Write a review

RV Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

Floorplan

Coachmen Chaparral reviews

3.6
Write a review
Liveability
3.7
Overall quality
3.0
Floorplan
4.2
Driving/towing
4.3
Factory warranty
2.9

For sale near youMatching RVs for sale near you

Top 10 RVs

Reviews

39 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

Ronnette L

Texas

Reviewed on 2019-08-05

RV reviewed2019 Coachmen Chaparral 373MBRB

View listings

1.8
Flotsam we thought would be great But WE HATE IT! It has back bedroom with full bath plus bunkroom and master bedroom,HOWEVER, NO PLACE FOR OTHER OCCUPANTS TO SIT.It only has a reclining love seat and you can't rotate tv so if someone sat at dinner table they could see. Horrible manufacturing quality, skylight screws won't secure because they just drilled in without anchors, I have no heat coming from floor vents in back bedroom, main bathroom shower doors won't close all the way and we have had to replace shower drain fittings already, bathroom vent cover has dry rotted and severely cracked so had to replace. Floor/wall trim does not fit flush to floor, cabinet trim has needed to be secured. Kitchen sink drain has needed to be resealed. All listed repairs were done within 6 months of owning,brand new unit. Looking to trade in and take the negative equity. Not sure about factory support because we are full timers who travel for work in desolate areas with our 4 year old so leaving it in a shop for a few months is not an option.
Livability
1.0
Overall quality
1.0
Floorplan
1.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (32)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Torrie Rainwater

Texas

Reviewed on 2022-03-24

RV reviewed2021 Coachmen Chaparral 367BH

View listings

2.8
These are pure JUNK !!!! We have taken our RV out only 2 times since January 2021. The FIRST time out the bottom liner under the RV came off. My husband had to buy a screw gun and zip ties and put it back together since we were very far from home. (It was dragging on the highway) Then when we get to the RV park we go inside to find the TV has fallen off the wall and busted. Three fan blades came off the ceiling fan. The shower was missing the door handle on one side and the other side came off. Then when our sons girlfriend showered it all literally ran out onto the ground under our trailer !!! It was a 2 month wait to get it in to the shop and They took 3 months to fix all this so there went our Spring ,Summer and Fall to go anywhere in our brand new RV. They still didn't put the shower door handles on and they didn't fix the ceiling fan at all. They said we had to order the fan and we needed to bring the RV back or come pick up the fan. They also did not fix shower from running on the ground. (My husband went and bought parts and fixed the showers water from pouring onto the ground) 2nd trip this March 2022. The top bunk fell down on one side with our 7 year old grandaughter that weighs 50lbs. Trim is coming off in 2 places along the floor and one place above the kitchen cabinets. The RV is thrown together and I fear what all will continue to fall apart each time we go some where ??? We keep it in our shop so at least it's covered from the weather when we have it stored but I wonder how it will do when we take it out more ?? These look awesome. I loved the decor and the floor plan. I just wish they were built good and made to last. I also wish they fixed stuff properly when you take it back for repairs. I will never buy another Chaparral. What's sad is I think alot of other company's build JUNK RV's also. Everyone BEWARE. Pay extra for if you need to for QUALITY.
Livability
2.0
Overall quality
1.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (2)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Melvin howell

South Carolina

Reviewed on 2022-02-20

RV reviewed2018 Coachmen Chaparral 3601BL

View listings

3.4
Since we bought the new 2018 in July of 2019 we have had two exterior lamps relplaced. The ac quit the first year and it took dealer almost 4 months to repair because they could not figure out what was wrong with the dual ac thermostat. The oven glass top totally came apart. 5 of the six bolts that hold it together broke. The black tank valve stick open the second year and would not close. Imagine going home from camping trip with that issue. The wallpaper paper is coming of the walls in 8 different places the clear coat has totally faded on one side or there GRREAT AZDELL EXTERIOR. The water heater turns the back side of camper above black every time it comes on. Third year with camper we found a rotten spot on wall beside window where window appears to have been leaking for a whlile and just bought a new refrigerator. Everchill junk they put in these things quit and extended warranty would not replace entire fridge just parts to fix. The china parts are unavailable so I had to buy a new refrigerator. All this in first three years. DO NOT BUY CHAPARRAL OR ANY OTHER FOREST RIVET JUNK!!!
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
1.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (2)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Rick K

Pennsylvania

Reviewed on 2021-11-13

RV reviewed2012 Coachmen Chaparral 345BHS

View listings

5.0
This 2012 Coachmen Chaparral 345BHS has been a great camper for my family, since 2018. Our daughter is off to college, so we want to give another family an opportunity to have fun in this camper. 3 sliders 2 exterior doors Dual propane tanks Outside kitchen Interior Kitchen with Quartzite counter top Queen Master Suite Private Bunk House Lots of cabinet storage The bunkhouse is awesome! When my wife and I were looking for our first camper, we wanted a bunkhouse from day one. We new it was important for our teenage daughter to have her privacy. Teens are going through physical and emotional changes, and we knew she would appreciate her own private space. She loved the privacy of the bunkhouse! Most campers we looked at only had a curtain separating the main living room from the bunk house, which isn't really private at all. This camper has its own door, which completely separates the living room from the bunk house. The outside shower, and extra door to the half bath was awesome for keeping sand out of the living room. The kitchen has a Quartzite countertop, a huge fridge freezer, microwave, with gas stove and oven. The master bedroom has a queen bed, and a large full bath with corner shower. This camper is currently listed for sale on RV Trader
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Laurie art

