Write a review

RV Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

Floorplan

NeXus RV Phantom reviews

3.3 (23 reviews)
Write a review
Liveability
3.5
Overall quality
3.1
Floorplan
3.9
Driving/towing
3.5
Factory warranty
2.3

For sale near youMatching RVs for sale near you

See all

Top 10 RVs

Reviews

Stars Refinement

23 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

mike Duhaime

Reviewed on 2022-10-18

RV reviewed 2022 NeXus RV Phantom 24P view listing

1.0
We put all our savings in this Nexus, to travel in our golden years. Never could we have imagined the nightmare, sleepless nights, headaches from this machine. I wont talk about the usual things people complain about, we had all those too. It's the safety issues and factory inadequacies that i must bring up. Nexus did take back the first 2022 model. Gasoline leaks and smell inside camper. Water leaks in walls and floors. Huge water leaks in cab over bunk caused shorting of dash, check engine light and loss of cameras, radio. They sent another at end of August. We had planned a cross Canada trip, and no time left test the new one. It was missing electric step, rear stabilizers, lane assist, swivel seats, Intermediately even more serious issues. It was hard to believe, the new 2023 model was worse. Should not have left the factory. Slide stuck, blew main 200 amp fuse. Found 25 screws jamming slide. Generator shook violently and had to be shut off. While inside inspecting and cleaning for trip, I smelled gasoline real bad , again! I saw daylight through holes in floor behind seats, and rear wall of master bed. Fumes coming in from them! A noise could be heard with engine off, and coach power switched off. I ran outside to find gasoline pouring out of generator. It was switched off, but electric fuel pump was stuck on, pumping gas out carb. I had to remove power wires and fuse to stop it. No time to fix, leaving next day. Ford dealer could not fix steering wheel either, too busy. Was mounted sideways, blocking speedo! At a stop to selling dealer, they felt awful bad we had to drive like this. They had to give us another mattress from a new camper as ours was unusable. While they installed it, they slipped on water...coming out fresh water tank. We opened up cover to inspect...found normally flat water tank was ballooned with straps broken off clean. It leaked at seams. No time to replace, I opted to continue without using water tank! 1000 kms into drive, rain started. Water poured in onto our knees! Then it shorted the dash lights, cruise control, traction lights on! lost back up and side cameras. We had to stop overnight. Next day the sun came out and we continued, too far in now. I stopped at hardware store to buy silicone, rubber seals, tape...as inspection of roof to cab area showed damage. At factory, multiple dents where cab to bunk seal is caused water to simply pour in. Just plain bad workmanship. I sealed the crack, it's ugly but it worked! no more water. I cant imagine workers on the line just letting this go with obvious damage to roof. The fresh water tank had vent hose twisted so many times, it was blocked tight. That is why the water tank ballooned. I crawled in and repaired the hose vent because using the toilet on the go was important. We could put half a tank now, but it still leaked at night. My wife slipped on water at night going to toilet. She hurt her hip. This really upset me. When you drive with water, gray and black tanks full, the motorhome drags it's back. This causes high headlights and frustrates other drivers to the point where they chase you down One guy stopped me for sparks under camper. The propane extension hose was dragging on road, full of gas! Turns out there is no place to fasten it from factory, so it simply falls to road. I had not used it and had to strap it to frame myself. My dealer in Ottawa dropped the Nexus line from 49 stores. Now, Nexus wont honor warranty. And to clarify why Nexus replaced the first Phantom 24P, It had multiple holes drilled in walls, floors, tanks. Yes 6 holes drilled into gas tank! Ford would not cover it, so Nexus bought a tank. It was like someone at factory vandalized it on purpose. It's clear to me that Nexus puts put unsafe RV's. Bad quality, that's a given, but how come these machines can even leave the factory, putting customers in danger ?
Livability
1.0
Overall quality
1.0
Floorplan
1.0
Driving/towing
1.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (0)

Flag

Flag this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Ken Morgan

Texas

Reviewed on 2022-01-20

RV reviewed 2019 Nexus RV Phantom 31P view listing

4.2
Enjoy our nexus class c. Really like the steel cage which makes for a stable ride in a gas class c. Great towing ability. Good workmanship. I am handy and fix minor things as needed. Overall, compared to 6 other units I have owned. My experience with the Nexus 31p has been very positive and a good investment.
Livability
4.0
Overall quality
4.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
4.0
Factory warranty/support
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Flag

