Write a review

RV Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

Floorplan

Airstream Flying Cloud reviews

4.7
Write a review
Liveability
4.8
Overall quality
4.8
Floorplan
4.8
Driving/towing
4.8
Factory warranty
4.2

For sale near youMatching RVs for sale near you

Top 10 RVs

Reviews

31 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

Jim

Minnesota

Reviewed on 2017-07-27

RV reviewed2016 Airstream Flying Cloud 27FB Twin

View listings

5.0
My wife and I bought our new 2016 on the Fall of 2016. We have been out on about 10 shorter trips and enjoy each trip more!We are impressed with the well thought out design and obvious quality of this unit. No space is wasted. We decided to join the Wally Byam Caravan Club and would strongly recommend any new Airstream purchaser to do the same. You will see cool spots, meet great people, and learn much about your Airstream and the potential in your investment.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
5.0
...
Helpful (19)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Michael Hagan

Texas

Reviewed on 2022-03-14

RV reviewed2017 Airstream Flying Cloud 25FB

View listings

3.4
We like our Airstream but there have been problems and really, too many for what Thor charges. About $5000 - $10,000 less would be more reasonable considering the build quality. Fortunately, we're do-it-yourselfers and have remedied the problems we've encountered. But what about those that don't have or are unwilling to acquire the skills necessary to fix them? That's a topic we cover when on some of our journeys: can you imagine not knowing how to fix some of the things an RV-er will have and then having to take it in to the dealer? A lot of RV service epitomizes bottom-of-the-barrel customer relationships and quality of work is seriously lacking, generally. Believe us, the problems will be there whether you spend six figures or a low-5 number on another brand. Expect that assembly problems will be part of your complaints on any brand and again, Airstream is no better or worse. Airstream fanboys will say, 'oh, the quality is great and we love our Airstream' and for a few, that's an accurate assessment. Some Airstreams are 'tongue-heavy'. Airstreams' specs say the tongue on our Flying Cloud weighs over 800 lbs. That's a good deal over the general guideline of 10% of the total weight of the trailer. No comment from Airstream (ever) on this and we deal with it. I do not know how other brands fare in this area, BTW. Would we buy another Airstream? I think we'd try Lance, Grand Design or a couple of other brands next. They won't hold their value as well as the Airstream does but that's because of the 'cachet' Airstream has, certainly not the build quality but the fact that it's an iconic brand. Other than aerodynamics (which are great) it does not do anything better than the average other RV. Do a search under 'cabinets falling Airstream' or 'skin buckling Airstream' which is this brand's Achilles heel. Each brand has its own unique failings, not just Airstream. And this is not an indictment of Airstream but just one of those 'to be dealt with' things. We like our Airstream but we also realize that it will require constant maintenance like any other RV does, not more and not less. If you're not willing to learn some basic skills in repair, rent an RV for your trips. Yes, I know you may pay a lot for your RV but price in an RV does not equate with quality like it does (generally) for a car. Paying megabucks for a trailer does not entitle you to hands-off or trouble-free ownership.
Livability
3.0
Overall quality
3.0
Floorplan
3.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
3.0
...
Helpful (5)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Jay Rhodes

South Carolina

Reviewed on 2022-01-16

RV reviewed2018 Airstream Flying Cloud 27FB

View listings

2.8
First, let me begin with my list of problems, which started on day one. 1. Zinc screws on roof rusted within weeks. 2. Axles out of line 3. Radiused windows leaked badly, causing black stains on floor covering, that does not come out. Brought to Airstream's attention on month 14, but problem had been going on for months, still within the warranty. Airstream's response was I had discovered it outside the warranty and told me to reseal all the windows. 4. The piano hinge on bath door sagged considerably, due to insufficient screws, causing the misalignment of the handle, locking a person inside. 5. To all the drawer slides, I have added additional screws, as they came loose within a few weeks. 6. Two of the plastic U trims that cover the top and sides that butt up to the walls of the cabinetry slid down behind the cabinets, and disappeared. Very very difficult to fix. Had to remove the cabinets. All it needed was some kind of adhesive or fastener when installed, to prevent this. 7. The two radius doors under the sink in my model were way too much weight for the hinges. Replaced several, eight, over time, at my own expense (Airstream sent me two), plus added an additional hinge to each door. After a while, I just removed the doors to travel. Finally, I removed the hinges and installed piano hinges to solve the problem. ALL these problems were discovered well within the first two years. Airstream did nothing, not willing to work with me and borderline nasty about "no longer under warrantee". After owning a Keystone Cougar 24' fifth wheel for several years, loving it, no problems, we decided to go for it and move on to an Airstream Flying Cloud. The reputation it has had needs to be amended as it has been a nightmare: one problem after another. The sharp appearance wore off quickly.
Livability
4.0
Overall quality
1.0
Floorplan
4.0
Driving/towing
4.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (6)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Jeannie Marinelli

