Write a review

RV Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

Floorplan

Lance Lance 2285 reviews

4.4
Write a review
Liveability
4.5
Overall quality
4.3
Floorplan
4.5
Driving/towing
4.5
Factory warranty
4.3

For sale near youMatching RVs for sale near you

Top 10 RVs

Reviews

8 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

Gary Eifler

Texas

Reviewed on 2017-11-12

RV reviewed2016 Lance Lance 2285

View listings

4.4
We purchased our Lance 2285 in July 2016. This is the first travel trailer we have ever owned and we did a LOT of research prior to making our purchase. We also read a lot of reviews which I think are very helpful. I give the overall Lance experience a strong "B" I had higher expectations based on the price and quality reputation. The positives seem to be common among owners. The low profile and tandem axle pulls smoothly. Storage is also a plus with large outside storage compartments up front and in the slide. Fit and finish inside are high quality. The negative has been the leaks, which appear to be a common complaint among Owner reviews. Our shower leaked from day one which turned out to be a broken fitting from the factory. Our bedroom roof vent leaked with the first big rain storm to the point we had to cancel our trip. We have also had problems with our Atwood water heater but I don't hold Lance responsible for appliances. An electrical socket broke but Lance sent me a new one ASAP. Overall, I think all trailers, regardless of price are going to have issues, especially when you think about the amount of vibration they endure going down the highway 65 MPH. On a scale of 1-5 with 5 being the best I give Lance a 4.
Livability
4.0
Overall quality
4.0
Floorplan
4.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
5.0
...
Helpful (21)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Mike Barnes

Georgia

Reviewed on 2022-03-11

RV reviewed2021 Lance Lance 2285

View listings

5.0
The quality of materials used and the workmanship make Lance one of the best RVs in the world. I love the true 4Seasons package. You can camp anywhere in any weather. The 3 lp tanks always means you have a spare.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

William Paul

California

Reviewed on 2021-08-23

RV reviewed2020 Lance Lance 2285

View listings

5.0
Lance makes extremely well built RV's and the 2285 is no exception. Light enough to tow easily but still has plenty of space to sleep a family. They are built with high quality materials and there are so many useful storage areas. We never ran out of grey tank room with 2 grey tanks, 30 gallons each. 60 gallons of grey water is crazy for a trailer this small. Another benefit is the true full size queen bed. RV queens are just too short for anyone of a decent height. We considered so many floor plans to tow behind our half ton truck and found this to be the most livable. Lance Travel trailers and especially the 2285 are highly recommended!
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
5.0
...
Helpful (9)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Dick Couch

Idaho

Reviewed on 2021-08-13

RV reviewed2018 Lance Lance 2285

View listings

4.6
Lance makes a quality product and I would not be selling this unit except that, give my age and physical limitations, I need to look for a smaller rig. The 2285 is a live-aboard trailer and we now need only a weekender RV.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
4.0
Factory warranty/support
4.0
...
Helpful (6)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Robert Smith

Washington

Reviewed on 2020-11-07

RV reviewed2017 Lance Lance 2285

View listings

3.4
I bought the 2285 brand new tv had to be replaced after 4 months stereo system did not work properly. Then the skylight started leaking and caused roof material to come loose. Who makes a flat roof on an all weather Rv? Spells trouble!
Livability
4.0
Overall quality
4.0
Floorplan
4.0
Driving/towing
4.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (28)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Peter

New Hampshire

Reviewed on 2020-10-02

RV reviewed2015 Lance Lance 2285

View listings

4.8
This is an ideal Travel Trailer for a couple as it has two swivel rocking chairs instead of a couch. It does however have a u shape dinette which is easily transformed into a large bed. Another feature of this unit is that it two entry/exit doors. This is convenient when traveling as the dinette and the bathroom are accessible when the slideout is retracted. Also a separate entrance to the bedroom. The bedroom is separated from the main kitchen/dinette area. We love this Trailer however due to age we feel it is time move to a different type as we move along this aging process. This trailer is in exceptional shape from a quality manufacturer.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
4.0
...
Helpful (6)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

C. Jolma

Arizona

Reviewed on 2018-06-26

RV reviewed2017 Lance Lance 2285

View listings

4.0
We bought a new Lance 2285 travel trailer last Fall of 2017. The interior is functional and has a contemporary look. It travels nicely, pulled by a Tahoe. We have experienced problems with the front window above the bed shattering on two occasions. We have no idea why the window shattered, but it had to be replaced twice, forcing us to drive over 240 miles on two trips, rent a hotel room, and spend several weeks with a new travel trailer that we could not use. This is very disheartening, due to the fact that we researched Lance travel trailers very carefully before we bought the 2285. We feel that this window design is flawed, and needs further consideration and more stringent quality control. We are presently trying to find an after- market cover for this window. Apparently, it has to be fabricated for this particular window which is costly and inconvenient. We have heard of similar window problems with other Lance travel trailers. We are hopeful that the Lance people are working to correct this problem. We do like many features of the Lance, the floor plan, the furnishings, the good warranty service, appliances, comfortable couch, walk- around bed, and ample storage to name a few qualities. We did have issues with the electric hitch which had to be recalled, and with the rubber seals in the slide out. As travel trailer owners of Airstream and Arctic Fox models for the past 12 years, we have never experienced so much frustration as we have with this particular Lance 2285. Hopefully, they will solve these issues in the future so other potential customers won't have to deal with this situation.
Livability
4.0
Overall quality
3.0
Floorplan
4.0
Driving/towing
4.0
Factory warranty/support
5.0
...
Helpful (18)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

C. Jolma

Arizona

Reviewed on 2018-06-26

RV reviewed2017 Lance Lance 2285

View listings

4.0
We bought a new Lance 2285 travel trailer last Fall of 2017. The interior is functional and has a contemporary look. It travels nicely, pulled by a Tahoe. We have experienced problems with the front window above the bed shattering on two occasions. We have no idea why the window shattered, but it had to be replaced twice, forcing us to drive over 240 miles on two trips, rent a hotel room, and spend several weeks with a new travel trailer that we could not use. This is very disheartening, due to the fact that we researched Lance travel trailers very carefully before we bought the 2285. We feel that this window design is flawed, and needs further consideration and more stringent quality control. We are presently trying to find an after- market cover for this window. Apparently, it has to be fabricated for this particular window which is costly and inconvenient. We have heard of similar window problems with other Lance travel trailers. We are hopeful that the Lance people are working to correct this problem. We do like many features of the Lance, the floor plan, the furnishings, the good warranty service, appliances, comfortable couch, walk- around bed, and ample storage to name a few qualities. We did have issues with the electric hitch which had to be recalled, and with the rubber seals in the slide out. As travel trailer owners of Airstream and Arctic Fox models for the past 12 years, we have never experienced so much frustration as we have with this particular Lance 2285. Hopefully, they will solve these issues in the future so other potential customers won't have to deal with this situation.
Livability
4.0
Overall quality
3.0
Floorplan
4.0
Driving/towing
4.0
Factory warranty/support
5.0
...
Helpful (25)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 1 - 8 of 8 reviews

For sale near youRVs For Sale

Do you have an RV experience to share?

Help other RVers by leaving a review for an RV or dealership.

Write a review

Browse top RVs

Browse dealership reviews

Browse By State

Browse By Province