Write a review

RV Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

Floorplan

KZ Sportsmen Classic reviews

3.3
Write a review
Liveability
3.3
Overall quality
2.9
Floorplan
3.7
Driving/towing
3.9
Factory warranty
2.3

For sale near youMatching RVs for sale near you

See all

Top 10 RVs

Reviews

Stars Refinement

18 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

Maria Hall

Reviewed on 2022-11-08

RV reviewed 2022 KZ Sportsmen Classic 191BHK view listing

1.8
We bought this unit brand new. Manufactured 4 month prior to us purchasing it. One of the tires was not centered in the wheel well and was getting cut. The unit was "repaired", but the tire still was not centered and I was told by KZ's warranty manager "you bought it that way", "tires are centered", "there's nothing more that can be done". Until I discovered that the tire was STILL hitting the wheel well. Then the company treated me like crap and hassled me to get that repaired properly. Tried to word their documents in such a way that would allow them to screw us over and shirk their way out of actually repairing their defective product. Oh, AND they wanted us to continue to tow the unit on the road with other drivers because they refused to pick the unit up from our residence to take it to their facility for warranty repair. Imagine a company that doesn't care about your safety, their employee's safety, or anyone driving on the roads from Michigan to Indiana's safety. I would recommend that everyone buy any other kind of camper. Do NOT buy one from KZ as they don't stand behind their products, disregard safety, and cannot provide customer service.
Livability
1.0
Overall quality
1.0
Floorplan
3.0
Driving/towing
3.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (0)

Flag

Flag this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Joe T

New Jersey

Reviewed on 2022-03-04

RV reviewed 2018 KZ Sportsmen Classic 180TH view listing

4.6
No issues despite full timing for 6 months. Handled road vibration well. Kitchen is a little tight. Tows fine but gas mileage is worse than expected due to high profile and width. Overall happy with trailer.
Livability
4.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
4.0
Factory warranty/support
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Flag

Flag this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Sam Byerly

Illinois

Reviewed on 2021-10-27

RV reviewed 2018 KZ Sportsmen Classic 180TH view listing

3.6
KZ Sportsmen Classic 180TH, ulta-light toy hauler is an inexpensive and well designed alternative to toy haulers requiring fifth wheels or super duty vehicles for towing. The living space is well designed and the appliances are excellent. There is ample storage for lots of stuff. My only complaint is in the overall quality of materials and workmanship. The cabinet frames are always vibrating loose and have to be inspected, re-glued or re-fastened every Spring before the first camping trip. Similarly, the D-Rings in the floor and all of the outside screws, bolts and fasteners tend to vibrate loose and need to be tightened each Spring before the first camping trip. I have now installed lock-tight on all of the fasteners to minimize loosening and loss. The bottom line with KZ is that you get what you pay for in an economical camper. But if you are willing to put some time into it to improve or upgrade their construction and fastener design, then it is worth the investment to own one of their campers.
Livability
4.0
Overall quality
2.0
Floorplan
4.0
Driving/towing
4.0
Factory warranty/support
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Flag

Flag this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

shawn

Ontario

Reviewed on 2021-07-11

RV reviewed 2020 KZ Sportsmen Classic 181BH view listing

2.6
Hi, We are first time rv owners and were happy when we purchased our camper. When we looked at it for the first time it we felt it suited us and had lots of storage. Now that we have had it for a few months i noticed now how shoty the workman hip is of it. There are screws that hold supports (bunk beds, dining room table stroage area under seats that not screw into in solid wood behind the walls, the shower handel flimsy plastic that crack when slipped out of my hand, hot water tank has a small leak where the anode rod goes in, Rear bottom bunk curtain rod pulled iut one side because it was not screwed into wood.I certainly know what to loook for the next time i buy a camper.I would not recommend this one.We are now looking to trade in for a differant one.
Livability
3.0
Overall quality
2.0
Floorplan
3.0
Driving/towing
3.0
Factory warranty/support
2.0
...
Helpful (0)

Flag

Flag this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Robert

Indiana

Reviewed on 2021-05-12

RV reviewed 2019 KZ Sportsmen Classic 180THT view listing

1.0
Where do I begin, the black tank flush never worked and after 1 year I called after the camping season because I didn’t want to be without it during camping season. Waited till spring because of Covid-19 and the dealer made us pay $50 to fix it. Not only that was bad quality off the get go. Underneath was rusting in places right away. The poor quality doesn’t stop there. The water pump was always loud and I looked it was missing screws holding it down. And now the best. Noticed wallpaper bubbling and wall feeling spongy. Above that wall the skylight above the shower. Well has like 6 cracks in skylight caused water damage inside probably with mold growing. KZ won’t stand behind their product told us it’s on us sorry. I told them a skylight shouldn’t crack in 2 years. The extended warranty from vacationland in big rock Illinois I was told won’t cover it either. Very disappointed at dealer too. They told us sorry it pretty much only covers electrical. Don’t buy from them or any KZ products
Livability
1.0
Overall quality
1.0
Floorplan
1.0
Driving/towing
1.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (0)

