Write a review

RV Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

Floorplan

Lance Lance 1985 reviews

4.0
Write a review
Liveability
4.4
Overall quality
3.7
Floorplan
4.6
Driving/towing
4.6
Factory warranty
2.4

For sale near youMatching RVs for sale near you

Top 10 RVs

Reviews

16 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

Debra Howell

Washington

Reviewed on 2020-02-14

RV reviewed2016 Lance Lance 1985

View listings

2.6
We purchased a 3 year old Lance 1995 from a dealership who had taken it in on a trade-in for a larger unit. We saw it prior to the shop going over it and it was very clean and obviously not used much plus it had orginally been purchased at the same dealership. This assured us in that the product and dealership had return customers and that it had been well taken care of. The high cost for Lance is touted to be due to it being a far superior product. Fast forward several months and we find that both the fan over the bed AND the skylight in the bathroom are leaking. We are then told by the dealership that this is a “known” issue with Lance and 4 season only means the undercarriage. We are not new to RVs and have over many years had many different rigs. We have NEVER had an issue of leakage like this (around the inside seal, it is full of water), especially on a unit only 3 years old. Be warned. Lance is not the “Quality” they tout and at least this dealership knows it.
Livability
4.0
Overall quality
1.0
Floorplan
3.0
Driving/towing
4.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (47)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Brian

Alabama

Reviewed on 2021-04-08

RV reviewed2018 Lance Lance 1985

View listings

4.0
Good small travel trailer. Better quality than most brands. Easy to pull with a 1/2 ton V8 truck. Very well insulated and cooled. Larger tank sizes than comparable size travel trailers. Space saving murphy bed.
Livability
4.0
Overall quality
4.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
4.0
Factory warranty/support
3.0
...
Helpful (6)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Bill Milette

Connecticut

Reviewed on 2021-03-28

RV reviewed2017 Lance Lance 1985

View listings

5.0
This is our second Lance. We are in the process of upgrading to a model 2465. We are very happy with are campers. They are lite weight and are easy to pull. The electric jacks make it very easy to set up. The interior is very functional. The details are beautifully made. Like anything today you get what you pay for the quality shows! There is also plenty of storage inside and outside. The queen bed is great! We added a pillow top it's very comfortable and there is plenty of space around to walk. The camper is a 4-season which keeps all the holding tanks from freezing when you go camping late season a great feature. The bottom of the camper is all sealed you won't get any critters nesting for the winter either! The other thing that I liked is the material that it is made of will not rot or mildew like some other campers on the market today That is why my wife and I love our lance. If you want quality this is a great camper to own!
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
5.0
...
Helpful (11)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Bill Milette

Connecticut

Reviewed on 2021-03-26

RV reviewed2017 Lance Lance 1985

View listings

5.0
This is my wife and I 2nd Lance.We upgraded to a model 1985 we bought it brand new. We went from a single axle model 1575 to a dual axle. This tows better and is easier to back up. This model also has the largest bathroom and closet space for storage. The other reason is the 4-season package it is well insulated for colder weather. The bed is a queen we added a pillow top it made a big difference very comfortable for sleeping. We only used it in the summer two or three times a year it a great camper very comfortable easy to set up. We don't smoke. We are retired kids all grown up. The reason we are selling we are upgrading again to a newer model lance that we ordered it will be in early summer can't wait. Lance makes a beautiful and very functional camper well worth it!
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
5.0
...
Helpful (7)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Sondra Moore

California

Reviewed on 2020-09-22

RV reviewed2017 Lance Lance 1985

View listings

2.4
purchased a slightly used lance 1685 nothing but problems with slide and main Door, dealer replaced main door because of broken open latch with a tension door and door doesn't operate correctly Slide out having issues broke molding on inside, and appears to be off track. Dealer wants 1000. to repair after replacing with incorrect main door.
Livability
1.0
Overall quality
1.0
Floorplan
4.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (12)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Mark Strauss

Nevada

Reviewed on 2020-08-04

RV reviewed2016 Lance Lance 1985

View listings

4.8
I really liked all the clever design features on this rig. The large sink, and 3 closets and under-bed storage really make use of the space in a very efficient way. The composting toilet is 100 times better than having to deal with dumping black water and all the accompanying smells and mess. Solar setup is great and can last several days without sunshine with the Tesla battery system. I love it!
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
4.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
5.0
...
Helpful (11)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Trish

British Columbia

Reviewed on 2020-07-29

RV reviewed2011 Lance Lance 1985

View listings

3.0
In 2013 after very little Hwy mileage, while parked, the water tank fell out of our Lance 1985. Lance would not return our calls or emails. This could have caused a catastrophic accident on the HWY. Now it is completely rotten. The floor is full of rot and it leaks everywhere. it is now basically garbage.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
1.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
3.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (15)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Frank Ingels

Florida

Reviewed on 2020-05-20

RV reviewed2013 Lance Lance 1985

View listings

5.0
After MUCH research we decided Lance and Airstream are equal in quality and design. Our research included talking with owners of mNy kinds and going in them. We bought a Lance and drove 200 miles home with no problems. They are tough built.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
5.0
...
Helpful (32)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Fennell

British Columbia

Reviewed on 2020-01-30

RV reviewed2011 Lance Lance 1985

View listings

3.0
We bought a brand new Lance 1985 and it is nothing but junk with absolutely no support from Lance. After two years of very few hwy miles the water tank fell out in our driveway. An obvious defect. Lance wouldn't return our calls or emails. in two years the under carriage battery brackets, towing device, every single screw holding it together was completely rusted to the point we could not the spare tire of. it leaked immediately and continued to leak after getting it fixed. it now has rot and mould. What a piece of junk
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
1.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
3.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (27)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Faith

Washington

Reviewed on 2019-10-01

RV reviewed2017 Lance Lance 1985

View listings

3.2
We thought we did good, upgrading to a Lance... but it has had nothing but problems! Got it with mouse infestation, but didn't turn on the heat right away so, couldn't pin point it to the dealer. But the main issue has been water! Had a leak and got it right in for repair. Thought it was fixed... not! Got it into another dealer, who said they fixed it.. it's only been a month and this is the worst leak EVER! There is so much water in the lights above the bed that the lights are on without the switch on! I just can't believe the quality control. I wish that we had come to this sight before making this major purchase! BUYERS OF LANCE, BEWARE!
Livability
4.0
Overall quality
2.0
Floorplan
4.0
Driving/towing
4.0
Factory warranty/support
2.0
...
Helpful (41)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 1 - 10 of 16 reviews

For sale near youRVs For Sale

Do you have an RV experience to share?

Help other RVers by leaving a review for an RV or dealership.

Write a review

Browse top RVs

Browse dealership reviews

Browse By State

Browse By Province