s disgusting! Ron Ross ( with the help of Jason Brewer in the meeting) put up more roadblocks than solutions to fixing my RV, which is STILL NOT FIXED!! I have not been able to fully use this RV since purchased because every single time I go camping I run into major problems . I’ve had to cut my camping trip short and return the RV to the dealership! Ron Ross spoke down to my family and I, ignored calls and treated our family , and the dealership with complete disrespect! If I had my time back, I would put my $120,000.00 into a unit that is reliable and a company that cares about true customer service. This is by far the biggest regret I have with my money to date and it looks like this matter will likely end up in court to be fairly resolved! Please, if you have money for a good Trailer or RV, do not waste it on Coachman and have to live with regret and daily stress like me! I hope this helps others avoid this money hungry company! If you are lucky enough to buy a well assembled unit you might be ok with coachman, but if you receive a unit with any major issues, or a lemon, I promise you will regret the day you gave them your money! I haven’t even revealed 25% of the problems I’ve had with this company because there is not enough space in this form to do so. Everyone I speak with, including other long-term campers and service professionals at Woodys RV World, are blown away by this RV and inform me that they’ve never seen an RV in such bad confusion. Yet, coachman are giving me the run around about an RV I cannot even use properly!!! The most disheartening part of this is the fact this unit would already be replaced under the national Lemon law if lived in the USA! So, Coachman knows what they should do for good customer service but they decide to do whatever they can “ legally” with the least amount of accountability! It’s disgusting!!! I really hope this review helps other avoid the overwhelming, unfair situation I am experiencing with Coachman!
Livability
1.0
Overall quality
1.0
Floorplan
3.0
Driving/towing
1.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (39)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Gary

Florida

Reviewed on 2020-03-24

RV reviewed2018 Coachmen Leprechaun 260DS

View listings

3.8
We have over 17000 miles and have seen a lot of beautiful sites. RV is easy to drive and tows our jeep with little effort. We have a full size 4 door ref. plus recliners and upgraded cabinets. The bedroom layout makes it difficult when making bed. You cannot use microwave or oven without extending slide. The air ride leaks down every few weeks. The awning design allows water inside and will mold if not opened often to dry. I do a complete service before each trip and check tire pressure often. Over-all we are happy with coach and would recommend.
Livability
4.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
3.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
2.0
...
Helpful (25)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

GERALD ELEVIER

Kansas

Reviewed on 2018-01-14

RV reviewed2018 Coachmen Leprechaun 260DS

View listings

2.4
I did not like the rear bed room not enough room to get around it hard to make up the bed fold down couch is too short fold down dining is not wide enough or comfortable i only drove it 4000 miles had to repair all draws bottom was falling out they were only put together with some staples & bracing came loose did not even have screws in some of the bracing that holds them in place & the latches on 4 draws were broke, the bath room faucet leaks needs replaced, the shower base leaks & sliding door wont hardly open, also the sliding door to the rear bedroom is too short for the door to catch the slide at the bottom. Outside entry door wont seal & door stop fell apart & poked hole in the door, screen door panel rattles needs caulking. All the stuff on & in the microwave & stove rattle. We had to take the stuff off & out of the microwave while traveling. The inner structure of the cabinets is poorly done water valves are hard to get to . I made most of the repairs my self. Over all i give coachman a poor grade, you can tell they don't have a high standard of quality control!! The ford f. 450 v. 10 preformed very well plenty of power. Over all i will give them 3 star rating
Livability
3.0
Overall quality
2.0
Floorplan
2.0
Driving/towing
4.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (19)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 1 - 10 of 12 reviews

For sale near youRVs For Sale

Do you have an RV experience to share?

Help other RVers by leaving a review for an RV or dealership.

Write a review

Browse top RVs

Browse dealership reviews

Browse By State

Browse By Province