Write a review

RV Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

Floorplan

Dutchmen Kodiak Cub reviews

3.7
Write a review
Liveability
4.2
Overall quality
3.1
Floorplan
4.3
Driving/towing
4.0
Factory warranty
2.9

For sale near youMatching RVs for sale near you

Top 10 RVs

Reviews

14 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

Jason

Colorado

Reviewed on 2019-02-04

RV reviewed2018 Dutchmen Kodiak Cub 176RD

View listings

2.4
Improper installation and defective part issues abound! After the first trip, things started breaking. Trim fell off, window valances unscrewed, cupboards wont stay shut and guest bed frame could not hold the table used for bed support and broke off. Factory had no answers or apologies. Second trip, more damage from driving...windows wouldn't latch, doors won't shut, bathroom fan had defective switch and drained battery as it would not turn off, dome/vent/fan over toilet was the wrong part installed, leaving gaps and ineffective insulation, walls panels began to unseam, light switches were missing factory parts ... the list of breaks, failures or improperly installed sections was 17 items long, 5 of which were factory installation of the wrong of defective parts. TWO MONTHS in the shop for repairs while I was making payments and not using it. Factory could care less. Avoid Dutchmen/Keystone/Kodiak products.
Livability
4.0
Overall quality
1.0
Floorplan
3.0
Driving/towing
3.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (29)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Amanda Willer

Arizona

Reviewed on 2021-11-16

RV reviewed2021 Dutchmen Kodiak Cub 175BH

View listings

4.8
We love our Kodiac Cub! It was so easy to tow and had everything we could need including an incredible amount of storage! The bunks are perfect for our family. I would absolutely recommend this trailer to anyone!
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Robert Gossman

California

Reviewed on 2021-11-12

RV reviewed2021 Dutchmen Kodiak Cub

View listings

5.0
Great for family trips. Good maneuverability and easy to tow. The outdoor lighting and the automatic jacks and awning make use much easier. Sleeps 6 comfortably. Quality built unit. Backup camera makes backing up easy.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Dan Frank

Washington

Reviewed on 2021-08-29

RV reviewed2021 Dutchmen Kodiak Cub 175BH

View listings

3.2
We bought this unit because of its size and layout. We have a driveway with a steep approach and anything bigger would probably not make it from the street to the drive without scraping. The layout suits us nicely but... A friend and I took it out first on a rock hounding trip and upon getting it to the campsite, we opened it up to find EVERY surface inside covered in a thick layer of dust. It took over an hour to clean everything off to the point that we could use it. Needless to say, it went back to the dealer immediately upon return home. It was there 2 weeks and they said it was fixed. The under belly penetrations, and the wheel wells hadn't been sealed. My wife and I took it out 2 weeks later and had the same problem. We stopped at several camps where we had to AGAIN spend time wiping down dust from every interior surface each time. On the way out, we drove from the campsite about 2 miles to the pavement and stopped. We opened the door and there was literally a cloud of dust swirling about inside. I finally found the problem while washing the unit prior to returning it again to the dealer. There was no seal on the front of the unit, under the cheesy plastic "diamond plate" and only one screw, which had fallen out, holding that down. It was again returned to the dealer and it looks like the problem is fixed this time. In addition, the hot water heater crapped out on both of the initial outings. This too looks like it has been fixed. Bottom line, Dutchmen's quality control is nonexistent and I would NOT purchase another of their products.
Livability
4.0
Overall quality
2.0
Floorplan
4.0
Driving/towing
4.0
Factory warranty/support
2.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Dorothy Echols

Texas

Reviewed on 2021-07-11

RV reviewed2019 Dutchmen Kodiak Cub 176RD

View listings

2.8
This model is made for "off road" use. However, I'm not sure how that would work when driving highways through Wyoming and Montana have caused us to rethink our camping experience. We started finding random screws throughout the camper. Found out where they went went when the window treatments fell off. The heater has jostled so much that it has rubbed bare spots in the surrounding cabinet because it is not even the right size for the space it is in. We used a piece of rubber tubing to cover the metal edges but they have chewed through that. The stove top had 3 screws. All of which were barely caught on the wood that was supposed to be holding it in. The fridge will not stay cold, the door frame on it has broken and the insert will not stay in. The cover that fits over the sink (in an area that is expected to have water) got wet on the edge and has started to expand. The one little drawer in the kitchen has a pencil thin frame to hold it up. After this trip even with the drawer being strapped in, the metal slide broke from the drawer. (After our first use, we noticed the drawer in the kitchen would not stay closed because there was not a latch. Simple fix - installed strap to keep in closed.) Other screws have come from the speakers in the ceiling. We got home from our trip yesterday and have just finished unpacking. We found 6 more screws. Guess I will go and figure out where they have come from. Will be contacting dealership tomorrow.
Livability
4.0
Overall quality
2.0
Floorplan
3.0
Driving/towing
4.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (4)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Alfred Ludwig