Flag

Flag this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

RV Travels

Nova Scotia

Reviewed on 2020-10-19

RV reviewed 2017 KZ Sportsmen Classic 160QB view listing

3.6
KZ 180QB.2017. Good for a couple. Quality goes with the price, on the low side. Good layout, no issues, except Norcold fridge broke and had to be replaced. It rides very low to the ground, the dealer reversed the axle to give it better road clearance. Big issue is the low carrying capacity of around 500 pounds. Once you have gas bottles, batteries, some water in the tanks (heater and freash), there is little room for anything else. KZ also state that the GVWR of 3500 pounds, includes people when stationary. This pretty much means you are always overloaded.
Livability
4.0
Overall quality
3.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
3.0
Factory warranty/support
3.0
...
Helpful (0)

Flag

Flag this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

David L

Nevada

Reviewed on 2020-10-18

RV reviewed 2019 KZ Sportsmen Classic 180THT view listing

3.2
Multiple problems encountered in 1st year purchased new. The couch/bed collapsed while me and disabled wife sitting on it. The screws and paneling it was attached to failed, held on by 3 screws, and staples.... Fridge leaks, never worked right. Leveling jacks failed due to 2 cheap self tapping screws holding them on. Multiple holes not sealed letting dust inside the cabin. Gas lines ran on underside of frame, rocks hitting it causing leaks, why not run inside frame for protection??? Spare tire holder bolts failed, and when tailgate lowers it hits license plate bending plate. Where is quality control, sleeping ???? Positive- tows good, good height.
Livability
4.0
Overall quality
2.0
Floorplan
3.0
Driving/towing
4.0
Factory warranty/support
3.0
...
Helpful (0)

Flag

Flag this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

RV Travels

Ontario

Reviewed on 2020-08-09

RV reviewed 2017 KZ Sportsmen Classic 180BH view listing

3.2
I have completed a number of long trips with no major issues. The only problem was the Norcold fridge stopped working and had to be replaced. Concerns are: Capacity is very low, unless you are travelling very light, this is not the trailer for you. Trailer is very low to the ground, we had to invert the axle to give us better ground clearance. KZ customer service either do not respond (if they don't like the question) or give general answers (sometime seemingly misleading). Nevertheless,this trailer has served us well and has given us some great memories.
Livability
4.0
Overall quality
4.0
Floorplan
4.0
Driving/towing
2.0
Factory warranty/support
2.0
...
Helpful (0)

Flag

Flag this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Linda Knisley

Ontario

Reviewed on 2020-06-20

RV reviewed 2012 KZ Sportsmen Classic 16BH view listing

4.2
We tented, and purchased are first RV second hand 3 years ago. We loved the layout and liveability of the KZ 19BH for 2 people. We spend 6 weeks in Florida State parks in the Winter and 6 weeks in Provincial State parks in the summer. We travel thousands of miles each year. Trailer is stored on our property in a portable storage shed in the off season. PROS: I debated whether to give 5 star or 0 star to factory support because we never needed them. The trailer has worked well the entire time we owned it. This is a great thing, so I gave it 5 stars. Trailer pulls easily, the size is perfect to enjoy camping in Nature, easier to get campsites as larger sites are booked by larger rigs and usually difficult, if not impossible to reserve. We prefer camping in trees and dirt versus paved RV Pad in a trailer parks. The 19BH has adequate living space for 2 people, rear bunks are useful for occasional visits from grand-children, and double as additional storage when they are not there. Never leaked, all appliances worked very well and never needed servicing the entire time we had it. The exterior washes easily with hose and a bit of soapy water. Servicing electrical panel, accessing the water lines to winterize the trailer and checking the heater, all easy access under back bunk and room to work on the them without having to be a circus acrobat. CONS- why we are moving into a different trailer: First, this trailer is quite liveable for 2 adults and the occasional visit of 2 children, but because we often have our grand-children for 2 to 3 weeks, we found the space to be insufficient as the storage of all the extra stuff needed was a pain, there is just not enough space. Secondly, we are getting older, so climbing over each other to get in or out of the Queen Bed is no longer fun. Opting to find a trailer with Queen bed that we can walk around has gained in importance. Third, I am so tired of converting the dinette area from our bed to a sitting area when it rains to sit and hang out. We mostly eat outside, so we didn't think this would be a problem, but after 3 years, I want a dinette. Mechanically, the only problem we ever had was the drain under the sink. Pipes became loose and water seeped out. They now need to be regularly tighten to avoid water under the counter. Probably needs to go in for servicing so they could re-seal them. We also tired of opening and closing the awning manually. We will be looking for a power awning on the next one. However the awning is great, if you're young, it is easy to put up and pull down, and it has lasted 8 years without breaking so the quality is there. The only other 'complaint' I have is that the size of the Waste Water tank is small so we need to dump regularly when we are camping in parks without full hook-ups. (For us, this is always the case) If I am very conservative with water usage, wash dishes outside and use the bathroom only when I must, we could go 3 days without having to empty the tanks. But if I wasn't careful, the tanks would fill in a day. Our next trailer will have a bigger reservoir, I believe on the KZ 19BH is 15 gallons. It is very small. Overall, I loved the KZ Sportman Classic and will be buying a KZ sportsmen 19foot trailer to replace this one. Same size, simply with a different floor plan and higher end. This one was a great starter model to figure out what we needed to be comfortable, without spending a lot of money. I can now upgrade using knowledge of what's important to us.
Livability
3.0
Overall quality
4.0
Floorplan
4.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Flag

Flag this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 1 - 10 of 18 reviews

For sale near youRVs For Sale

See all

Do you have an RV experience to share?

Help other RVers by leaving a review for an RV or dealership.

Write a review

Browse top RVs

Browse dealership reviews

Browse By State

Browse By Province