Write a review

RV Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

Floorplan

National RV Dolphin reviews

4.0
Write a review
Liveability
4.7
Overall quality
4.5
Floorplan
4.6
Driving/towing
4.4
Factory warranty
1.9

For sale near youMatching RVs for sale near you

Top 10 RVs

Reviews

22 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

Dave

California

Reviewed on 2014-12-24

RV reviewed1999 National RV Dolphin 5370

View listings

4.0
Bought this RV local, in 2014, was a one owner RV, with 94000 miles, so I'm 2nd owner. Amazing value for the money! New, was $100,000. What a wonderful RV and tremendous value. Every bit as good as newer RV's but a fraction of the cost. Huge bedroom, big slide out, nice size 2 door refrigerator, beautiful bathroom, big living area. National built a tremendously dependable, easy to drive, easy to use, and easy to maintain RV. Panoramic drivers windows, are remarkable for seeing scenery. Have performed normal services this past year, just put new brakes on it, and oil change, serviced the generator. The rig traveled like a performance champion over miles of freeways and mountains. We literally passed up other travelers on the roads, due to the add on of the Banks system. Generator ran and ran. We went 2 times through the Rocky Mountains this past summer, not a single problem, and are already planning our next vacation.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
0.0
...
Helpful (36)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Steve

Arizona

Reviewed on 2021-03-21

RV reviewed2004 National RV Dolphin

View listings

4.2
Used several times for trips in the west and north west. Always have good luck and an enjoyable time with this motorhome. Lots of power and smooth driving on every trip. Big generater and lots of storage.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (11)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

San Jose

California

Reviewed on 2021-03-21

RV reviewed2002 National RV Dolphin 5342

View listings

5.0
This was an awesome RV. We purchased it in 2008, so it was only 6 years old at the time. QUALITY! Too bad National went under. We've been hard pressed to find any newer model RVs with the amenities that this 2002 offered.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
5.0
...
Helpful (13)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Jeannette Ormsby

Florida

Reviewed on 2021-03-03

RV reviewed2003 National RV Dolphin 6342LX

View listings

4.4
We've traveled in this RV for at least 12 years. We went north with it during the summer and traveling all over the place. My husband kept this motorhome in very good condition. When we were coming back from a long trip he would have it at the shop and have them do a tuneup on it. We have travel long distance with this rig many times. Never had major problems. I enjoyed the space in this motorhome and it was our 2nd home. Due to sickness now we have to let it go with a lot of regrets. You could still get a lot of miles with this rig and it is very clean/
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
4.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
3.0
...
Helpful (6)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Steve burt

Minnesota

Reviewed on 2021-01-19

RV reviewed1997 National RV Dolphin 536S

View listings

1.0
I had them come out to look at my furnace had no power to it they came out the tech person they have look all through the camper looking for my coverter they didn't now that a inverter/charger is my coverter so they let me a bill for $375 and furnace still don't work $150hr for tech that doesn't no anything
Livability
1.0
Overall quality
1.0
Floorplan
1.0
Driving/towing
1.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (5)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Greg (in North San Diego County)