Tennessee

Reviewed on 2021-06-24

RV reviewed2021 Dutchmen Kodiak Cub 196BH

View listings

3.6
Bought brand new 2021 Dutchmen Kodiak Cub 196 BH in early June. Took on a 2 night trip that weekend. Everything ran fine that we used. Our first RV experience so we we took baby steps. Didn’t use the commode. Only the sinks and shower. Our front USB charger was inoperable, noticed the outside rubber trim began peeling from window. Also found a hole in seam between shower tub and shower wall. And significantly, cannot remove the spare tire. The lug nuts were bolted down into the lug wells so closely that you cannot even get a thin walled socket on them. All this was tolerable but then we had first significant rainfall. Went inside trailer and discovered water dripping from ceiling LED light onto front queen bed; soaking it. Threw a tarp over it and took it back to dealer next morning. They said would look into it but they are backed up. 3 days later I call and they haven’t even had chance to inspect it. Insane! There is also some trim falling away from door but I can fix. Wouldn’t even be upset about these few fixable things but the leaking roof, on a brand new unit? Unacceptable. Guess I’m gonna start that long painful raid of dealing with the factory and the dealership. Really lousy for first few weeks of very expensive hobby experiment.
Livability
4.0
Overall quality
3.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
4.0
Factory warranty/support
2.0
...
Helpful (4)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

calvin

Michigan

Reviewed on 2020-08-26

RV reviewed2020 Dutchmen Kodiak Cub 177RB

View listings

1.6
Warranty work takes a while, and thats even if they decide to warranty it, they will tell you it is damage because it was not noted at the dealer as defected. I wouldnt recommend Dutchman rvs as a 1st time new rv purchaser. It has been sitting at the repair shop for warranty work more than i have been able to use it, not a quality manufacture. But good luck!
Livability
2.0
Overall quality
1.0
Floorplan
3.0
Driving/towing
1.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (11)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Ken

Idaho

Reviewed on 2020-08-10

RV reviewed2020 Dutchmen Kodiak Cub 177RB

View listings

4.0
Bought this unit because of size, layout and tank capacity. Have had it out several times Overall quality is better than average. Cabinetry quality is pretty good with the exception of the dinette. Had to spend considerable time reinforcing the box. Door frame around screen has a gap big enough for the murder wasp to fly through. Wish it came with dual axel option. Tried to get info on location of metal studs because I’m thinking about putting a small window in the rear. Manufacturer contact was useless and will have find a stud finder that is usable with foil backed panels. Overall great design for a small “couples trailer”, but I think they went a little cheap in some areas of manufacturing. Most problems I’ve found are fixable if your a competent handy man. Adding a second axel is not a cost or effort I’m willing to undertake. Did put a three burner stove in place of the terrible two burner recessed stove it came with.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
3.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
4.0
Factory warranty/support
3.0
...
Helpful (8)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Randy

Colorado

Reviewed on 2020-07-19

RV reviewed2020 Dutchmen Kodiak Cub 185MB

View listings

2.8
First camping trip pump got plugged. cleaned filter.2 trip all the shades fell off. Put new screws in. 3 trip lost power while camping to everything. Found wire for main plug not connected. Caused from stripped out bolt not holding wire. I had to fix all problems myself. Takes to long to take in repair shop. Camper was only 3 months old.
Livability
4.0
Overall quality
1.0
Floorplan
4.0
Driving/towing
4.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (8)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

calbell09

Georgia

Reviewed on 2020-06-03

RV reviewed2019 Dutchmen Kodiak Cub 175BH

View listings

5.0
This is an excellent camper. All space is very well thought out. Pulls and travels great! Super floor plan has many nice features such as LED lighting, shower, toilet,stove,microwave, and would highly recommend! Great quality. Love the bear cage aluminum construction.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
5.0
...
Helpful (6)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 1 - 10 of 14 reviews

For sale near youRVs For Sale

Do you have an RV experience to share?

Help other RVers by leaving a review for an RV or dealership.

Write a review

Browse top RVs

Browse dealership reviews

Browse By State

Browse By Province