Florida

Reviewed on 2021-08-26

RV reviewed2021 Coachmen Chaparral 334FL

View listings

3.0
Its been a nightmare. Own it for a week and the a/c has not work right. It rains and the dining room slide out is leaking on the floor board somewhere. No manuals to see how things operate!!! Blinds are pit on crooked. Cupboards are cheap. 4 of them broke already. Hidden stuff im thinking i gotta a lemon Nothing has gone right since we went to pick it up
Livability
4.0
Overall quality
1.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
3.0
Factory warranty/support
2.0
...
Helpful (3)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Joni Sprouse

Colorado

Reviewed on 2021-04-27

RV reviewed2020 Coachmen Chaparral 370FL

View listings

2.0
This RV looks good......but BUYER BEWARE!!!!! It is junk on wheels Trim peeled within weeks. Everywhere. Looks terrible. All electronic components have failed or only worked intermittently. AC is grossly indadequate for RV. Does not cool. Fridge quit working within months. Good luck with their terrible warranty. Nothing is covered, or it takes so long for parts to come in that the season is over.
Livability
2.0
Overall quality
1.0
Floorplan
4.0
Driving/towing
2.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (9)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Phil Pelc

South Dakota

Reviewed on 2021-03-26

RV reviewed2019 Coachmen Chaparral 381RD

View listings

4.8
We bought this RV in July 2020, it is our second 5th wheel. We had actually researched and looked at several 5th wheels years before buying (we wanted to know exactly what we wanted before actually ready to buy.) We had settled on a Coachmen Chaparral front living. Our previous 5th wheel was a front living lay out and er loved it. We started having some issues with our first 5th wheel and decided we better get a new one before something catastrophic happened. So we went from planning to take our time to look around for the best deal, to needing to make a purchase quickly. We are full-time RVers so the 5th wheel is our home. Since we were looking during the pandemic, there was not much available on the lots. No Chaparral front livings within 500 miles of us (we were in Nebraska at the time). Found the 381RD in Iowa. The one we looked at was a 2020 and after some discussion the salesperson said she had a new 2019 model at there MN location that was new, exactly same furniture and layout as 2020 or were looking at and $2700 cheaper. I liked saving the money and also felt that maybe a camper not built during the pandemic would be better workmanship. So we bought and have loved it so far! We have been from Iowa to Arizona with it with several stops in between. Two minor issues, the sprayer did not work on kitchen faucet. Called factory and they sent a whole new faucet. Also small leak somewhere on fresh water tank that I have scheduled to go into dealership in July before warranty runs out, so we will see how that goes. We love the room that this unit provides, and although we really like front living layout, we have come to enjoy the rear living concept. So no regrets so far!
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
4.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
5.0
...
Helpful (5)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Janice K

Pennsylvania

Reviewed on 2021-03-24

RV reviewed2019 Coachmen Chaparral 298RLS

View listings

5.0
We researched and looked at a lot of RVs before purchasing this one. We downsized from a motor home to this RV. My boyfriend is very tall and it's roomy enough for him to not have to duck everywhere (even the shower!) Lots of storage space, full size fridge, and I think the sofa bed is even more comfortable than the master suite bed. We've used this for camping, living in while going to trap shoots around the country, and I lived/worked in it for 10 weeks down South to be nearby when my daughter had a baby. Easy hookups, easy to tow, set up and ready for transport. Really appreciate the auto leveler, too. The only thing we had to replace was the kitchen faucet in the island - it was a bit flimsy and broke early on. Other than that, no issues at all. We love it!
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
5.0
...
Helpful (9)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

David

Washington

Reviewed on 2020-11-25

RV reviewed2021 Coachmen Chaparral 367BH

View listings

3.4
The ribbon trying the cables to the slide out was mounted on the frame in the wrong location. So it was just drilled directly into the wood of the slide out instead of the metal frame. It tore out. The wiring is labeled wrong. And they put all the rear outlets, every kitchen outlet, heated seats, and the electric fireplace all on one 15 amp circuit that is labeled 1st AC on the breaker. Of course that trips constantly. Staples coming out of the walls and floors everywhere. Trim fell off immediately. Cabinet doors with misaligned hardware. Pretty sure they sold us a lemon. This isn't some appliance Coachmen didn't make breaking, this is the build of the unit that is terrible. It tows good. Floor Plan is awesome but could use a tweak with the rear bathroom. Cable hookups in wet bay is a mistake.
Livability
3.0
Overall quality
2.0
Floorplan
4.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
3.0
...
Helpful (15)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

