Write a review

RV Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

Floorplan

Coachmen Freedom Express Ultra Lite reviews

4.0 (16 reviews)
Write a review
Liveability
4.1
Overall quality
3.3
Floorplan
4.6
Driving/towing
4.6
Factory warranty
3.4

For sale near youMatching RVs for sale near you

See all

Top 10 RVs

Reviews

Stars Refinement

16 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

susan

Texas

Reviewed on 2022-09-11

RV reviewed 2016 Coachmen Freedom Express Ultra Lite 248RBS view listing

5.0
Excellent towing, ultra lite, large over head space, large shower, outdoor kitchen and shower, lots of lighting inside and out including inside the storage area. electronic jack. u shape dinette with storage. large frig. complete sealed underbelly so mice can not enter inside.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Flag

Flag this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Stephanie Smith

Wisconsin

Reviewed on 2022-07-29

RV reviewed 2021 Coachmen Freedom Express Ultra Lite 248RBS view listing

2.8
We were so excited to get our "forever camper". We waited 5 months for it to come in. First year we did not use it much. This was our first year and our last!! We have been nothing but disappointed. First it was a water leak. Then the cabinet doors cannot be adjusted anymore and do not shut correctly. The cushions on the U-shaped dinette do not match. You cannot sit there very long because the cushions are nothing but quilt batting. The bed.. what a joke !! Opened that up to see what was in there... yup layers of quilt batting. Next wonderful experience.. the awning is coming off the camper.. pulling right off.. The "gutter" is full of caulk. After spending the money we did.. it makes me cry. The craftsmanship is horrible. No help from the dealership.. pretty much.. sucks to be you !!
Livability
2.0
Overall quality
2.0
Floorplan
4.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (0)

Flag

Flag this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Nick K

Colorado

Reviewed on 2021-07-26

RV reviewed 2019 Coachmen Freedom Express Ultra Lite 287BHDS view listing

2.6
We ordered this unit brand new straight from the factory Jan 2020. Received March 2020. The day after we took possession of unit we noticed water on the floor by the slide. We took it the next day to a dealership to diagnose. Found out the slide was leaking when it was closed. If it was open it was fine. The unit sat at the dealership for 3 months and nothing was done. We ended up taking the unit to another dealership. This dealership worked on it off and on and we would go get it in between to try and use it. We used it total of 5 times in the span of 16 months that we owned it. In these five times here is a list of problems and warranty work done. 1. Leaking Slide 2. Leaking toilet 3. Sink Drain leaked 4.Large sliding window in slide was bent and would not lock. 6. Battery was bad after 6 months 7.Front jack went bad. 8. Front screen door handle broke. 9. Black water cleanout backflow valve leaked. We have owned 3 RV's before this one never having issues like this. Most things were fixed by the dealership and taken care of except for the slide leak. The dealership thought the hole was cut to big but coachmen thought it was seals. When the camper is not at the dealership we have had to pay for undercover storage to keep the unit from being damaged. The dealership has tried 7 or 8 different fixes for the slide and none have worked. As the consumer it has been very frustrating because the dealership blames coachmen for the delay and time for the next fix and then coachmen blames the dealership. It has taken 16 months to get the leak resolved. This includes myself calling or going into the dealership weekly. We have called coachmen and talked to Steve Brandenburg multiple times. He was not very helpful or in a hurry to get this resolved. I had asked for refund of my storage cost and they would not. You would think they would want to get a leaking camper resolved as soon as possible but 16 months later we have been told it is finally fixed. We share this story so others will know that customer service has been nothing short of non existent. The quality of the camper we bought was poor. Just know going in coachmen will be tough to work with if you have a major problem. In the end we are appreciative of the dealership and their help to get us through this. As soon as they told us it was fixed July 2021 we sold the unit immediately. Sadly to say the happiest day we had owning the RV. We will not purchase a coachmen or forest river product ever again due to the lack of pride in the product. Do your homework and if possible hire a 3rd party RV inspector even if it is brand new. It could save you a lot of time, frustration and money!
Livability
4.0
Overall quality
1.0
Floorplan
4.0
Driving/towing
3.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (0)

Flag

Flag this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Kristina

Missouri

Reviewed on 2021-04-05

RV reviewed 2020 Coachmen Freedom Express Ultra Lite 257BHS view listing

2.6
We bought this RV brand new and notice several defects the first time we took it out. The toilet leaked, there was a hole in the awning, the refrigerator door broke, water leaked in from the skylight in the bathroom ect. I could look over all of these defects if it wasn't for the fact that we have been waiting 8 months for the repairs to be completed and are still waiting to received a completion date. At this point we don't even want the RV anymore. We would just assume get our money back and be done with it.
Livability
3.0
Overall quality
1.0
Floorplan
4.0
Driving/towing
4.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (0)