California

Reviewed on 2020-05-18

RV reviewed2002 National RV Dolphin 5356

View listings

4.0
After being a 'tent-camper' my whole life, including many days in the field as a career Marine, and after a lot of research on RV's, I finally broke down and 'went-big' by purchasing a (barely used) 2002 Dolphin 5356 from the original owner in Riverside, CA, just a few miles from the old (defunct) factory in Perris, CA where these were supposedly built. The rig is extremely clean, seems to be well-built, and is in excellent shape. I got it for what seems to be a steal ($19K). I'm a single dad (one young son still left), and was actually considering a Class C, but this Class A Dolphin popped up and I jumped on it. Seems this Covid crisis has a lot of people jumping into the mix and buying-up RV's! It has the Workhorse chassis with the 8.1L engine and Allison transmission and has only 20,144 miles on it! Of course I'm planning on changing the engine oil, filter, air filter, and transmission filter, along with topping off any fluids. Plus I'll change the oil and filter in the Generac generator, and inspect the water heater(s) and replace anything that needs it (anodes?). I did an initial inspection of the roof, but will be doig a closer inspection and re-sealing anything that needs it. I'll also be doing a bleach and water sanitation of the entire fresh-water system, and installing high-flow water filter. The owner gave me the (suggested) lubrication for the slide-out's so I'll do that too. Any other suggestions are welcome! The white paint and decals are in perfect shape with no fading or cracking. All the tires were replaced not too long before I purchased it, and the seller is including the tire covers. The seller included a lot of extra things in the storage compartments that look as if they were barely used (if at all). He also included all sorts of kitchen utensils etc. that also look like they've never been used. The stove and microwave/convection oven also look like they've never been used as well. There's a new ladder in the basement, and a slightly used Coleman tailgating grill, 2 brand new sleeping bags, 2 new Eddie Bauer camp chairs, and a large outdoor mat for under the awning. The coach has the usual 2 slides, but the kitchen is on the driver's side slide-out next to the sofa, with the table on the right side near the door. I like that configuration with the table nearest the area outside under the awning. Not all is perfect and there are things that actually need fixing; - one of the side pads on one of the table benches needs to be re-attached - one of the small drawers on the bed pedestal is broken - the house batteries both need to be replaced (but has a brand new vehicle battery) - the wipers need to be replaced. The coach was essentially clean on the outside, but the inside needed a minor cleaning of the small amount of dust that has accumulated since it seems it has been sitting in (covered) storage outside. Nonetheless, I'm super excited to join the RV culture, and have even planned to use it locally here at any of the San Diego area beaches that have re-opened (after the Covid thing). It's about 'baby-steps' at this point so I figure everything out and have a routine. I just reserved a spot in one of our favorite campgrounds, Hurkey Creek, near Lake Hemet and Idyllwild, CA. So far I have about 8 people going, including 2 of my adult kids, my young son, a daughter-in-law, and some friends. My intention is to take this Dolphin on a big loop around the West, to include, but not limited to, the following; Grand Canyon, Bryce Canyon, Zion, Canyonlands, Yellowstone, and Yosemite (not in any particular order). Let the fun begin!!
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
4.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (10)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Sharon

Arizona

Reviewed on 2020-02-29

RV reviewed2005 National RV Dolphin 5355

View listings

4.0
The RV is older but is in very good shape. I like the floor plan as it has sliding doors that separate the rooms. It's satellite ready. The hot water unit heats the water very quickly. Rides well, takes hills very easy. Will have a few extras like sheets, cookware, dinnerware. Overall it is a nice, clean, easy care RV.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
4.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (7)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Jamie Goolsby

Ohio

Reviewed on 2020-02-24

RV reviewed2007 National RV Dolphin 5342

View listings

4.2
I absolutely loved everything about our National Dolphin. The quality of this rig was top notch, from the chassis to the interior & exterior. It came from the factory with all the bells & whistles and was completely self sufficient. I would highly recommend this Rv to anyone looking for a dependable rig with all the comforts.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (7)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Darryl Vidal

California

Reviewed on 2019-12-10

RV reviewed1998 National RV Dolphin 5330

View listings

4.0
My family of 6 enjoyed this RV for over 15 years. It's still in great shape and functional. The Triton V10 is powerful and responsive. Great for a new family with young children wanting to get into a fully functional RV at low cost.
Livability
4.0
Overall quality
4.0
Floorplan
4.0
Driving/towing
4.0
Factory warranty/support
4.0
...
Helpful (14)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Dee

California

Reviewed on 2019-05-21

RV reviewed2001 National RV Dolphin 5350

View listings

5.0
2001 National Dolphin 33' Class A Motorhome. Ford V10 Gasoline Engine. 2 Slide Outs, Patio Awning, Sleeps 6, A/C Unit, Leveling System. Imagine driving off to all of your favorite destinations in this National Dolphin Class A coach. This model offers dual slide outs for extra interior space, plus so much more! Step inside and take a look back at all of the convenient features that would make any journey enjoyable. The kitchen area features everything you need to prepare great meals on the go including a sink, a three burner range with microwave/convection oven, and a refrigerator/freezer. There is also plenty of storage for all of your dry and canned goods. Have a seat at the comfortable dinette, where you can enjoy meals with your family. The living area includes a sofa so you can relax during the daytime, and even take in a little television with surround sound. At night the sofa can transform into sleeping space for family or overnight guests. The master bedroom offers a spacious retreat thanks to the queen size bed. You will find clothing storage, a TV, plus a bit of overhead storage too. Additional Features Include: Plenty of Storage & Cabinets New Batteries & Safety Devices Clean title, no accidents. Runs great and ready to move in or travel cross country!
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
5.0
...
Helpful (9)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 1 - 10 of 22 reviews

For sale near youRVs For Sale

Do you have an RV experience to share?

Help other RVers by leaving a review for an RV or dealership.

Write a review