Flag this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Jack Hull

Illinois

Reviewed on 2020-12-28

RV reviewed 2017 NeXus RV Phantom 31P view listing

4.6
We have owned our 2017(2016 chasis)Nexus Phantom 31P since March 2017. We purchased in the last months of factory direct. Purchased with 2400 miles on unit. Explained upfront, no factory warranty. We purchased a 5 year 60k mile ext. Warranty at very reasonable price. We love this floor plan, shower separate from bath. Space is great, including storage and pantry. We added loveseat to replace uncomfortable jackknife. Game changer. Like outside storage, heat pump a/c and electric heat, gas furnace too. Fridge, stove top great. Convection oven microwave great. Drives super, both wife and I comfortable with being behind wheel. Replaced front tires at 18,500 miles after front end alignment. Able to store inside in winter, important. Bed, after buying and replacing topper, Perfect. Slides work well for 3 years. We have professional winterizing and bringing out in spring. Money well spent to have shop check it over twice per year. Only water pump replacement so far! Had problem with water hookup, switch from city to tank setup. Nexus fixed at rally 1 1/2 year ago. Super service on that. Average 8.5 to 9 mpg on every trip. We do not tow. We keep fresh water full while traveling. Provides great handling to even weight on unit. Careful to not overload rear, with lots of coach behind back wheels. We will replace rear duals start of spring 2021. Feel age of tires at 4 years more important than miles on them. Well spent safety traveling on newer tires. Removed wheel covers, in the way, dangerously sharp edges. We are extremely pleased with our Floorplan, have not found another we like better. Dream of Super C but unsure if we really want to mess with diesel, DEF ext. 36-37 foot Super C Ghost is only other unit we dream about. Attending rally really helped us to understand great folks at Nexus. We do miss Lori. David and Claude solid owners. We would purchase again from Nexus through dealers if we find one we trust and believe in. But no reason to change the unit we love. 6 trips to Colorado, Florida, South Dakota, and local travels plus Elkhart. Jack and Kathy Hull Pike County Illinois Between the rivers.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
4.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Flag

Flag this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Leeann Burnam

Texas

Reviewed on 2020-10-03

RV reviewed 2017 NeXus RV Phantom 32P view listing

1.4
The worse class C on the market. The electric system is a joke. You have to turn AC off to use the microwave. Used one plug over sink. It turned off the tv and lights on refrigerator were flashing. Lights dimmed. Checked fuses also I had to go out and reset 30 amp on pole twice so far. I feel the factory doesn't know what They are doing. I thought winnabago had some problems but Nexus beats them hands down. No wonder their #1 salesperson left the company.
Livability
1.0
Overall quality
1.0
Floorplan
2.0
Driving/towing
2.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (0)

Flag

Flag this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Marsha Goforth

Texas

Reviewed on 2020-07-16

RV reviewed 2019 Nexus RV Phantom 31P view listing

1.0
I would not endorse this Nexus RV to a dog. This is the worse manufacturer of RV's ever. I was conned into buying this piece of crap. I went on my 1st camping trip 14 miles away from my home. The refrigerator went out and had to have it replaced. My next camping trip was 20 miles away. The A/C went out and it was sweltering. I now have my RV in the shop having the A/C replaced because it was not installed correctly from the factory. Also the slides were not adjusted correctly, the seat back on the dining bench was coming off, the cheap plastic bolts on the stove cover broke and the decals were all peeling. Nexus wants to replace the decals with a cheaper one. I am about to declare the lemon law on this one and contact my attorney. I have not had access to my RV in over a month. DO NOT BUY NEXUS.
Livability
1.0
Overall quality
1.0
Floorplan
1.0
Driving/towing
1.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (0)

Flag

Flag this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Joanne Stuckey

Texas

Reviewed on 2020-06-14

RV reviewed 2015 NeXus RV Phantom 24P view listing

5.0
Love our 2015 Phantom 25P! It has plenty of storage and steel cage construction make it the safest class-c on the market! It went to Florida, Colorado, Texas and on many Other journeys with nothing but routine maintenance - strong towing capacity (5000). No problems or complaints in all the years we have owned it!
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Flag

Flag this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Ken Morgan

Texas

Reviewed on 2020-05-16

RV reviewed 2019 Nexus RV Phantom 31P view listing

4.2
Had to drive 500 miles to purchase our 31P. Everything has worked great since we drove it off the lot. Small minor things to tighten or adjust which I could easily do myself. Well built, really quiet while driving and nice road manners compared to others Class C's I have owned. The steel cage and steel subfloor really tightens up this Class C. Not disappointed with our purchase at all.
Livability
4.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
4.0
Driving/towing
4.0
Factory warranty/support
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Flag

Flag this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Rankel

Pennsylvania

Reviewed on 2019-12-09

RV reviewed 2019 Nexus RV Phantom 25P view listing

2.2
This 2019 nexus evoque has been nothing but a nightmare we had jacks fixed many electrical problems had to go to 5 mechanics 7 months in shops out of 1 year.We just went away and now it's leaking again which we had mechanic look for leak but they say it is not. Solar panel has never worked. How can they charge so much but not sell a new working RV.This is nothing but an expensive garbage truck. We still don't have a working radio.Tv outside does not work.
Livability
1.0
Overall quality
1.0
Floorplan
4.0
Driving/towing
4.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (0)

Flag

Flag this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Cheryl Harr

Ohio

Reviewed on 2019-11-04

RV reviewed 2018 Nexus RV Phantom 35SC view listing

5.0
We love our Nexus RV. We have had a couple class c's in the past and this one is by far the best. It is our 1st diesel engine and does a great job pulling our mini van through the mountains. We did upgrade the suspension system with LiquidSprings and added SumoSprings on the front. The ride is fantastic now. This is a solid unit when going down the road. We do not get blown around by semi's. The bunkhouse floor plan gives us plenty of room for two teens with lots of storage inside and out. My husband says this unit is easy to maintain.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Flag

Flag this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 1 - 10 of 23 reviews

For sale near youRVs For Sale

See all

Do you have an RV experience to share?

Help other RVers by leaving a review for an RV or dealership.

Write a review