Write a review

RV Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

Floorplan

Coachmen reviews

3.9
Write a review
Liveability
4.2
Overall quality
3.5
Floorplan
4.4
Driving/towing
4.3
Factory warranty
3.0

For sale near youMatching RVs for sale near you

Top 10 RVs

Reviews

749 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

Cathleen Savage

Colorado

Reviewed on 2015-02-06

RV reviewed2012 Coachmen Freelander 21QB

View listings

3.4
The 2012 Freelander 21QB, actually 24' in length, is a great value for the money. It is a great option for two adults and up to two children. Although it technically sleeps six, that would be a bit crowded. In addition to the rear Queen bed, the dinette converts to a Full size bed (48" x 76"). The overcab bunk has a weight limit of 350 lbs. PROs: 1) The rear bed is 60" x 80", very spacious for an RV and so much more liveable than the "Short Queen" (60" x 76") that is so common in other models. An added bonus is that standard Queen-size sheets fit perfectly! 2) the fresh water holding tank is 50 gallons, lots bigger than most Class Cs and even some Class As. This means we stay out in remote areas longer without breaking camp. 3) The exterior "basement" storage is huge! Over 100 square feet! We can fit everything we need for a month-long trip in with no problem. Have not seen this much storage in other models. 4) It is very easy to drive and has a good turning radius. 5) The dinette is designed in a circular "lounge" style, which is great for watching TV and relaxing. See related Cons below. CONs: 1) The factory installed vents are cheap and flimsy. We immediately replaced ours with Fantastic Vents. 2) The window in the coach side entrance door (not the cab) is made of frosted glass, reducing driver visibility. We had ours replaced with clear safety glass and we added a shade for privacy when needed. 3) The table for the dinette is too big for the space. We took it out and just store it for when we might need to use it to convert the dinete into a bed. We use a large tv tray table for indoor dinners and we made our own insert to make the sofa more comfortable. 4) The wardrobe for hanging clothes has two rods that run from the exterior wall to the wardrobe door instead of a single rod running across the top of the wardrobe. A simple modification to make. I notice that Coachmen made this change to later models too. 5) Curved shower door on a track is irritating but functional. Coachmen changed this to a regular swinging door set on the diagonal in later models. Summary: with a few simple modifications, the 2012 Freelander 21QB is a great combination of compact size and desireable features! I would buy it again.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
4.0
Floorplan
4.0
Driving/towing
4.0
Factory warranty/support
0.0
...
Helpful (128)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Patrick Griebel

New Mexico

Reviewed on 2022-06-28

RV reviewed2022 Coachmen Apex Nano 185BH

View listings

3.2
I had very high hopes for this camper, as it was our first foray into travel trailers. I have been pretty disappointed. The overall quality is almost comical, and I probably should have spent more time on THIS website prior to purchasing. Just figured that when I spent the money for a new unit, that we'd have a new unit experience. Within the first few weeks, the slide out mechanism for the table area began to fail, and then finally failed completely about 4 trips in. The warranty replacement took forever. From there, the list of issues has grown. One of the outer molding pieces for the slideout just came off on a recent trip, leaving it expose to water infiltration. Replacement is taking a while. Battery was inadequate, but in fairness to Coachmen, we used it for dry winter-camping for the first several months. Had to upgrade that to Lith Ion to make it through each night. The solar is great, however, and works well. Outdoor kitchen is good, although I don't know why they use a grill that takes propane camp bottles versus connecting straight into the gas connection which is right there. That's an odd choice... Water heater has failed and has never actually worked (gas struggles, electric never worked at all). Cleanout clamps failed as well so on a recent trip, couldn't use fresh water at all. The overall interior construction is just lousy / cheap. Not sure why they would want to save money there. Insulation is not great and thus, AC would probably struggle to keep up above 88/90 degrees or so. None of the tanks underneath are insulated, which limits your season for water to 2.5 seasons or so, depending on where you will be. Floorplan is good if you have small children that can use the bunks. Otherwise, it's a bit cramped for teens and not usable for adults. Lacks counter space and pantry space - we usually have to use the shower area to store pantry items. Overall, I'd keep looking if I were you.
Livability
2.0
Overall quality
2.0
Floorplan
3.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
4.0
...
Helpful (5)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Don Miller