California

Reviewed on 2021-07-14

RV reviewed2015 Airstream Flying Cloud 19

View listings

5.0
Travel in style! Sleek, modern and compact trailer sleeps 4. Quality parts and great functionality. Has Ac, solar panels, inverter, stove with oven, refrigerator, flat screen tv, alpine system, stand up shower, toilet, sink, outdoor shower. 18g black water, 21g grey, 23g fresh water
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
5.0
...
Helpful (3)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Lourdes Vazquez

Florida

Reviewed on 2021-05-18

RV reviewed2018 Airstream Flying Cloud 23FB

View listings

5.0
Best RV experience ever! Towing an Airstream is like nothing else, you sometimes forget you are towing. Very comfortable living space with all the comforts of home. Stylish and reliable, you feel very safe in it. We loved it!
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
5.0
...
Helpful (7)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Renee Hunter

California

Reviewed on 2021-05-13

RV reviewed2020 Airstream Flying Cloud 23FB

View listings

5.0
Exceptional quality and workmanship throughout. Includes top of the line appliances, fixtures and products. Built to last many many years and handed down through the generations. There is no detailed spared when manufacturing or outfitting this Airstream - very impressive.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
5.0
...
Helpful (5)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Patrick Maloney

Colorado

Reviewed on 2021-04-30

RV reviewed2017 Airstream Flying Cloud

View listings

3.4
Beautiful, yet very pricy. I did not see any mention tow specs. i am trying to justify the cost here vs renovating a camper. What type of warranty as I see this unit is 4 years old? This is all I have to say.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
1.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (3)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Michael Hockett

Florida

Reviewed on 2021-04-12

RV reviewed2019 Airstream Flying Cloud 23FB

View listings

5.0
We loved our Airstream. We are selling because we want to move to Hawaii and can’t take it with us. We are in Florida right now. We highly recommend Airstream. Builds extremely well. It tows like a dream behind my Dodge Ram. Don’t even know it’s back there.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
5.0
...
Helpful (4)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Hannah Nye

Tennessee

Reviewed on 2021-03-30

RV reviewed2021 Airstream Flying Cloud 28RBT

View listings

5.0
The 28’ flying cloud rbt tows like a dream. Our f150 crew cab with max tow package and extended range fuel tank kept our at 14 mpg. Every fixture is quality and the cabinets are better than anything on the market. Storage for two is well organized and efficient. We have the dual hvac units but only needed the front one ( zone 2 with zone 1 fan at low ) to keep the whole thing warm. Service for minor warranty issues has be easy and quick. The only negative are the mattresses on the twin beds. At 6’1” and 190 lbs they’re a little thin but a 3” cool gel memory foam topper solved the problem.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
5.0
...
Helpful (9)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

susan

Massachusetts

Reviewed on 2021-01-21

RV reviewed2019 Airstream Flying Cloud 30RB Queen

View listings

5.0
I cannot recommend this 30 ft. RV highly enough. We have owned four other RV trailers, but this one ranks the elite of all. We really look forward to coming back to the RV after a long hike and stretching out on the couch with room for the two of us to fully stretch out on each wing of the couch. We have enjoyed the peacefulness as the ample insulation and sound construction provide a quiet enviroment. We really enjoyed this as well as the roomy dinette and all the windows that let in light and the beauty of the outside. The queen bed is the most comfortable one we ever experienced. The roomy shower with a bench seat is a plus and there is a separate roomy bathroom with lots of storage area. There are so many cabinets and storage spaces-more than needed even for long trips. There is a long counter and large sink in the kitchen with a convection oven/microwave that is top notch.Everything is solid and built to last. No worries of repairs. Plenty of room for guests as it has a full pull out sofa bed, and large dinette conversion bed in addition to the Queen. Truly a home away from home.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
5.0
...
Helpful (7)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 1 - 10 of 31 reviews

For sale near youRVs For Sale

Do you have an RV experience to share?

Help other RVers by leaving a review for an RV or dealership.

Write a review

Browse top RVs

Browse dealership reviews

Browse By State

Browse By Province