Write a review

RV Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

Floorplan

Riverside RV Retro reviews

3.4
Write a review
Liveability
3.8
Overall quality
2.7
Floorplan
3.9
Driving/towing
3.9
Factory warranty
2.8

For sale near youMatching RVs for sale near you

Top 10 RVs

Reviews

33 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

Keith Horowitz

California

Reviewed on 2018-04-27

RV reviewed2017 Riverside RV Retro 177

View listings

2.6
Trailer gets tons of admiring looks and compliments, and we love the layout. Problem, as stated by most leaving reviews that I wish I read BEFORE I purchased, this trailer basically comes with NO WARRANTY, because the company does not stand behind the quality of their product, which is really shameful. We were on our third trip with our 10 month old Riverside Retro 177. On our last fueling stop before returning home, my wife noticed that our awning was gone! Only thing left were two bars that hold the awning that punched a 7" hole in our door, and scratched and dented the whole side and part of the roof beyond repair. We took a picture of the rig on the previous stop, because we thought that it looked cute in front of the Waffle House we were at, and awning is visible in pic with no issues. Since all of our trips were very short, we have NEVER taken the awning out. You guessed it, Riverside RV said that the awning flying off driving 55 mph was not their fault, and not covered under warranty. Buyer beware!!
Livability
4.0
Overall quality
1.0
Floorplan
4.0
Driving/towing
3.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (202)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

George Kelbley

New Mexico

Reviewed on 2022-05-01

RV reviewed2015 Riverside RV Retro 177 Base

View listings

5.0
We have had very good luck with our 177 trailer. We purchased it new in early 2016, all appliances are original and all still work properly. The water pump quit less than year in and I replaced it myself rather than hassle with taking it to the dealer. We have had no problem with leaks or the floor, the workmanship on ours is solid. We've towed this guy all over the West with no problems. Tires replaced one time, tongue jack replaced (I bent it in a parking lot). We did some upgrades like LED bulbs since ours didn't come with them standard. Our main roof vent did not come with a fan so I added that, also replaced both vent lids after one broke, I'm guess too much New Mexico sunshine. This is our first trailer and if we had it to do over again I'd something a little larger as its a tight fit for extended trip with two people. It has a wet bath which a little cozy, but workable. Trailer is light and we started towing with a Tacoma but upgraded to an Expedition, which barely feels the trailer. We do get a lot of looks on the road and we love the style. I realize a lot of reviews are generated by negative experiences, we feel very lucky that our experience has been so good.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Nina Oller

Kansas

Reviewed on 2022-04-03

RV reviewed2020 Riverside RV Retro 171DRD

View listings

2.8
Great price i guess, and you get what you pay for. Spent a year and a half going back and forth to the dealer for repairs. Some of the things we experienced, waterline puncture under the sink from a stapler first trip out... flood. Radio quit working, heater quit working, ceiling began to droop, entire back wall filled with water, had to get that replaced. First trip of 2022, and toilet valve leaked, and had to keep cutting off the water to control it. Do not recommend! Yeah- most things covered under warranty, but to spend 20k on something that falls apart from the get go, I don't agree with! Unhappy and will trade in or sell and have to face negative equity, does not keep its value. Two years old and we are looking at 7 k in negative equity. Don't buy!
Livability
3.0
Overall quality
1.0
Floorplan
2.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
3.0
...
Helpful (2)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Danny Bailey

Texas

Reviewed on 2022-03-31

RV reviewed2020 Riverside RV Retro 135

View listings

3.4
Purchase unit brand new, Retro 135, 5 miles from the dealer driving in the hwy the solar panels flew off the roof 100% destroyed, same day driving back from Ohio to Texas the 12V battery power did not work at the camp site. Drove back to Texas no new issue, technically purchase the unit drove home still awaiting for an appointment from the local dealer. Therefore I have not enjoy the unit yet. Still is a good looking unit just disappointed with workmanship.
Livability
4.0
Overall quality
1.0
Floorplan
4.0
Driving/towing
4.0
Factory warranty/support
4.0
...
Helpful (3)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Art Clawson

Tennessee

Reviewed on 2022-03-30

RV reviewed2019 Riverside RV Retro 193

View listings

5.0
Everyone who sees this RV love the look of it. We thoroughly enjoy this Retro. It is easy to set up and pulls very easy behind our pickup especially with the dual axle. The bed sleeps very well with the added mattress cover and the refrigerator/freezer is almost as large as the one we have in our home. The microwave, oven and TV all work excellently. It is easy to heat and cool.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Dean Barney