Flag

Flag this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

George Betz

Kentucky

Reviewed on 2020-11-09

RV reviewed 2018 Coachmen Freedom Express Ultra Lite 246RKS view listing

4.4
Have no problems with the RV. Did not give full marks for livability as it is not for full timing but vacations. Nothing wrong so did not call on Factory for support. I tow it with a 2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee V6, no problems tows smoothly. We like rear kitchen as fridge is close to outside. We like the bedroom in rear for privacy. Plenty of storage. Great having the dining booth overlooking the campsite rather than the other side of the unit. Power awning, power tongue jack and power stab jacks great.
Livability
4.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
3.0
...
Helpful (0)

Flag

Flag this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Gerri Szamocki

Connecticut

Reviewed on 2020-10-10

RV reviewed 2018 Coachmen Freedom Express Ultra Lite 192RBS view listing

3.6
Thisis our 4th Travel Trailer and our 1st new one. I am not impressed, the quality is definitely not at the level I expected. It appears to have been just thrown together. The cabinet hardware was mounted using too short screws and pulled out upon opening, the panel at the end of the bed to the floor is 1/8 luan and will not stay attached to the frame. The shower is adequate but the floor is very flexible, it feels ready to break. The small details are shoddily done, the trim is not finished on the ends, the light cover over the bed falls off each time I turn it on, not enough storage on the inside, the outlets move when you plug in things to the point that it bows the luan, already had to have the USB ports on either side of the bed replaced, and to have indicator lights on everything is ridiculous, I don't need a bright blue light on all the time the water heater is on. So very disappointed in this brand new camper, already looking to trade.
Livability
3.0
Overall quality
2.0
Floorplan
4.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Flag

Flag this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

fendr1962

Texas

Reviewed on 2020-09-08

RV reviewed 2020 Coachmen Freedom Express Ultra Lite 192RBS view listing

3.2
We bought our first RV January 2020. First time having it out we were not able to run clean water into the black tank to rinse it out. Dealer found the hose was crimped. Also the air conditioner kept popping the circuit breaker sometimes in the RV and other times out at the electrical post. Dealer replaced the AC unit. New one was making a racket at time of pickup from repair. Took rig to Colorado. Shower leaked water that I fixed with silicon and the commode water line leaked. I fixed that also. I dropped off my RV at the dealer on way back from Colorado for warranty repairs. I have about 10 items on the list for repairs. I thought buying a Coachman would mean better quality. How wrong I was. These RV's are just thrown together with little quality control. The dealer has no skin in the game as far as repairs since they just rely on the warranty. Warranty repair takes forever to get approval and repaired. You better be good at doing repairs if you own an RV. They will charge you an arm and leg if your rig is not under warranty. Not sure if you can find any that are built with real quality. THe manufacturer and the dealer expect you to do the quality control which requires you to do all the work getting it back in for repairs. And it take weeks to get your unit repaired. I dropped my off and was told it would be in line for repairs for two weeks before they would lift a finger to do any repairs. This is reality in owning an RV. If you don't like working on RV's for have lots of cash for repairs don't bother buying one. That's my advice.
Livability
4.0
Overall quality
1.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (0)

Flag

Flag this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Elbert Kennard

North Carolina

Reviewed on 2020-07-25

RV reviewed 2018 Coachmen Freedom Express Ultra Lite 246RKS view listing

5.0
A wonderful sample easy to tow and easy to set up. Great camper for the small family or couple. Because it's a 30 amp system its always easy to find a camp ground that we can use. The size also makes it easy to tow, any half ton pickup can tow with ease.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Flag

Flag this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Tammy

South Carolina

Reviewed on 2020-06-21

RV reviewed 2020 Coachmen Freedom Express Ultra Lite 192RBS view listing

5.0
We love our camper. My only complaint would be the ac is a single unit in the center of the ceiling and its loud. It makes it hard to sleep sometimes because the system is so loud. Other than that this is the perfect trailer.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Flag

Flag this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 1 - 10 of 16 reviews

For sale near youRVs For Sale

See all

Do you have an RV experience to share?

Help other RVers by leaving a review for an RV or dealership.

Write a review

Browse top RVs

Browse dealership reviews

Browse By State

Browse By Province