Write a review

RV Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

Floorplan

Safari Trek reviews

4.0
Write a review
Liveability
4.7
Overall quality
4.6
Floorplan
4.8
Driving/towing
4.0
Factory warranty
1.8

For sale near youMatching RVs for sale near you

Top 10 RVs

Reviews

12 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

Joe Bruzda

Washington

Reviewed on 2017-07-12

RV reviewed2000 Safari Trek 2430

View listings

3.8
The Safari TREK 2430 isn't for everyone as the heart of the coach is the electric queen size bed that lowers down from the ceiling at night when you need it. This feature allows the model 2430 to be only 25' long, yet offer the living space of a 36' motorhome. How? By not dragging around a bedroom off the back of the coach! At night, the entire main salon becomes the bedroom once privacy shades are drawn. The coach offers a huge kitchen with a 6' countertop, a large bathroom with tub/shower, big closets, and a large salon with sleeper sofa, chairs and a occasional table. There is even a nice dining table for two opposite the kitchen. The quality of the build is excellent as the TREK was built on the same line as the big Safari diesel pushers with the same quality components, solid Alder hardwood cabinets, one piece fiberglass roof, aircraft aluminum skin, Diamont full-body paint (think Mercedez Benz), all on the Chevy Workhorse medium duty chassis with a 14800 pound GVW powered by a 7.3L Vortec V8 fuel injected engine. The chassis has a 5500 pound receiver for towing. Like my Daddy taught me, every dog has it's fleas, and the TREK is no exception. The short wheelbase of the coach means that it is very reactive to the wheel and the driver must learn to relax at the wheel and not oversteer lest you zig zag your way down the road. Also, the spring suspension can be a bit bouncy on a rough road or going over a speed bump.But the biggest complaint especially from older TREK owners is that someone is crawling over their partner at night to get out of the bed to use the potty. Also, if you have a guest on the sleeper sofa, they are right under the main bed similar to bunk beds. Having said all that, if you can accept these inconveniences the TREK is an amazing coach. It is short, easy to drive, easy to park, can go into ANY National or State campground, is built with quality and smart engineering. It is a joy to spend time in and perfect for a couple with their furry companion. Full Disclosure: Not only am I a current TREK Owner, I was also the Factory Rep. for three years for the TREK way back in 96'-99'. I have no affiliation now. My comments and observations are my own, but also based on literally hundreds of conversations at shows and rallies talking to RV owners. Bottomline: The TREK is a great RV with a legendary following. If you can find one that has been loved over the years and well maintained, buy it. You won't be disappointed!
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
4.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
3.0
Factory warranty/support
2.0
...
Helpful (111)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Charlie

Tennessee

Reviewed on 2022-05-04

RV reviewed2002 Safari Trek 2430

View listings

5.0
Safari Treks are where it's at! If only they still made these! Talk about a quality product built to last. These motorhomes are tanks compared to other motorhomes and when you get behind the wheel you'll see what I mean! The bed coming down from the ceiling saves an incredible amount of space not only inside the RV but also shortens the length making them extremely easy to drive and maneuver. Plus the insides are made with real wood and nice components. Get in one while you can, only so many of these were made! The murals on the back are the cherry on top!
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Ron Daves

California

Reviewed on 2021-10-24

RV reviewed1997 Safari Trek Pathmaker

View listings

3.4
This is a great RV for a couple. The magic bed was a great way to get more space in a smaller RV. During the day, the bed is retracted into the ceiling and the living area is usable. We never had a problem getting into any of the parks we visited. My wife liked the kitchen layout, as it was well thought out and designed. The bathroom is also well designed and large for a smaller RV. One caveat: The Magic Bed limits headroom when retracted, so if you are over six feet tall, you will have to duck. I have no experience with driving anything larger than this rig, so can't compare it to anything. My experience was that I had to pay attention all the time, no "hey look at that".
Livability
4.0
Overall quality
4.0
Floorplan
4.0
Driving/towing
4.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (5)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

The Duke Family

Alabama

Reviewed on 2021-04-10

RV reviewed2008 Safari Trek 29RBD

View listings

4.2
We adore the Trek! The workhouse chassis and Allison transmission are fantastic. As others have said, the size of this motorhome is fantastic. Use of space is well thought out, functional, and plentiful. Sadly, ours is only one if approximately 35 made during its last year under Monaco production. The quality of the coach is amazing. Coaches made during that time and today have nowhere near the quality of build and materials....especially at the price point these are/were at. Most years are what I call couple coach designs. Ours is one of them. With the HappiJac bed as the main sleeping, it’s not ideal for families. Doable, but not ideal. It’s perfect for couples. Trekkers are in fact an awesome group. Upon purchase we located an online group and they are friendly with tons of knowledge and help. They know these coaches inside and out and help teach newer owners about them and how to maintain and fix things. Trek, through the RV and Trekkers, brought to us all the things we were looking for when we decided to get into RVing.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (10)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Ron DeMarco