Utah

Reviewed on 2022-06-23

RV reviewed2022 Coachmen Catalina Legacy 293RLDS

View listings

3.2
I had purchased a Riverwood travel trailer years ago and loved it. Recently purchased a 2022 Coachman toy hauler and for the price I paid I am very disappointed with the workmanship. Sewer tube is 28 inches long so had to purchase a new one that will actually carry a sewer tube. Under the sink the boards were so flimsy you couldn't put anything in there as storage. I had to put in supports. The cabinets are paper thin on the exterior with no shelving in the pantry. I added shelves. Just overall I would not recommend a Coachman/Riverwood trailer to anyone looking to purchase a trailer. I am willing to take responsibility for not doing enough due diligence. I made the mistake of thinking that they still built a quality trailer.
Livability
2.0
Overall quality
2.0
Floorplan
4.0
Driving/towing
4.0
Factory warranty/support
4.0
...
Helpful (3)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

William Fletcher

Texas

Reviewed on 2022-06-22

RV reviewed2022 Coachmen Leprechaun

View listings

2.8
Initially, I loved everything about the RV. Then things went sideways. I damaged the awning and it too a few months to get a replacement ordered. Then the front slide failed, which denied me access to the stove and convection oven. While waiting for the parts to come in on the Awning and Slide, the power systems started going wonky; the under-step battery would not hold a charge which caused the refrigerator to fail and I lost most contents. Then the auto leveling alarm started to sound when the truck was started, although the level supports were fully retracted. Then, when I got a tire flat alarm indicator for the right rear interior tire, I discovered that the interior and exterior tires were not aligned, so I did not have access to the tire valves. Emergency roadside assistance fixed the tire and the alignment. Needless to say, untill these repairs are completed, I cannot use the RV as a Mobile Home, which is why I bought it.
Livability
2.0
Overall quality
2.0
Floorplan
4.0
Driving/towing
4.0
Factory warranty/support
2.0
...
Helpful (5)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Christopher Kennedy

Illinois

Reviewed on 2022-06-16

RV reviewed2021 Coachmen Leprechaun 260DS

View listings

5.0
This is the perfect Class C if you are looking for quality and versatility. We have traveled as a complete family of 6 all around the USA. The small driving footprint (27.5) allows you to go virtually anywhere. The new Ford V-8 Godzilla engine has great power to travel the mountains, plains and all in between. The floorplan is great. Kids and guests in the front and a separate master bed in the back with the bathroom. Makes functioning together a breeze for privacy when needed. If you are in the market, take a look at the 260DS.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Richard Campbell

Maryland

Reviewed on 2022-05-27

RV reviewed2021 Coachmen Leprechaun 270QB

View listings

5.0
The ride is smooth and balanced. You never feel top heavy. The Titon 350 Ford V8 has no problems going up and down roads. Roomy, with a "step away kitchen " so the person using the kitchen never has to step aside. We LOVE the big SEPARATE shower with a powder room ALL TO ITSELF. The refrigerator is the perfect size. The sleeping area ( for two) is awesome! The see-through storage is so convenient. You'll love sitting under your beautiful led awning cooking on your outside grill connector & TV hook up! Tow away with a strong 5,000lb towing capacity! Happy Camping!
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Maurice

Georgia

Reviewed on 2022-05-20

RV reviewed2021 Coachmen 187RB Apex Nano

View listings

5.0
Easy towing and everything you need for traveling . Plenty of room for a couple or three.A very well made camper with lots of design features for a great camping experience. Outside chairs and table fit in the storage compartment easily. Exterior of the trailer is smooth so cleaning is a snap, Con to this camper is it maybe too small fora larger family.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
5.0
...
Helpful (2)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Sandra Dyl