KRISTEN ZIEGLER

Georgia

Reviewed on 2020-09-16

RV reviewed2019 Coachmen Chaparral 391QSMB

View listings

2.0
WHATEVER YOU DO, DO NOT WASTE YOUR TIME OR MONEY PURCHASING A COACHMEN OR FOREST RIVER PRODUCT. IT WILL BE IN THE SHOP MORE THAN YOU CAN USE IT. AND THE CUSTOMER SERVICE IS ABSOLUTELY HORRIBLE. WE PURCHASED NEW TO HAVE A WARRANTY, BUT LET ME TELL YOU IT IS NOT WORTH IT. THEY WILL LIE LIELIE AND TELL YOU THEY ARE SENDING ITEMS AND NEVER DO. THIS IS THE ABSOLUTE WORST COMPANY TO DEAL WITH. We purchased a BRAND NEW 2019 CoachmenChaparral391QSMB on January 26, 2020, from our local RV dealer, Northgate RV in Ringgold, Georgia. Since the first week of purchase, we have taken it back for repairs seven times. This doesn't include the current issues that still need to be addressed. The following is a list of repairs already made: Master bedroom AC did not cool,Sliding door over the washer,insert panels were constructed poorly with nails that stick out and scratched the finished wood every time it passes,On our first camping trip,our 1st stove caught fire while cooking due to the front burner pipe coming apart and it melted the gasket and wires,We had sewage leaking due to a faulty closing door on the black tank,The radio was faulty and the knob fell off,We had a bent bracket on the main slide in the living area,The freestanding residential refrigerator was not properly installed and fell forward into the counter during transit causing damage to refrigerator doors (they added a bracket but the fridge is still dented),The main slide in the living room had a severe bow in the roof due to a bad seal and bad decking resulting in water damage inside our cabinets.They had to replace the roof and decking on this slide,The kitchen faucet is a terrible design and the button gets stuck every time you bump it and it sprays you. (the second one still does the same thing,We had water leaking around shower and kitchen sink (water poured into our cabinet under our sink because the caulking was missing) neither the factory nor the dealership caught that it was missing caulking. We recently just had our third stove installed because the first one caught fire on our first trip. Then the second had a propane leak. This occurred on 4/25/20 and was reported to the dealership of 4/27/20. The stove did not arrive until 9/10. We have not had a working stove since April and were only able to use it a few days. The C02 censors malfunctioned and did not detect the leak. Our bunkroom would fill up with the smell of propane. We could even smell it back in our master bedroom. We were staying at a park and they had a water leak, so we needed to use our water pump and fill our fresh water tank. We found out that it didn’t work. We just had it replaced 9/1 and it still doesn’t work. The valves are wrong and just sucks air. The wall paneling over the couch will not stay attached to the cabinet and falls during transport. EVERYTIME. Warranty said they would send a new piece of paneling but it never came.The shower is pulling away from the wall in the bathroom. Warranty said they were sending a new shower surround too, but they didn’t.But it is still not fixed.The bunk wardrobe doors were not properly installed, it was missing screws in the hinges (holes were not even drilled for them) resulting in it falling during transit denting the floor. Water pipes in the basement were not properly sealed and leaked causing water in the basement. Our black and grey tank sensors do not work and haven’t since the first trip they consistently read 3/4 full. When my husband did his 6-month check on seals and caulking, he noticed the decking on top of our mid-bunk was soft, and when it was replaced by the dealership, we were told it was completely rotted. Why on earth would the decking be rotted on 2 slides????? On a new camper? We have rotted wood in our outdoor kitchen. The dealership replaced the ceiling piece but not the bottom piece. We were later told it was because of the type of seal that is used on this style of camper and water pools at the screw and goes in underneath the seal, every time it rains. The back window leaked water in. We made contact with Christy Turner, CSM at Coachman, and she was very kind and helpful at our 1st conversation. She was going to overnight us the parts and have a mobile unit fix it. it took 5 months to get the parts and they still didn't send all of them.We still had to take it to a shop without all the parts. I have been more than kind and allowed time for a solution from a business that says they care about customer satisfaction. WE ARE NOT SATISFIED. These are not all normal "breaking in a new camper" problems you expect to encounter. This is a DEFECTIVE camper, a lemon, and we do not feel safe in it or that we have been taken seriously. There are too many issues to overlook, especially when we are always finding new problems. This has become a safety issue. With all the water damage in the slide deckings, how do we know it didn’t make it down in the walls? Do not waste your time or money on this terrible product.
Livability
1.0
Overall quality
1.0
Floorplan
4.0
Driving/towing
3.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (27)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 1 - 10 of 39 reviews

For sale near youRVs For Sale

Do you have an RV experience to share?

Help other RVers by leaving a review for an RV or dealership.

Write a review

Browse top RVs

Browse dealership reviews

Browse By State

Browse By Province