Massachusetts

Reviewed on 2020-12-14

RV reviewed2000 Safari Trek 2430

View listings

2.4
What a nightmare. Bought this 2000 Safari Trek off of two snowbirds who were in Tacna Arizona. I was lead to believe this Trek with 54000 miles on it would handle my 3000 mile trip back to Massachusetts with no problem. I tried hiring a mechanic to inspect it before my arrival. But location was remote an couldn't find any. At 2000 miles into journey a engine pushrod broke. I had to leave there and drive a rental 1000 miles back home. And now it needs an engine and more likely a transmission. I looking at a $10.000 Bill. The couple I bought from are not answering there phone or message. What a nightmare.
Livability
4.0
Overall quality
3.0
Floorplan
3.0
Driving/towing
1.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (13)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Bert Ekstrom

California

Reviewed on 2020-08-02

RV reviewed2001 Safari Trek 2830

View listings

4.2
This was our 3rd RV and absolutely the best! If we were younger we would continue to use it but age has its limits. I've done everything in my power to provide a good equipped RV for sale, 6 new tires, with less than 1,000 miles on them,the vehicle has a strong engine and has no problem towing a smaller car. Parking is not a problem since this RV length is accepted in all state and national parks and is easily parked in commercial parks too. We loved the use of space in this floor plan. It has a large bathroom, and a full-sized kitchen. The living room is comfortable and spacious and all of this is because there is no wasted space providing a bedroom. The large queen-sized bed is in the ceiling but the bathroom provides plenty of double closet space and drawers. Unfortunately, this make and model is no longer being manufactured. Those of us that love the look and roominess of a large RV without driving around a huge vehicle think this RV is the perfect solution.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (22)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Craig

Missouri

Reviewed on 2019-06-11

RV reviewed2004 Safari Trek 28RB2

View listings

4.6
This is a great motorhome, easy to drive an maneuver in tight places. Can park almost anywhere.it is very comfortable with a great floorplan. Very large bathroom area with full size walk-in shower. Very well built and a lot of power.
Livability
4.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
4.0
...
Helpful (36)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

dick hodge

Colorado

Reviewed on 2017-06-14

RV reviewed2000 Safari Trek 2430

View listings

3.8
Trek folks like quality and convenience. The efficiency of space gives better handling and an open feel in a small coach. The owners bond together when they see other like no other R.V. group, including antique bus collectors. Bus folks might just wave and honk, Trek folks will follow you to the next rest stop. They are not for everybody or all situations, but I've known some full timers. Builder out of business but I had to rate the warranty anyway.
Livability
4.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
4.0
Factory warranty/support
1.0
...
Helpful (38)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Tim Gillespie

Minnesota

Reviewed on 2017-06-05

RV reviewed2004 Safari Trek 29RBD

View listings

5.0
Excellent drive length,good storage compartments,liked the queen bed storage up in the ceiling which made the safari really unique feature. The open space in the kitchen with the bright daylight shining in. The surround sound of music,the electric windshield shades when driving in sunlight is a excellent plus for the long drives. The workhorse chassis gives the unit a very stable ride, hard to find a dislike about the Safari after owning other units. Thanks
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
5.0
Factory warranty/support
5.0
...
Helpful (39)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Robert Tomfohrde

Tennessee

Reviewed on 2016-09-30

RV reviewed2005 Safari Trek 30PBS

View listings

3.4
The Safari Trek is a unique vehicle. The Electro-Majic bed provides liveability space equal to coaches 35' or more. The quality of the coach is excellent as is the floor plan that we have. This is our second Trek. We put 100,00 miles on the first one and then bought another (same floor plan). Unfortunately, Safari, owned by Monaco, is no longer making this model.
Livability
5.0
Overall quality
4.0
Floorplan
5.0
Driving/towing
3.0
Factory warranty/support
0.0
...
Helpful (29)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 1 - 10 of 12 reviews

For sale near youRVs For Sale

Do you have an RV experience to share?

Help other RVers by leaving a review for an RV or dealership.

Write a review