Michigan

Reviewed on 2022-05-14

RV reviewed2020 Coachmen 215RBK Apex

View listings

3.8
This is our 2nd Apex travel trailer, and with a few exceptions, we love it. Great floor plan. Tows well. Lots of storage. Table/couch turns into a full size bed, and when the bigger-than-usual table is removed, it becomes a U-shaped couch. The regular bed is a queen. The trailer floor plan works and flows well, and it has 3 distinct areas: The bedroom is separated from the living area and kitchen by the entertainment center, which swivels so it can be viewed either from the bed or the U-shaped couch. The kitchen is opposite the dining table/ U-shaped couch which creates extra work space, convenience and and a cohesive, spacious "great room" living area, but since the couch and table are in the deep slide out, they are not in the traffic area. The bathroom is roomy, in the rear, and it has a nice glassed-in shower and huge storage area. The outdoor kitchen is great and functional with a drawer and a cupboard that are just the right size and a fridge that holds a lot! The kitchen sink has both hot and cold water and drains into the gray water tank. There is a light and an electric plug. When the cover is open, it creates a shaded work area that almost links up with the shade from the awning. The outside shower also has both hot and cold water, great for rinsing off dirty or sandy feet or kids. Outside storage is a decently sized pass-through with a light. Drawbacks: This model has a deep slide that, when stowed, almost touches the kitchen counter. The bedroom is accessible when the slide is in, but the kitchen and bathroom are not. No pullover trips to the fridge or to grab a quick bite or bathroom stops without extending the slide - which you aren't supposed to do without putting the stabilizers down. There is no propane hookup to the grill in the outdoor kitchen. You can use 1 lb disposable tanks or we use an 11 lb refillable. The plus to the refillable tank is that, by adding a portable folding table and a splitter valve, we can hook up both the grill that comes with the trailer and a propane stove at the same time. We keep the stove on the slideout in the kitchen and carry the grill separately. With the stove, the outdoor kitchen works like a complete kitchen minus an oven. The outside fridge is electric only, not 2 way, so it can't be used when rustic camping. Climate control is adequate. We have kept warm in 20 degree weather with the thermostat controlled furnace and cool in 100 degree weather with the AC. Our model year is not a sealed unit that helps protect water lines from the cold, but newer models supposedly are. The inside kitchen has a great 2 way fridge with separate freezer, a nice double sink, a 3 burner stove, and an over-the-stove microwave, but the oven is way too small! The oven in our first Apex would bake and take pots for a small chicken or roast. The oven in the 215RBK is barely tall enough to take a cookie sheet, cake pan or pizza. None of my pots or pans will fit into it to cook even a casserole. Only the microwave will take anything that size. Disappointing since all of the rest of the appliances let me cook just like I would at home. Although the overall construction and Adzel seem solid, a lot of little things have needed minor repairs. Examples: Staples pulling out of the couch backs and trim. Electric plug covers falling off. The tank monitors hooked up backwards at the factory and didn't work. Speakers that didn't work. Annoying repairs that should not have to be done in a fairly new trailer. Bigger repairs possibly due to poor quality issues: Window in the slide shattered on the first trip. No evidence of a stone hitting it. We suspect it was defective, but it wasn't covered under the warranty and it took 7 weeks to get a replacement. Front cap window has a vertical 12 inch stress crack. It doesn't go all the way through to either the inside or the outside of the glass so it wasn't caused by anything hitting the window. The window decal may have kept us from seeing it while it was still small enough to repair, and the crack spread to 12 inches long on just one short trip. We will probably have to replace the window- or the entire cap. We don't have an estimate for repairs yet, but I am sure we won't like it! Overall this is a great trailer for a couple or a single person who wants a bit of space. It is also OK for taking the occasional guest or kids. The table converts to a bed for up to 2 adults albeit not particularly comfortably. It is a big bed that will sag in the middle. We solved that by constructing 2 wooden support posts that carry nicely in the huge storage area under the main bed. The biggest problem has been the repairs and quality of minor things. We did not have those problems with our first Apex, and Coachmen needs to up their game on quality control.
Livability
3.0
Overall quality
3.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
3.0
...
Helpful (3)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Stephanie Eldringhoff

Washington

Reviewed on 2022-05-12

RV reviewed2018 Coachmen 2150CB Prism

View listings

5.0
This is such a wonderful RV - easy to drive and maneuver yet big enough to live in for an extended time. I so appreciate the corner bed and it is an extra long full so we found it as roomy as our Queen bed at home. Having a corner bed means we can easily camp or stop for a nap and not have to open the slide. Now that is a big deal if you are on the road and it is too tight of quarters to open the slide - and trust me, that will happen. The bath really works well. Having the sink outside the room with the separate shower and toilet is very handy. Means I am putting on my make-up and doing my hair while my guy is in the shower. AND there is an outside shower so coming back from the beach you can clean up so easily and no drag the mess inside the coach.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Amy Ware

California

Reviewed on 2022-05-02

RV reviewed2021 Coachmen Apex Ultra-Lite 293RLDS

View listings

5.0
Great trailer, best Floorplan. Good quality build, good company that backs up any issues, tows great, ultra lite sbd can tow with a half ton truck!! Beautiful inside and our. Lots of storage. Love the outdoor kitchen.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Verified Owner
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • ...
  • 75
  • 1 - 10 of 749 reviews

For sale near youRVs For Sale

Do you have an RV experience to share?

Help other RVers by leaving a review for an RV or dealership.

Write a review

Browse top RVs

Browse dealership reviews

Browse By State

Browse By Province