Utah

Reviewed on 2022-02-17

RV reviewed2020 Riverside RV Retro 135

View listings

4.6
Wife and I purchased this RV new in 2019 prior to the most recent change in factory ownership. We purchased from dealer adjacent to factory in Indiana as a special order. That way we got exactly the colors and options wanted. Also was able to tour factory with the employee who originally promoted and pitched this floor plan to Riverside. This model has been popular from the start as a couples trailer. We love the interior wood paneling and exterior retro look. In fact traveling with this trailer draws adoring comments from people wherever we go. It's like taking a cute puppy for a walk. We like the dry bath and regular size queen bed. The 12 volt refrigerator works fantastic. Ice-cream is always rock hard. Battery draw is really not bad at all. This small trailer tows straight with no fishtailing even with no swaybar. Quality- This is a hand made unit and fit and finish is average and variable. Before taking delivery we had the crooked bath door rehung and drawers straightened. Other interior trim fixed and so forth. Caulking is going to be hit and miss. Roof sealant is going to need inspection and minor topping off. Due to covid backups at dealer service centers I've done additional maintenance myself because I'm handy and enjoy it. These units like all RV's take constant inspection and maintenance. It's just the way it is. I've had no roof leaks because I found a roof seam separation during inspection and fixed it after a long road trip and just prior to a heavy rain. After two years I did a complete exterior caulking refresh. I also replaced the leaf spring nylon bushings. Also a propane line routed over the axel was pinched closed over time and needed to be replaced. Overall we have really enjoyed this unit. Its easy to tow and great for touring. We did replace the factory mattress with a nice innerspring pillow top queen. If you go in with the right expectations these can be really fun trailers.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
4.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
4.0
...
Helpful (3)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Stephanie Underwood

New York

Reviewed on 2021-10-26

RV reviewed2017 Riverside RV Retro 195

View listings

1.8
We fell in love with the retro 195 the red and white interior and beautiful dinette. So we bought it brand new. Got a lot of admiring looks and comments. However, the tongue jack collapsed on us on a camping trip not even having it two years. The radio has never worked , front awning was never sealed where the wires go into the trailer so leaked all over front storage compartment and caused mold to start to appear. We sealed it and double checked all seals. However on the drivers side of the trailer there was another leak somewhere apparently that to this day still have no idea where it leaked in. The floor is punky and mold spots all over black and white linoleum and the wood is starting to press through the linoleum. Gutter drains in a stupid place where they can leak right into storage compartments. Cant clip door open if awning is out. We just got done camping this season October 2021 and decided this thing is not worth the aggravation, oh yeah and the furnace just crapped out. Going to trade which we are going to take a horrible loss because of black mold. I will never recommend Riverside or buy from them again. Decided on a grand design because of quality and great reviews. They all have issues I know but this is way to many things to go wrong with a brand new camper.
Livability
2.0
Overall quality
1.0
Floorplan
2.0
Driving/towing
3.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (6)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Todd Ashlock

Texas

Reviewed on 2021-10-20

RV reviewed2021 Riverside RV Retro 135

View listings

1.8
Solar panel and air conditioner were not put on correct. Drawers and curtains and cabinets falling off the wall. Hot water heater did not work. Shower put in wrong. Leaks in the ceiling, walls and door. Paneling falling off the wall. This was all during our first eight days in the camper. Has been in the shop since then. Would not and will not buy another Riverside product. The lady was also rude and argumentative over the phone. With all these problems unwilling to take back and trade for a new RV.
Livability
1.0
Overall quality
1.0
Floorplan
3.0
Driving/towing
3.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (4)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Bill

Georgia

Reviewed on 2021-08-25

RV reviewed2018 Riverside RV Retro 189R

View listings

3.2
First yrip out after buying trailer swayed all over road. The see through storage as well as fresh water tank is in back. Dumped fresh water and unloaded storage into truck. Foixed that problemn . (Not enough tounge weight) turned on city water and it leaked into storage area. That was enough for me its for sale
Livability
4.0
Overall quality
2.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
1.0
Factory warranty/support
4.0
...
Helpful (8)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Jack

New Hampshire

Reviewed on 2021-08-04

RV reviewed2017 Riverside RV Retro 177SE

View listings

3.6
I would not recommend buying a retro trailer. While the Riverside Warranty department helped me while on the road and were nice. The fact that a brand new trailer had issues is wrong. I took position in January of 2018 and within a week the hot water heater wouldn't work. A six weeks later, the heater went. It took three trips and six days at the shop fix. I got the trailer back twice still not working. There were a bunch of issues I had for the RV shop after the first trip. One of the items which concerned me as their web page shows they test the windows and rv for leaks. I had a window that leak. Then it was just before a year I had the re window leaking. I was told by the RV Shop where I bought it that it was out of warranty. I believe this is wrong because I bought the trailer a month and a half before taking possession (so add a clause that warrant starts the day you take possession). The latest issue is a tire. Nobody carries the replacement tires. I can't even find a tire store that can order them.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
1.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
4.0
Factory warranty/support
3.0
...
Helpful (15)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 1 - 10 of 33 reviews

For sale near youRVs For Sale

Do you have an RV experience to share?

Help other RVers by leaving a review for an RV or dealership.

Write a review